DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-20 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 05/30/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 and 12/17/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. US Pub 2023/0199795 (hereinafter “Zhu”).
Regarding claim 1
Zhu discloses a user equipment (UE) (“UE 116” in Fig. 3; [0061]) comprising:
a transceiver (“transceiver(s) 310” in Fig. 3; [0062]) configured to receive a configuration including information about (i) K > 1 non-zero power (NZP) channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (“For instance, for a NZP CSI-RS resource set composed of K NZP CSI-RS resource configurations, K TCI state indexes each corresponding/pointing to a TCI state among/within the indicated M>1 or N>1” [0255]) and
(ii) quasi-co-location information (QCL-info) that is common for at least N out of the K NZP CSI-RS resources, where 1 < N ≤ K (“there could be various means to configured/indicate QCL assumption(s) for the NZP CSI-RS resource configurations in the NZP CSI-RS resource set (provided by nzp-CSI-RS-ResourceSet). When a UE is provided by the network, e.g., via the higher layer parameter TCI-State_r17, M>1 joint DL and UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states or M>1 separate UL Rel. 17 unified TCI states.” [0245]), wherein the QCL-info indicates at least one source RS and a QCL-Type (“The UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL type parameter(s)” [0141]) and wherein the QCL-Type indicates at least one channel property of the at least one source RS (“The UE could be configured by the network one or more TCI states, which indicate the QCL information/assumptions for one or more RSs/channels such as PDCCHs and/or PDSCHs.” [0105]); and
a processor (“processor 340” in Fig. 3; [0062]) operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor, based on the configuration (“there could be various means to configured/indicate QCL assumption(s) for the NZP CSI-RS resource configurations in the NZP CSI-RS resource set” [0245]), configured to apply the QCL-info for channel measurement via the N out of the K NZP CSI-RS resources (“A gNB transmits one or more of multiple types of RS including channel state information RS (CSI-RS) and demodulation RS (DMRS). A CSI-RS is primarily intended for UEs to perform measurements and provide channel state information (CSI) to a gNB. For channel measurement, non-zero power CSI-RS (NZP CSI-RS) resources are used.” [0084]) based on an assumption that at least one channel property of the N NZP CSI-RS resources is same as the indicated at least one channel property of the at least one source RS (“Each TCI state contains at least a QCL source RS with a QCL type, e.g., QCL-typeA/B/C/D.” [0164]).
Regarding claim 2
Zhu previously discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
Zhu further discloses the transceiver is further configured to:
receive a configuration about a channel state information (CSI) report (“the UE could be provided/configured by the network a CSI-RS resource set, e.g., a SSB resource set provided by the higher layer parameter CSI-SSB-ResourceSet or a NZP CSI-RS resource set provided by the higher layer parameter nzp-CSI-RS-ResourceSet for L1 beam metric reporting, including one or more SSB resources or one or more NZP CSI-RS resource configurations” [0244]), and
transmit the CSI report (“A CSI report from a UE” [0087]), and
the processor is further configured to determine the CSI report based on a codebook associated with PCSIRS CSI-RS ports aggregated across the K NZP CSI-RS resources (“A CSI report from a UE can include a channel quality indicator (CQI) informing a gNB of a largest modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the UE to detect a data TB with a predetermined block error rate (BLER), such as a 10% BLER, of a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) informing a gNB how to combine signals from multiple transmitter antennas in accordance with a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) transmission principle, and of a rank indicator (RI) indicating a transmission rank for a PDSCH. UL RS includes DMRS and SRS.” [0087]).
Regarding claim 4
Zhu previously discloses the UE of Claim 1,
Zhu further discloses wherein the QCL-Type is one of (“The quasi co-location types corresponding to each DL RS are given by the higher layer parameter qcl-Type in QCL-Info and may take one of the following values” [0115]):
Type A, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread (“‘typeA’: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}” [0115]),
Type B, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift and Doppler spread (“‘typeB’: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}” [0115]),
Type C, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift and average delay (“‘typeC’: {Doppler shift, average delay}” [0115]), or
Type D, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Spatial Rx parameter (“‘typeD’: {Spatial Rx parameter}” [0115]).
