Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/30/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/30/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims of instant application
Claims of USPAT 12015269
2. A controller for an electrical power system,
the controller comprising:
one or more processors to:
receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, including an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end;
initialize a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window;
predict a load of the electrical system during the next demand window;
optimize an objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario for operation of the electrical system, according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system;
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence, according to the optimized scenario; and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window.
8. An electrical power control system, comprising:
one or more sensors coupled to an energy storage system and one or more loads of an electrical power system, the one or more sensors configured to measure power stored by the energy storage system, and demand of the electrical power system;
a controller coupled to the one or more sensors and the energy storage system, the controller configured to:
receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are expected to end;
set a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of the electrical power system;
adjust the demand setpoint during a billing period;
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint;
determine multiple demand setpoint reset points based on the anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include, for each respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a first demand setpoint reset point at the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a second demand setpoint reset point at a time interval after the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, and a third demand setpoint reset point at a second time interval before the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, wherein the first time interval and the second time interval are each less than a length of a demand window associated with the respective anticipated meter read occurrence ; and
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at the multiple demand setpoint reset points.
5. The controller of claim 2, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times, the one or more processors:
reset the demand setpoint once before the anticipated meter read occurrence;
reset the demand setpoint once at the anticipated meter read occurrence; and
reset the demand setpoint once after the anticipated meter read occurrence.
9. The electrical power control system of claim 8, wherein, to reset the demand setpoint multiple times, the controller is further configured to:
reset the demand setpoint once before each anticipated meter read occurrence;
reset the demand setpoint once at each anticipated meter read occurrence; and
reset the demand setpoint once after each anticipated meter read occurrence.
6. The controller of claim 2, wherein the different reset points include a reset point before the anticipated meter read occurrence and a reset point after the anticipated meter read occurrence.
10. The electrical power control system of claim 8, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include a day before the anticipated meter read occurrence, a day after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and the anticipated meter read occurrence.
7. The controller of claim 2, wherein the different reset points include a reset point a day before the anticipated meter read occurrence, a reset point a day after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and a reset point at the anticipated meter read occurrence.
10. The electrical power control system of claim 8, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include a day before the anticipated meter read occurrence, a day after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and the anticipated meter read occurrence.
8. The controller of claim 2, wherein the different reset points include multiple reset points before the anticipated meter read occurrence, multiple reset points after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and a reset point at the anticipated meter read occurrence.
11. The electrical power control system of claim 8, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include multiple reset points before the anticipated meter read occurrence, multiple reset points after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and a reset point on the anticipated meter read occurrence.
9. The controller of claim 2, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times includes resetting the demand setpoint multiple times before the anticipated meter read occurrence, resetting the demand setpoint multiple times after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and resetting the demand setpoint on the anticipated meter read occurrence.
11. The electrical power control system of claim 8, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include multiple reset points before the anticipated meter read occurrence, multiple reset points after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and a reset point on the anticipated meter read occurrence.
10. A controller for an electrical power system, the controller comprising:
a memory to store:
a meter read schedule comprising an anticipated meter read occurrence when a current demand window is anticipated to end, and
a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window; and
one or more processors operably coupled to the memory and configured to:
forecast a demand peak during the next demand window;
reset the demand setpoint multiple times around the anticipated meter read occurrence, according to the forecasted demand peak; and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window.
1. A controller for an electrical power system, the controller comprising:
a memory to store
a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are expected to end, and
a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system;
one or more processors operably coupled to the memory and configured to:
adjust the demand setpoint during a billing period;
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint;
determine multiple demand setpoint reset points based on the anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include, for each respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a first demand setpoint reset point at the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a second demand setpoint reset point at a first time interval after the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, and a third demand setpoint reset point at a second time interval before the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, wherein the first time interval and the second time interval are each less than a length of a demand window associated with the respective anticipated meter read occurrence; and
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at the first, second, and third demand setpoint reset points.
