DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao (CN 113193261 A), where a translation is used and cited herein.
Regarding claim 1, Cao teaches a lithium battery energy exchange storage system liquid-cooled fire protection joint control system (Cao, [0030]) (which corresponds to the claimed energy storage module), hereinafter referred to as lithium battery of Cao, including a storage tank (which corresponds to the claimed coolant tank) for storing liquid working fluid (Cao, [0015]), which can be water or ethylene glycol solution (Cao, [0013]), where Naito (US 20150027796 A1) teaches pure water and ethylene glycol as coolants (Naito [0067]),
A fire pipe 1-5 sealed with nitrogen corresponds to the claimed fire extinguishing tank for storing a fire extinguishing agent, wherein the instant application uses solely nitrogen as an example for a fire extinguishing agent (Instant Application, [0050]),
The storage tank 6 is connected to the working fluid flow channel 1-1A via the inlet pipe 9 and the module inlet 1-2 (Cao, [0038]), and the fire pipe 1-5 is connected to the working fluid flow channel 1-1A (which corresponds to the claimed pipe) via a fire-fighting check valve 1-1B (Cao, [0034-0036]) which corresponds to the claimed pipe connected to the coolant tank and the fire extinguishing agent tank,
Figures 1-3 show a plurality of integrated liquid-cooled fire-fighting coupled battery box modules (hereinafter referred to as battery box modules) 1 each with a liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 connected to the working fluid flow channel 1-1A (Cao, [0034-0036]) where each battery box module 1 contains a liquid-cooled base plate 1-1, and they are connected via the inlet pipe 9 (Cao, Figures 1-2) which corresponds to the claimed plurality of cooling plates connected to the pipe,
Figures 1-3 show a plurality of battery box modules 1 which each include a plurality of battery cells 1-5 that have a battery pressure relief valve 1-6 (which corresponds to the claimed vent) on the top surface of the battery cell (Cao, [0034]) and the battery cells are arranged on the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 (Cao, [0032]) which corresponds to the claimed plurality of battery modules comprising a battery cell, the battery cell having a vent in one surface thereof and another surface in contact with the corresponding one of the cooling plates.
Regarding claim 2, Cao teaches that the fire pipe 1-5 (corresponding to the claimed fire extinguishing tank) is connected to the working fluid flow channel 1-1A (corresponding to the claimed pipe) via a fire-fighting check valve 1-1B (Cao, [0034-0036]) which corresponds to the claimed fire extinguishing tank being coupled to the pipe through a valve.
Regarding claim 3, Cao teaches a fire pipe 1-5 sealed with nitrogen or inert gas (Cao [0034]), which corresponds to the claimed fire extinguishing tank configured to store a fire extinguishing agent, nitrogen, or a mixture thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Cao teaches Figures 1 and 2 which show the battery box modules 1 stacked in a vertical direction and the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 contacting an upper battery case and at an upper part of a lower one of the battery modules, which corresponds to the claimed battery modules being stacked in a vertical direction and one of the cooling plates contacting an upper one of the battery modules is at an upper part of a lower one of the battery modules, wherein an upper part is interpreted as being above a lower battery module
Regarding claim 5, Cao teaches Figures 1 and 2 that show the battery box modules having an upper cover as a part of the module housing 1-3 which has side walls, and the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 (corresponding to the claimed lower cover), which corresponds to the claimed side wall cover, lower cover, and an upper cover, and Figure 2 shows the battery cells 1-4 in a space confined by the module housing 1-3 where the upper cover is above the vents, in close proximity, of the battery cells 1-4, which corresponds to the claimed battery cell accommodated in a space formed by the side wall cover and the upper cover and wherein the upper cover is on one surface of the battery cell where the vent is formed.
Regarding claim 6, the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 corresponds to both the lower cover and the cooling plate and are thus connected to each other.