Regarding claim 8
Zhu discloses A base station (BS) (“gNB 102” in Fig. 2; [0053]) comprising:
a processor (“a controller/processor 225” in Fig. 2; [0053]); and
a transceiver (“multiple transceivers 210a-210n” in Fig. 2; [0053]) operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to transmit a configuration including information about (i) K > 1 non-zero power (NZP) channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and (ii) quasi-co-location information (QCL-info) that is common for at least N out of the K NZP CSI-RS resources, where 1 < N ≤ K,
wherein the QCL-info indicates at least one source RS and a QCL-Type,
wherein the QCL-Type indicates at least one channel property of the at least one source RS, and
wherein the configuration indicates to apply the QCL-info for channel measurement via the N out of the K NZP CSI-RS resources based on an assumption that at least one channel property of the NNZP CSI-RS resources is same as the indicated at least one channel property of the at least one source RS.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 8 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 8 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 9
The BS of Claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to:
transmit a configuration about a channel state information (CSI) report, and
receive the CSI report that is based on a codebook associated with PCSIRS CSI-RS ports aggregated across the K NZP CSI-RS resources.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 9 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 2. Therefore apparatus claim 9 corresponds to apparatus claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 11
The BS of Claim 8, wherein the QCL-Type is one of:
Type A, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread,
Type B, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift and Doppler spread,
Type C, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift and average delay, or
Type D, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Spatial Rx parameter.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 11 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 4. Therefore apparatus claim 11 corresponds to apparatus claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 15
A method performed by a user equipment, the method comprising:
receiving a configuration including information about (i) K > 1 non-zero power (NZP) channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and (ii) quasi-co-location information (QCL-info) that is common for at least N out of the K NZP CSI-RS resources, where 1 < N ≤ K,
wherein the QCL-info indicates at least one source RS and a QCL-Type and wherein the QCL-Type indicates at least one channel property of the at least one source RS; and
based on the configuration, applying the QCL-info for channel measurement via the N out of the K NZP CSI-RS resources based on an assumption that at least one channel property of the NNZP CSI-RS resources is same as the indicated at least one channel property of the at least one source RS.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 15 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 15 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The method of Claim 15, further comprising:
receiving a configuration about a channel state information (CSI) report;
transmitting the CSI report; and
determining the CSI report based on a codebook associated with PCSIRS CSI-RS ports aggregated across the K NZP CSI-RS resources.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 16 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 2. Therefore method claim 16 corresponds to apparatus claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 18
The method of Claim 15, wherein the QCL-Type is one of:
Type A, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, and delay spread,
Type B, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift and Doppler spread,
Type C, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Doppler shift and average delay, or
Type D, where the indicated at least one channel property includes Spatial Rx parameter.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 18 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 4. Therefore method claim 18 corresponds to apparatus claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. US Pub 2023/0199795 (hereinafter “Zhu”), in view of Gao et al. US Pub 2025/0192966 hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 3
Zhu previously discloses the UE of Claim 1,
Zhu further discloses wherein: the configuration includes information about a time domain (TD) behavior of the K NZP CSI- RS resources as being periodic, semi-persistent (SP), or aperiodic (AP) (“he UE could send to the network, e.g., in/via (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic) PUSCH(s) (MAC CE(s)) or PUCCH(s), one or more pairs of resource indicator(s) and beam metric(s)” [0304]),
the configuration includes an identifier (ID) of a set NZP-CSI-RS-Resource-Set (“one or more NZP CSI-RS resources provided by NZP-CSI-RS-Resource in the NZP CSI-RS resource set could be configured with “useIndicatedr17TCIState.” In this case, the m-th (or the n-th) NZP CSI-RS resource configuration or the NZP CSI-RS resource configuration with the m-th lowest or highest (or the n-th lowest or highest) NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceId value among/within the NZP CSI-RS resource configurations configured with “useIndicatedr17TCIState” in the NZP CSI-RS resource set “ [0248]) and the set includes IDs of the K NZP CSI-RS resources, and an ID of the QCL-info (“scheduled PDSCH contains qcl-Type” [0146]),
Zhu does not specifically teach when the TD behavior is periodic, each NZP CSI-RS resource in the set does not include a separate QCL-info or includes the separate QCL-info, and when the separate QCL-info is included, the processor is configured to (i) ignore the separate QCL-info or (ii) over-ride the separate QCL-info.