13. The controller of claim 10, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times, the one or more processors:
reset the demand setpoint once before the anticipated meter read occurrence;
reset the demand setpoint once at the anticipated meter read occurrence; and
reset the demand setpoint once after the anticipated meter read occurrence.
2. The controller of claim 1, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times, the one or more processors:
reset the demand setpoint once before each anticipated meter read occurrence;
reset the demand setpoint once at each anticipated meter read occurrence; and
reset the demand setpoint once after each anticipated meter read occurrence.
14. The controller of claim 10, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times, the one or more processors:
reset the demand setpoint a day before the anticipated meter read occurrence;
reset the demand setpoint a day after the anticipated meter read occurrence; and
reset the demand setpoint at the anticipated occurrence.
3. The controller of claim 1, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include a day before the anticipated meter read occurrence, a day after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and the anticipated meter read occurrence.
15. The controller of claim 10, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times includes resetting the demand setpoint multiple times before the anticipated meter read occurrence and resetting the demand setpoint at least one time after the anticipated meter read occurrence.
4. The controller of claim 1, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include multiple reset points before the anticipated meter read occurrence, multiple reset points after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and a reset point on the anticipated meter read occurrence.
16. The controller of claim 15, wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times further includes resetting the demand setpoint at one time at the anticipated meter read occurrence.
4. The controller of claim 1, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include multiple reset points before the anticipated meter read occurrence, multiple reset points after the anticipated meter read occurrence, and a reset point on the anticipated meter read occurrence.
18. A computer implemented method for control of an electrical power system, the method comprising:
receiving a meter read schedule comprising an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end and a next demand window will begin;
initializing a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during the next demand window;
predicting, by one or more processors, a load of the electrical system during the next demand window;
optimize, by one or more processors, the electrical system for the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system;
resetting the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence, according to a result of optimizing the electrical system; and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window.
15. A method for controlling an electrical system, the method comprising:
receiving a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are expected to end;
setting a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of the electrical power system;
adjusting the demand setpoint during a billing period;
providing at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint;
determining multiple demand setpoint reset points based on the anticipated meter read occurrences by, for each respective anticipated meter read occurrence, determining a first demand setpoint reset point at the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a second demand setpoint reset point at a first time interval after the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, and a third demand setpoint reset point at a second time interval before the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, wherein the first time interval and the second time interval are each less than a length of a demand window associated with the respective anticipated meter read occurrence; and
resetting the demand setpoint multiple times at the first second, and third demand setpoint reset points.
21. A controller for an electrical power system, the controller comprising:
one or more processors to:
receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, including an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end;
initialize a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window;
predict a load of the electrical system during the next demand window;
optimize the electrical system for the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system;
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence, according to a result of optimizing the electrical system; and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window.
8. An electrical power control system, comprising:
one or more sensors coupled to an energy storage system and one or more loads of an electrical power system, the one or more sensors configured to measure power stored by the energy storage system, and demand of the electrical power system;
a controller coupled to the one or more sensors and the energy storage system, the controller configured to:
receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are expected to end;
set a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of the electrical power system;
adjust the demand setpoint during a billing period;
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint;
determine multiple demand setpoint reset points based on the anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include, for each respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a first demand setpoint reset point at the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a second demand setpoint reset point at a time interval after the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, and a third demand setpoint reset point at a second time interval before the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, wherein the first time interval and the second time interval are each less than a length of a demand window associated with the respective anticipated meter read occurrence ; and
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at the multiple demand setpoint reset points.
