DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In the previous non-final rejection filed on 4/8/2026, claims 8 & 16 were objected to as being allowable if placed in independent form.
However, due to the large number of silane coupling agents (54 options) in claims 8 & 16, it was determined that additional art search was needed before considering the list of coupling agents as allowable elements.
No arguments were presented by the Applicant; the claim elements listed as allowable matter were amended into independent form. However, the indication of allowable elements has been withdrawn and all claims are rejected in this non-final action. In fairness to the Applicant, all claim rejections can be argued.
The previous claims objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection have been withdrawn, as they have been corrected by amendment.
The cancellation of claims 8 & 16 and the amendments to claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12 & 14-15 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 & 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassampour (US20230004023), in view of Suzuki (US20250205983), Zhang (CN105524226B), and Fujimoto (JP2018055019A).
Regarding claim 1, Bassampour discloses a method for producing an embedded hydrogel contact lenses, comprising the steps of:
(1) obtaining a female mold half, a first male half and a second male mold half, wherein the female mold half has a first molding surface defining the anterior surface of a contact lens to be molded, wherein the first male mold half has a second molding surface defining the back surface of an insert to be molded, wherein the second male mold half has a third molding surface defining the posterior surface of the contact lens to be molded, wherein the first male mold half and the female mold half are configured to receive each other such that an insert- molding cavity is formed between the second molding surface and a central portion of the first molding surface when the female mold half is closed with the first male mold half, wherein the second male mold half and the female mold half are configured to receive each other such that a lens-molding cavity is formed between the first and third molding surfaces when the female mold half is closed with the second male mold half [0172].
While Bassampour does not explicitly teach step (2), a step of treating a central circular area of the first molding surfaces is carried out by using a vacuum UV or a corona plasma, wherein the central circular area has a diameter that is about 90% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior at the time of filing to do so, given that:
a) the prior art of Suzuki, which is within the contact lens manufacturing art, teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge” for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216];
b) a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that changes in adhesion between the molding material (including that of the insert) and the mold half would only be relevant to such parts of the mold half that come into contact with the molding material, such parts representing an area of 100% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded (which overlaps with the claimed range of 90% or smaller);
c) the amount of area of the mold half receiving a surface treatment represents a result-effective variable for modifying the degree of adhesion between the mold half and the insert, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Bassampour teaches:
(3) dispensing an amount of an insert-forming composition on the central portion of the first molding surface of the female mold half obtained in step 2 [0172];
(4) placing the first male mold half on top of the insert-forming composition in the female mold half and closing the first male mold half and the female mold half to form a first molding assembly comprising the insert-forming composition within the insert-molding cavity [0172];
(5) curing the insert-forming composition in the insert-molding cavity of the first molding assembly to form a molded insert made of a crosslinked polymeric material formed from the insert-forming composition [0172];
(6) separating the first molding assembly obtained in step (5) into the first male mold half and the female mold half with the molded insert that is adhered onto the central portion of the first molding surface [0172].
Regarding (7), Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material optionally may contain, or may be free of hydroxyl groups [0213, 0232]. If the polymeric material were free of hydroxyl groups, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to improve adhesion of the material surface by treating the back surface of the molded insert adhered on the female mold half with a corona plasma or a vacuum UV, by method as set forth by Suzuki in the rejection of claim 1(2), known to generate hydroxyl groups on the back surface of the molded insert.
Regarding (8), Bassampour teaches a crosslinking solution forming a polysiloxane coating that can be used to covalently link to the surface of the molded insert [0145-0146] adhered by (a) dosing a silane solution onto the surface of the molded insert, wherein the silane solution comprises at least one polymerizable silane coupling agent, comprising: a carbodiimide, a diisocyanate, or a di-epoxy [0147].
