DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-16 do not include additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons provided below which are in line with the 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 241, p 74618, December 16, 2014), the July 2015 Update on Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 80, No. 146, p. 45429, July 30, 2015), the May 2016 Subject Matter Eligibility Update (Federal Register, Vol. 81, No. 88, p. 27381, May 6, 2016), the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 4, p. 50, January 7, 2019), and the 2024 Guidance Update on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 89, No. 137 p. 58128, July 17, 2024).
The analysis of claim 1 is as follows:
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a machine, which is a statutory category.
Step 2A - Prong 1: Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea in the form of a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components.
In particular, claim 1 recites the following limitations:
[A1]: a feature value extractor structured to set a bounding box that surrounds the top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image as a rectangular region that circumscribes the top-view contour shape and use a plurality of contact points between the top-view contour shape of the foot and the bounding box to extract a feature value of a predetermined part that depicts the top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image;
[B1]: a pronation estimator structured to estimate a degree of pronation of the foot, with reference to comparison between the feature value of the predetermined part and a reference part.
These elements [A1]-[B1] of claim 1 are directed to an abstract idea because they are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are mere steps that are capable of being mentally performed with the aid of pen and paper. For example, a skilled artisan is capable of [A1] analyzing top-view images of a foot, determining a contour of the foot, determining a rectangular box that circumscribes and contacts the contour, estimating a measurement of a foot length, foot width, a recess of an arch shape, or a protrusion of an outline shape near a little toe ball based on contact points between the box and the contour, and [B1] comparing the estimated measurement with a reference value to determine a degree of pronation. The Examiner notes that at least Fig. 7 depicts a comparison of a feature value with a reference value, which is capable of being performed mentally.
Step 2A - Prong Two: Claim 1 does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
[A2]: an image acquired structured to acquire at least a top-view image of a foot of a subject, as an image that depicts a contour shape in a top view of the foot.
The element [A2] does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
The element [A2] does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception because the element amounts to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements - see MPEP 2106.04(d); MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, each of the additional elements do not integrate the abstract into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Claim 1 does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Claim 1 recites the following additional elements:
[A2]: an image acquired structured to acquire at least a top-view image of a foot of a subject, as an image that depicts a contour shape in a top view of the foot.
The elements [A2]-[B2] do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The element [A2] does not qualify as significantly more because the element amounts to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, the element is well-understood, routine, and conventional. US 2014/0375629 A1 (Samson) (previously cited) teaches that, in a typical scanning of a foot in accordance with the prior art, a hand-held scanner takes images of the exposed upper portion of the foot and exposed under portion of the foot (¶ [0035]).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Independent claims 15 and 16 recite mirrored method and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium limitations and are not patent eligible for substantially similar reasons.
Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1, and they recite the same abstract idea as claim 1. Furthermore, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process) and/or append abstract ideas (that is, the claims only recite limitations that add further mental processes) except for the following limitations.
Claims 5-10 recites “a memory” structured to store various values. However, the memory does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or qualify as significantly more because it amounts to simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93).
Claims 11 and 12 recite “the image acquirer is structured to acquire, as the top-view image, an image that depicts a top-view contour shape of the foot of the subject in a sitting posture”. However, the element does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or qualify as significantly more because it amounts to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements - see MPEP 2106.04(d); MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, the element is well-understood, routine, and conventional. US 2014/0375629 A1 (Samson) (previously cited) teaches that, in a typical scanning of a foot in accordance with the prior art, a hand-held scanner takes images of the exposed upper portion of the foot and exposed under portion of the foot (¶ [0035]). The Examiner asserts that a typical hand-held scanner is configured to take images while the subject is sitting because of its hand-held nature.
Claims 13 and 14 recite “the image acquirer is structured to further acquire a side-view image of the foot of the subject”. However, the element does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or qualify as significantly more because it amounts to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements - see MPEP 2106.04(d); MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, the element is well-understood, routine, and conventional. US 2014/0375629 A1 (Samson) (previously cited) teaches that, in a typical scanning of a foot in accordance with the prior art, a hand-held scanner takes images of the exposed upper portion of the foot and exposed under portion of the foot (¶ [0035]). The Examiner asserts that a typical hand-held scanner is configured to take side-view images because of its hand-held nature.
In view of the above, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0329585 A1 (Huang) (previously cited) in view of US 2018/0033202 A1 (Lam) (previously cited) and US 2021/0093050 A1 (Lee).
With regards to claims 1, 15, and 16, Huang teaches a foot pronation estimation apparatus (¶ [0007] teaches an estimation device for estimating a degree of pronation/supination), a method for estimating foot pronation (¶ [0008] discloses an estimation method for estimating a degree of pronation/supination), and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute processing (¶ [0009] discloses a program which causes a computer to execute estimation of a degree of pronation/supination; ¶ [0109] discloses a program stored in a storage device), comprising: a pronation estimator structured to estimate a degree of pronation of the foot, with reference to comparison between a feature value of a predetermined part and a reference value (¶¶ [0046]-[0048] depict comparison between a foot width and reference values to determination a degree of pronation, wherein the comparison also includes a determination of CPEI=CPE/Foot width X 100).