Regarding claim 10, Cao teaches that the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 has a serpentine working fluid channel (which corresponds to the claimed cooling pipe) 1-1A inside (Cao, [0033]), where the liquid-cooled base plate itself is acting as the claimed cover member, and in event of a fire, the liquid working fluid passes from the working fluid flow channel 1-1A, through the fire pipe check valve 1-1B, and into the fire pipe 1-5 which will also be considered the coolant pipe,
The fire pipe 1-5 is a fusible fire pipe, such as a low-melting-point alloy pipe (Cao, [0036]), thus any area of the fire pipe 1-5 can correspond to the claimed melting area because the fire pipe 1-5 can melt,
Each battery box module 1 has a fire pipe 1-5 and is at a position corresponding to the battery cells 1-4 in the battery box modules 1 which corresponds to the claimed melting area being at a position corresponding to the battery cell of a lower one of the battery modules.
Regarding claim 11, Cao teaches the fire-fighting pipe 1-5 is arranged above the battery pressure relief valve 1-6 of the battery cell 1-4 (Cao, [0034]), which corresponds to the claimed melting area being at a position corresponding to the vent of the battery cell of the lower one of the battery modules, wherein the position corresponding to the vent of the battery cell is interpreted as any position in any direction of the battery cell.
Regarding claim 12, Cao teaches the liquid working fluid passing from the working fluid flow channel 1-1A through the fire pipe check valve 1-1B (Cao, [0033-0039]), where the working fluid flow channel 1-1A is inside the liquid cooled base plate 1-1, and the fire pipe check valve 1-1B is outside the liquid-cooled base plate, which corresponds to the claimed cover member having a hole exposing the melting area, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the transition from inside of the base plate 1-1 to outside the base plate would necessarily follow a hole, and the fire pipe check valve 1-1B has a melting area,
Figure 3 shows the fire pipe check valve 1-1B protruding downwards into the base plate 1-1, which corresponds to the claimed melting area protruding downwardly into the hole.
Regarding claim 13, Cao teaches that in the event of a fire, the fire pipe 1-5 ruptures at the position directly opposite battery pressure relief valve 1-6, and gas in the fire pipe 1-5 is rapidly discharged [0039], where figure 2 shows the battery pressure relief valve 1-6 below the fire pipe 1-5.
Regarding claim 14, Cao teaches figure 1, which shows a plurality of battery box modules 1 stacked in a vertical direction (which corresponds to the claimed battery modules comprising a first battery module and a second battery module on the first battery module), and each battery box module 1 comprises a liquid-cooled base plate 1-1A that is in contact with the battery cell 1-4 in the respective battery box module 1, which corresponds to the claimed cooling plates comprising a first cooling plate and a second cooling plate, wherein the first cooling plate is in contact with the battery cell of the first battery module, and the second cooling plate is in contact with the battery cell of the second battery module.
Regarding claim 15, Cao teaches the liquid working fluid flowing through the working fluid channel 1-1A of the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 for heat exchange (Cao, [0015]), and wherein the claimed limitation of wherein the first battery module is cooled by the first cooling plate and the second battery module is cooled by the second battery module, is an intended use claim limitation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the liquid-cooled base plates 1-1 meet the limitation of being able to cool the battery modules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (CN 113193261 A) and Xin (JP 7357779 A), where a transition is used and cited herein.
Regarding claim 7, Cao teaches the energy storage module as claimed in claim 5 but is silent as to a cover plate comprising a hollow, wherein the hollow is in a region corresponding to the vent of a corresponding one of the battery cells. However, Xin teaches figure 3, which shows a battery pack 1000 comprising an upper cover 420 coupled to a lower housing 410, with a venting induction frame 300 housed within the lower housing 410 (Xin, [0041]).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to replace the upper cover of Cao with the upper cover of Xin and add the lower housing and venting induction frame of Xin to cover the top of the battery module and protect the internal electric field as taught by Xin (Xin, [0041]), Cao modified by Xin suggests the venting induction frame would be in a region corresponding to the vent of one of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 8, Xin teaches a venting guide frame 300 positioned along the entire edge of the battery modules 100 (Xin, [0040]), and figure 3 shows the venting guide frame 300 between the battery cells and the upper cover Cao to guide the vent gas in relation to the battery unit as taught by Xin (Xin, [0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Xin teaches figure 3, which shows the venting guide frame 300 having an opening between its walls, and Cao modified by Xin suggests the venting guide frame between the battery cells and the upper cover which corresponds to the claimed guide frame having an opening, and the opening being in a region corresponding to the vent, since the vent is on the top face of the battery cell, the opening of the venting guiding frame would be in a region corresponding to the vent,
Figure 3 of Xin shows that the venting guide frame has protrusions protruding upwardly from an edge of the opening which corresponds to the claimed guide frame protruding upwardly from an edge of the opening to contact the cover plate, wherein the limitation “to contact the cover plate” is an intended use limitation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the venting guide frame of Xin has the structure to contact a cover plate.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (CN 113193261 A).
