DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is entered in response to Applicant's amendment and reply of 11/17/25. The claims 1-18, and 20 are pending. The claims 1 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/17/25 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 7-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Oepen (US2018/0055637) in view of Vaturi (US11045311) and DeGraaf (US2018/0161557) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues, the previous rejection acknowledges that the screw mechanism of the DeGraaf is not capable of deflecting into the series of compound bends into which the distal portion of the elongate catheter has been deflected and therefore is not able to be disposed within the bending region of the elongate catheter. Examiner respectfully disagrees, the DeGraaf teaches an inner tube 1004 with exterior threads 1014 that engage inner threads 1016 of an outer tube 1014 ([0066]). Where the structures as taught by DeGraaf are intended for delivery inside the body and used in vessels or tracts of the body that would require the device to be bendable at least some degree to not damage the structures of the body ([0070] of DeGraaf). Furthermore, DeGraaf teaches the components are semi-flexible ([0045]). Since, there is no teaching in DeGraaf against the components being flexible and the components have some degree of flexibility, the modified invention of Von Oepen with DeGraaf to include the threads between the inner tube and outer tube would be capable of bending in the bending region of the elongate catheter as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Oepen (US2018/0055637) in view of Vaturi (US11045311) and DeGraaf (US2018/0161557).
Regarding claim 1, Oepen discloses a delivery system for delivering an IV device to a targeted anatomical site (see Abstract), the delivery system comprising:
an elongated catheter (112) having a proximal end and a distal valve cover (distal end of outer sheath 112, where the device 126 expands by proximal movement of the sheath 112, [0052], [0055]) configured for housing the IV device (houses replacement device 126, [0041]), a distal portion of the elongate catheter having a bending region capable of deflecting into a series of compound bends (catheter 112 is capable of being bent into a series of compound bends as the elongate member experiences a series of bends, a distal portion is interpreted as portion near the distal end of the catheter 112, [0080]),
a suture catheter (120) positioned slidably moveable within the elongate catheter and configured to maintain a connection with the IV device until deployment of the IV device ([0059]);
a guidewire tube (guidewire tubular member of guidewire lumen 122, [0134]) positioned within the suture catheter (see Fig. 2);
Oepen is silent regarding an atraumatic distal tip coupled to a distal end of the guidewire tube.
Vaturi in the same field of endeavor of a delivery device for an implant, specifically a prosthetic heart valve, teaches delivery using a guidewire inserted through a guide wire tube. The guidewire tube is threaded through the knurl (distal tip) and locks the knurl and the tube together (C10:L9-17). The knurl is atraumatic (knurl is blunted, C10:L13) and may be a delivery tip (C10:L1; C10:L66-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to have modified the distal tip of Oepen, as taught by Vaturi, to be atraumatic in order to prevent damage to tissues when the guidewire with guidewire tube is inserted through the vasculature (C10:L14).
Oepen is silent regarding a flexible screw mechanism disposed within the bending region, the screw mechanism being capable of deflection into the series of compound bends and configured to translate forces in a controlled motion when the elongate catheter is deflected into the series of compound bends so that the elongate catheter supports compression forces, tensile forces and torsional forces during loading of the IV device into the delivery system and unloading of the IV device from the delivery system.
Oepen discloses a hybrid delivery sheath with an inner layer having a coil 436 (inner tube) and a braided sleeve 438 (outer tube) that are compressed relative to each other (Paragraph [0105]); where the structures are mostly flexible ([0042]). DeGraaf teaches a method of trimming a captured stent, having an inner tube 1004 with outer threads 1014 (second screw) that engage with inner threads 1016 (first screw) on an outer tube 1002, wherein the engagement of the threads moves the outer tube axially [0066-0067]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to have modified the outer sheath of Oepen to include an inner tube and an outer tube that are movable relative to each other by threaded engagement, as taught by DeGraaf, in order to adjust the length of the outer sheath for when components of the delivery system are lengthened or foreshortened due to deflection (Paragraph [0080] of Oepen; Paragraph [0068] of DeGraaf). Furthermore, the modification of the flexible screw mechanism would occur at a distal end near the IV and is capable of being bent in a series of bends, and is further capable of supporting compression forces, tensile forces and torsional forces during loading of the IV device into the delivery system and unloading of the IV device from the delivery system.
