DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species B through F, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo & Kanegae (US 20200282724 A1; herein referred to as “Okubo”) in view of Sugawara et al. (US 20230139118 A1; herein referred to as “Sugawara”).
Below are relevant annotated figures that will be referenced throughout the discussion:
With respect to Claim 1, Okubo teaches a liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above) comprising:
a first element substrate (i.e., “H1” and “H3”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4) including
a first orifice row formed by a plurality of orifices, which are configured to eject liquid and are aligned along a first direction (i.e., row comprised of “nozzle row La” in “H1” aligned in the Y-direction; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4). Note that Okubo refers to “Hn” as representative of various circulation heads (such as “H1” through “H4”). Also note that each “nozzle row La” is comprised of orifices “nozzles N” which allow ink to be ejected onto a medium (Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & ¶0032).
and a first pressure chamber provided correspondingly to an orifice of the first orifice row (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H1”’s reservoir “Ra” which corresponds to “the plurality of nozzles N of the first nozzle row La” within “H1”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4);
a second element substrate (i.e., “H2” and “H4”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4) including
a second orifice row formed by a plurality of orifices, which are configured to eject liquid and are aligned along the first direction (i.e., row comprised of “La” in “H2” aligned in the Y-direction; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above). Note that Okubo refers to “Hn” as representative of various circulation heads (such as “H1” through “H4”). Also note that each “nozzle row La” is comprised of orifices “nozzles N” which allow ink to be ejected onto a medium (Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & ¶0032).
the second orifice row (i.e., row “La” in “H2”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above) having at least a portion that is adjacent to the first orifice row (i.e., row “La” in “H1”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above) in a second direction (i.e., X-direction; see annotated Okubo Fig. 4) perpendicular to the first direction (i.e., Y-direction; see annotated Okubo Fig. 4),
and a second pressure chamber provided correspondingly to an orifice of the second orifice row (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H2”’s reservoir “Ra” which corresponds to “the plurality of nozzles N of the first nozzle row La” within “H2”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above);
and a channel-forming member including a plurality of reservoirs storing liquid (i.e., “flow path structure 31” in combination with reservoirs “Ra” within each of the “circulations heads H1 to H4”; Okubo: ¶0044 & 0046; see annotated Fig. 6),
the plurality of reservoirs comprise
a second reservoir (i.e., “liquid storage chamber Ra” within “H1”; Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”) in communication with the first pressure chamber (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H1”’s reservoir “Ra”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041; annotated Fig. 6-“General”). To restate, Okubo teaches that every reservoir within a “circulation head Hn” element (e.g., “Ra” reservoirs within “H1” through “H4”) are in communication with at least one pressure chamber “Ca”. For simplicity, one pressure chamber within “H1”’s reservoir “Ra” will be designated as the “first pressure chamber”.
a third reservoir (i.e., “liquid storage chamber Ra” within “H2”; Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6) in communication with the second pressure chamber (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H2”’s reservoir “Ra”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041; annotated Fig. 6-“General”).
Okubo suggests a channel-forming member (“first liquid container 12a” aka “liquid container 12” attached to a “liquid ejecting apparatus 100”; Okubo: ¶0028 and see annotated Fig. 6-“General” above) including a plurality of reservoirs storing liquid (“liquid ejecting unit 25” includes; Okubo: ¶0028 and annotated Fig. 6-“General” above), the plurality of reservoirs comprise a first reservoir (“first liquid container 12a”; Okubo: ¶0028; annotated Fig. 6-“General” above) in communication with the first pressure chamber (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H1”’s reservoir “Ra”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041; annotated Fig. 6-“General”) and the second pressure chamber (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H2”’s reservoir “Ra”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041; annotated Fig. 6-“General” and Fig. 6-“Path 1” below). Okubo suggests this by teaching a “liquid container 12” (which contains reservoir “12a”) can be attached to the overall liquid ejection apparatus “100” in a variety of ways, including an ink tank that can be refilled with ink, a cartridge, etc. (Okubo: ¶0028; Fig. 1). While Okubo acknowledges reservoir “12a” can be stored outside of the channel-forming member, offset from the liquid ejection apparatus, Okubo also teaches that reservoir “12a” can take many forms (Okubo: ¶0028; Fig. 1). This could include forms that are stored within the liquid ejection apparatus “100” and, moreover, forms that are contained within a channel-forming member (i.e., “flow path structure 31” in combination with reservoirs “circulations heads H1 to H4” and reservoir “12a”; Okubo: ¶0044 & 0046; see annotated Fig. 6). However, Okubo does not explicitly teach the positioning of “12a” as being within “liquid ejection head 252” and therefore Sugawara will be presented to teach that one of the ways Okubo’s “first liquid container 12a” could be positioned is within a channel-forming member.
