DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingraham et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0279799).
Regarding claim 1, Ingraham discloses a high chair, comprising: a seat frame (11) comprising a first support frame (111) and a first seat plate (112) disposed on the first support frame; a first backrest assembly (12) configured to be detachably connected to the seat frame, the first backrest assembly comprising a first backrest part (an upstanding rear portion), a barrier part (upstanding side and front regions and/or tray for instance), and a first connecting part (at 124) that is configured to be connected to the seat frame; and a second backrest assembly (13) configured to be detachably connected to the seat frame, the second backrest assembly comprising a second backrest part (main body portion) and a second connecting part (depending portions) that is configured to be connected to the seat frame (see figures), wherein the seat frame is connectable to only one of the first backrest assembly and the second backrest assembly at a time (as in Figures 2 and 3, respectively; note that the alternative arrangement of Figure 1 for instance shows only the first backrest assembly connected to the seat frame (with the second backrest connected to the first backrest)), when the first backrest assembly is fixedly connected to the seat frame, the high chair is in a first usage mode, when the second backrest assembly is fixedly connected to the seat frame, the high chair is in a second usage mode, and when neither the first backrest assembly nor the second backrest assembly is connected to the first seat plate, the high chair is in a third usage mode (i.e. a first usage mode as in Figure 2, a second usage mode as in Figure 3, and a third usage mode as in Figure 4 with upper components/backrests removed).
Regarding claim 2, Ingraham further discloses the barrier part comprises a transverse barrier (of the tray for instance) extending in a transverse direction of the first backrest assembly and lateral barriers (upstanding side regions for instance) extending in a longitudinal direction of the first backrest assembly; and the first connecting part is disposed on at least one of the transverse barrier, lateral barriers, and the first backrest part (124 is at least disposed on the lateral barriers; see figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingraham in view of Haut et al. (US Patent Number 9986850).
Regarding claims 3-5, Ingraham discloses a high chair as explained above including what would appear to be a first vertical extension and a first longitudinal extension of the first connecting part that are connected to each other and arranged at an angle (i.e. a vertical exterior portion as seen in the figures as well as an extension for the snapping functionality) and the seat frame provided with a first coupling groove (at 113) corresponding to the first longitudinal extension; and the first longitudinal extension is configured to be inserted into the first coupling groove (this would appear to be the manner of operation), and wherein a connection portion between the first longitudinal extension and the first vertical extension is bent to form an engaging recess, and when the first longitudinal extension is inserted into the first coupling groove, the engaging recess is engaged with an edge of the seat frame (see figures; an edge of the seat frame necessarily engages with a recess at the extensions), but details of this arrangement are not clearly described. Haut discloses a related device including a first connecting part (at 158) comprises a first vertical extension and a first longitudinal extension that are connected to each other and arranged at an angle to each other (see at least Figure 14); a seat frame provided with a first coupling groove (at 141A for instance) corresponding to the first longitudinal extension; and the first longitudinal extension is configured to be inserted into the first coupling groove (see again Figure 14), wherein an elastic finger (166) is disposed on the first longitudinal extension; a first hole (at 186A) corresponding to the elastic finger is disposed on a wall of the first coupling groove; and when the first longitudinal extension is inserted into the first coupling groove, an elastic protrusion of the elastic finger is slidable into the first hole (as in Figure 14), and wherein a connection portion between the first longitudinal extension and the first vertical extension is bent to form an engaging recess, and when the first longitudinal extension is inserted into the first coupling groove, the engaging recess is engaged with an edge of the seat frame (i.e. a lower edge portion of 141 engages with a recess of 158). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a connecting arrangement as taught by Haut in Ingraham’s device because this could provide a simple, sturdy, and reliable coupling means to ensure user comfort and safety. Note that while the combination is viewed as providing the elements arranged as claimed (i.e. the connecting part on the backrest and the groove on the seat frame as in Ingraham) even if this were not clear (since Haut appears to show the elements reversed), reversal of components requires only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the elements arranged as claimed (i.e. potentially reversing the connecting part/coupling groove) based on normal variation to improve manufacture or ease of operation for various users.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Ingraham discloses a high chair as explained above but does not disclose details of the second connecting part. Haut discloses a related device including a connecting part (at a bottom of 141) comprising a vertical extension and a longitudinal extension that are connected to each other and arranged at an angle to each other (an upper portion and downwardly extending portion, respectively, as in Figure 14); an end of the vertical extension away from the longitudinal extension is fixedly connected to a backrest part (i.e. an upper portion of the part shown in Figure 14 is fixed to 141); and an end of the longitudinal extension away from the vertical extension is insertable into a coupling channel of a seat frame (at 156), and further comprising a locking mechanism (including 158), wherein the locking mechanism comprises a locking member movably disposed on the seat frame (at least 160 moves relative to the frame); the longitudinal extension is provided with a locking hole (at 168); and the locking member has a first locked position and a first unlocked position, and wherein when the longitudinal extension is inserted into the coupling channel, if the locking member is in the first locked position, the locking member is insertable into the locking hole, and if the locking member is in the first unlocked position, the locking member is separatable from the locking hole (this is the general arrangement with 166 engaging or disengaging at 168). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a connecting arrangement as taught by Haut in Ingraham’s device because this could provide a simple, sturdy, and reliable coupling means to ensure user comfort and safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Ingraham does not disclose a seat frame connectable to only one of the first or second backrest at a time. While Applicant’s analysis of Ingraham’s design is appreciated, it is maintained that Ingraham anticipates the claims as set forth above. That is, while Ingraham’s seatback assembly/second backrest assembly 13 may be connectable to both the seat frame 11 and seat/first backrest assembly 12, only one of 12 or 13 is connected to 11 at a time. As noted above, even in the configuration of Figure 1, only first backrest 12 is connected to seat frame 11 (with 13 connected to the first backrest). The rejections have accordingly been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636