Claims 2-9 and 18-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-11 and 15 of USPAT 12015269, in view of US20200006940 to Fife et al. (hereinafter “Fife”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in the independent claim 2 of the instant application and the independent claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 is that the independent claim 2 of the instant application recites less limitation than the independent claim 8 of USPAT 12015269, for example, the independent claim 2 the instant application does not recite “one or more sensors coupled to an energy storage system and one or more loads of an electrical power system, the one or more sensors configured to measure power stored by the energy storage system, and demand of the electrical power system" that are recited in the independent claim 8 of USPAT 12015269. Omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re KARLSON (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963). Another difference in the independent claim 2 of the instant application and the independent claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 is that the independent claim 2 of the instant application recites broader limitation than the independent claim 8 of USPAT 12015269, for example, the independent claim 2 the instant application recites “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” while claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 recites “determine multiple demand setpoint reset points based on the anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include, for each respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a first demand setpoint reset point at the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a second demand setpoint reset point at a time interval after the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, and a third demand setpoint reset point at a second time interval before the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, wherein the first time interval and the second time interval are each less than a length of a demand window associated with the respective anticipated meter read occurrence; and reset the demand setpoint multiple times at the multiple demand setpoint reset points”, therefore, this portion of claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 reads on “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” of claim 2 of the instant application. Another difference is that claim 1 of the instant application further recites “initialize a demand setpoint during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window; predict a load of the electrical system during the next demand window;
optimize an objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario for operation of the electrical system, according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system, reset demand setpoint according to the optimized scenario, effectuate a change to the electrical power system during the next demand window”. Fife in an analogous art discloses initialize a demand setpoint during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for initialize a demand setpoint for an upcoming time domain (i.e. next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window); predict a load of the electrical system during the next demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for predicting a load of the electrical system during the upcoming time domain);
optimize an objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario for operation of the electrical system, according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system (Fife, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0113]-[0114] for continuously adjusting demand setpoints according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load), reset demand setpoint according to the optimized scenario, effectuate a change to the electrical power system during the next demand window (Fife, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint, see [0113]-[0116] for reset demand setpoint, effectuate a change to the electrical power system during the next demand window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Fife of into the system of USPAT 12015269. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce demand charges by using an automatic controller (Fife, see [0018]).
For similar reasons, claims 5-9, 18 and 23 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 8-11 and 15 of USPAT 12015269.
The difference between claim 3 of the instant application and claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 is that claim 3 of the instant application further recites “predicting a load of the electrical system is according to historic load data”. Fife in an analogous art discloses predicting a load of the electrical system is according to historic load data (Fife, see [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Fife of into the system of USPAT 12015269. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce demand charges by using an automatic controller (Fife, see [0018]).
For similar reasons, claims 19 and 22 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 8 and 15 of USPAT 12015269.
The difference between claim 4 of the instant application and claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 is that claim 4 of the instant application further recites “optimize the objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario includes determining a scenario for operation of the electrical system that minimizes a demand charge during the next demand window”. Fife in an analogous art discloses optimize the objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario includes determining a scenario for operation of the electrical system that minimizes a demand charge during the next demand window (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand over a prescribed time interval, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Fife of into the system of USPAT 12015269. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce demand charges by using an automatic controller (Fife, see [0018]).
For similar reasons, claims 20 and 24 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 8 and 15 of USPAT 12015269.
Claims 10-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of USPAT 12015269, in view of US20130190939 to Lenox.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of both claim sets are extremely similar, the difference in the independent claim 10 of the instant application and the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12015269 is that the independent claim 10 of the instant application recites broader limitation than the independent claim 1 of USPAT 12015269, for example, the independent claim 10 the instant application recites “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” while claim 1 of USPAT 12015269 recites “determine multiple demand setpoint reset points based on the anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the multiple demand setpoint reset points include, for each respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a first demand setpoint reset point at the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, a second demand setpoint reset point at a time interval after the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, and a third demand setpoint reset point at a second time interval before the respective anticipated meter read occurrence, wherein the first time interval and the second time interval are each less than a length of a demand window associated with the respective anticipated meter read occurrence; and reset the demand setpoint multiple times at the multiple demand setpoint reset points”, therefore, this portion of claim 8 of USPAT 12015269 reads on “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” of claim 2 of the instant application. Another difference is that claim 10 of the instant application further recites demand setpoint during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window, forecast a demand peak during the next demand window, reset the demand setpoint according to the forecasted demand peak. Lenox in an analogous art discloses demand setpoint during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window, forecast a demand peak during the next demand window, reset the demand setpoint according to the forecasted demand peak (Lenox, see [0046]-[0048] for estimating maximum demand charge (i.e. demand peak) for the following time period, and see [0066] for reset the demand cap (i.e. demand setpoint) according to the forecasted demand peak).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Lenox of into the system of USPAT 12015269. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce the negative impacts of changes in the net load shape (Lenox, see [0042]).
