DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received 10/08/2026.
In the response to the Non-Final Office Action 07/09/2026, the applicant states that claims 1-20 are pending in current application.
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-19 have been amended. In summary, claims 1-20 are pending in current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding to claim 1, the applicant argues that the alleged combination of Sokolov and Kim does not disclose: "control the communicator to transmit the captured content image corresponding to the original content to a device of a user and to receive editing information with respect to the original content from the device of the user”. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Sokolov discloses "control the communicator to transmit the captured content image corresponding to the original content to a device of a user and to receive editing information with respect to the original content from the device of the user”. For example, in paragraph [0022], Sokolov teaches a user typically can upload the user's image content and adjust it, e.g., re-size, crop, or otherwise modify the image, so that the image content is displayed as desired by the user when viewed on the display of the user's device; Sokolov further teaches the image content is transmitted and viewed on other devices, e.g., display screen of a mobile phone, an electronic tablet, etc. In paragraph [0025], Sokolov teaches the user uses the first communication device 102 to upload or send image content. In paragraph [0027], Sokolov teaches the image content is displayed to the user on the first display component 104 after uploading and receiving the image content; Sokolov further teaches the user adjusts the display of the image content on the first display component 104 using the first communication device 102, and re-sizing the image content; Sokolov further more teaches cropping the image content, and adjusting the display of the image content within an image display frame as displayed on the first display component 104 by sending adjustment control information to the server 106. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0047], Sokolov teaches the copy image 210 has a different size or other display differences if displayed on the second display component 208 without modification. In paragraph [0048], Sokolov teaches analyzing display characteristics associated with the copy image 210; Sokolov further teaches identifying that the size of the copy image 210 is larger than the display area on the second display component 208 by a specified amount or scale. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0049], Sokolov teaches the content management component 206 provides, e.g., transmit, the modified image 212 to the second display component 208 for display; Sokolov further teaches the second display component 208 displays the modified image 212 in the display area, e.g., image display frame, on the second display component 208;
. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0057], Sokolov teaches a second communication device 408, e.g., mobile phone, electronic pad or tablet, video player, or other type of communication device. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0060], Sokolov teaches generating modified image content 416 for display in a desired display area; Sokolov further teaches the modified image content 416 can be displayed on the second display component 410.
Kim discloses “control the communicator to transmit the captured content image to a device of a user”. For example, in paragraph [0042], Kim teaches a smart phone and a mobile phone. In paragraph [0056], Kim teaches the display unit 120 receives and displays a captured image; a camera preview image. In paragraph [0061], Kim teaches the communication unit 140 has various communication functions. In Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0122], Kim teaches the external electronic device 205 connected to share the screen with the electronic device 100 is a notebook or a laptop computer; Kim further teaches a laptop computer is able to send and receive data. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0123], Kim teaches the external electronic device 205 connected to share the screen with the electronic device 100 is a tablet Personal Computer; Kim further teaches a tablet Personal Computer is able to send and receive data. In paragraph [0133], Kim teaches displaying the icon of the video application having the reduced size. In paragraph [0161], Kim teaches transmitting a screen related to the email application to the external electronic device 205. In Fig. 9 and paragraph [0180], Kim teaches the window 903 is displayed to overlap the screen 900 currently being displayed on the electronic device 100;
. In paragraph [0181], Kim teaches the window 903 is displayed in a size determined on the basis of the user setting of the electronic device 100. In Fig. 16 and paragraph [0232], Kim teaches the electronic device 100 may change the video application from the foreground state to the background state while transmitting the information to the external electronic device 205, i.e. a laptop. In Fig. 22 and paragraph [0302], Kim teaches the electronic device 100 transmits the first data to the external electronic device 205.
