DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the catalyst particles" in line 12 or, alternatively, “the catalyst particles from the composite of the post-framework modified USY zeolite and metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder,” in lines 12-13. As, “catalyst particles,” is recited in the preamble as the final product and as “calcined catalyst particles” in line 15, the recitation of, “the catalyst particles,” with reference to an intermediate product is indefinite because it obfuscates the action being defined by the method claim and creates uncertainty as to what is being acted upon.
If the recitation is intended as, “the catalyst particles from the composite of the post-framework modified USY zeolite and metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder,” it lacks antecedent basis on account of not being previously defined in the claim.8
Claims 2-18 are rendered indefinite via their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “the metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder material,” in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The recitation appears to be a merger of “inorganic oxide binder material” and “metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder” which are both defined in claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “the catalyst particles,” in line 15 in reference to an intermediate product with a different structure than the defined catalyst particles of claim 1, lines 1 & 15. The recitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how the catalyst particles, understood to be the final product as per claim 1, can be formed into the extrudates which later become the final catalyst particles.
Claim 6 recites the limitation, “the metal-loaded intermediate calcined catalyst particles,” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation, “the metal-loaded intermediate calcined catalyst particles,” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation, “said inorganic oxide material,” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “the active metal-containing composite catalyst particles,” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation, “the additional zeolite component,” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation, “said framework-modified USY zeolite,” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. (US Patent No. 9,221,036 B2) as evidenced by Mehrabadi et al. (Advances in Catalysis 2017, 61, pp. 1-35) and Bacariza et al. (Energy Fuels 2020, 34, pp. 14656-14666).
With regard to claims 1 and 2, Koseoglu et al. teaches a method of producing catalyst particles comprising:
providing an ultra-stable Y-type zeolite (USY) with aluminum framework atoms partially replaced by zirconium and/or hafnium atoms (i.e. zeolite-1, defined in Col. 6, lines 10-19) or titanium atoms (i.e. zeolite-2, defined in Col. 8, lines 12-26);
providing a porous inorganic oxide binder material (i.e. inorganic oxide, defined in Col. 13, line 53 – Col. 14, line 7);
mixing and kneading the post-framework modified USY zeolite with the inorganic oxide binder;
extruding the mixture into an article with a desired shape;
thermally treating the extrudates (i.e. drying and firing);
impregnating the fired extrudates with a metal component active for hydrogenation of hydrocarbons;
thermally treating the metal-loaded extrudates (i.e. drying and firing)
to yield hydrocracking catalyst particles (Col. 15, lines 8-28).
Koseoglu et al. does not teach that one or more active metal components (e.g. hydrogenative metal component) are added to the catalyst particles via separately impregnating the inorganic oxide binder material and the post-framework modified USY zeolite with one or more active metal components prior to mixing as instantly claimed. However, the method of Koseoglu et al. and the method of instant claim 1 differ only in the time in the process at which the step of active metal impregnation occurs (impregnation of provided materials vs. impregnation of extrudates). Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Koseoglu et al. discloses that the process results in an effective loading of catalytically active metal in an amount between 3-30% of common applicable transition metals or 0.01-2% of platinum group metals based on metal oxide and the total mass of the catalyst particles (Col. 14, lines 30-38) which mirrors the desired result of the instantly claimed method of claim 1, as evidenced by dependent claims 15 and 16.
It is the examiner’s position that in Koseoglu et al., performing metal impregnation on the extrudes would necessarily lead to the active metal components adhering to both the inorganic oxide and zeolite in the mixture because standard impregnation conditions for catalytic metals are effective at loading alumina and other inorganic oxides, as evidenced by Mehrabadi et al. (see pp. 8, Section 2.1 and Fig. 5A, 5B, 5C), and modified USY zeolite as evidenced by Bacariza et al. (see pp. 14657, Section 2.1 and Table 1). In performing the steps in a different order than originally disclosed, to a) achieve the same structure in the final product and (b) yield a homogenous distribution of active metal components in the subsequent mixture/extrudates/particles, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to impregnate both the inorganic oxide binder material and the post-framework modified USY zeolite.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, based upon the disclosure of Koseoglu et al., to reorder the disclosed process to first impregnate the provided materials as instantly claimed, and then perform the remaining steps of Koseoglu et al. in order to yield the same or substantially similar catalyst product. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440. See also MPEP 2144.04(C).
With regard to claim 9, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the post-framework modified USY zeolite (i.e. zeolite-1) substituted with zirconium and/or hafnium and/or titanium is dried as a final process step (Col. 13, lines 50-52). Therefore, the dried zeolite-1 referenced in the method of producing a hydrocracking catalyst, which reads to the instantly claimed limitation that the post-framework modified USY-zeolite is provided in a dried state.