In an analogous art, Gao discloses when the TD behavior is periodic, each NZP CSI-RS resource in the set does not include a separate QCL-info or includes the separate QCL-info (“For a periodic NZP CSI-RS resource, the QCL information is configured in the NZP CSI-RS resource as shown below by the parameter “qcl-InfoPeriodicCSI-RS”” [0056]), and
when the separate QCL-info is included, the processor is configured to (i) ignore the separate QCL-info or (ii) over-ride the separate QCL-info (“For a periodic NZP CSI-RS resource, the legacy parameter qcl-InfoPeriodicCSI-RS is ignored if “unified-tci-State-Pointer” is configured for the CSI-RS resource.” [0110]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI, to include Gao’s method for CSI-RS transmission and reception with unified TCI states for multiple TRP, in order to establish QCL relation between a source RS and a target RS (Gao [0013]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Gao’s method for CSI-RS transmission and reception with unified TCI states for multiple TRP into Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10
The BS of Claim 8, wherein:
the configuration includes information about a time domain (TD) behavior of the K NZP CSI-RS resources as being periodic, semi-persistent (SP), or aperiodic (AP),
the configuration includes an identifier (ID) of a set NZP-CSI-RS-Resource-Set and the set includes IDs of the K NZP CSI-RS resources, and an ID of the QCL-info,
when the TD behavior is periodic, each NZP CSI-RS resource in the set does not include a separate QCL-info or includes the separate QCL-info, and
when the separate QCL-info is included, the separate QCL-info is ignored or over-ridden.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 10 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 3. Therefore apparatus claim 10 corresponds to apparatus claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17
The method of Claim 15, wherein:
the configuration includes information about a time domain (TD) behavior of the K NZP CSI-RS resources as being periodic, semi-persistent (SP), or aperiodic (AP),
the configuration includes an identifier (ID) of a set NZP-CSI-RS-Resource-Set and the set includes IDs of the K NZP CSI-RS resources, and an ID of the QCL-info,
when the TD behavior is periodic, each NZP CSI-RS resource in the set does not include a separate QCL-info or includes the separate QCL-info, and
when the separate QCL-info is included, the separate QCL-info is ignored or over-ridden.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 17 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 3. Therefore method claim 17 corresponds to apparatus claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. US Pub 2023/0199795 (hereinafter “Zhu”), in view of Ma et al. US Pub 2022/0385429 hereinafter “Ma”).
Regarding claim 5
Zhu previously discloses the UE of Claim 4, wherein:
Zhu further discloses when the at least one source RS is a NZP CSI-RS resource with a higher layer parameter trs-info, the QCL-Type is Type A (“‘typeA’ with a CSI-RS resource in a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info “ [0153]) or Type B (“‘typeB’ with a CSI-RS resource in a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info” [0153]), and
Zhu does not specifically teach when the at least one source RS is a synchronization signal block (SSB), the QCL-Type is Type C.
In an analogous art, Ma discloses when the at least one source RS is a synchronization signal block (SSB), the QCL-Type is Type C (“The SSB may be configured as the QCL source RS for the TRS with regard to Doppler shift and/or average delay (e.g., QCL Type C).” [0064]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI, to include Ma’s method for quasi-colocation (QCL) configuration, in order to determine a channel property (Ma [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Ma’s method for quasi-colocation (QCL) configuration into Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6
Zhu previously discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the configuration includes information about a second QCL-info with:
Zhu further discloses a second QCL-Type that is different from the QCL-Type of the QCL-info (“For the case of two DL RSs, the QCL types shall not be the same, regardless of whether the references are to the same DL RS or different DL RSs. The quasi co-location types corresponding to each DL RS are given by the higher layer parameter qcl-Type in QCL-Info and may take one of the following values: (1) ‘typeA’: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, (2) ‘typeB’: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}, (3) ‘typeC’: {Doppler shift, average delay}, and (4) ‘typeD’: {Spatial Rx parameter}.” [0115]), and
Zhu does not specifically teach a source RS that is same or different from a source of the QCL-info.
