DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 & 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenes et al. (US 2012/0182988) in view of Strait et al. (US 8,315,412).
Brenes et al. discloses: in regard to claim 1 a method comprising: receiving, based on a plurality of proximity sensors (paragraph 0012: “there is provided a communication system configured to receive an input from multiple different audio or video input transducers of different terminals”) associated with a plurality of audio devices (paragraph 0054: “The audio inputs from the microphones may also determine a suitable audio output transducer, e.g. by selecting between a loudspeaker 210 and the headphones 302 of a headset 218 depending on which microphone is generating the most vocal energy”; paragraph 0043: “Each of the transducers 208-218 is operatively coupled to the processing apparatus 204 such that the client is able to receive input from any or all of the input transducers 208, 212, 216, 218 and supply outputs to any or all of the output transducers 210, 214, 218”), sensor data associated with each proximity sensor of the plurality of proximity sensors (paragraph 0057: “Other techniques that can be used to detect the presence or proximity of a particular user include motion estimation to detect the presence of a suitably sized moving object (which may be taken as a human moving between rooms)”); causing, based on the sensor data associated with a proximity sensor of the plurality of proximity sensors indicating a presence of a user, an audio device of the plurality of audio devices to output audio content (paragraph 0053: “Depending on the approximate location of a user within a room, or depending on whether or not the user is wearing his or her headset 218, then the optimal microphone for use in making or answering a call may vary”; paragraph 0057: “an analysis of the energy levels from different microphones or cameras of different terminals may be used to determine the presence of the user in a particular room or the proximity to a particular terminal, and hence determine the best terminal for answering or making a call, or to switch between the terminals during an ongoing call as the user roams about the house”; paragraph 0054: “The audio inputs from the microphones may also determine a suitable audio output transducer, e.g. by selecting between a loudspeaker 210 and the headphones 302 of a headset 218 depending on which microphone is generating the most vocal energy.”); in regard to claim 2, determining based on a quality of service associated with the proximity sensor indicating the presence of the user, the audio device of the plurality of audio devices (paragraph 0054: “The audio inputs from the microphones may also determine a suitable audio output transducer, e.g. by selecting between a loudspeaker 210 and the headphones 302 of a headset 218 depending on which microphone is generating the most vocal energy.”; paragraph 0055: “detection of a rustling or scrabbling sound at the headset microphone 304 may be taken as indicative of the user fumbling for their headset to answer an incoming call, and this can be used to select the headset 218 for audio input and/or output”); and in regard to claim 3, determining, based on a signal strength associated with the proximity sensor indicating the presence of the user, the audio device of the plurality of audio devices (paragraph 0054: “The audio inputs from the microphones may also determine a suitable audio output transducer, e.g. by selecting between a loudspeaker 210 and the headphones 302 of a headset 218 depending on which microphone is generating the most vocal energy.”).
However, Brenes et al. does not explicitly disclose: in regard to claims 1-3, causing an audio device of the plurality of audio devices to activate in response to the sensor data. It is noted that in claims 1-3, Brenes et al. teaches that the audio devices are already activated by default, as suggested in the sections cited above. However, there is no explicit teaching of activating a selected device in response to the sensor data received from proximity sensors.
Strait et al. discloses: in regard to claims 1-3, causing an audio device to activate based on sensor data (patent claim 6: “a motion detector configured to detect a user's presence and to send a signal to effect activation of the audio reception device in response to a detection of the user's presence in an area proximate to the audio reception device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have applied Strait et al.’s teaching of activating an audio device based on sensor data to Brenes et al.’s teaching of outputting audio content based on sensor data, the motivation being to enable secure access to equipment (see abstract).
In regard to claim 4, Brenes et al. discloses receiving audio information, wherein causing the audio device to output audio content comprises causing, based on the audio information, the audio device to output audio content (see paragraph 0011).
In regard to claim 21, Brenes et al. discloses that the plurality of proximity sensors comprise one or more of an image sensor (paragraph 0057: “Other techniques that can be used to detect the presence or proximity of a particular user include motion estimation to detect the presence of a suitably sized moving object (which may be taken as a human moving between rooms), a Fourier analysis to determine an overall color property of an image or moving object (e.g. based on the assumption that the moving user wears the same color clothes as they move between rooms)”), a thermal sensor, an infrared sensor, a biometric sensor (paragraph 0057: “facial recognition”), a RF sensor, or a haptic sensor.
Claims 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 & 22-24 have limitations similar to those of claims 1-4 & 21 and are therefore rejected on the same grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 15 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on January 27, 2026 have been fully considered but are now moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/Peter Vincent Agustin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688