DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 9,989,513 issued to Kato et al. (“Kato”).
As for claim 1, Kato discloses a quartz crystal microbalance (QCM) sensor, which comprises:
a sensor housing (34, 35); and
a crystal component (33, 36, 37) supported within the sensor housing (see Fig. 4), the crystal component (33, 36, 37) including a quartz crystal substrate (33) and a gasket seal (36, 37) integrally coupled to disposed about the periphery of the quartz crystal substrate, the gasket seal (36, 37) extending from both front and rear faces of the quartz crystal substrate (see Fig. 4), the gasket seal configured to prevent ingress of fluids into the sensor housing (see Fig. 4).
As for claim 2, Kato discloses that the sensor housing (34, 35) includes:
a crystal holder (34) for at least partially supporting the crystal component (33, 36); and
a sensor body (35) coupled to the crystal holder (34);
wherein the gasket seal (36) is disposed between the crystal holder and the sensor body (see Fig. 4).
As for claim 3, Kato discloses that the crystal substrate (33) is spaced from coupling locations (where 36 contacts 34 and where 37 contacts 35) of the gasket seal and the crystal holder and the sensor body (see Fig. 4)
As for claim 5, Kato discloses that at least one of the sensor body, crystal holder and gasket seal (36) are configured to establish an interference fit to facilitate formation of a seal within the sensor housing (see Fig. 4).
As for claim 8, Kato disclose that the gasket seal (36) isolates the crystal component (33) from external vibration sources in a process environment (see Fig. 4).
As for claim 11, Kato discloses that the gasket seal (36, 37) resists the ingress of fluids through multiple pathways by forming a first interference fit between the quartz crystal substrate (33) and the gasket seal (36 or 37), a second interference fit between the crystal holder (34) and the gasket seal (36), and a third interference fit between the sensor body (35) and the gasket seal (37).
Claims 1-3, 5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 9,856,563 issued to Martinson et al. (“Martinson”).
As for claim 1, Martinson discloses a quartz crystal microbalance (QCM) sensor, which comprises:
a sensor housing (22, 58); and
a crystal component (30, 50, 60) supported within the sensor housing (22, 58), the crystal component (30, 50, 60) including a quartz crystal substrate (30) and a gasket seal (50, 60) integrally coupled to and disposed about the periphery of the quartz crystal substrate (see Fig. 1b), the gasket seal extending from both front and rear faces of the quartz crystal substrate (see Fig. 1b), the gasket seal configured to prevent ingress of fluids into the sensor housing (see Fig. 1b).
As for claim 2, Martinson discloses that the sensor housing includes:
a crystal holder (22) for at least partially supporting the crystal component (30, 50); and
a sensor body (58) coupled to the crystal holder (22);
wherein the gasket seal (50) is disposed between the crystal holder and the sensor body (see Fig. 1b).
As for claim 3, Martinson discloses that the crystal substrate (30) is spaced from coupling locations (where 50 contacts 22 and where 60 contacts 58) of the gasket seal and the crystal holder and the sensor body (see Fig. 1b)
As for claim 5, Martinson discloses that at least one of the sensor body, crystal holder and gasket seal (50) are configured to establish an interference fit to facilitate formation of a seal within the sensor housing (see Fig. 1b).
As for claim 8, Martinson discloses that the gasket seal (50) isolates the crystal component from external vibration sources in a process environment (see Fig. 1b).
As for claim 11, Martinson discloses that the gasket seal (50, 60) resists the ingress of fluids through multiple pathways by forming a first interference fit between the quartz crystal substrate (30) and the gasket seal (50 or 60), a second interference fit between the crystal holder (22) and the gasket seal (60), and a third interference fit between the sensor body (58) and the gasket seal (50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,989,513 issued to Kato et al. (“Kato”) in view of U.S. Patent 11,111,699 issued to Perrenoud et al. (“Perrenoud”).
As for claim 6, Kato discloses the quartz crystal microbalance (QCM) sensor according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Kato does not disclose that the gasket seal is comprised of a perfluoroelastomer material selected to withstand temperature parameters of a process environment.
However, Perrenoud discloses a gasket seal (518) that is comprised of a perfluoroelastomer material selected to withstand the temperature parameters of a process environment (col. 6, lines 22-26).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the gasket seal of Kato to be made of a perfluoroelastomer as disclosed by Perrenoud because it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07 and in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
As for claim 7, Kato as modified by Perrenoud discloses that the perfluoroelastomer material is selected to be chemically resistant to corrosive elements present in the process environment (Perrenoud: col. 6, lines 22-26).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,856,563 issued to Martinson et al. (“Martinson”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0344950 by Onda (“Onda”).
As for claim 9, Martinson discloses the quartz crystal microbalance (QCM) sensor according to claim 9 (see the rejection of claim 9 above).
Martinson does not disclose that the crystal holder is coated with a chemically resistant protective coating.
However, Onda discloses a crystal holder (101) that is coated with a chemically resistant protective coating (165; paragraph [0116]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the crystal holder of Martinson to include the coating as disclosed by Onda in order to prevent the adhesion of unwanted substances (Onda: paragraph [0116]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,856,563 issued to Martinson et al. (“Martinson”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0344950 by Onda (“Onda”) as applied to claim 9, further in view of CN 1938840 by Yue (“Yue”) and WO 2023/073831 by Kishimoto et al. (“Kishimoto”).
As for claim 10, Martinson as modified by Onda discloses the quartz crystal microbalance (QCM) sensor according to claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
Martinson as modified by Onda does not disclose that the protective coating comprises silica, alumina, or a combination of silica and alumina. Instead, Onda discloses a protective coating comprising other materials that inhibit adhesion (paragraph [0116]).
However, Yue discloses a protective coating that comprises silica, alumina, or a combination of silica and alumina (see the paragraph beginning “Further, one or more surface comprises a chemical treatment …”). Kishimoto discloses that silica and alumina inhibit adhesion (see the paragraph beginning “Specific materials for the adhesion-inhibiting layer 15 include …”).
Because Yue and Onda both disclose materials that prevent adhesion, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the material of Yue for the material of Onda to achieve the predictable result of providing a protective coating that prevents adhesion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pager 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Kato’s O-ring performs a different function. However, the examiner notes that the intended use of the O-ring does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art of Kato. The examiner’s position is that an O-ring that retains solvent within a volume also prevents ingress of fluids into the same volume.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Kato does not disclose a gasket seal that extends from both front and rear faces of a quartz crystal substrate. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In light of the amendment to claim 1, the gasket seal of Kato has been reinterpreted to be elements 36 and 37.
On pages 9-10 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Martinson does not disclose a gasket seal that extends from both front and rear faces of a quartz crystal substrate. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In light of the amendment to claim 1, the gasket seal of Martinson has been reinterpreted to be elements 50 and 60.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853