Bassampour, in view of Suzuki, is silent on the silane solution comprising at least one polymerizable silane coupling agent having an ethylenically unsaturated group and a group of -Si-(-RS1, -RS2, -RS3) in which Rs1 and Rs2 independently of each another are CH3O or Cl and Rs3 is CH3O, Cl, or a C1-C6 alkyl, and (b) allowing said silane-containing compound to undergo a coupling reaction to form the polysiloxane coating that is covalently attached onto the front surface of the molded insert and comprises ethylenically unsaturated groups.
However, in the same field of art, the prior art of Zhang teaches the silane solution comprising the polymerizable silane coupling agent of γ-methyl propylene acyloxy propyl trimethoxy silane [Claim 2], having an ethylenically unsaturated group [0043] and a group of -Si-(-RS1, -RS2, -RS3) in which Rs1 and Rs2 independently of each another are CH3O or Cl and Rs3 is CH3O, Cl, or a C1-C6 alkyl, and (b) allowing said silane-containing compound to undergo a coupling reaction to form the polysiloxane coating comprising ethylenically unsaturated groups.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the coupling agent taught by Bassampour with the γ-methyl propylene acyloxy propyl trimethoxy silane coupling agent taught by zhang, which comprises an ethylenically unsaturated group and a group of -Si-(-RS1, -RS2, -RS3) in which Rs1 and Rs2 independently of each another are CH3O or Cl and Rs3 is CH3O, Cl, or a C1-C6 alkyl, and predictably would result in allowing said silane-containing compound to undergo a coupling reaction to form the polysiloxane coating that is covalently attached onto the front surface of the molded insert and comprises ethylenically unsaturated groups in the modified method of Bassampour.
(9) dispensing a lens-forming composition in the female mold half with the molded insert adhered thereon in an amount sufficient for filling the lens-molding cavity of the female mold half [0172] obtained in step 8.
(10) placing the second male mold half on top of the lens-forming composition in the female mold half and closing the second male mold half and the female mold half to form a second molding assembly comprising the lens-forming composition and the molded insert immersed therein in the lens-molding cavity [0172];
(11) curing the lens-forming composition in the lens-molding cavity of the second molding assembly to form an embedded hydrogel contact lens precursor that comprise a bulk hydrogel material formed from the lens-forming composition and the insert embedded in the bulk material [0172];
(12) separating the second molding assembly obtained in step (11) into the second male mold half and the female mold half, with the embedded hydrogel contact lens precursor adhered on a lens-adhered mold half which is one of the female and second male mold halves [0172];
(13) removing the embedded silicone hydrogel contact lens precursor from the lens-adhered mold half [0172]; and
(14) subjecting the embedded hydrogel contact lens precursor to post-molding processes including one or more processes selected from the group consisting of extraction, hydration, surface treatment, packaging, sterilization, and combinations thereof [0174-0179].
In step (8), Bassampour teaches the use of a coupling agent, but is silent on the specific polymerizable silane coupling agent.
However, the prior art of Fujimoto teaches a methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane coupling agent is used to improve adhesion [P. 14, ‘Adhesion improver’ section] by being within a silane solution coated onto the semi-finished article before bonding the article to a substrate [P. 15, ¶ 9-10], in which the final product can be a contact lens [P. 20, ¶ 4].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane coupling agent to improve adhesion in a contact lens manufacture, taught by Fujimoto, in place of the unspecified coupling agent taught by Bassampour; this predictably would result in improving adhesion during hydrogel contact lens manufacturing in the similar process taught by Bassampour, in view of Suzuki and Zhang, in the same way. By coating the lens in a solution comprising a known silane coupling agent, adhesion would be expected to be improved for bonding to a substrate during production.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge”, in which the conditions for UV irradiation would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art, for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216].
Suzuki teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge” for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216].
A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that changes in adhesion between the molding material (including that of the insert) and the mold half would only be relevant to such parts of the mold half that come into contact with the molding material, such parts representing an area of 100% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded (which overlaps with the claimed range of 90% or smaller); and the amount of area of the mold half receiving a surface treatment represents a result-effective variable for modifying the degree of adhesion between the mold half and the insert, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bassampour teaches all limitations of claim 3 as set forth above. Additionally, Suzuki teaches that the central circular area of the first molding surface is carried out by using a corona plasma [0216].
