Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendment to claims of 08/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Roose does not disclose a roll-up door. Roose discloses door lock system which can be used with a roll-up door. Applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the limitation “a door latch coupled to a roll-up door” in line 2. Since line 1 recites “a roll-up door”, it is suggested amending the limitation as “a door latch coupled to [[a]] the roll-up door.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 13-14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Roos et al., US Pub. App. 2018-0051502).
For claim 1, D1 discloses a roll-up door door-lock system, comprising:
a door latch (37) coupled to a roll-up door (12) or to a structure defining a passageway through which the roll-up door restricts passage;
a latch lock (21, 23, 25; Figures 1B, and 1C) adapted coupled to the other of the roll-up door or to the structure (structure Figure 1B) defining the passageway, the latch lock comprising a lock housing (The structure that houses 21, 23, 25. Figure 1C) and a latch retainer (23) arranged for movement between a restricted position in which the latch retainer blocks removal of the door latch (37) from the lock housing and an unrestricted position in which the door latch (37) is free to retract away from the lock housing so that the roll-up door is free to move relative to the structure defining the passageway; and,
a roll-up door door-lock control system arranged in communication with a network, the door-lock control system configured to engage or disengage the latch lock in response to one or more user inputs over the network (Electronic latch control unit 52 communicates with Remote key fob 60 for receiving request from user open or close the door 12. Para. [0040]. Figures 1C and 2.), wherein the roll-up door door-lock control system is further configured to engage the latch lock in the restricted position to retain the latch retainer in the restricted position and to selectively disengage latch retainer to allow the latch retainer to move to the unrestricted position (Based on the input the electronic latch control unit 52 selectively maintains latch retainer in open or close position. Para. [0033 and 0040]. Figures 1C and 2.), wherein the roll-up door door-lock control system including a status sensor (sensor provides position of door. Para. [0040]) configured to sense when the latch retainer is in the restricted position and the unrestricted position, the roll-up door door-lock control system including a controller (controller 67, para. [0061]) configured to receive the one or more user inputs to an application on a mobile smartphone, wherein the controller is configured to receive signals from the status sensor indicative of whether the latch retainer is in the restricted position or the unrestricted position (Controller 67 responds to key fob. Para. [0061].)
D1 discloses the door lock system as claimed and the door lock system can be used in any roll-up door environment (MPEP 2114.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 1, wherein the: lock housing defines an interior housing chamber (Figures 1B and 1C); a latch-retainer shaft arranged within the interior housing chamber in a fixed position relative to the lock housing (The pin about which the retainer 23 pivots defines the latch retainer shaft, Figure 1C).
For claim 3, D1 discloses the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 2, wherein the roll-up door door-lock control system includes an electro-mechanical actuator configured to engage the latch lock in the restricted position to retain the latch retainer in the restricted position and to selectively disengage latch retainer to allow the latch retainer to move to the unrestricted position (Based on the input the electronic latch control unit 52 selectively maintains latch retainer in open or close position. Para. [0033 and 0040]. Figures 1C and 2.)
For claim 13, D1 discloses a method for locking a roll-up door (12) (Figure 1B) using a latch (37) and a latch lock (21, 23, 25; Figures 1B, and 1C), comprising
moving the latch from an unlocked position to a locked position, in which the latch cooperates with the latch lock to block movement of the roll-up door relative to a roll-up door frame (When the door 12 is closed, the latch lock engages the latch 37 on the structure and blocks the movement of the door relative to the structure. Para. [0033]); and,
under governing operation from a roll-up door door-lock control system, changing at least a portion of the latch lock from an unrestricted position to a restricted position in conjunction with moving the latch from the unlocked position to the locked position (Prior to engaging the latch 37, a portion 21 of the latch lock is in the unrestricted position. When the door 12 is closed, the portion 21 of the latch lock engages the latch 37 and moves the portion 21 of the latch lock from the unlocked position to the locked position. Para. [0033].),
sensing, by the roll-up door door-lock control system in communication with at least the latch lock over a network, whether the latch lock is in restricted position or the unrestricted position (Sensor provides position of door. Para. [0040]. Based on the input the electronic latch control unit 52 selectively maintains latch retainer in open or close position. Para. [0033 and 0040]. Figures 1C and 2. Controller 67 responds to key fob. Para. [0061].); and
outputting, by the roll-up door door-lock control system, a command signal to the latch lock when the latch lock is in the restricted position in response to a user input via a mobile smartphone device authorizing the latch lock to move from the restricted position to the unrestricted position (Based on the input the electronic latch control unit 52 selectively maintains latch retainer in open or close position. Para. [0033 and 0040]. Figures 1C and 2. Controller 67 responds to key fob. Para. [0061].)