With regard to claim 10, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the post-framework modified USY zeolite may contain 0.1-5% zirconium and/or hafnium atoms by mass of ZrO2/HfO2 with respect to the total mass of the framework-substituted USY zeolite (Col. 6, lines 55-58).
With regard to claim 11, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the porous inorganic oxide binder material may be alumina (Col. 14, lines 1-7).
With regard to claim 12, the recited, “active metal-containing composite catalyst particles” are herein interpreted to refer to the mixed composite of post-framework modified USY zeolite and metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder prior to extrusion indirectly recited in lines 12-13 of claim 1.
Koseoglu et al. teaches that the porous inorganic oxide binder material may constitute 20-70% by mass of the total mass of the support of the catalyst. Koseoglu et al. defines the support and comprising the zeolite components and the inorganic oxide binder material. Example 1 of Koseoglu et al. teaches that a 1:1 dry mass ratio of modified alumina and post-framework modified USY zeolite were mixed and kneaded together prior to extrusion and active metal impregnation (i.e. 50% inorganic oxide binder material by mass (Col. 19, lines 40-47), which reads to the ratio within the instantly claimed limitation of, “the inorganic oxide binder comprising 0.01-99 wt% of the active metal-containing composite catalyst particles.” In reordering the process steps of Koseoglu et al., as discussed in regard to claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no reason to deviate from the ratios and measurements disclosed by Koseoglu et al. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, after reordering the process steps of Koseoglu et al. to impregnate the inorganic oxide binder material instead of the extrudate of a post-framework modified USY zeolite and inorganic oxide binder material, would have found it obvious to form the active metal-containing composite catalyst particles (i.e. extrudates) with 20-98% by mass metal-containing inorganic oxide binder as taught by Koseoglu et al. which then reads to the instantly claimed 0.1-99% by mass instantly claimed.
With regard to claim 13, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the catalyst particles comprise the catalytically active metal particles and a support for the catalytically active metal (Col. 2, lines 59-65), wherein the support comprises the porous inorganic oxide binder, a first post-framework modified USY zeolite (i.e. zeolite-1 containing Zr, Hf, and Ti; Col. 6, lines 10-44), and a second post-framework modified USY zeolite (i.e. zeolite-2 containing only Ti; Col. 8, lines 13-26). See in Col. 3, lines 35-40.
With regard to claim 14, Koseoglu et al. defines the porous inorganic oxide binder material comprises 98-20% by mass of the support (which in turn accounts for the mass of catalyst particles without any catalytically active metals; Col. 14, lines 10-14). Koseoglu et al. further dictates that when the first and second post-framework modified USY zeolites are used in combination of the support, they account for no more than 50% by mass of the support (Col. 14, lines 14-18). Therefore, the catalyst particles of Koseoglu et al. may comprise 12-97.02% by mass inorganic oxide binder material (calculated w/r to total mass) and 0.01-40% catalytically active metal (in terms of component w/r to total mass). In modifying the process steps of Koseoglu et al., as discussed with regard to claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ about 0.01-99 wt% of metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder in the final catalyst particles based upon the disclosed loading amounts of inorganic oxide binder material and catalytically active metal, the recommended ratio of inorganic oxide binder material and zeolite components in the support, and the fact that the metal-loaded inorganic oxide binder cannot account for 100% of the catalyst particles’ mass.
With regard to claim 15, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the active metal component may be selected from platinum group metals such as platinum and palladium and that the metal component is present preferably as 0.01-2% by mass in terms of metal with respect to the total mass of the catalyst particles, which reads to the instantly claimed metals and wt% loading of 0.01-2 wt% (Col. 14, lines 36-38).
With regard to claim 16, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the active metal component may comprise molybdenum, tungsten, cobalt, or nickel in an amount of 3-30% by mass in terms of the active metal oxide with respect to the total mass of the catalyst particles, which reads to the instantly claimed metals and wt% loading of 0.1-40 wt% (Col. 14, lines 33-36).
With regard to claim 17, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the post-framework modified USY zeolite (i.e. zeolite-1) has a crystal lattice constant of 2.430-2.450 nm (Col. 8, lines 64-66), a specific surface area of 600-900 m2/g (Col. 9, lines 29-31), and a molar ratio of SiO2 : Al2O3 between 20-100 (Col. 9, lines 48-50), which is within the instantly claimed range of 12-100.
With regard to claim 18, Koseoglu et al. teaches that the calcined catalyst particles (i.e. the hydrocracking catalyst after all processing steps) have a specific surface area of 200-450 m2/g (Col. 14, lines 41-48), a volume of pores having a diameter of 600 Å or less of 0.40-0.75 mL/g (Col. 14, lines 49-61), and 0.01-40 mass% catalytically active metal components relative to the total catalyst particle mass (Col. 14, lines 62-65).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. evidenced by Mehrabadi et al. & Bacariza et al., as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jongkind et al. (US Patent No. 10,864,503 B2).
