DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments and remarks. Particularly, the applicant has chosen to amend the claims so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph and explicitly stating this as their intention with the amendments in the remarks dated 6/3/2026. Therefore, the claims are no longer being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that Sansom does not disclose or teach a "restoration module configured to perform a machine-learned task of remediating the system back to a trusted operational state after a cyber threat is countered.” The applicant contends, Sansom's paragraph [0023] describes a "monitoring module configured to receive alerts regarding potential cyber threats," an "investigative module configured to receive relevant contextual metrics," and a "remote response module configured to receive observations and recommended actions from an autonomous response module and return one or more control signals back to the autonomous response module to take actions to counter one or more detected cyber threats," which are active threat response functions, not post-threat restoration functions.
The examiner disagrees. While Sansom may not use the specific language of the claims, e.g. “a restoration module” and “remediating the system back to a trusted operations” the disclosure of Samsom clearly discloses this in association with Figs. 3-7. Specifically, Sansom discloses:
where the appliance extension is further configured to perform functions with a restoration module configured to perform a machine- learned task of remediating the system back to a trusted operational state after a cyber threat is countered, where the appliance extension is further configured to receive one or more recommended restoration actions from the restoration module and display the restoration actions on the interactive user interface, where the interactive user interface is configured to receive one or more inputs to approve, prevent, or modify the recommended restoration actions, and where the appliance extension is further configured to send one or more control signals to control the restoration module to perform the one or more recommended restoration actions, perform the modified recommended restoration actions, or prevent performance of the recommended restoration actions (Figs. 3-7, [0023], [0054], [0061]-[0072], particularly, “The remote response module on the appliance extension 210 can i) approve and initiate suggested actions to counter a detected cyber threat by the autonomous response module in the cyber security appliance as well as ii) have an Activate/Clear button on the user interface to activate a complete hand over of control to take autonomous actions to counter the detected cyber threat in accordance with settings programmed into the autonomous response module in the cyber security appliance…The cyber threat defense system autonomous will provide the response capability that allows organizations to directly fight back, and networks to self-defend against specific threats, without disrupting the organization. [0072] The cyber threat defense system is capable of taking a range of measured, automated actions in the face of confirmed cyber-threats detected in real time by the cyber threat defense system. Because the cyber threat defense system understands the ‘pattern of life’ of users, devices, and networks, the cyber threat defense system cooperating with the rest of the platforms is able to take action in a highly targeted manner, mitigating threats while avoiding over-reactions.”)
In other words, the abilities to “self-defend against specific threats, without disrupting the organization” and “mitigating threats,” it is clear the system is configured to, “to perform a machine-learned task of remediating the system back to a trusted operational state after a cyber threat is countered,” even if the words do not explicitly match the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 11-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Samson et al (US Pub. No. 2019/0260770), hereafter, “Sansom.”
As to claim 1, Sansom discloses an apparatus, comprising:
an appliance extension, resident on a mobile computing device (Figs. 1-2, [0009], “FIG. 2 illustrates a block diagram of an example appliance extension with instances of the mobile application resident on each mobile device i) to have access to and ii) communication with the cyber defense appliance installed in the system.”), configured to perform functions with i) a monitoring module operating with one or more processing units, configured to monitor metrics and receive alerts regarding potential cyber threats on a system including an email system (Fig. 1, label “Monitoring Module” and [0023], particularly, “The appliance extension 210 can perform at least three functions. The appliance extension 210 has a monitoring module configured to receive alerts regarding potential cyber threats on a system that may include but is not limited to, 1) an email system, 2) a network, 3) a SaaS environment, 4) a cloud system, and 5) any combination of the email system, the network, the SaaS environment, and the cloud system. The monitoring module is also configured to provide these metrics and alerts to the display module for visualization on the user interface.”), ii) an investigative module operating with the one or more processing units, configured to retrieve the metrics and alerts (Fig. 1, label “Investigative Module” and [0023], “The appliance extension 210 has an investigative module configured to receive relevant contextual metrics from a cybersecurity appliance and display these on a user interface to support investigations on potential cyber threats.”), and iii) a remote response module operating with the one or more processing units, configured observe the metrics and alerts and send one or more control signals to an autonomous response module to take one or more actions to counter one or more detected cyber threats on the system remotely from the appliance extension (Fig. 1, label “Remote Response Module” and [0023], “The appliance extension 210 has a remote response module configured to receive observations and recommended actions from an autonomous response module and return one or more control signals back to the autonomous response module to take actions to counter one or more detected cyber threats, remotely from this appliance extension 210”).