Sugawara teaches the plurality of reservoirs comprise a first reservoir (i.e., “flow path member 50”; Sugawara: ¶0040, ¶0047, & Fig. 7 & 9) in communication with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber (i.e. two of the “ink flow paths”, each associated with “nozzles 21” which cause liquid ejection from the nozzle due to “pressure generation units”; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, Fig. 7 & Fig. 9, “21” within “liquid ejecting sections 20” in communication with “50”). Note that these individual ink flow paths are not shown in the figures, as stated in Sugawara ¶0042. These pressure chambers (i.e., “ink flow paths”; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042), within the “plurality of liquid ejecting sections 20 having the nozzles 21 that eject the ink”, are pressurized by a “pressure generation unit” which causes them to eject liquid via nozzles (Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, Fig. 7 & Fig. 9). Therefore, these “ink flow paths” can be considered pressure chambers (i.e., chambers in which pressure is adjusted to adjust flow). By teaching that the first reservoir (i.e., “flow path member 50”; Sugawara: ¶0040, ¶0047, & Fig. 7 & 9) is a reservoir that is in communication with “liquid ejecting sections 20”, and that these sections contain a plurality of pressure chambers (“ink flow paths”), Sugawara teaches that the first reservoir is in communication with at least two pressure chambers, which we can designate as the “first” and “second” pressure chambers (Sugawara: ¶0040-0042). Based on this teaching that the first reservoir can be contained within a liquid ejection head’s channel-forming member (i.e., “flow path member 50” in combination with the “liquid ejection sections 20”, which are both within a “recording head 10”; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, ¶0047, & Fig. 7 & 9), Sugawara in combination with Okubo teaches that Okubo’s “12a” can be positioned within a liquid ejection head “252” within a channel-forming member and, therefore, “12a” can be designated as the first reservoir. As shown in the annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 1” (see below), first reservoir “12a” communicates with the first and second pressure chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the positioning of Okubo’s reservoir “12a” (Okubo: ¶0028; annotated Fig. 6-“General” above) to be within the liquid ejecting head’s channel-forming member, as taught by Sugawara’s positioning of reservoir “50” within a liquid ejecting head’s channel-forming member (i.e., “flow path member 50” in combination with the “liquid ejection sections 20”, which are both within a “recording head 10”; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, ¶0047, & Fig. 7 & 9). Doing so enables the overall liquid ejection apparatus to require less fluid transfer within the overall apparatus (i.e., it does not require an offset ink storage container to be constantly feeding liquid into the liquid ejection head, because this modification enables some ink to be stored within the liquid ejection head in Okubo’s reservoir “12a”). This can be beneficial such as it can decrease the risk of spills within the liquid ejection apparatus by decreasing the distance the fluid is travelling and it can increase the speed of ejection given the ejection fluid within “12a” is stored closer to the orifices for ejection than it would be if traveling from an offset ink container.
With respect to Claim 2, Okubo in view of Sugawara teaches the liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above) according to claim 1, wherein
a portion of liquid supplied from the first reservoir to the first pressure chamber is collected in the second reservoir (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 2” below). As noted above, Okubo teaches that the second reservoir is in communication with the first pressure chamber (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”). Okubo suggests that the circulation of ink occurring throughout the liquid ejection head, which includes the reservoirs “Ra” (as shown in annotated Fig. 6-“General”), would therefore also include the circulation of ink within the pressure chambers “Ca” as these are in communication with their respective reservoir “Ra”. Although Okubo does not explicitly state/depict that liquid from the first pressure chamber is being circulated to the second reservoir, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fluid within a given pressure chambers “Ca” within its respective reservoir “Ra” would be included in the fluid that is being circulated throughout the ink flow paths shown in Fig. 6 (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”).
a portion of liquid supplied from the first reservoir to the second pressure chamber is collected in the third reservoir (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 3” below). As noted above, Okubo teaches that the third reservoir is in communication with the second pressure chamber (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”). Okubo suggests that the circulation of ink occurring throughout the liquid ejection head, which includes the reservoirs “Ra” (as shown in annotated Fig. 6-“General”), would therefore also include the circulation of ink within the pressure chambers “Ca” as these are in communication with their respective reservoir “Ra”. Although Okubo does not explicitly state/depict that liquid from the first pressure chamber is being circulated to the second reservoir, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fluid within a given pressure chambers “Ca” within its respective reservoir “Ra” would be included in the fluid that is being circulated throughout the ink flow paths shown in Fig. 6 (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”).