Regarding to claim 1, the applicant argues that applicant respectfully submits that there is no motivation for combining Sokolov with Kim. The arguments have been considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine Sokolov with Kim, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, The motivation for combining Sokolov with Kim would have been to display a captured image and a camera preview image in a device of a user; to change the size of the window in response to reception of a first input in the window and change a location of the window in response to reception of a second input in the window; to move the object 811 by a touch and drag; to determine the window 903 size on the basis of the user setting of the electronic device 100 as taught by Kim in paragraphs [0056], [0107], [0162], and [0180]. “The law does not require that the references be combined for the reasons contemplated by the inventor” {In re Beattie, 974 F.2d 1309, 1314 (Fed. Cir. 1992)(prior citations omitted)), and I conclude the Examiner’s articulated reasoning provides a rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,418 (2007).
Claim 11 is not allowable due to the similar reasons as discussed in claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 6-10, and 20 are not allowable due to the similar reasons as discussed above.
Claims 12-13 and 16-19 are not allowable due to the similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokolov (US 20130141456 A1) and in view of Kim (US 20200057596 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Sokolov discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1; [0024]: manage presentation of image content on devices in accordance with various aspects; the system 100 includes a first communication device 102; [0026]: the system 100 includes a server 106; [0027]: the image content is displayed to the user on the first display component 104; [0031]: the system 100 includes a content management component 110 that is associated with the first communication device 102, the server 106, and the second display component 108; Fig. 6; [0075]: one or more processors, microprocessors) comprising:
a communicator (Fig. 1; [0026]: first communication device 102; Fig. 6; [0068]: a communicator component 602 is employed to communicate, e.g., transmit, receive, information);
a memory storing one or more instructions ([0091]: a data store 916 stores data structures, code structures and instructions; [0092]: general context of computer-executable instructions of a computer program that runs on a computer and/or computers; Fig. 11; [0095]: the system memory 1016 includes volatile memory 1020 and nonvolatile memory 1022; ROM; RAM); and
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to (Fig. 6; [0075]: one or more processors, microprocessors; [0092]: general context of computer-executable instructions of a computer program that runs on a computer and/or computers):
control receiving, from a display device through the communicator, a captured content image corresponding to an original content being played on the display device and information with respect to the original content (Fig. 2; [0045]: the first display component 202 displays an image 204, in accordance with the first subset of display characteristics; Fig. 2; [0047]: the content management component obtains and receives a copy image 210 of the image 204, i.e. a captured image; the copy image 210 corresponds to the image 204;
);
control the communicator to transmit the captured content image corresponding to the original content to a device and to receive editing information with respect to the original content from the device of the user ([0025]: the user use the first communication device 102 to upload or send image content; [0027]: the user adjusts the display of the image content on the first display component 104 using the first communication device 102; re-size the image content; crop the image content; adjust the display of the image content within an image display frame as displayed on the first display component 104 by sending adjustment control information to the server 106; Fig. 2; [0047]: the copy image 210 has a different size or other display differences if displayed on the second display component 208 without modification; [0048]: analyze display characteristics associated with the copy image 210; identify that the size of the copy image 210 is larger than the display area on the second display component 208 by a specified amount or scale);
edit the original content, based on at least one of the received editing information and the received information with respect to the original content ([0027]: the user adjusts the display of the image content on the first display component 104 using the first communication device 102; re-size the image content; crop the image content; adjust the display of the image content within an image display frame as displayed on the first display component 104 by sending adjustment control information to the server 106; Fig. 2; [0048]: the content management component 206 modifies the size and resolution of the copy image 210 to generate a modified image 212, based at least in part on the analysis results, the second subset of display characteristics, and the predefined display criterion;
; Fig. 3; [0053]: generate a modified image 314 depicting the head and shoulders of the person, in accordance with the second subset of display characteristics and the image 304 as it is displayed by the first display component 302); and
control the communicator to transmit the edited original content to the display device so that the edited original content is played on the display device (Fig. 2; [0049]: the content management component 206 transmits the modified image 212 to the second display component 208 for display.