With regard to claim 3, Koseoglu et al. does not teach impregnating the catalyst particles after thermal treatment, followed by secondary thermal treatment. However, Jongkind et al. teaches a process of forming a hydrocracking catalyst wherein zeolite Y and an inorganic oxide are impregnated with an active metal component, calcined, and then impregnated with another portion of active metal components and calcined a second time (Col. 1, line 54-Col. 2, line 8; Col. 4, lines 55-60; Col. 6, lines 1-7). Jongkind et al. teaches that hydrocracking catalysts prepared by the disclosed method (Examples, Catalyst 1-4) outperform catalysts wherein only a single impregnation and calcining process was used (Comparative Catalyst 6) in both catalytic activity and selectivity (Col. 13, lines 47-67 & Table 1). While Koseoglu et al. and Jongkind et al. differ in the specific Y-type zeolite employed as a support (modified USY zeolite vs. Y zeolite), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the structural differences in the Y-type zeolite components would likely not interfere with the positive effect that the second impregnation and calcining process has on overall catalyst hydrocracking activity and naphtha selectivity. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the method of Koseoglu et al. as noted above with regard to claim 2 and to further include a second metal impregnation after calcination, followed by a second calcination, as taught by Jongkind et al., in order to achieve a higher catalyst activity and selectivity.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. evidenced by Mehrabadi et al. & Bacariza et al., as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mehrabadi et al.
With regard to claim 5, Koseoglu et al. is silent to the ratio of post-framework modified USY zeolite pore volume and volume of liquid added during the impregnation step. Koseoglu et al. only states that impregnation is accomplished by a common method (Col. 15, lines 15-17)and in the detailed examples states that an amount of Support A (the extrudates) were immersed in 700 mL of metal solution. However, Mehrabadi et al. defines dry impregnation (or incipient wetness impregnation) as a process in which impregnation liquid is added just up to the pore volume of the sample to be impregnated, which reads to the claimed limitation (pp. 3, lines 5-7). Mehrabadi et al. states that dry impregnation can be superior to wet impregnation because it eliminates excess liquid and therefore a filtration step, as well as minimizes loss of active metals (pp. 3, lines 7-11). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to immerse the post-framework modified USY zeolite in a volume of liquid up to the pore volume of the post-framework modified USY zeolite (i.e. perform a dry impregnation) in order to prevent loss of the active metal component.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu et al. evidenced by Mehrabadi et al. & Bacariza et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jongkind et al. (US Patent No. 10,864,503 B2).
Koseoglu et al. does not teach impregnating the catalyst particles after thermal treatment, followed by secondary thermal treatment. However, Jongkind et al. teaches a process of forming a hydrocracking catalyst wherein zeolite Y and an inorganic oxide are impregnated with an active metal component, calcined, and then impregnated with another portion of active metal components and calcined a second time (Col. 1, line 54-Col. 2, line 8; Col. 4, lines 55-60; Col. 6, lines 1-7). Jongkind et al. teaches that hydrocracking catalysts prepared by the disclosed method (Examples, Catalyst 1-4) outperform catalysts wherein only a single impregnation and calcining process was used (Comparative Catalyst 6) in both catalytic activity and selectivity (Col. 13, lines 47-67 & Table 1). While Koseoglu et al. and Jongkind et al. differ in the specific Y-type zeolite employed as a support (modified USY zeolite vs. Y zeolite), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the structural differences in the Y-type zeolite components would likely not interfere with the positive effect that the second impregnation and calcining process has on overall catalyst hydrocracking activity and naphtha selectivity. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the method of Koseoglu et al. as noted above with regard to claim 1 and to further include a second metal impregnation after calcination, followed by a second calcination, as taught by Jongkind et al., in order to achieve a higher catalyst activity and selectivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art either alone or in combination does not fairly teach or suggest that two separate impregnation steps prior to any thermal treatment of the catalyst particles provides any tangible benefit in a method of making hydrocracking catalyst particles. Reconstruction of the instantly claimed subject matter using the methods of multiple pieces of prior art, without clear reasoning to an expected benefit, comprising a metal impregnation of the starting materials, mixing, and a second metal impregnation of the mixed/extruded composition prior to thermal treatment and processing would require improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shimada et al. Design and development of Ti-modified zeolite-based catalyst for hydrocracking heavy petroleum. Catalysis Today 2009, 141, pp. 43-51.
Kostyniuk et al. Catalytic hydrocracking, hydrogenation, and isomerization reactions of model biomass tar over (W/Ni)-zeolites. Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry 2021, 101, pp. 293-306.
/MORDECAI M LEAVITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742