Suzuki teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge” for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216].
A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that changes in adhesion between the molding material (including that of the insert) and the mold half would only be relevant to such parts of the mold half that come into contact with the molding material, such parts representing an area of 100% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded (which overlaps with the claimed range of 90% or smaller); and the amount of area of the mold half receiving a surface treatment represents a result-effective variable for modifying the degree of adhesion between the mold half and the insert, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1(7), modified Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material can comprise hydroxyl groups [0213, 0232].
Regarding claim 6, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1(7), modified Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material can be free of hydroxyl groups [0213, 0232], wherein step (7), taught by Suzuki, of treating the back or front surface of the molded insert can be carried out by using a vacuum UV, by UV irradiation [0216] means known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to generate hydroxyl groups on the back or front surface of the molded insert.
Regarding claim 7, from the modified method as set forth in the rejection of claim 1(7), modified Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material can be free of hydroxyl group [0213, 0232], wherein step (7), taught by Suzuki, of treating the back or front surface of the molded insert can be carried out by using a vacuum UV, by UV irradiation [0216] means known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to generate hydroxyl groups on the back or front surface of the molded insert.
Regarding claim 9, Bassampour discloses a method for producing an embedded hydrogel contact lenses, comprising the steps of:
(1) obtaining a first female mold half, a male half and a second female mold half, wherein the first female mold half has a first molding surface defining the back surface of an insert to be molded, wherein the male mold half has a second molding surface defining the posterior surface of a contact lens to be molded and also the back surface of the insert to be molded, wherein the second female mold half has a third molding surface defining the anterior surface of the contact lens to be molded, wherein the first female mold half and the male mold half are configured to receive each other such that an insert-molding cavity is formed between the first molding surface and a central portion of the second molding surface when the male mold half is closed with the first female mold half, wherein the second female mold half and the male mold half are configured to receive each other such that a lens-molding cavity is formed between the second and third molding surfaces when the male mold half is closed with the second female mold half [0173];
While Bassampour does not explicitly teach step (2), a step of treating a central circular area of the second molding surfaces is carried out by using a vacuum UV or a corona plasma, wherein the central circular area has a diameter equal to or smaller than the diameter of the insert to be molded, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior at the time of filing to do so, given that:
a) the prior art of Suzuki, which is within the contact lens manufacturing art, teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge” for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216];
b) a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that changes in adhesion between the molding material (including that of the insert) and the mold half would only be relevant to such parts of the mold half that come into contact with the molding material, such parts representing an area of 100% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded (which overlaps with the claimed range);
c) the amount of area of the mold half receiving a surface treatment represents a result-effective variable for modifying the degree of adhesion between the mold half and the insert, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Bassampour teaches:
(3) dispensing an amount of an insert-forming composition in the first female mold half [0173];
(4) placing the male mold half obtained in step (2) on top of the insert-forming composition in the first female mold half and closing the male mold half and the first female mold half to form a first molding assembly comprising the insert-forming composition within the insert-molding cavity [0173];
(5) curing the insert-forming composition in the insert-molding cavity of the first molding assembly to form a molded insert made of a crosslinked polymeric material formed from the insert-forming composition [0173];
(6) separating the first molding assembly obtained in step (5) into the first female mold half and the male mold half with the molded insert that is adhered onto the central portion of the second molding surface [0173].
Regarding (7), Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material optionally may contain, or may be free of hydroxyl groups [0213, 0232]. If the polymeric material were free of hydroxyl groups, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to improve adhesion of the material surface by treating the back surface of the molded insert adhered on the female mold half with a corona plasma or a vacuum UV, by method as set forth by Suzuki in the rejection of claim 9(2), known to generate hydroxyl groups on the back surface of the molded insert.
Regarding (8), Bassampour teaches a crosslinking solution forming a polysiloxane coating that can be used to covalently link to the surface of the molded insert [0145-0146] adhered by (a) dosing a silane solution onto the surface of the molded insert, wherein the silane solution comprises at least one polymerizable silane coupling agent, comprising: a carbodiimide, a diisocyanate, or a di-epoxy [0147].