Huang is silent regarding an image acquirer structured to acquire at least a top-view image of a foot of a subject, as an image that depicts a contour shape in a top view of the foot; a feature value extractor structured to extract a feature value of a predetermined part that depicts a top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image.
In a system relevant to the problem of determining a foot width, Lam teaches an image acquirer structured to acquire at least a top-view image of a foot of a subject (¶ [0036] discloses a user taking a first photo 40 using a camera or an image-capturing unit 22 of a mobile device 20, wherein the first photo 40 is of a top view of the user’s foot), as an image that depicts a contour shape in a top view of the foot (Fig. 5(a) depicts the top view photo 40); a feature value extractor structured to extract a feature value of a predetermined part that depicts a top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image (¶ [0057] discloses calculating a foot width from the top view photo by recognizing the contour of the foot and identifying and calculating a maximum width of the foot). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the determination of the foot width of Huang such that it is derived from an image acquirer structured to acquire at least a top-view image of a foot of a subject, as an image that depicts a contour shape in a top view of the foot; a feature value extractor structured to extract a feature value of a predetermined part that depicts a top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image as taught by Lam. Because both of the methods of Lam and Huang are capable of determining a foot width, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the feature value extractor is structured to set a bounding box that surrounds the top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image as a rectangular region that circumscribes the top-view contour shape and use a plurality of contact points between the top-view contour shape of the foot and the bounding box to extract a feature value.
In a system relevant to the problem of determining a foot width, Lee teaches a feature value extractor is structured to set a bounding box that surrounds the top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image as a rectangular region that circumscribes the top-view contour shape (Fig. 16 and ¶ [0082] depict a measuring apparatus configured to calculate a bounding box BB that surrounds a foot region RF having a minimum width surrounding the foot region RF) and use a plurality of contact points between the top-view contour shape of the foot and the bounding box to extract a feature value (Fig. 16 and ¶ [0082] depict using contact points to determine feature values). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate the feature value extractor is structured to set a bounding box that surrounds the top-view contour shape of the foot from the top-view image as a rectangular region that circumscribes the top-view contour shape and use a plurality of contact points between the top-view contour shape of the foot and the bounding box to extract a feature value as taught by Lee. The motivation would have been to substitute one known method for determining dimensions/values of a foot with another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to claim 5, the above combination teaches or suggests a memory structured to store a plurality of pronation types classified by the degree of pronation of foot (¶ [0058] of Huang teaches a presumption model stored in the estimation device 12, wherein the estimation device 12 determines the degree of pronation/supination; ¶ [0098] discloses the presumption unit outputs an estimation result of supination, normality, or pronation), including at least a first type in which the degree of pronation is larger than a predetermined standard (¶¶ [0048], [0098] of Huang discloses supination when CPEI is greater than 20), and a second type in which the degree of pronation is equal to or smaller than the predetermined standard (¶¶ [0048], [0098] of Huang discloses normality when CPEI is less than 20), the pronation estimator being structured to estimate which of the plurality of pronation types applies, with reference to comparison between the feature value of the predetermined part and the reference value (¶¶ [0046]-[0048] of Huang depict comparison between a foot width and reference values to determination a degree of pronation, wherein the comparison also includes a determination of CPEI=CPE/Foot width X 100).
With regards to claim 9, the above combination teaches or suggests a memory structured to store the reference value related to the feature value of the predetermined part, the pronation estimator being structured to estimate the degree of pronation, with reference to the comparison of the extracted feature value with the stored reference value (¶ [0058] of Huang teaches a presumption model stored in the estimation device 12, wherein the estimation device 12 determines the degree of pronation/supination; ¶¶ [0048], [0098] of Huang discloses the presumption unit outputs an estimation result of supination, normality, or pronation based on predetermined reference values).
With regards to claim 11, the above combination teaches or suggests the image acquirer is structured to acquire, as the top-view image, the image that depicts the top-view contour shape of the foot of the subject in a sitting posture (¶ [0036] of Lam discloses a user taking a first photo 40 using a camera or an image-capturing unit 22 of a mobile device 20, wherein the first photo 40 is of a top view of the user’s foot. Fig. 1 depicts the mobile device 20. The Examiner asserts that the mobile device is configured to acquire an image of a top of a foot of a sitting subject because of its mobile and hand-held nature).
