DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The indicated allowability of claims 11-12, 14-15, 17 and 19 are withdrawn in view of the reconsidered reference(s) to Rodgers et al (WO 2022/212665; provided by Applicant) and Utykanski (US 2020/0065536). Rejections based on the reconsidered reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodgers et al (WO 2022/212665; provided by Applicant).
In regards to claim 1, Rodgers discloses a portable device aim identification system, comprising:
a display screen (display screen 48) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 22);
a portable device (portable device 16) comprising multiple antennas (first ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry) and one or more electrically-powered features (haptic device 46) (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 5, 20, 22, 44, 52, 59);
a transceiver (second ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry) separate from the portable device, wherein the transceiver and the multiple antennas are configured to generate data based on signals communicated between the transceiver and the multiple antennas (paragraphs 5-6, 37); and
an interactive device system configured to:
track position of the portable device, orientation of the portable device, or both based on the data (paragraphs 5-6, 37);
identify an aim location of the portable device based on the position of the portable device, orientation of the portable device, or both (paragraphs 5-6, 40-42); and
control the display screen to present a graphic at the aim location in response to determining that the aim location is on the display screen (paragraphs 5-6, 19, 44).
In regards to claim 3, Rodgers discloses the portable device aim identification system of claim 1, wherein the multiple antennas are disposed in different locations on one or more surfaces of the portable device (paragraph 59).
In regards to claim 4, Rodgers discloses the portable device aim identification system of claim 1, wherein the interactive device system is configured to track the position of the portable device, orientation of the portable device based on the data by determining time of flight information (It is inherent that time of flight information is used since the device is using UWB).
In regards to claim 21, Rodgers discloses the portable device aim identification system of claim 1, wherein the one or more electrically-powered features comprise one or more input devices (trigger device 40), one or more feedback devices (haptic device 46), one or more display devices (display screen 48), or any combination thereof (Fig. 2 and paragraph 22, 36, 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodgers et al (WO 2022/212665; provided by Applicant) in view of Beumers et al (WO 2016/204617; provided by Applicant).
In regards to claim 2, Rodgers does not disclose the portable device aim identification system of claim 1, comprising a projector configured to present a projection graphic at the aim location in response to the aim location being on a surface other than the display screen.
Beumers discloses comprising a projector (projector arrangement 160) configured to present a projection graphic at the aim location in response to the aim location being on a surface other than the display screen (Fig. 1 and page 28, line 28-page 29, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the projection display of Beumers in place of the display of Rodgers because it would yield the predictable result of displaying an image to the user.
Claims 5, 10-12, 14-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodgers et al (WO 2022/212665; provided by Applicant) in view of Utykanski (US 2020/0065536).
In regards to claim 5, Rodgers does not disclose the portable device aim identification system of claim 1, comprising a charging station configured to electrically couple to the portable device.
Utykanski discloses a charging station configured to electrically couple to the portable device (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rodgers with the teachings of Utykanski, charging station for a mobile device, because it would allow the device to be recharged when the battery is low and not have to replace the batteries as well.
In regards to claim 10, Rodgers does not disclose the portable device aim identification system of claim 1, wherein portable device comprises a plurality of conductive portions disposed on a body of the portable device, and the plurality of conductive portions is configured to electrically couple to a charging station.
Utykanski discloses wherein portable device comprises a plurality of conductive portions (1112 charging contacts) disposed on a body of the portable device, and the plurality of conductive portions is configured to electrically couple to a charging station (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rodgers with the teachings of Utykanski, charging station for a mobile device, because it would allow the device to be recharged when the battery is low and not have to replace the batteries as well.
In regards to claim 11, Rodgers discloses a system, comprising:
a portable device (portable device 16) (paragraph 20), comprising:
multiple antennas (first ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry) configured to communicate with a transceiver (second ultra-wideband (UWB) circuitry) to provide data indicating an aim location of the portable device (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 5, 20, 22, 44, 52, 59);
one or more feedback devices (haptic device 46) configured to emit feedback based on the aim location of the portable device (Fig. 2 and paragraph 22, 44);
a battery system (battery 52) configured to provide power to the one or more feedback devices (paragraph 22); and
Rodgers does not disclose a charging station configured to electrically couple to the battery system of the portable device to provide charging to the battery system.
Utykanski discloses a charging station configured to electrically couple to the battery system of the portable device to provide charging to the battery system (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rodgers with the teachings of Utykanski, charging station for a mobile device, because it would allow the device to be recharged when the battery is low and not have to replace the batteries as well.
In regards to claim 12, Rodgers does not disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the portable device comprises a plurality of conductive portions disposed on a body of the portable device, and the plurality of conductive portions is configured to electrically couple to the charging station.
Utykanski discloses wherein the portable device comprises a plurality of conductive portions (1112 charging contacts) disposed on a body of the portable device, and the plurality of conductive portions is configured to electrically couple to the charging station (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rodgers with the teachings of Utykanski, charging station for a mobile device, because it would allow the device to be recharged when the battery is low and not have to replace the batteries as well.
In regards to claim 14, Rodgers discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more feedback devices (haptic device 46) are configured to emit the feedback in response to the aim location of the portable device corresponding to at least one of an interactive physical element target or an interactive virtual element target (paragraph 44).
In regards to claim 15, Rodgers discloses the system of claim 14, comprising:
processing circuitry (processors 18 and 30) comprising one or more processors (paragraphs 20-21); and
memory (memory devices 20 and 32) storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 57, 61-68), causes the processing circuitry to:
determine the aim location of the portable device based on the data (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 41, 43-44, 57, 61-68);
determine that the aim location of the portable devices corresponds to at least one of the interactive physical element target or the interactive virtual element target (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 41, 43-44, 57, 61-68); and
instruct the one or more feedback devices to emit the feedback in response to determining that the aim location of the portable device corresponds to the at least one of the interactive physical element target or the interactive virtual element target (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 41, 43-44, 57, 61-68).
In regards to claim 17, Rodgers discloses a system, comprising:
a portable device (portable device 16) (paragraph 20), comprising:
a battery system (battery 52) (paragraph 22); and
one or more feedback devices (haptic device 46) configured to use the power to emit feedback (paragraph 22).
Rodgers does not disclose a charging station comprising a first electrical coupler comprising a first conductor and a second conductor;
a second electrical coupler comprising a third conductor and a fourth conductor offset from one another relative to a direction of movement of the portable device to couple to the charging station; and
a battery system configured to charge a battery to store power via contact between the first electrical coupler and the second electrical coupler.
Utykanski discloses a charging station comprising a first electrical coupler comprising a first conductor and a second conductor (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73);
a second electrical coupler comprising a third conductor and a fourth conductor offset from one another relative to a direction of movement of the portable device to couple to the charging station (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73); and
a battery system configured to charge a battery to store power via contact between the first electrical coupler and the second electrical coupler (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rodgers with the teachings of Utykanski, charging station for a mobile device, because it would allow the device to be recharged when the battery is low and not have to replace the batteries as well.
In regards to claim 19, Rodgers does not disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are aligned relative to the direction of movement of the portable device to couple to the charging station.
Utykanski discloses wherein the first conductor and the second conductor are aligned relative to the direction of movement of the portable device to couple to the charging station (Fig. 4 and paragraphs 62-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rodgers with the teachings of Utykanski, charging station for a mobile device, because it would allow the device to be recharged when the battery is low and not have to replace the batteries as well.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 13, 16, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL PERVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 May 8, 2026