Regarding claim 17, Cao teaches the energy storage module of claim 16 as discussed above, and that in the event of a thermal runaway, the battery relief valve 1-6 opens and sprays high-temperature smoke onto the fire pipe 1-5 above the battery relief valve 1-6 of the battery cells 1-4 (Cao, [0039]), but is silent as to the coolant or fire flowing agent flowing from an upper battery module unto a lower battery module.
However, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to remove the upper cover, and rearrange an upper battery box module to be directly covering a lower battery box module to conserve space and materials within the lithium battery of Cao, where Liu (US 20220209341 A1) teaches that a reduction in size would save space, material and have a better economy (Liu, Abstract), which would suggest a structure which would have the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 of an upper battery box module arranged above the battery relief valve 1-6 of a lower battery box module, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the structure of modified Cao to be capable of having the high temperature smoke from the battery relief valve 1-6 melt a portion of the liquid-cooling base plate 1-1 of an above battery box module, releasing coolant onto the battery cells of the lower battery box module and is considered capable of the same intended use as claimed.
Note that the limitation “wherein, in the event occurs in the battery cell of the second battery module, the coolant or the fire extinguishing agent is sprayed into the battery cell of the second battery module through the melting area of the first cooling plate” is an intended use limitation. “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” See MPEP §2111.02 (II).
Regarding claim 18, modified Cao suggests the battery relief valve 1-6 of a battery box module being in a region above the melting area of a liquid-cooling base plate 1-1 of the same battery box module, which corresponds to the claimed vent of the first battery module being in a region corresponding to the melting area of the first cooling plate.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao (CN 113193261 A) and Xin (JP 7357779 A), where a transition is used and cited herein.
Regarding claim 19, modified Cao suggests the energy storage module as claimed in claim 18, a module housing 1-3 which has side walls (which corresponds to the claimed side wall covers), and the liquid-cooled base plate 1-1 of a battery box module 1 (which correspond to the claimed lower cover), the suggested liquid-cooled base plate of an upper battery box module would correspond to the claimed upper cover, the battery cell 1-4 being in a space formed by the
But Cao is silent as to a cover plate comprising a hollow, wherein the hollow is in a region corresponding to the vent of a corresponding one of the battery cells. However, Xin teaches figure 3, which shows a battery pack 1000 comprising an upper cover 420 coupled to a lower housing 410, with a venting induction frame 300 housed within the lower housing 410 (Xin, [0041]), wherein the venting induction frame 300 has a hollow portion as shown in figure 3 of Xin.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add the venting induction frame of Xin to upper liquid-cooled base plate of modified Cao to guide the vent gas in relation to the battery unit as taught by Xin (Xin, [0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the structure of Cao modified by Xin would meet the limitation where the hollow is in a region corresponding to the vent and the melting area because the venting guide frame of Xin has a hollow portion in its center, which would be above the battery relief valve 1-6 and below the upper liquid-cooled base plate.
Regarding claim 20, Cao modified by Xin suggests a guide frame having an opening and the opening is in a region corresponding to the vent, the hollow, and the melting area as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Lee (US 20220123383 A1) teaches a similar device, see figure 6. D-Herlincourt (EP 3838655 A1) teaches a similar device, see figure 1.
/J.M.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734