For similar reasons, claims 13-17 of the instant application are patentably indistinct from claims 2-4 and 10 of USPAT 11681310.
The difference between claim 11 of the instant application and claim 1 of USPAT 12015269 is that claim 11 of the instant application further recites “the demand peak during the next demand window is forecast by predicting a demand consumption during the next demand window”. Lenox in an analogous art discloses the demand peak during the next demand window is forecast by predicting a demand consumption during the next demand window (Lenox, see [0044]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Lenox of into the system of USPAT 12015269. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce the negative impacts of changes in the net load shape (Lenox, see [0042]).
The difference between claim 12 of the instant application and claim 1 of USPAT 12015269 is that claim 12 of the instant application further recites “predicting a demand consumption is according to historic load data”. Lenox in an analogous art discloses predicting a demand consumption is according to historic load data (Lenox, see [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Lenox of into the system of USPAT 12015269. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce the negative impacts of changes in the net load shape (Lenox, see [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” in claims 2 and 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of the examination, the examiner has interpreted “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” in claims 2 and 21 as “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points within a time interval, wherein the time interval includes the anticipated meter read occurrence”.
The term “reset the demand setpoint multiple times around the anticipated meter read occurrence” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reset the demand setpoint multiple times around the anticipated meter read occurrence” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of the examination, the examiner has interpreted “reset the demand setpoint multiple times around the anticipated meter read occurrence” in claim 10 as “reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points within a time interval, wherein the time interval includes the anticipated meter read occurrence”.
The term “resetting the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “resetting the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of the examination, the examiner has interpreted “resetting the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around the anticipated meter read occurrence” in claim 10 as “resetting the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points within a time interval, wherein the time interval includes the anticipated meter read occurrence”.
Claims 3-9, 11-17, 19-20, and 21-24 are included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiency of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200006940 to Fife, in view of US 20120245749 to Littrell, in view of US20100286840 to Powell et al. (hereinafter “Powell”).
As for claim 2, Fife substantially discloses a controller for an electrical power system (Fife, see Fig. 1 and [0029]), the controller comprising:
one or more processors (Fife, see [0029]) to:
initialize a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for initialize a demand setpoint for an upcoming time domain (i.e. next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window));
predict a load of the electrical system during the next demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for predicting a load of the electrical system during the upcoming time domain);
optimize an objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario for operation of the electrical system, according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0113]-[0114] for continuously adjusting demand setpoints according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load),
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around a time interval, the time interval includes the starting points of the billing cycle, according to the optimized scenario (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0095]-[0099] for resetting demand setpoint around a time interval, the time interval includes the starting points of the billing cycle); and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0116] for reset demand setpoint, effectuate a change to the electrical power system during the next demand window)
Fife does not explicitly disclose receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, including an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end.
However, Littrell in an analogous art discloses receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, including an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
The combination of Fife and Littrell does not explicitly disclose receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences.
However, Powell in an analogous art discloses receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences (Powell, see [0089] and [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Powell into the above combination of Fife and Littrell. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences to yield predictable result of easy access of the meter read schedule.
Claim 18 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 2, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 2.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses predicting a load of the electrical system is according to historic load data (Fife, see [0090]).
Claim 19 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 3, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 3.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein to optimize the objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario includes determining a scenario for operation of the electrical system that minimizes a demand charge during the next demand window (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand over a prescribed time interval, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint).
