Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of CEBOLLA GARROFE (US 20210187787) In view of Parkinson (US 20220212421) and Lee (US 7527759).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by CEBOLLA GARROFE (US 20210187787) In view of Parkinson (US 20220212421) and Lee (US 7527759) .
Regarding Claim 12, CEBOLLA GARROFE discloses forming system that comprises comprising: a mandrel configured to support a flat uncured composite laminate or a bent laminate (Figure 2, [0005], [0029]), wherein the mandrel comprises comprising a web surface with a kink/twist region and flange forming surfaces on either side of the web surface ( mandrel-7 with surface -7.1 as the web surface, flange forming surfaces 7.2 with edges, [0029], [0030]), wherein the flange forming surfaces connect to the web surface by two corner forming edges (Figure 1, [0029], lateral edges-7.2).
However, the amended claim recites the web surface defined by a first section, a kink region across a center of the web surface, and a second section, wherein a first angle exists between the first section and the kink region, CEBOLLA GARROFE didn’t particularly disclose the limitation. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Parkinson discloses web surface, defined by a first section, a kink region across a center of the web surface and a second section, wherein a first angle exists between the first section and the kink region, the kink region, wherein an end, away from the kink region, of the first section is higher than the kink region and an end, away from the kink region, of the second section is higher than the kink region; (Figure 5, [0027).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CEBOLLA GARROFE teaching with that of Parkinson’s teaching for the purpose of making complex shaped objects.
Further, the above combination of CEBOLLA GARROFE and Parkinson did not disclose that each of the flange forming surfaces comprise, respectively, a number of support brackets configured to support a composite laminate that extend outward orthogonally and away from the flange forming surface. In the relate field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Lee discloses that flange forming surfaces comprise, respectively, a number of support brackets configured to support a composite laminate that extend outward orthogonally and away from the flange forming surface (Figure 2, 4, 13E, Col 11 line 22-24, support-25).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine CEBOLLA GARROFE and Parkinson’s teaching with that of Lee’s of support brackets for the purpose of slippage prevention to minimize the defects.
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses further comprising: support brackets movably connected to move downward onto the flange forming surfaces of the mandrel ( Figure 2, 4, bracket/clamp-24, Col 1 line 15-25)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over CEBOLLA GARROFE (US 20210187787) view of Parkinson (US 20220212421) and Lee (US 7527759) as applied in Claim 12 further in view of Kato (US 6458308) .
Regarding Claim 15 CEBOLLA GARROFE/Parkinson disclose forming system that comprises comprising: a mandrel configured to support a flat uncured composite laminate or a bent laminate but didn’t disclose that comprising: a presser foot/ pressure plate configured to apply pressure locally over the kink region in the web surface. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Kato discloses a pressure plate-40 press the web part of the laminated sheet-30 including the kink/bend region (Figure 2, Col 5 line 5-7).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of CEBOLLA’s forming system with the pressure plate taught by Kato for the purpose of crease free edges of the web part of the laminate
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over CEBOLLA GARROFE (US 20210187787) view of Parkinson (US 20220212421) and Lee (US 7527759) as applied in Claim 12 in view of Wilden US 6814916.
Regarding Claim 17 CEBOLLA GARROFE/Parkinson disclose forming system that comprises comprising: a mandrel configured to support a flat uncured composite laminate or a bent laminate but didn’t disclose that a number of sweepers having a curvature matching the web surface of the mandrel. However, in the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Wilden discloses . a number of sweepers/urging device having a curvature matching the web surface of the mandrel (Figure 2b, sweepers-32, Col 5 line 49-53).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of CEBOLLA’s forming system with the urging device taught by Wilden for the purpose of which can slide over the edged/bend of the material being flexible (Col 5 line 49-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741