In an analogous art, Ma discloses a source RS that is same or different from a source of the QCL-info (“For example, the configuration information may indicate, for a first signal, a first QCL source RS and a first QCL type, and may indicate, for a second signal, a second QCL source RS and/or a second QCL type different from the first QCL type. In this case, if the first signal and the second signal are in the same symbol, the UE 120 may need to track channel properties corresponding to the first QCL type and the second QCL type for the first QCL source RS and the second QCL source RS, thereby consuming significant computing resources. In such a case, the UE 120 may select respective single QCL relationships for the channel properties tracked by the UE 120 (e.g., one QCL relationship per channel property or multiple QCL relationships for a channel property, as described elsewhere herein), thereby conserving computing resources.” [0062]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI, to include Ma’s method for quasi-colocation (QCL) configuration, in order to determine a channel property (Ma [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Ma’s method for quasi-colocation (QCL) configuration into Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12
The BS of Claim 11, wherein: when the at least one source RS is a NZP CSI-RS resource with a higher layer parameter trs-info, the QCL-Type is Type A or Type B, and
when the at least one source RS is a synchronization signal block (SSB), the QCL-Type is Type C.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 12 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 5. Therefore apparatus claim 12 corresponds to apparatus claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 13
The BS of Claim 8, wherein the configuration includes information about a second QCL-info with:
a second QCL-Type that is different from the QCL-Type of the QCL-info, and
a source RS that is same or different from a source of the QCL-info.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 13 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 13 corresponds to apparatus claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19
The method of Claim 18, wherein:
when the at least one source RS is a NZP CSI-RS resource with a higher layer parameter trs-info, the QCL-Type is Type A or Type B, and
when the at least one source RS is a synchronization signal block (SSB), the QCL-Type is Type C.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 19 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 5. Therefore method claim 19 corresponds to apparatus claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
The method of Claim 15, wherein the configuration includes information about a second QCL-info with:
a second QCL-Type that is different from the QCL-Type of the QCL-info, and
a source RS that is same or different from a source of the QCL-info.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 20 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 6. Therefore method claim 20 corresponds to apparatus claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. US Pub 2023/0199795 (hereinafter “Zhu”), in view of Zhang et al. US Pub 2019/0174466 hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 7
Zhu previously discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein:
Zhu further discloses when N = K, the QCL-info is common for all of the K NZP CSI-RS resources (“For an aperiodic CSI-RS resource in an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info, the UE shall expect that a TCI-State indicates qcl-Type set to ‘typeA’ with a periodic CSI-RS resource in a NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info and, when applicable, qcl-Type set to ‘typeD’ with the same periodic CSI-RS resource.” [0152]),
Zhu does not specifically teach when N < K, the QCL-info is common for the N NZP CSI-RS resources, and for the remaining K - N NZP CSI-RS resources, a second QCL-info common for all of the K - N NZP CSI-RS resources is provided, or a second QCL-info for each of the K - N NZP CSI-RS resources is provided.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses when N < K (i.e. N is a subset of K for each scenario: periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent), the QCL-info is common for the N NZP CSI-RS resources (“the UE 101 identifies the QCL configuration of QCL RS resource(s) and QCL type(s) through higher layer signaling of qcl-info, which contains a list of references to TCI-State's for the aperiodic CSI-RS resources associated with the CSI triggering state. If a State referred to in the list is configured with a reference to an RS associated with ‘QCL-TypeD’, that RS may be an SS/PBCH block located in the same or different CC/DL BWP or a CSI-RS resource configured as periodic or semi-persistent located in the same or different CC/DL BWP.” [0135]), and
for the remaining K - N NZP CSI-RS resources (“The qcl-info IE in the CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList IE includes a list of references to TCI-States for providing the QCL source and QCL type for each NZP-CSI-RS-Resource listed in nzp-CSI-RS-Resources of the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet indicated by nzp-CSI-RS-ResourcesforChannel.” [0262]),
a second QCL-info common for all of the K - N NZP CSI-RS resources is provided, or a second QCL-info for each of the K - N NZP CSI-RS resources is provided (“a different value of QCL-Info-PeriodicCSI-RS or different QCL-Info-aPeriodicReportingTrigger for the CSI-RS resources in the resource set.” [0114]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI, to include Zhang’s method for providing the QCL source and QCL type for each NZP-CSI-RS-Resource, in order to qcl-info (Zhang [0262]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Zhang’s method for providing the QCL source and QCL type for each NZP-CSI-RS-Resource into Zhu’s method of beam management under a unified TCI since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 14
The BS of Claim 8, wherein:
when N = K, the QCL-info is common for all of the K NZP CSI-RS resources,
when N < K, the QCL-info is common for the N NZP CSI-RS resources, and
for the remaining K - N NZP CSI-RS resources,
a second QCL-info common for all of the K - N NZP CSI-RS resources is provided, or
a second QCL-info for each of the K - N NZP CSI-RS resources is provided.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 14 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 14 corresponds to apparatus claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411