; Fig. 3; [0054]: the content management component 306 transmits the modified image 314 to the second display component 308 for display;
.),
wherein the original content and the edited original content are played on the same display device (Fig. 3; [0053]: the copy image 310 includes original contents, such as, hands, arms, and legs, as illustrated in Fig. 3; only an image portion 312 of the head and shoulders of the person, i.e. original content, is selected by the content management component 306, i.e. selection and reduction;
; display the copy image 310 with the original contents, such as, hands, arms, and legs, on second display component; Fig. 3; [0054]: the second display component 308 displays the modified image 314 in the display area on the second display component 308).
Sokolov fails to explicitly disclose a device of a user.
In same field of endeavor, Kim teaches control the communicator to transmit the captured content image to a device of a user ([0042]: a smart phone; a mobile phone; [0056]: the display unit 120 receives and displays a captured image; a camera preview image; [0061]: the communication unit 140 has various communication functions; Fig. 9; [0180]: the window 903 is displayed to overlap the screen 900 currently being displayed on the electronic device 100;
; [0181]: the window 903 is displayed in a size determined on the basis of the user setting of the electronic device 100; Fig. 22; [0302]: the electronic device 100 transmits the first data to the external electronic device 205; [0305]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sokolov to include control the communicator to transmit the captured content image to a device of a user as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to display a captured image and a camera preview image in a device of a user; to change the size of the window in response to reception of a first input in the window and change a location of the window in response to reception of a second input in the window; to move the object 811 by a touch and drag; to determine the window 903 size on the basis of the user setting of the electronic device 100 as taught by Kim in paragraphs [0056], [0107], [0162], and [0180].
Regarding to claim 2 (Previously Presented), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to edit the original content based on the at least one of the received editing information and the received information with respect to the original content, via an artificial intelligence (AI) model for editing the original content (Sokolov; [0027]: the user adjusts the display of the image content on the first display component 104 using the first communication device 102; re-size the image content; crop the image content; adjust the display of the image content within an image display frame as displayed on the first display component 104 by sending adjustment control information to the server 106; Fig. 2; [0048]: the content management component 206 modifies the size and resolution of the copy image 210 to generate a modified image 212, based at least in part on the analysis results, the second subset of display characteristics, and the predefined display criterion; Fig. 3; [0053-0054]: generate a modified image 314 depicting the head and shoulders of the person, in accordance with the second subset of display characteristics and the image 304 as it is displayed by the first display component 302; [0112]: artificial intelligence, e.g., a capacity to make inference based on complex mathematical formalisms).
Sokolov in view of Kim discloses via an artificial intelligence (AI) model for editing the content (Kim; [0043]: an artificial intelligence electronic device).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 3 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein
the AI model is configured to improve image quality of the edited original content (Kim; [0043]: an artificial intelligence electronic device improves image quality), and
the received editing information includes at least one of information with respect to selection of a play area of the original content, information with respect to enlargement of the play area of the original content, information with respect to reduction of the play area of the original content, and information with respect to addition of an image or addition of text to the original content (Sokolov; Fig. 3; [0053-0054]: only an image portion 312 of the head and shoulders of the person is selected by the content management component 306, i.e. selection and reduction;
).
Regarding to claim 6 (Previously Presented), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the received information with respect to the original content includes at least one of information with respect to image quality of the original content and dimension information of the display device playing the original content (Sokolov; [0048]: size, a specified amount, and scale; modify the size and resolution, i.e. quality; [0052]: the copy image 310 can have a different size, different shape, or other display differences; Fig. 3; [0053-0054]: only an image portion 312 of the head and shoulders of the person is selected by the content management component 306, i.e. selection and reduction;
).
