DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2020/0360557 A1(Wu).
As to claims 1 and 20, Wu ‘557 discloses a volatile composition dispenser comprising volatile composition dispenser, comprising: (a) a cartridge 10 comprising a reservoir of at least one liquid volatile composition V and a rupturable substrate 14, see Fig. 5, for enclosing the reservoir; (b) a housing(rear shell 30 and external casing 60), defining an interior compartment, see Fig. 5, within which the cartridge 10 is disposed, wherein a frame opening(through-hole 34), see paragraph [0046], is formed through the housing(through-hole 34 is formed on the rear shell 30, Fig. 1) and defines an extending surface(the surface of the rear shell 30) in which the frame opening 34 extends, Fig. 1; and (c) an activation lever(pressing member 50/50a, paragraphs [0046,0068], Fig. 1) disposed at the frame opening. See Fig. 1, and configured to be pivotable in relation to the housing, see paragraph [0053], wherein the activation lever comprises a hammer portion(bulge portion 542, paragraph [0053]) and a handle portion(top board 52/56 clipping portion, paragraphs [0049,0068]), wherein the activation lever 50/50a is configurated to be pivotable between a first position, see Fig. 6, paragraph [0055] and Fig. 15, paragraph [0064], in which the hammer portion 542 of the activation lever 50/50a is extended below the extending surface(surface of the rear shell 30) of the frame opening 34 and into the interior compartment of the housing 30 and the handle portion 52/56 of the activation lever 50/50a is extended above the extending surface(surface of the rear shell 30) of the frame opening 34 and outside the housing 30, and a second position(position intermediate between Fig. 6 and Figs. 7 and 8, paragraph [0056] and Figures 16 and 17, paragraphs [0066-0068], in which the hammer portion 542 of the activation lever 50/50a causes rupture of the rupturable substrate 14 of the cartridge 10 to release the at least one liquid volatile composition therefrom(the user exerts a force on the top board 52 and clipping portion 56 of the pressing member 50/50a in order to activate the device, paragraphs [0055,0068]. Wu ‘557 discloses an apparatus the teaches the method of delivering at least one liquid volatile composition into the atmosphere, the method comprising: (i) providing a volatile composition dispenser as disclosed above; and (ii) activating the volatile composition dispenser by applying pressure onto the handle portion of the activation lever. See Figures 1-17 and paragraphs [0042-0068].
As to claim 2, Wu ‘557 discloses a third position (depicted in Figs.7-8) in which the handle portion (top board 52 ) of the activation lever (50) extends in a direction that is substantially parallel to the extending surface (surface of the rear shell 30) of the frame opening (34).
As to claim 3, Wu ‘557 discloses a bottom board 34 within the through-hole 34 (visible on Fig.1) which is configured to lock the pressing member 50 (paragraph [0050]) in the third position.
As to claim 4, see Wu ‘557, the bottom board 34 is located on both sides of the throughholes and can thus be seen as comprising two stops opposite to each other (visible from below on Fig.4). These bottom boards 34 interact with the lever in the lower side of the top board 52 (which is part of the handle portion) and at the penetration plate 54 (which is part of the hammer portion)..
As to claim 5, see Wu ‘557, the pressing member 50 has a pivoting portion 53 that is rotatably connected to the rotary shaft 33 located on the real shell 30 of the housing. The activation lever 50 is thus connected to said rear shell 30 (paragraphs [0052-0053], Fig.1, Fig.2, Fig.4) via a hinge structure.
As to claim 6, see Wu ‘557, the hinge comprises a rotary shaft 33 located inside the frame opening (the hinge 33 can be seen as inside the through holes 34 if taken from above) and coupled to the housing 30 (Fig.2).
As to claim 7, see Wu ‘557, the activation lever 50 comprises a pivoting portion 53 (Fig.2) which can be seen as a through-hole into which the pivoting shaft 33 fits. The activation lever 50 is pivotable around the pivoting shaft 33 and in relation to the housing (30).
As to claim 9, see Wu ‘557, the pressing member 50 is an integrated plastic piece manufactured by injection molding (paragraph [0049]).
As to claim 10, see Wu ‘557, see Figures 11 and 15.
As to claim 11, see Wu ‘557, see Figures 11 and 15.
As to claim 12, see Wu ‘557, see Figure 15.
As to claim 13, see Wu ‘557, see Figure 15.
As to claims 14 and 15, see Wu ‘557, see Figures 7 and 8.
As to claim 18, see Wu ‘557, breathable membrane 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 16, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gruenbacher et al ‘013 discloses a volatile composition dispenser.
STEVEN J. GANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN J GANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752