Claim 20 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 4, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 4.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses reset the demand setpoint once before each demand window point; reset the demand setpoint once at each demand window point, and reset the demand setpoint once after each demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein the different reset points include a reset point before the demand window point and a reset point after the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein the different reset points include a reset point a day before the demand window point, a reset point a day after the demand window point, and a reset point at the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses the different reset points include multiple reset points before the demand window point, multiple reset points after the demand window point, and a reset point on the demand window point (Fife, see see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099])). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times includes resetting the demand setpoint multiple times before the demand window point, resetting the demand setpoint multiple times after the demand window point, and resetting the demand setpoint on the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As for claim 21, Fife substantially discloses a controller for an electrical power system (Fife, see Fig. 1 and [0029]), the controller comprising:
one or more processors (Fife, see [0029]) to:
initialize a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for initialize a demand setpoint for an upcoming time domain (i.e. next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window));
predict a load of the electrical system during the next demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for predicting a load of the electrical system during the upcoming time domain);
optimize the electrical system for the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load of the electrical system (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0113]-[0114] for continuously adjusting demand setpoints according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load),
reset the demand setpoint multiple times at different reset points around a time interval, the time interval includes the starting points of the billing cycle, according to a result of optimizing the electrical system(Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0095]-[0099] for resetting demand setpoint around a time interval, the time interval includes the starting points of the billing cycle); and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0116] for reset demand setpoint, effectuate a change to the electrical power system during the next demand window)
Fife does not explicitly disclose receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, including an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end.
However, Littrell in an analogous art discloses receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, including an anticipated meter read occurrence based on when a current demand window for an electrical system is anticipated to end (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
The combination of Fife and Littrell does not explicitly disclose receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences.
However, Powell in an analogous art discloses receive a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences (Powell, see [0089] and [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Powell into the above combination of Fife and Littrell. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences to yield predictable result of easy access of the meter read schedule.
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Fife further discloses predicting a load of the electrical system is according to historic load data (Fife, see [0090]).
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein to optimize the electrical system includes minimizing an objective function for the electrical system to determine an optimized scenario (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0113]-[0114] for continuously adjusting demand setpoints according to the initialized demand setpoint and the predicted load).
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 23 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein minimizing the objective function for the electrical system includes determining a scenario for operation of the electrical system that minimizes a demand charge during the next demand window (Fife, see [0041]-[0042] for controller objectives being minimize demand over a prescribed time interval, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint).
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fife, in view of US20130190939 to Lenox, in view of Littrell, in view of Powell.
As per claim 10, Fife substantially discloses a controller for an electrical power system (Fife, see [0018] and [0025), the controller comprising a memory to store
a demand setpoint representing a desired upper limit of demand of an electrical power system during a next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for demand setpoints for an upcoming time domain (i.e. next demand window, which is subsequent to the current demand window and see [0149] and [0153] for storing the demand setpoints);
one or more processors operably coupled to the memory (Fife, see [0029]) and configured to:
forecast a demand during the next demand window (Fife, see [0113]-[0115] for predicting a load of the electrical system during the upcoming time domain);
reset the demand setpoint multiple times around the demand window, according to the forecasted demand (Fife, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint and see [0113]-[0114] for reset the demand setpoint multiple times around the demand window); and
provide at least one control value to the electrical power system to effectuate a change to the electrical power system to attempt to comply with the demand setpoint during the next demand window (Fife, see [0080]-[0081] for optimizing the use of energy by the building electrical system by continuously adjusting demand setpoint, see [0113]-[0116] for reset demand setpoint, effectuate a change to the electrical power system during the next demand window).
Fife does not explicitly disclose store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are anticipated to end, forecast a demand peak, reset the demand setpoint according to the forecasted demand peak.
However, Lenox in an analogues art discloses forecast a demand peak, reset the demand setpoint according to the forecasted demand peak (Lenox, see [0046]-[0048] for estimating maximum demand charge (i.e. demand peak) for the following time period, and see [0066] for reset the demand cap (i.e. demand setpoint) according to the forecasted demand peak).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Lenox of into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce the negative impacts of changes in the net load shape (Lenox, see [0042]).