With regards to claim 13, the above combination teaches or suggests the image acquirer is structured to further acquire a side-view image of the foot of the subject (¶ [0036] of Lam discloses a user taking photos 42, 44 using a camera or an image-capturing unit 22 of a mobile device 20, wherein the photos 42, 44 are side-view photos).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the feature value extractor is structured to extract an additional feature value of the predetermined part, from the side-view image
In the same field of endeavor of determining features of a foot from images, Lam teaches a feature value extractor is structured to extract an additional feature value of the predetermined part, from the side-view image (¶ [0064] and Fig. 7(b) of Lam discloses calculating a length from a side-view of the foot). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above feature value extractor of the above combination to incorporate that it is structured to extract an additional feature value of the predetermined part, from the side-view image as taught by Lam. The motivation would have been to provide a more complete diagnostic analysis of the foot of the patient.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang) in view of Lam and Lee, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0310658 A1 (Bonifas) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 7, the above combination is silent regarding a memory structured to store a plurality of shoe types classified by the mode of dealing with pronation of foot, including at least a first shoe type adapted to a degree of pronation larger than a predetermined standard, and a second shoe type adapted to a degree of pronation equal to or smaller than the predetermined standard; and a type determiner structured to determine a shoe type recommendable for the subject, from among the plurality of shoe types, with reference to the degree of pronation estimated by the pronation estimator.
In the same field of endeavor of devices for monitoring pronation, Bonifas teaches a memory structured to store a plurality of shoe types classified by the mode of dealing with pronation of foot, including at least a first shoe type adapted to a degree of pronation larger than a predetermined standard, and a second shoe type adapted to a degree of pronation equal to or smaller than the predetermined standard; and a type determiner structured to determine a shoe type recommendable for the subject, from among the plurality of shoe types, with reference to the degree of pronation estimated by the pronation estimator (¶ [0058] discloses a kiosk for determining if a user is an overpronator or oversupinator and recommending a specific shoe having more cushion or more control to address the user’s gait characteristics, which indicates that the kiosk has stored shoe type recommendations for overpronators and oversupinators; Fig. 13 and ¶¶ [0074]-[0075] depicts a computing device with one or more storage devices or memories for performing the examples). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Huang in view of Lam to incorporate a memory structured to store a plurality of shoe types classified by the mode of dealing with pronation of foot, including at least a first shoe type adapted to a degree of pronation larger than a predetermined standard, and a second shoe type adapted to a degree of pronation equal to or smaller than the predetermined standard; and a type determiner structured to determine a shoe type recommendable for the subject, from among the plurality of shoe types, with reference to the degree of pronation estimated by the pronation estimator as taught by Bonifas. The motivation would have been to provide the user with shoe recommendations to address the user’s gait characteristics (¶ [0058] of Bonifas).
No Prior Art Rejections of Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 14
With regards to claim 2, the prior art does not teach or suggest “an amount of a recess of an arch shape from the top-view image” and “the pronation estimator is structured to estimate the degree of pronation of the foot, with reference to comparison of each of the feature values of the plurality of parts including at least the foot width and the amount of the recess of the arch shape, with an individually corresponded reference value” along with the other features of claim 2.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, and 14 do not have prior art rejections by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
There is a new ground of claim objection necessitated by the claim amendments filed 07/06/2026.
35 U.S.C. §112 Rejection
In view of the claim amendments filed 07/06/2026, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) were withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. §101 Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive.
First, the Applicant’s arguments set forth an improvement to image processing operations in a conclusory manner. The arguments amount to a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The specification does not describe how the above sequence improves image processing techniques or technology, and it would not be evident to a person of ordinary skill in the art how the above sequence provides the alleged improvement. Additionally, the computer-implemented limitations merely invoke the computer as a tool, which is not an improvement to computer functionality. See MPEP 2106.05(a)(I).
Second, the Examiner maintains that alleged image processing operations (1)-(3) amount to mental processes for the reasons listed in the above rejection. For example, a skilled artisan is capable of analyzing top-view images of a foot, determining a contour of the foot, mentally setting a rectangular box that circumscribes and contacts the contour, estimating a measurement of a foot length, foot width, a recess of an arch shape, or a protrusion of an outline shape near a little toe ball based on contact points between the box and the contour, and comparing the estimated measurement with a reference value to determine a degree of pronation. MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) recites “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology”. The above sequence appears to provide an improvement to the mental process of determining a foot pronation value, which does not qualify as an improvement to technology.
Applicant further asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. The unconventional technical solution of Amdocs, Ltd. v. Openet Telecom, Inc. stems from a distributed network architecture operating in an unconventional fashion to reduce network congestion while generating networking accounting data records, wherein the network architecture is a particular system which is an additional element. However, the use of the rectangular bounding box and resulting contacting points of claims 1, 15, and 16 are mental processes, which are not additional elements. MPEP 2106.05(a) indicates that “the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements.” Additionally, MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) recites “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology”. The use of the rectangular bounding box and resulting contacting points of claims 1, 15, and 16 to improve determining foot pronation amounts to an improvement to a mental process, which does not use additional elements. Therefore, claims 1, 15, and 16 do not involve an unconventional technological solution.
35 U.S.C. §103 Rejections
Applicant' s amendment and arguments filed 07/06/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2021/0093050 A1 (Lee). See the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791