where the appliance extension is configured to display one or more of the metrics, alerts, and one or more actions of the remote response module on an interactive user interface where the interactive user interface is configured to receive one or more user inputs, initiated from the appliance extension, from a user to control or modify the one or more actions to be taken to counter the one or more detected cyber threats on the system ([0023], particularly, “The monitoring module is also configured to provide these metrics and alerts to the display module for visualization on the user interface. The appliance extension 210 has an investigative module configured to receive relevant contextual metrics from a cybersecurity appliance and display these on a user interface to support investigations on potential cyber threats.” And [0066], “The remote response module on the appliance extension 210 can i) approve and initiate suggested actions to counter a detected cyber threat by the autonomous response module in the cyber security appliance as well as ii) have an Activate/Clear button on the user interface to activate a complete hand over of control to take autonomous actions to counter the detected cyber threat in accordance with settings programmed into the autonomous response module in the cyber security appliance. Note, the button may be a slider button, a push button, a tap button, an icon, a link, or other user interface control element.”), where the appliance extension is further configured to provide a secure extension of a second user interface of a cyber security appliance installed in the system ([0034], particularly, “As discussed, the appliance extension 210A-210D is designed and constructed to be a secure extension of a threat visualizer user interface of the cyber security appliance 204 installed in the system with a limited set of functions including the monitoring, the investigating, and the taking actions to counter the detected cyber threat, all of which an operator can securely take from the appliance extension 210A-210D; rather than, needing to log into the cyber security appliance 204 and investigate potential cyber threats at a location where the cyber security appliance 204 is installed in the system.”), and
where instructions implemented in software for the appliance extension are configured to be stored in one or more non-transitory storage mediums to be executed by one or more processing units ([0173]-[0175]),
where the appliance extension is further configured to perform functions with a restoration module configured to perform a machine- learned task of remediating the system back to a trusted operational state after a cyber threat is countered, where the appliance extension is further configured to receive one or more recommended restoration actions from the restoration module and display the restoration actions on the interactive user interface, where the interactive user interface is configured to receive one or more inputs to approve, prevent, or modify the recommended restoration actions, and where the appliance extension is further configured to send one or more control signals to control the restoration module to perform the one or more recommended restoration actions, perform the modified recommended restoration actions, or prevent performance of the recommended restoration actions (Figs. 3-7, [0023], [0054], [0061]-[0072], particularly, “The remote response module on the appliance extension 210 can i) approve and initiate suggested actions to counter a detected cyber threat by the autonomous response module in the cyber security appliance as well as ii) have an Activate/Clear button on the user interface to activate a complete hand over of control to take autonomous actions to counter the detected cyber threat in accordance with settings programmed into the autonomous response module in the cyber security appliance…The cyber threat defense system autonomous will provide the response capability that allows organizations to directly fight back, and networks to self-defend against specific threats, without disrupting the organization. [0072] The cyber threat defense system is capable of taking a range of measured, automated actions in the face of confirmed cyber-threats detected in real time by the cyber threat defense system. Because the cyber threat defense system understands the ‘pattern of life’ of users, devices, and networks, the cyber threat defense system cooperating with the rest of the platforms is able to take action in a highly targeted manner, mitigating threats while avoiding over-reactions.”).
As to claims 11 and 20, they are rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claims 2 and 12, Sansom discloses the appliance extension is further configured to display an interactive contextualised summary of one or more of the metrics, alerts, and one or more actions on the interactive user interface in a simplified human-readable format based on a compilation of data from one or more of: the monitoring module, the investigative module, the remote response module, and additional data from the system (Figs. 3-7, [0023], and [0054]).
As to claims 3 and 13, Sansom discloses the one or more user inputs to control or modify the one or more actions of the autonomous response module comprises: approving one or more actions of the autonomous response module to counter the detected cyber threats; preventing the autonomous response module from performing the one or more actions ([0026]); and modifying the one or more actions of the autonomous response module to counter the detected cyber threats ([0072]).
As to claims 5 and 14, Sansom discloses the appliance extension is further configured to, in response to a user input, retrieve and display additional contextual information related to one or more of the metrics, the alerts, the one or more actions, or the detected cyber threat on the interactive user interface to allow the user to further investigate the detected cyber threats; and the interactive user interface is configured to receive comments input by the user, the comments being associated with one or more of the metrics, alerts, or one or more actions ([0061]-[0063]).