Regarding claim 7, Oepen/Vaturi/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1, Vaturi further teaches wherein the atraumatic distal tip comprises an elongate member (tube of knurl 1382, C19:L6-7) and a nosecone body (body of knurl 1382, see Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 8, Oepen/Vaturi/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 7, Vaturi further teaches wherein the elongate member comprises an attachment element (locking feature of tube of knurl, C10:L16-17) configured to receive a complementary attachment element (where guide wire tube interfaces with locking feature of knurl, C10:L16-17) of the guidewire tube.
Regarding claim 9, Oepen/Vaturi/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1, Oepen further discloses wherein the suture catheter is coaxial with and received within a delivery catheter configured to receive a proximal end of the IV device (120 is within 116, and capable of receiving some portion of the IV device, see Fig. 2, [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Oepen/Vaturi/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 9, Oepen further discloses wherein the delivery catheter comprises an elongate tube with a free flowing tube disposed towards a distal end of the delivery catheter (112 is interpreted as a “free flowing tube” by being manipulated relative to other components, [0053] and comprises an elongate tube by extending from a proximal to distal end, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Oepen/Vaturi/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1, Oepen further discloses comprising a control fixture (see Paragraphs [0009], [0065], [0070]) operatively coupled to the proximal ends of the elongate catheter and the suture catheter and configured to control the relative movement of the suture catheter and the guidewire tube.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Oepen (US2018/0055637) in view of Jacobsen (US2003/0069522) and DeGraaf (US2018/0161557).
Regarding claim 1, Oepen discloses a delivery system for delivering an IV device to a targeted anatomical site (see Abstract), the delivery system comprising:
an elongate catheter (112) having a proximal end and a distal valve cover (distal end of outer sheath 112, where the device 126 expands by proximal movement of the sheath 112, [0052], [0055]) configured for housing the IV device (houses replacement device 126, [0041]), a distal portion of the elongate catheter having a bending region capable of deflecting into a series of compound bends (catheter 112 is capable of being bent into a series of compound bends as the elongate member experiences a series of bends, a distal portion is interpreted as portion near the distal end of the catheter 112, [0080]),
a suture catheter (120) slidably moveable within the elongate catheter and configured to maintain a connection with the IV device until deployment of the IV device ([0059]);
a guidewire tube (guidewire tubular member of guidewire lumen 122, [0134]) positioned within the suture catheter (see Fig. 2);
Oepen is silent regarding an atraumatic distal tip coupled to a distal end of the guidewire tube.
Jacobsen in the same field of endeavor of a delivery device for an IV device, teaches delivery using a guidewire (guide wire can be a tube [0087]) inserted through a catheter ([0003]). The guidewire tube is attached to an atraumatic distal tip ([0087]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to have modified the distal tip of Oepen, as taught by Jacobsen, to be atraumatic in order to prevent damage to tissues when the guidewire with guidewire tube is inserted through the vasculature ([0087] of Jacobsen).
Oepen is silent regarding a flexible screw mechanism disposed within the bending region, the screw mechanism being capable of deflection into the series of compound bends and configured to translate forces in a controlled motion when the elongate catheter is deflected into the series of compound bends so that the elongate catheter supports compression forces, tensile forces and torsional forces during loading of the IV device into the delivery system and unloading of the IV device from the delivery system.