With respect to Claim 3, Okubo in view of Sugawara teaches the liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above) according to claim 2, wherein the second orifice row (i.e., row comprised of “La” in H2 & H4; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above) is displaced in the first direction (i.e., Y-direction) relative to the first orifice row (i.e., row comprised of “nozzle row La” in “H1” & “H3”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above).
With respect to Claim 4, Okubo in view of Sugawara teaches the liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above according to claim 3, wherein
the first element substrate (i.e., “H1” and “H3”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above) includes
a third orifice row formed by a plurality of orifices, which are configured to eject liquid and are aligned along the first direction (i.e., row comprised of “nozzle row La” in “H3” aligned in the Y-direction; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above). Note that Okubo refers to “Hn” as representative of various circulation heads (such as “H1” through “H4”). Also note that each “nozzle row La” is comprised of orifices “nozzles N” which allow ink to be ejected onto a medium (Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & ¶0032).
a third pressure chamber provided correspondingly to an orifice of the third orifice row (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H3”’s reservoir “Ra” which corresponds to “the plurality of nozzles N of the first nozzle row La” within “H3”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above), and
the second element substrate (i.e., “H2” and “H4”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above) includes
a fourth orifice row formed by a plurality of orifices, which are configured to eject liquid and are aligned along the first direction (i.e., row comprised of “La” in H4 aligned in the Y-direction; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above). Note that Okubo refers to “Hn” as representative of various circulation heads (such as “H1” through “H4”). Also note that each “nozzle row La” is comprised of orifices “nozzles N” which allow ink to be ejected onto a medium (Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & ¶0032).
a fourth pressure chamber provided correspondingly to an orifice of the fourth orifice row (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H4”’s reservoir “Ra” which corresponds to “the plurality of nozzles N of the first nozzle row La” within “H4”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041 & annotated Fig. 4 above);
wherein the second reservoir is in communication with the third pressure chamber (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 4” below), and
the third reservoir is in communication with the fourth pressure chamber (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 5” below), and
wherein the plurality of reservoirs comprises
a fourth reservoir (i.e., “liquid storage chamber Ra” within “H3”; Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”) in communication with the third pressure chamber (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H3”’s reservoir “Ra”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041; annotated Fig. 6-“General”), and
a fifth reservoir (i.e., “liquid storage chamber Ra” within “H4”; Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6) in communication with the fourth pressure chamber (i.e., one of the “pressure chambers Ca” within “H4”’s reservoir “Ra”; Okubo: ¶0040-0041; annotated Fig. 6-“General”).
With respect to Claim 5, Okubo in view of Sugawara teaches the liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above) according to claim 4, wherein
a portion of liquid supplied from the fourth reservoir to the third pressure chamber is collected in the second reservoir (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 6” below). As noted above, Okubo teaches that the fourth reservoir is in communication with the third pressure chamber (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”). Okubo suggests that the circulation of ink occurring throughout the liquid ejection head, which includes the reservoirs “Ra” (as shown in annotated Fig. 6-“General”), would therefore also include the circulation of ink within the pressure chambers “Ca” as these are in communication with their respective reservoir “Ra”. Although Okubo does not explicitly state/depict that liquid from the first pressure chamber is being circulated to the second reservoir, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fluid within a given pressure chambers “Ca” within its respective reservoir “Ra” would be included in the fluid that is being circulated throughout the ink flow paths shown in Fig. 6 (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”).
a portion of liquid supplied from the fifth reservoir to the fourth pressure chamber is collected in the third reservoir (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“Path 7” below). As noted above, Okubo teaches that the fifth reservoir is in communication with the fourth pressure chamber (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”). Okubo suggests that the circulation of ink occurring throughout the liquid ejection head, which includes the reservoirs “Ra” (as shown in annotated Fig. 6-“General”), would therefore also include the circulation of ink within the pressure chambers “Ca” as these are in communication with their respective reservoir “Ra”. Although Okubo does not explicitly state/depict that liquid from the first pressure chamber is being circulated to the second reservoir, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fluid within a given pressure chambers “Ca” within its respective reservoir “Ra” would be included in the fluid that is being circulated throughout the ink flow paths shown in Fig. 6 (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 6-“General”).