As to claims 8 and 17, Sansom discloses the appliance extension is further configured to: receive a proactive threat notification (PTN) from an operator on the system, the PTN being indicative that a cyber threat has been detected on the system based on information from the monitoring module and the investigative module; display, on the interactive user interface, information related to the potential cyber threat associated with the PTN and a recommended action to counter the potential cyber threat; receive one or more user inputs to approve, prevent, or modify the recommended action; and send one or more control signals to control the autonomous response module to perform the recommended action, perform the modified recommended action, or prevent performance of the recommended action (Figs. 3-7, [0023], [0054], and [0066]-[0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansom in view of Dunn et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0168161), hereafter, “Dunn.”
As to claim 4, Sansom discloses the interactive user interface is further configured to receive one or more user inputs for interacting with or controlling aspects of the system including: modifying a display format of the metrics ([0055]-[0059]), holding an email, releasing an email([0073]).
However, Sansom does not explicitly disclose filtering emails, flagging a behaviour associated with an email, searching emails, and viewing additional metadata associated with an email.
But, Dunn discloses filtering emails ([0091]), flagging a behaviour associated with an email, searching emails, and viewing additional metadata associated with an email ([0102]-[0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sansom in view of Dunn in order to provide a more secure email system.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansom in view of Heinemeyer et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0194924), hereafter, “Heinemeyer.”
As to claims 6 and 15, Sansom discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the appliance extension is further configured to: perform functions with a cyberattack simulation module configured to perform a machine-learned task of initiating and monitoring a cyberattack simulation on the system; display, on the interactive user interface, metrics related to a progression of the simulated cyberattack, and receive one or more user inputs via the interactive user interface to modify the simulated cyberattack; and send one or more control signals to the cyberattack simulation module to modify the simulated cyberattack.
But, Heinemeyer discloses the appliance extension is further configured to: perform functions with a cyberattack simulation module configured to perform a machine-learned task of initiating and monitoring a cyberattack simulation on the system; display, on the interactive user interface, metrics related to a progression of the simulated cyberattack, and receive one or more user inputs via the interactive user interface to modify the simulated cyberattack; and send one or more control signals to the cyberattack simulation module to modify the simulated cyberattack ([0012] and [0028]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sansom in view of Heinemeyer in order to provide a system that can test and evaluate security issues in a simulated/safe environment.
Claims 9, 10, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansom in view of Dunn et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0168161), hereafter, “Dunn.”
As to claims 9 and 18, Sansom discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the monitoring module and investigative module are further configured to respectively monitor and retrieve additional metrics based at least in part on one or more of: third-party data and open source intelligence to identify potential cyber threats, and the appliance extension is further configured to: receive a common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) notification from the investigative module based on the additional metrics, the CVE being indicative that a potential cyber threat putting the system at risk has been identified, wherein the CVE notification comprises information indicating one or more assets on the system which are at risk from the potential cyber threat.
But, Bach discloses monitoring and retrieving additional metrics based at least in part on one or more of: third-party data and open source intelligence to identify potential cyber threats, and an appliance extension is further configured to: receive a common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) notification from the investigative module based on the additional metrics, the CVE being indicative that a potential cyber threat putting the system at risk has been identified, wherein the CVE notification comprises information indicating one or more assets on the system which are at risk from the potential cyber threat (Abstract, [0004] and [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sansom in view of in view of Bach in order to provide a system can monitor a broader range of cyber threats.
As to claims 10 and 19, Sansom discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the monitoring module and investigative module are further configured to respectively monitor and retrieve additional metrics based at least in part on one or more of: third-party data and open source intelligence to identify potential cyber threats, and the appliance extension is further configured to: receive a common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) notification from the investigative module based on the additional metrics, the CVE being indicative that a potential cyber threat putting the system at risk has been identified, wherein the CVE notification comprises information indicating one or more assets on the system which are at risk from the potential cyber threat.
But, Bach discloses monitoring and retrieving additional metrics based at least in part on one or more of: third-party data and open source intelligence to identify potential cyber threats, and the appliance extension is further configured to: receive a common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) notification from the investigative module based on the additional metrics, the CVE being indicative that a potential cyber threat putting the system at risk has been identified, wherein the CVE notification comprises information indicating one or more assets on the system which are at risk from the potential cyber threat (Abstract, [0004] and [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sansom in view of Bach in order to provide a system can monitor a broader range of cyber threats.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458