Oepen discloses a hybrid delivery sheath with an inner layer having a coil 436 (inner tube) and a braided sleeve 438 (outer tube) that are compressed relative to each other (Paragraph [0105]); where the structures are mostly flexible ([0042]). DeGraaf teaches a method of trimming a captured stent, having an inner tube 1004 with outer threads 1014 (second screw) that engage with inner threads 1016 (first screw) on an outer tube 1002, wherein the engagement of the threads moves the outer tube axially [0066-0067]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to have modified the outer sheath of Oepen to include an inner tube and an outer tube that are movable relative to each other by threaded engagement, as taught by DeGraaf, in order to adjust the length of the outer sheath for when components of the delivery system are lengthened or foreshortened due to deflection (Paragraph [0080] of Oepen; Paragraph [0068] of DeGraaf). Furthermore, the modification of the flexible screw mechanism would occur at a distal end near the IV and is capable of being bent in a series of bends, and is further capable of supporting compression forces, tensile forces and torsional forces during loading of the IV device into the delivery system and unloading of the IV device from the delivery system.
Regarding claims 4-6, Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1; yet, the modified invention does not explicitly disclose wherein the atraumatic distal tip includes a radiographic or echogenic marker embedded therein, wherein the atraumatic distal tip comprises a rim member with a groove that receives the radiographic or echogenic marker having an annular form, wherein the atraumatic distal tip comprises the rim member with the groove that receives the radiographic or echogenic marker formed with a plurality of segments and a plurality of air pockets. Jacobsen further teaches where the guidewire 244 (distal end with channel is interpreted as the rim member, see Fig. 3) has a channel 248 (groove of claimed rim member) that seats a radiopaque coil (radiographic marker) wound in the channel (the coil has an annular form by being wound in the channel, [0065]). Where the coil can be welded (therefore embedded) within the channel ([0065]). Wherein the channel 248 (groove of claimed rim member) that seats a radiopaque coil (radiographic marker) is formed with a plurality of segments (segments of the coil, see Fig. 3) and a plurality of air pockets (spacing between the coils, see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to have the atraumatic distal tip of Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf include a radiographic marker embedded within a channel at the distal tip therein in order to provide a fluoroscopic visibility ([0091] of Jacobsen).
Regarding claim 9, Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1, Oepen further discloses wherein the suture catheter is coaxial with and received within a delivery catheter configured to receive a proximal end of the IV device (120 is within 116, and capable of receiving some portion of the IV device, see Fig. 2, [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 9, Oepen further discloses wherein the delivery catheter comprises an elongate tube with a free flowing tube disposed towards a distal end of the delivery catheter (112 is interpreted as a “free flowing tube” by being manipulated relative to other components, [0053] and comprises an elongate tube by extending from a proximal to distal end, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1, Oepen further discloses comprising a control fixture (see Paragraphs [0009], [0065], [0070]) operatively coupled to the proximal ends of the elongate catheter and the suture catheter and configured to control the relative movement of the suture catheter and the guidewire tube.
Claim 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Oepen (US2018/0055637) in view of Jacobsen (US2003/0069522) and DeGraaf (US2018/0161557), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inouye (US2020/0060849).
Regarding claim 2, Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1; yet, does not explicitly disclose wherein the valve cover includes a radiopaque or echogenic marker. Inouye teaches in the same field of endeavor a medical system 10 for delivery of a medical implant 100 including a catheter 40. Where portions or all of the catheter 40 (distal end of the catheter is interpreted as the valve cover) may include radiopaque material (Paragraph [0131]). Additionally, radiopaque marker bands may be incorporated into the design (Paragraph [0131]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to have the valve cover include radiopaque markers as taught by Inouye in order to produce a bright image on a fluoroscopy screen from visualization of the delivery of the implant during the procedure (Paragraph [0131]).
