DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “clothes receiving unit”, “lint cleaning device” and “operation assembly” in claim 1 and “filtering mounting portion” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8667705 B2 to Shin et al. (Shin).
In reference to independent claim 1, Shin discloses:
A clothing treatment device (1), comprising:
a clothes receiving unit (11) for receiving clothes; and
a lint cleaning device (21) configured to couple with a filter member (41, 42) and configured to clean lint filtered on a surface of the filter member,
wherein the lint cleaning device includes a brush (51, 52) disposed so that a tip portion (52) of the brush rotates between a first position and a second position along an inner circumferential surface of the filter member (see Figs. 5A-5C), a lint chamber (71, 72) disposed to receive the lint removed by the brush, a chamber door (80) disposed to open or close the lint chamber (see Fig. 6), a driver (31) configured to rotate the brush (see col. 4 at lines 36-37), and an operation assembly configured to move the chamber door in response to an operation of the driver (see col. 7 at lines 9-38 and Figs. 9A-9B).
In reference to independent claim 17, Shin further discloses: a case (45, 47); and a filter mounting portion (46) configured to mount a filter member (see Fig. 4).
In reference to dependent claim 11, Shin further discloses the lint cleaning device (21) is configured to move the lint removed from the filter member (42) toward the lint chamber (71) as the brush (52) is rotated from the first position to the second position (see col. 5 at lines 49-50 and Figs. 5C and 9B).
In reference to dependent claim 15, Shin further discloses a case (45, 46, 47, 72; note also the case of the dryer) to receive the brush (51, 52), the lint chamber (41, 71), and the chamber door (80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of JP 2019030506 A to Shiibashi et al. (Shiibashi).
In reference to dependent claim 10, Shin is silent regarding the tip of the brush including rubber or an elastic material.
Shiibashi teaches a similar clothes dryer with lint cleaning device (see Figs. 12-14) having a brush (24) having a rubber tip (rubber plate 27 with scraping portion 27a) for cleaning the lint filter (“the scraping portion 27a of the blade 27 is moved along the surface of the filter member 15. Moving in the direction of arrow C, lint scraping operation is performed.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the filter assembly and filter unit of Shin to have a rubber tip on the brush as taught by Shiibashi in order to effectively scrape lint off the filter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Shin further discloses the drive motor 31 being connected to a push rod 91 via a gear cam 33 so that power from the drive motor 31 is transmitted to the push rod 91, which pushes button 79 coupled to a push plate 74 to open and close inlets 95 and 96 of the tank 72 (see Figs. 7A-7C and 9A-9B). However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach a first pressing protrusion, a second pressing protrusion spaced apart from the first pressing protrusion in a circumferential direction, and a recess between the first pressing protrusion and the second pressing protrusion, a lever including a lever protrusion protruding radially outward and rotated as the lever protrusion is pressed by the first pressing protrusion or the second pressing protrusion during movement of the cam.
Regarding claim 12, Shin further discloses the brush 52 is rotated in a first direction from the first position to the second position (see Figs. 5A-5C), and the cover 80 is rotated to open the tank 72 (see Fig. 6). However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the chamber door being rotated so that the lint chamber is opened before the brush reaches the second position.
Regarding claim 14, Shin further discloses the cleaning device 21 being disposed under the dryer drum 11 (see Fig. 1). However, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the cleaning device being configured to be modular so as to slide into, and slide out of, the clothing treatment device.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the lint chamber being configured to slide into, and slide out from, the case.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799