DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more exit holes” from claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference numeral 22 from paragraph [0018] of the instant specification is missing from the drawings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the prior art of Layzell et al and Frey et al fail to provide for the new limitations of the trays having exit holes, however Layzell is now longer relied upon in the following action and Frey is only relied upon for the teaching of dependent claim limitations in combination with the newly cited prior art of Katzman et al. (US 2018/0368954 A1) which does provide for the new limitation of claim 1. Further the prior art of Tchouangang et al. (US 2011/0183293 A1) is also cited as teaching the new claim 1 for compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 only recites intended use limitations for how some possible indentation that could be formed using the kit of claim 1 would be used but fails to recite any further structural limitation to the kit itself. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tchouangang et al. (US 2011/0183293 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 10, Tchouangang discloses a kit for obtaining a dental impression (title), the kit comprising:
a first material and a second material configured to be mixed into a third material for receiving a dental impression therein (paragraph [0027] disclosing a first and second material as a two-component material, paragraph [0081] lines 2-4 disclosing the kit uses a first/base material and a second/activator or hardener material that are to be mixed together thus forming a third material for taking the dental impression),
an upper and lower tray for forming an impression of both an upper and lower set of teeth respectively (Fig. 1 elements 5 and 6),
one or more exit holes formed in both the upper and the lower trays (Fig. 1 showing perforation in both trays 5 and 6) wherein the exit holes are configured such that when the third material is loaded into the upper tray and the lower tray, a portion of the third material would be extruded through the one or more exit holes to form a platform configured to receive indents of opposing teeth which could create a repetitive landing area for opposing teeth (paragraph [0009] lines 17-19 disclosing that the holes are configured to allow the third material to be extruded through them.
Regarding the intended use of the kit for forming indentations during a possible manner of using the kit, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katzman et al. (US 2018/0368954 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 10, Katzman discloses a kit for obtaining a dental impression (title), the kit comprising:
a first material and a second material configured to be mixed into a third material for receiving a dental impression therein ( Fig. 4 elements 60 and 62, paragraph [0072] all disclosing a first and second putties that are to be mixed together to form a third material for taking the dental impression),
an upper and lower tray for forming an impression of both an upper and lower set of teeth respectively (Fig. 4 elements 58 showing two impression trays, paragraph [0074] all disclosing multiple tray with some for upper and some for lower arches),
one or more exit holes formed in both the upper and the lower trays are configured such that when the third material is loaded into the upper tray and the lower tray, a portion of the third material would be extruded through the one or more exit holes to form a platform configured to receive indents of opposing teeth which could create a repetitive landing area for opposing teeth in an altered bite position (Fig. 5 and 7 showing multiple exit holes in both the upper and lower trays, further Fig. 35-37 showing the trays having multiple through holes, which by being such holes are configured to allow the third material to be extruded through them and by doing so would have the teeth be in an altered bite position both by such extruded material being present).
Regarding the intended use of the kit for forming indentations that would be in an altered bit position during a possible manner of using the kit, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Katzman further discloses where the first is a catalyst putty and second material is a base putty (paragraph [0020] all disclosing the one material is a base putty and the other material is a catalyst putty).
Regarding claim 5, Katzman further discloses where the kit includes a biohazard bag (paragraph [0087] lines 10-12 resealable bag for the impressions) and packaging materials (Fig. 39 element 500).
Regarding claim 8, Katzman further discloses where the first and second material are configured so that the third material would begin to harden within about 30 seconds after they are mixed together (paragraph [0091] lines 1-3 disclosing mixing for 20 seconds creates the hardening impression putty).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzman et al. (US 2018/0368954 A1) in view of Frey et al. (US 2015/0004555 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Katzman discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the kit further includes a spacer device and is configured to be placed on top edges of lower font two teeth and to cover the midline contacts of the lower front two teeth and a chart for the user to determine a Shimbashi number, wherein the spacer is employed to correct the user's mandible position to match the Shimbashi number from the chart.
However, Frey discloses a kit for obtaining a dental impression (Fig. 1 all), the kit comprising: a first material and a second material configured to be mixed into a third material for receiving a dental impression therein (Fig. 1 elements 34 and 36); an upper and lower tray for forming an impression of both an upper and lower set of teeth, respectively (Fig. 1 element 20/38/40, Fig. 10b showing the tray for forming both an impression of an upper and lower set of teeth respectively) and a chart for the user to determine a Shimbashi number, and a spacer is employed to correct the user's mandible position to match the Shimbashi number from the chart (Paragraphs [0099]- [0108] disclosing a chart is provided that would allow a user to find their "shimbashi number" also known as a vertical occlusion number) and the spacer being configured to be placed on and cover the midline contacts of the lower front two teeth at their top edges (Fig. 7/8 showing the spacer 48 able to be placed on top of the edges of the front two teeth while covering the midline contact such teeth).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the spacer and chart as taught by Frey into the kit as taught by Katzman for the purpose of providing a dental patient with the tools needed to determine what their proper bite alignment would be as taught by Frey (paragraph [0098] disclosing that determine the patient’s number would relate their bite spacing to a metric for beauty and form).
Regarding claim 7, Katzman further discloses where the kit includes a biohazard bag (paragraph [0087] lines 10-12 resealable bag for the impressions) and packaging materials (Fig. 39 element 500).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.P.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 09/28/2026
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772