With respect to Claim 6, Okubo in view of Sugawara teaches the liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above) according to claim 5. Please note that this includes teaching five reservoirs (see annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“General” above), wherein the second though fifth reservoirs are the “liquid storage chambers Ra” positioned within “H1” through “H4”, respectively (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 4 above & annotated Fig. 6-“General” above). Additionally, Okubo teaches the first direction is the longer side of the substrates (i.e., the Y-direction; see annotated Okubo Fig. 4 provided below).
Okubo is silent on wherein a width of the first reservoir in the first direction is greater than those of the second reservoir, the third reservoir, the fourth reservoir, and the fifth reservoir in the first direction.
Sugawara teaches wherein a width of the first reservoir in the first direction is greater than those of the second reservoir, the third reservoir, the fourth reservoir, and the fifth reservoir in the first direction (i.e., the width in the Y-direction of “50” is greater than any of the widths of the other four reservoirs stored within the four boxes of “liquid ejection sections 20”; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, Fig. 9 & annotated Fig. 7 below). Sections “20”, as taught by Sugawara, each contain a reservoir analogous to the second through fifth reservoir taught to be contained in Okubo’s “H1” through “H4” structures (i.e., “liquid storage chambers Ra” within “H1” through “H4”; Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 4 above & annotated Fig. 6-“General” above; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042 & annotated Fig. 7 below). Sugawara’s first reservoir “50”, which teaches the positioning of Okubo’s “12a” within the liquid ejection head, is wider than each section “20” (each storing the other reservoirs, respectively), as shown in Sugawara Fig. 9 & annotated Fig. 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the width of Okubo’s first reservoir “12a” (Okubo: ¶0028; annotated Fig. 6-“General” above) to be wider (and a larger volume overall) than each of the other reservoirs, as taught by Sugawara (Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, ¶0047, Fig. 9 & annotated Fig. 7 above). As shown in the annotated Sugawara Fig. 7, increasing the width of “50” so that it spans wider than the reservoirs contained in sections “20” enables “50” to be smoothly aligned against the structure “30” holding the sections “20”, which enables the liquid ejection head to be more structurally sound. Moreover, having the first reservoir sized as taught in Sugawara enables the overall liquid ejection apparatus to require less fluid transfer within the overall apparatus (i.e., it does not require an offset ink storage container to be constantly feeding liquid into the liquid ejection head, because this modification enables a larger quantity of ink to be stored within the liquid ejection head within the first reservoir “12a”). This sizing of the first reservoir (in relation to the others) can be beneficial such as it can decrease the risk of spills within the liquid ejection apparatus by decreasing the distance the fluid is travelling and it can increase the speed of ejection given the ejection fluid within “12a” is stored closer to the orifices for ejection than it would be if traveling from an offset ink container.
With respect to Claim 7, Okubo in view of Sugawara teaches the liquid ejection head (i.e., “liquid ejecting heads 252”; Okubo: ¶0005-0006 & ¶0010; annotated Fig. 4 above) according to claim 5. Please note that this includes teaching five reservoirs (annotated Okubo Fig. 6-“General” above), wherein the second though fifth reservoirs are the “liquid storage chambers Ra” positioned within “H1” through “H4”, respectively (Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 4 above & annotated Fig. 6-“General” above).
Okubo is silent on wherein a sum of volumes of the first reservoir, the fourth reservoir, and the fifth reservoir is greater than a sum of volumes of the second reservoir and the third reservoir.