Regarding to claim 7 (Previously Presented), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein
the dimension information of the display device includes at least one of horizontal dimension information of the display device and vertical dimension information of the display device (Sokolov; Fig. 2; [0048]: identify that the size of the copy image 210 is larger than the display area on the second display component 208 by a specified amount or scale, e.g., size factor; Fig. 3; [0053]: generate a modified image 314 depicting the head and shoulders of the person, in accordance with the second subset of display characteristics and the image 304 as it is displayed by the first display component 302), and
the at least one processor is configured to edit the original content, based on at least one of the received editing information and the dimension information of the display device (Sokolov; Fig. 2; [0048]: identify that the size of the copy image 210 is larger than the display area on the second display component 208 by a specified amount or scale, e.g., size factor;
; Fig. 3; [0053-0054]: generate a modified image 314 depicting the head and shoulders of the person, in accordance with the second subset of display characteristics and the image 304 as it is displayed by the first display component 302).
Regarding to claim 8 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the communicator to transmit, to the device of the user, at least one of a signal with respect to whether or not to edit the original content and a signal with respect to an editing direction of the original content and the captured content image corresponding to the original content (Sokolov; [0027]: send adjustment control information to the server 106; Fig. 2; [0048]: identify that the size of the copy image 210 is larger than the display area on the second display component 208 by a specified amount or scale, e.g., size factor;
; Fig. 3; [0053-0054]: only an image portion 312 of the head and shoulders of the person is selected by the content management component 306, i.e. selection and reduction;
).
Regarding to claim 9 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to edit the original content based on at least one of information with respect to arrangement of a plurality of display devices, the received editing information, and the information with respect to the original content, so that the plurality of display devices integrally play the edited original content (Kim; [0042]: a smart phone; a mobile phone; [0056]: the display unit 120 receives and displays a captured image; a camera preview image; [0061]: the communication unit 140 has various communication functions; Fig. 9; [0180]: the window 903 is displayed to overlap the screen 900 currently being displayed on the electronic device 100;
; [0181]: the window 903 is displayed in a size determined on the basis of the user setting of the electronic device 100; Fig. 22; [0302]: the electronic device 100 transmits the first data to the external electronic device 205; [0305]).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 10 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the communicator to receive, from the display device, the information with respect to the original content, according to an editing request signal of the user with respect to the original content, transmitted from the device of the user (Sokolov; [0025]: the user use the first communication device 102 to upload or send image content; [0027]: the user adjusts the display of the image content on the first display component 104 using the first communication device 102; re-size the image content; crop the image content; adjust the display of the image content within an image display frame as displayed on the first display component 104 by sending adjustment control information to the server 106; [0048]: analyze display characteristics associated with the copy image 210; identify that the size of the copy image 210 is larger than the display area on the second display component 208 by a specified amount or scale).
Regarding to claim 11 (Currently Amended), Sokolov discloses a method (Fig. 1; [0024]: manage presentation of image content on devices in accordance with various aspects; the system 100 includes a first communication device 102; [0026]: the system 100 includes a server 106; [0027]: the image content is displayed to the user on the first display component 104; [0031]: the system 100 includes a content management component 110 that is associated with the first communication device 102, the server 106, and the second display component 108) comprising:
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 11.
Regarding to claim 12 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 11,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 12.
Regarding to claim 13 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 12, wherein
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 16 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 11,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 16.
Regarding to claim 17 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 16,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 17.
Regarding to claim 18 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 11,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 8. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 8 is also used to reject claim 18.
Regarding to claim 19 (Currently Amended), Sokolov in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 11,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 9. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 9 is also used to reject claim 19.
Regarding to claim 20 (Original), Sokolov discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for executing the method of claim 11 on a computer (Fig. 1; [0024]: manage presentation of image content on devices in accordance with various aspects; the system 100 includes a first communication device 102; [0026]: the system 100 includes a server 106; [0027]: the image content is displayed to the user on the first display component 104; [0031]: the system 100 includes a content management component 110 that is associated with the first communication device 102, the server 106, and the second display component 108; [0075]: processor; [0091]: a data store 916 stores data structures, code structures and instructions; [0092]: general context of computer-executable instructions of a computer program that runs on a computer and/or computers; Fig. 11; [0095]: the system memory 1016 includes volatile memory 1020 and nonvolatile memory 1022; ROM; RAM).
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616