Bassampour, in view of Suzuki, is silent on the silane solution comprising at least one polymerizable silane coupling agent having an ethylenically unsaturated group and a group of -Si-(-RS1, -RS2, -RS3) in which Rs1 and Rs2 independently of each another are CH3O or Cl and Rs3 is CH3O, Cl, or a C1-C6 alkyl, and (b) allowing said silane-containing compound to undergo a coupling reaction to form the polysiloxane coating that is covalently attached onto the front surface of the molded insert and comprises ethylenically unsaturated groups.
However, in the same field of art, the prior art of Zhang teaches the silane solution comprising the polymerizable silane coupling agent of γ-methyl propylene acyloxy propyl trimethoxy silane [Claim 2], having an ethylenically unsaturated group [0043] and a group of -Si-(-RS1, -RS2, -RS3) in which Rs1 and Rs2 independently of each another are CH3O or Cl and Rs3 is CH3O, Cl, or a C1-C6 alkyl, and (b) allowing said silane-containing compound to undergo a coupling reaction to form the polysiloxane coating comprising ethylenically unsaturated groups.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the coupling agent taught by Bassampour with the γ-methyl propylene acyloxy propyl trimethoxy silane coupling agent taught by zhang, which comprises an ethylenically unsaturated group and a group of -Si-(-RS1, -RS2, -RS3) in which Rs1 and Rs2 independently of each another are CH3O or Cl and Rs3 is CH3O, Cl, or a C1-C6 alkyl, and predictably would result in allowing said silane-containing compound to undergo a coupling reaction to form the polysiloxane coating that is covalently attached onto the front surface of the molded insert and comprises ethylenically unsaturated groups in the modified method of Bassampour.
(9) dispensing a lens-forming composition in the second female mold half in an amount sufficient for filling the lens-molding cavity [0173].
(10) placing the male mold half with the molded insert that is adhered onto the central portion of the second molding surface on top of the lens-forming composition in the second female mold half and closing the male mold half and the second female mold half to form a second molding assembly comprising the lens-forming composition and the molded insert immersed therein in the lens-molding cavity [0173].
(11) curing the lens-forming composition in the lens-molding cavity of the second molding assembly to form an embedded hydrogel contact lens precursor that comprises a bulk hydrogel material formed from the lens-forming composition and the insert embedded in the bulk hydrogel material [0173];
(12) separating the second molding assembly obtained in step (11) into the second female mold half and the male mold half, with the embedded hydrogel contact lens precursor adhered on a lens-adhered mold half which is one of the male and second female mold halves [0173];
(13) removing the embedded silicone hydrogel contact lens precursor from the lens- adhered mold half [0173]; and
(14) subjecting the embedded hydrogel contact lens precursor to post-molding processes including one or more processes selected from the group consisting of extraction, hydration, surface treatment, packaging, sterilization, and combinations thereof [0174-0179].
In step (8), Bassampour teaches the use of a coupling agent, but is silent on the specific polymerizable silane coupling agent.
However, the prior art of Fujimoto teaches a methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane coupling agent is used to improve adhesion [P. 14, ‘Adhesion improver’ section] by being within a silane solution coated onto the semi-finished article before bonding the article to a substrate [P. 15, ¶ 9-10], in which the final product can be a contact lens [P. 20, ¶ 4].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane coupling agent to improve adhesion in a contact lens manufacture, taught by Fujimoto, in place of the unspecified coupling agent taught by Bassampour; this predictably would result in improving adhesion during hydrogel contact lens manufacturing in the similar process taught by Bassampour, in view of Suzuki and Zhang, in the same way. By coating the lens in a solution comprising a known silane coupling agent, adhesion would be expected to be improved for bonding to a substrate during production.
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge”, in which the conditions for UV irradiation would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art, for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216].
Suzuki teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge” for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216].
