DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Germany on 5/31/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the German application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “raised and recessed area” and claimed “recessed area” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Please note that the raised area is shown and the written specification supports a “raised and/or recessed area”, but the recess area is not clearly drawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “configured to” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, throughout the claim, uses the term “and/or”. It is unclear to the Examiner what are the metes and bounds of the claim. In other words, the frequent use of “and/or” in the claim makes it unclear what limitations are to included or excluded from the claim.
Due to this confusion, an art rejection for claim 14 will not be forthcoming in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kneib (DE 10202120362 A1), of record by Applicant.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kneib (‘362) teaches in figure 1 and the corresponding text an operating element (1) for a vehicle interior (not shown), comprising an at least partially transparent cover layer (9) having at least one tactilely detectable raised and/or recessed area (no clear number, but the bump in the middle) on an upper side (no number) of the cover layer (9) facing the vehicle interior, a light source (11) configured to emit light toward an underside (no number) of the cover layer (9) opposite the upper side (no number), a non-transparent mask layer (7, read translucent) arranged between the light source (11) and at least a portion of the cover layer (9), and an actuating element (5), that can be activated by touching the upper side (no number) of the transparent cover layer (9), configured to output an operating signal when activating the actuating element (5).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Kneib (‘362) teaches the mask layer covers at least a portion of the cover layer.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kneib (‘362) teaches the mask layer at least partially covers the raised and/or recessed region of the cover layer.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kneib (‘362) teaches the mask layer does not cover a surrounding area of the cover layer surrounding the raised and/or recessed area.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kneib (‘362) teaches the mask layer (400) comprises at least one recess (8) for allowing the light emitted by the light source (300) to pass through to the cover layer.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kneib (‘362) teaches the actuating element (500) can be actuated in the area of the at least one recess.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kneib (‘362) teaches the upper side of the cover layer comprises tactilely detectable areas of different surface properties, in particular different surface roughness (read deformation).
Regarding dependent claims 8, 9,12, and 13, Kneib (‘362) teaches the final structure.
The applicant is claiming the product of the above element including a method (i.e. a process) of making by employing vapor deposition, consequently, this claim is considered a “product-by-process” claim. In spite of the fact that the product-by-process claim may recite only process limitations, it is the product and not the recited process that is covered by the claim. Further, patentability of a claim to a product does not rest merely on the difference in the method by which the product is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.
Furthermore, it is well established that a claimed apparatus cannot be distinguished over the prior art by a process limitation. Consequently, absent a showing of an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art, the subject product-by-process claim limitation is not afforded patentable weight (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kneib (‘362) teaches the cover layer rests against the mask layer without an intermediate air gap.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kneib (‘362) teaches the cover layer is integrally bonded to the mask layer.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kneib (‘362) teaches a stacked, in particular immediately stacked, arrangement according to the following order: the cover layer, the mask layer, a first transparent adhesive layer (read glue) by means of which the mask layer is connected to the actuating element, the actuating element, comprising or designed as a transparent capacitive actuating layer, a second transparent adhesive layer (read glue) by means of which the actuating element is connected to the light source, the light source, and a haptic actuator configured to generate a vibration when the actuating element is actuated.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875