D1 discloses the locking system as claimed and the locking system can be used in any roll-up door environment (MPEP 2114.)
For claim 14, D1 discloses the method of Claim 13, wherein the roll-up door door-lock control system is arranged in communication with a network (Electronic latch control unit 52 senses the signal from Remote key fob 60 to open or close the door 12. Para. [0040]. Figures 1C and 2.)
For claim 16, D1 discloses the method of Claim 13, further comprising biasing the latch to the unlocked position with the latch lock (When the lock is moved to unlocked position, the latch lock releases the latch 37. Para. [0033]).
For claim 18, D1 discloses the method of Claim 13, wherein the user input is received by the roll-up door door-lock control system from a remote location relative thereto (Electronic latch control unit 52 communicates with Remote key fob 60 for receiving request from user to open or close the door 12. Para. [0040]. Figures 1C and 2. The key fob is in a remote location relative to lock assembly thererto.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Roos et al., US Pub. App. 20180051502) in view of D2 (Cheng et al., US Pub. Appl. 20140265359).
For claim 12, D1 discloses the door-lock system of Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the roll-up door door-lock control system is further coupled with an indicator light configured to provide an indication of a status of the latch lock.
D2 teaches a door lock system with indicators for unlocking and locking status (Para. [0147 and 0199]) to provide a secured lock. It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the lock system of D1 with an indicator light configured to provide an indication of a status of the latch lock as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured locking system. One skill in the art would realize that providing an indicator light would alert the status of the lock.
11. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Roos et al., US Pub. App. 20180051502) in view of D4 (Kim, KR 20170098614).
For claim 20, D1 discloses the method of Claim 14, but does not disclose further comprising outputting, by the roll-up door door-lock control system, an audiovisual indicator of a status associated with the latch lock. D4 teaches a door lock with audiovisual out about the door condition (P3, Para. [8]) for secured locking. It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with an audiovisual indicator of a status associated with the latch lock as taught by D4 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured lock system.
12. Claim(s) 4, 6-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Roos et al., US Pub. App. 20180051502) in view of D5 (Schroeder, US 9,810,000).
For claim 4, D1 discloses the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 3, wherein the roll-up door door-lock control system comprises: a solenoid assembly having a solenoid pin biased toward the lock latch; a status sensor configured to sense when the latch retainer is in the restricted position and the unrestricted position; and a controller (controller 67, para. [0061]) configured to control operation of the solenoid assembly.
D5 teaches a door with solenoid 210, solenoid pin 214, and status limit switch 200, 208 (Col.5, L54-60. Figure 4) for secured and effective control of the lock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a solenoid assembly having a solenoid pin biased toward the lock latch; a status sensor configured to sense when the latch retainer is in the restricted position and the unrestricted position, as taught by D5 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured and effective control of the lock.
D1 modified with features of D5 teaches the limitation the controller configured to control operation of the solenoid assembly.
For claim 6, the combination teaches the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to output a command signal to the solenoid assembly to withdraw the solenoid pin when the latch retainer is in the restricted position in response to the one or more user inputs authorizing the latch retainer to move from the restricted position to the unrestricted position (D1 shows controller 67, para. [0061]. D5 teaches solenoid. Abstract. D1 modified with features of D5 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 7, the combination teaches the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 4, wherein the solenoid assembly further comprises a pin-receiving slot in which the solenoid pin is inserted (D5 teaches a solenoid 210 that has a slot to receives the pin 214. D1 modified with features of D5 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 8, the combination teaches the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 7, wherein the solenoid assembly further comprises an emergency-pin release coupled to the solenoid pin such that actuation of the emergency-pin release causes the solenoid pin to be manually removed from the pin-receiving slot (D5 teaches manual activation of solenoid 210. Col. 10, L 5-10. D1 modified with features of D5 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 4, wherein the controller comprises a microprocessor (54) and a memory (56) the memory storing one or more statuses of the latch lock based on signals received from the status sensor (para. [0039].)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the roll-up door door-lock system of Claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to receive the one or more user inputs from a device in a remote location from the door-lock control system (Para. [0035, 0040].)
Conclusion
29. Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Martin (US 7,032,418) – Vertical door locking system; Collard (US 5,852,944) – Remotely controlled door lock; and Hayward (US 3,996,591) – Security device for garage door.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675