A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that changes in adhesion between the molding material (including that of the insert) and the mold half would only be relevant to such parts of the mold half that come into contact with the molding material, such parts representing an area of 100% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded (which overlaps with the claimed range of 90% or smaller); and the amount of area of the mold half receiving a surface treatment represents a result-effective variable for modifying the degree of adhesion between the mold half and the insert, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 12, modified Bassampour teaches all limitations of claim 10 as set forth above. Additionally, Suzuki teaches that the central circular area of the first molding surface is carried out by using a corona plasma [0216].
Suzuki teaches that during contact lens manufacturing, the circular surfaces of the mold halves can be modified with “surface property adjustment treatments such as plasma treatment, UV irradiation, corona discharge [and] laser discharge” for the result effective means of modifying the degree of adhesion between the molding materials and the mold halves [0216].
A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that changes in adhesion between the molding material (including that of the insert) and the mold half would only be relevant to such parts of the mold half that come into contact with the molding material, such parts representing an area of 100% or smaller of the diameter of the insert to be molded (which overlaps with the claimed range of 90% or smaller); and the amount of area of the mold half receiving a surface treatment represents a result-effective variable for modifying the degree of adhesion between the mold half and the insert, and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, as set forth in the rejection of claim 10, and from 9(7), modified Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material can comprise hydroxyl groups [0213, 0232].
Regarding claim 14, as set forth in the rejection of claim 10, and from 9(7), modified Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material can be free of hydroxyl groups [0213, 0232], wherein step (7), taught by Suzuki, of treating the back or front surface of the molded insert can be carried out by using a vacuum UV, by UV irradiation [0216] means known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to generate hydroxyl groups on the back or front surface of the molded insert.
Regarding claim 15, from the modified method as set forth in the rejection of claim 9(7), modified Bassampour teaches the crosslinked polymeric material can be free of hydroxyl group [0213, 0232], wherein step (7), taught by Suzuki, of treating the back or front surface of the molded insert can be carried out by using a vacuum UV, by UV irradiation [0216] means known to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to generate hydroxyl groups on the back or front surface of the molded insert.
Claims 2 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassampour (US20230004023), in view of Suzuki (US20250205983), Zhang (CN105524226B), and Fujimoto (JP2018055019A), as set forth in the claim 1 & 9 rejections above, and further in view of Matsuzawa (US20080073804).
Regarding claim 2, modified Bassampour, in view of Suzuki and Chang, teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Bassampour, in view of Suzuki and Chang, does not explicitly teach that the first male mold half comprises an overflow groove which surrounds the second molding surface and into which any excess insert-forming material is pressed when the first molding assembly is closed securely, wherein any flushes formed from the excess insert-forming material during step (5) can be stuck on the first male mold half during step of separating the first molding assembly, thereby removing the flushes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so,
a) given that the prior art of Matsuzawa, which is within the contact lens molding art, teaches that it is conventional for mold halves to have means for allowing overflow of insert-forming materials ([0003]),
b) Matsuzawa teaches the use of such an overflow groove with a female mold half (“overflow” (11), [0044]); and
c) Matsuzawa teaches that the overflow groove can alternatively be located on a male mold half ([0079]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bassampour, in view of Suzuki and Chang, teaches all limitations of claim 9 as set forth above. While Bassampour, in view of Suzuki and Chang, does not explicitly teach that the first female mold half comprises an overflow groove which surrounds the first molding surface and into which any excess insert-forming material is pressed when the first molding assembly is closed securely, wherein any flushes formed from excess insert-forming material during step (5) can be stuck on the first female mold half during step of separating the first molding assembly, thereby removing the flushes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so,
a) given that Matsuzawa, which is within the molding art, teaches that it is conventional for mold halves to have means for allowing overflow of insert-forming materials ([0003]),
b) Matsuzawa teaches the use of such an overflow groove with a female mold half(“overflow” (11), [0044]); and
c) Matsuzawa teaches that the overflow groove can alternatively be located on a male mold half ([0079]).
Conclusion
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748