Sugawara teaches wherein a sum of volumes of the first reservoir, the fourth reservoir, and the fifth reservoir is greater than a sum of volumes of the second reservoir and the third reservoir (i.e., see volumes as depicted in Sugawara annotated Fig. 7 above & Fig. 9, with “50” and reservoirs within sections “20”). Sugawara’s first reservoir “50”, which teaches the positioning of Okubo’s “12a” within the liquid ejection head, is shown to have a larger volume in relation to each section “20”, which each contain a reservoir analogous to the second through fifth reservoir taught to be contained in Okubo’s “H1” through “H4” structures (i.e., “liquid storage chambers Ra” within “H1” through “H4”; Okubo: ¶0044, ¶0041, ¶0046-0048, & ¶0051; annotated Fig. 4 above & annotated Fig. 6-“General” above; Sugawara: ¶0040-0042 & annotated Fig. 7 above). Sugawara’s Fig. 7 & 9 (see annotated Fig. 7 above for clarity) teach that the sum of the volumes of the first reservoir “50” with the fourth and fifth reservoirs are greater than the sum of volumes of the second and third reservoir.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the volumes of the reservoirs such that they meet the claimed limitation above. The beneficial structure/arrangement taught by Okubo in view of Sugawara can be summarized as follows: a first reservoir “12a” (Okubo: ¶0028; annotated Fig. 6-“General” above), taught by Sugawara to be positioned within the liquid ejecting head’s channel-forming member (Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, ¶0047; Fig. 7 & 9, “50”, “20”, & “10”) having a large volume to store liquid (i.e., a volume larger than any individual reservoir); evenly-sized, smaller reservoirs that communicate with the liquid ejection head’s orifices; and communication between the first reservoir and the other reservoirs (Sugawara: ¶0040-0042, ¶0047; annotated Fig. 7 & Fig. 9, “50”, “20”, & “10”). This structure/arrangement results in the sum of volumes of the first, fourth, and fifth reservoirs being greater than the sum of the second and third reservoirs. Modifying Okubo to achieve this structure/arrangement enables the overall liquid ejection apparatus to require less fluid transfer within the overall apparatus (i.e., it does not require an offset ink storage container to be constantly feeding liquid into the liquid ejection head, because this modification enables a large volume ink to be stored within the liquid ejection head in Okubo’s reservoir “12a”) and then distributed evenly to orifices during the ejection process. This can be beneficial such as it can decrease the risk of spills within the liquid ejection apparatus by decreasing the distance the fluid is travelling and it can increase ejection quality by having uniform liquid distribution to the orifices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Kanegae & Ito (US 20210060950 A1) teaches: “A liquid discharging apparatus may include a first head unit and a second head unit. The first head unit includes first and second parts. A position of the second part in a first direction is different from that of the first part, and a width is shorter than a width of the first part in a second direction. The second head unit includes a fourth part and a fifth part. A position of the fifth part in the first direction is different from that of the fourth part, and a width is shorter than a width of the fourth part in the second direction. The first head unit and the second head unit are disposed side by side in the second direction. At least a part of the second part and at least a part of the fifth part do not overlap with each other in the first direction.” Also see the following relevant figures: 1, 3, 4-5, & 7-12.
Ogawa & Komamiya (US 20240208239 A1) teaches: “A liquid ejection head includes a first printing element substrate, a second printing element substrate, and a liquid supply member. The liquid supply member includes a distribution channel arranged upstream the first printing element substrate and the second printing element substrate and a collection channel arranged downstream the first printing element substrate and the second printing element substrate. In the distribution channel, a first distribution opening and a second distribution opening are arranged in series manner to be arrayed in this order from an inlet opening. In the collection channel, a first collection opening and a second collection opening are arranged parallel to each other to be connected with an outlet opening by way of a branch point. In the collection channel, a flow resistance between the first collection opening and the branch point is smaller than a flow resistance between the second collection opening and the branch point.” Also see the following relevant figures: 11 & 18-19.
Hagiwara & Okubo (US 20200282721 A1) teaches: “A liquid ejecting head including: a first liquid ejecting portion configured to eject a liquid; a second liquid ejecting portion configured to eject a liquid; a first supply flow path configured to supply the liquid to the first liquid ejecting portion and the second liquid ejecting portion; and a temperature detection element for measuring a temperature of the liquid. The first supply flow path includes a common portion to which the liquid is supplied; a first branch portion that communicates with the common portion at a communication position, and that supplies the liquid from the common portion to the first liquid ejecting portion; and a second branch portion that communicates with the common portion at the communication position, and that supplies the liquid from the common portion to the second liquid ejecting portion. The temperature detection element is disposed at a vicinity of the communication position.” Also see the following relevant figures: 1, 4, 6, 15, & 18.
Sasaki (US 20140036007 A1) teaches: “A liquid-jet head includes nozzles disposed in a predetermined direction and configured to discharge a recording liquid, individual liquid chambers connected to the respective nozzles and configured to supply the recording liquid to the respective nozzles, a common liquid chamber connected to the individual liquid chambers and configured to supply the recording liquid to the individual liquid chambers, an air reservoir space disposed adjacent to the common liquid chamber and configured to retain air, a flexible division wall separating the common liquid chamber from the air reservoir space, a tube unit connected outside the liquid-jet head, a recording liquid supply tube passing through the air reservoir space to divide the air reservoir space into a plurality of spaces and configured to supply the recording liquid to the common chamber, and a connecting unit configured to connect the divided spaces to one another.” Also see relevant Figure 7.
/SHLOMIT CHELST/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853