DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10-11, 13, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2022/0018406 to Kim in view of US Patent 1912092 to Parker.
Re: claims 1, 11, and 15. Kim shows in figure 2 a boot for a guide rod 140 of a vehicle disc brake apparatus, the vehicle disc brake apparatus including a brake pad carrier 120 and a caliper 130 movably coupled to the brake pad carrier via the guide rod, the boot 150 comprising: a tubular body shown in the area at the end of the lead arrow of 150 configured to surround the guide rod, the tubular body comprising opposite first and second end portions, wherein the first or top end portion is configured to be secured to the guide rod 140 and the second or bottom end portion is configured to be secured to the brake pad carrier 120 as shown in figure 1, wherein the tubular body is configured to longitudinally expand and contract with movement of the guide rod 140; but is silent with regard to at least one biasing member associated with the tubular body, wherein the at least one biasing member is configured to urge the tubular body to a contracted state.
Parker teaches in figure 2 a boot 76 comprising a tubular member including at least one biasing member 95 associated with the tubular member wherein the at least one biasing member is configured to urge the tubular body to a contracted state as described on pg. 3 lines 9-12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the boot tubular member of Kim to have included a biasing member, in view of the teachings of Parker, in order to provide greater durability of the seal by helping to keep the boot properly guided during movements. With regard to claim 11, the tubular biasing member Kim, as modified, is 95 of Parker and also see the rejection of claim 1.
Kim, as modified, is silent with regard to the at least one biasing member being configured to urge the tubular body from a longitudinally expanded state to a contracted state.
Parker teaches in figure 2 the use of a boot configured to guide a shaft or pin wherein an at least one biasing member 95 is configured to urge a tubular body 76 from a longitudinally expanded state to a contracted state as described on pg. 3 lines 9-12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the tubular body of Parker, as modified, to have been coupled with an at least one biasing member configured to urge the tubular body from a longitudinally expanded state to a contracted state, in view of the teachings of Parker, in order to provide a means of maintaining a compact configuration and a means of automatic retraction eliminating the need of an external return mechanism.
[AltContent: textbox (Varying diameter
(larger))][AltContent: textbox (Varying diameter
(smaller))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Re: claims 7, 13, and 20. Kim, as modified, teaches in figure 1 of Kim wherein a portion of the tubular body shown at the end of the lead arrow of 150 between the first and second end portions has a varying outer diameter, as shown in the annotated figure 1 of Kim above, that forms a bellows section in order to facilitate compressibility.
Re: claim 10. Kim, as modified, teaches in figure 1 of Kim wherein the first or top end portion is configured to be sealingly secured to the guide rod 140 and the second or bottom end portion is configured to be sealingly secured to the brake pad carrier 120.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd end portion)][AltContent: textbox (1st end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2022/0018406 to Kim in view of US Patent 1912092 to Parker as applied above, and further in view of US Patent 4199159 to Evans.
Re: claims 2 and 16. Kim, as modified, is silent with regard to the at least one biasing member being formed within a wall of the tubular member.
Evans teaches in figure 14 the use of an at least one biasing member 74 being formed within a wall of a tubular member 72.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the tubular member of Kim, as modified, to have modified the at least one biasing member to have been formed within a wall of the tubular member, in view of the teachings of Evans, in order to provide a means of more securely coupling the at least one biasing member to the tubular member to reduce the possibility of decoupling and to improve the overall life of the boot assembly.
Re: claims 3, 5, and 17. Kim, as modified, is silent with regard to the at least one biasing member comprising at least one spring wire.
Parker teaches in figure 2 the use of at least one biasing member comprising at least one spring wire in the form of the coils i.e. circumferential strips of the helical spring 95.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the at least one biasing member of Kim, as modified, to have comprised at least one spring wire 85, in view of the teachings of Parker, in order to provide a material with a streamlined structure to take up less overall space and to reduce the amount of material usage resulting in a cost savings.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2022/0018406 to Kim in view of US Patent 1912092 to Parker and US Patent 4199159 to Evans as applied above, and further in view of GB-2131499 (GB’499).
Re: claims 4 and 18. Kim, as modified, is silent with regard to the limitation wherein the at least one spring wire comprises a plurality of spring wires arranged in substantially equal-spaced intervals around a circumference of the tubular body.
GB’499 teaches in figures 2 and 4 the use of an at least one biasing member comprising a plurality of spring components 24 arranged in substantially equal-spaced intervals around a circumference of a tubular body 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the at least one biasing member of Kim, as modified, which is in the form of a spring wire, as modified, to have included a plurality of spring components arranged in a substantially equal-spaced intervals around the circumference of the tubular body, in view of the teachings of GB’499, in order to provide a means of providing a biasing member while using less material to result in a cost savings.
Re: claims 6 and 19. Kim, as modified, is silent with regard to the limitation wherein the at least one biasing member comprises spring material that circumferentially surrounds the tubular body and extends from the first end portion to the second end portion.
GB’499 teaches in figures 2 and 4 the limitation wherein the at least one biasing member 17 comprising spring material that circumferentially surrounds the tubular body as shown in figure 4 and extends from the first end portion, as labeled, to the second end portion as labeled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the at least one biasing member of Kim, as modified, to comprise a spring material that circumferentially surrounds the tubular body and extend from the first end portion to the second end portion, in view of the teachings of GB’499, in order to provide a biasing force that is uniformly distributed and provides adequate stability throughout the extent of the biasing member.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 2022/0018406 to Kim in view of Parker as applied above, and further in view of KR-101578145 (KR’145).
Kim, as modified, is silent with regard to the boot tubular body comprising an elastomeric/polymeric material.
KR’145 teaches in figure 1 the use of seal 160 described in the paragraph beginning “A boot 160 may be installed” as rubber which is elastomeric/polymeric.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the tubular body of the boot of Kim, as modified, to have been elastomeric/polymeric, in view of the teachings of KR’145, in order to provide a material with a low wear rate to improve the overall sealing function or provide good flexibility and lightweight characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
mmb
October 31, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616