The combination of Fife and Lenox does not explicitly disclose store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are anticipated to end.
However, Littrell in an analogous art discloses anticipated meter read occurrences, wherein the anticipated meter read occurrences are based on when demand windows are expected to end, respective anticipated meter read occurrence corresponding to respective billing period (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the above combination of Fife and Lenox. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
The combination of Fife and Littrell does not explicitly disclose store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences.
However, Powell in an analogous art discloses store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences (Powell, see [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Powell into the above combination of Fife, Lenox and Littrell. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to store a meter read schedule comprising anticipated meter read occurrences to yield predictable result of easy access of the meter read schedule.
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Lenox further discloses the demand peak during the next demand window is forecast by predicting a demand consumption during the next demand window (Lenox, see [0046]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Lenox of into the apparatus of Fife. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to reduce the negative impacts of changes in the net load shape (Lenox, see [0042]).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Fife further discloses predicting a demand consumption is according to historic load data (Fife, see [0090]).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Fife further discloses reset the demand setpoint once before each demand window point; reset the demand setpoint once at each demand window point, and reset the demand setpoint once after each demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the above combination of Fife and Lenox. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Fife further discloses reset the demand setpoint a day before the demand window point, reset the demand setpoint a day after the demand window point, and reset the demand setpoint at the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the above combination of Fife and Lenox. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times includes resetting the demand setpoint multiple times before the demand window point and resetting the demand setpoint at least one time after the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the above combination of Fife and Lenox. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times further includes resetting the demand setpoint at one time at the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the above combination of Fife and Lenox. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Fife further discloses wherein to reset the demand setpoint multiple times includes resetting the demand setpoint at least one time before the demand window point and resetting the demand setpoint multiple times after the demand window point (Fife, see [0017], [0087] and [0095]-[0099]). Littrell further discloses end of the demand windows being anticipated meter read occurrences (Littrell, see [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Littrell into the above combination of Fife and Lenox. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to read meters at the starting of the billing period and at the end of the billing period to yield predicable result of providing accurate bill to the customer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US8886361 discloses an energy decision management system manages, controls, or manipulates data to monitor, measure, or control one or more energy systems. The EDMS includes at least three modules or systems working together to manage the information needed for a user to render decisions as to which energy system to operate, in which the desire is to minimize costs. The EDMS includes a budget/forecast module, a scheduling module, and a performance module. The budget module creates a strategic energy decision plan to run various energy systems. The scheduling module creates an operational schedule to determine which energy system is best to operate based on predetermined criteria. The performance module produces management reports to quantify operational issues and successes.
US8311863 discloses a high performance capability assessment model helps a utility industry business meet the challenges of the global marketplace. As a result, the utility industry business can achieve the clarity, consistency, and well-defined execution of core processes that reduce inefficiencies and waste that result from unnecessary process complexity and exceptions. In addition, the high performance capability assessment model helps the utility industry business to identify specific areas in which improvements may be made and understand how to make the improvements, and establishes levels of capability along the way to reaching an ultimate capability goal.
US8880233 discloses a control system for an energy storage system located behind a utility meter uses a unique, feedback-based, communication and control method to reliably and efficiently maximize economic return of the energy storage system. Operating parameters for the energy storage system are calculated at an external, centralized data center, and are selected to prevent electrical power demand of an electric load location from exceeding a specified set-point by discharging energy storage devices, such as DC batteries, through a bidirectional energy converter during peak demand events. The control system can operate autonomously in the case of a communications failure.
US20130274935 discloses a method accepts input energy (e.g., from a power utility) and maintains a record of energy consumption. An energy consumption peak is predicted in response to analyzing the record of energy consumption, and the input energy is augmented with stored energy during the predicted energy consumption peaks. More explicitly, a peak shaving value is selected based on a fraction of the predicted energy consumption peak, and the stored energy is used when energy consumption exceeds the peak shaving value. In one aspect, after a determination is made to use stored energy, it is simply used while it is available. Otherwise, it is supplied based upon an analysis of a predicted value of the stored energy.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117