Regarding claim 3, Oepen/Jacobsen/DeGraaf makes obvious the delivery system of claim 1; yet, does not explicitly disclose wherein the catheter includes a radiographic or echogenic marker at or near a distal end thereof. Inouye teaches in the same field of endeavor a medical system 10 for delivery of a medical implant 100 including a catheter 40. Where portions or all of the catheter 40 (distal end of the catheter is interpreted as the valve cover) may include radiopaque material (Paragraph [0131]). Additionally, radiopaque marker bands may be incorporated into the design (Paragraph [0131]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to have the valve cover include radiopaque markers as taught by Inouye in order to produce a bright image on a fluoroscopy screen from visualization of the delivery of the implant during the procedure (Paragraph [0131]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
No prior art of record teaches or discloses “a connector including a disk and a stem formed separately from the disk and attached to the disk, the disk having a plurality of through-holes configured to receive tethers extending from the connector to the IV device” in combination with the other limitations recited in claim 12.
The closest prior art references of record, Von Oepen (US2018/0055637), Vaturi (US11045311), and DeGraaf (US2018/0161557) fail to meet all the claimed limitations.
With regard to claim 12, Oepen discloses a delivery system for delivering an IV device to a targeted anatomical site (see Abstract), the delivery system comprising:
an elongate catheter (112) having a proximal end and a distal valve cover (distal end of outer sheath 112, where the device 126 expands by proximal movement of the sheath 112, [0052], [0055]) configured for housing the IV device (houses replacement valve 126, [0041]);
a suture catheter (120) slidably moveable within the elongate catheter and configured to maintain a connection with the IV device until deployment of the IV device ([0059]), the suture catheter being coaxial with and received within a delivery catheter configured to receive a proximal end of the IV device (120 is within 116, and capable of receiving some portion of the IV device, see Fig. 2, [0051]), the suture catheter (120) comprising a connecting including a disk (delivery disk 132, [0061]) and a stem (128) formed separately from the disk and attached to the disk ([0058]);
a guidewire tube (guidewire tubular member of guidewire lumen 122, [0134]) positioned within the suture catheter (see Fig. 2);
a control fixture (see Paragraphs [0009], [0065], [0070]) operatively coupled to the proximal ends of the elongate catheter and the suture catheter and configured to control the relative movement of the suture catheter and the guidewire tube.
Oepen is silent regarding an atraumatic distal tip coupled to a distal end of the guidewire tube.
Vaturi in the same field of endeavor of a delivery device for an implant, specifically a prosthetic heart valve, teaches delivery using a guidewire inserted through a guide wire tube. The guidewire tube is threaded through the knurl (distal tip) and locks the knurl and the tube together (C10:L9-17). The knurl is atraumatic (knurl is blunted, C10:L13) and may be a delivery tip (C10:L1; C10:L66-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to have modified the distal tip of Oepen, as taught by Vaturi, to be atraumatic in order to prevent damage to tissues when the guidewire with guidewire tube is inserted through the vasculature (C10:L14).
Oepen is silent regarding a screw mechanism disposed within the elongate catheter and configured to translate forces in a controlled motion so that the elongate catheter supports compression forces, tensile forces and torsional forces during loading and unloading of the IV device.
Oepen discloses a hybrid delivery sheath with an inner layer having a coil 436 (inner tube) and a braided sleeve 438 (outer tube) that are compressed relative to each other (Paragraph [0105]). DeGraaf teaches a method of trimming a captured stent, having an inner tube 1004 with outer threads 1014 (second screw) that engage with inner threads 1016 (first screw) on an outer tube 1002, wherein the engagement of the threads moves the outer tube axially [0066-0067]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to have modified the outer sheath of Oepen to include an inner tube and an outer tube that are movable relative to each other by threaded engagement, as taught by DeGraaf, in order to adjust the length of the outer sheath for when
components of the delivery system are lengthened or foreshortened due to deflection (Paragraph [0080] of Oepen; Paragraph [0068] of DeGraaf). Furthermore, the modification of the screw mechanism would occur at a distal end near the IV, therefore allowing the remainder of the delivery system to support compression forces, tensile forces and torsional forces during loading and unloading of the IV device.
However, the combination of references does not disclose or make obvious “the disk having a plurality of through-holes configured to receive tethers extending from the connector to the IV device”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/ SPE, Art Unit 3799