DETAILED ACTION
Note
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claim(s) 1-12 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a releasable locking mechanism for maintaining the rods in the positions that forms the negative relief” with corresponding structure/scope disclosed at least in of Applicant’s published application [0013] and [0055] of instant publication.
Other Claim Interpretation
The term “light transmitting rods” has been interpreted below as rods made of light transmitting or clear materials such as transparent glass or plastic in view of [0050] of Applicant’s published application.
The recitations “for use with a stereolithographic printer for composite manufacturing of a shaped object”, “when a shaping surface having a shape is pressed against the first end surfaces of the rods to thereby position the second end surfaces of the rods to form a negative relief of the shape of the shaping surface”, “such that when a source of light is applied to the rods the second end surfaces of the rods have a power density of greater than 0.2 mW/cm2, wherein the power density is measured by an ILT 2400 radiometer (International Light Technologies) with a sensor having a 320-450 nm range”, “when a pressure of from about 0.01 to less than 120 MPa is exerted in an axial direction on the second ends of the rods” are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use not adding additional structure to the claimed apparatus. See Note above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 10 recite the limitation “such that when a source of light is applied to the rods the second end surfaces of the rods have a power density of greater than 0.2 mW/cm2, wherein the power density is measured by an ILT 2400 radiometer (International Light Technologies) with a sensor having a 320-450 nm range” which is indefinite because it attempts to define/limit a property/function of claimed entities (i.e. second end surfaces of the rods) in terms of unclaimed entities (i.e. source of light, ILT 2400 radiometer, and sensor) not forming part of the claimed invention. It is unclear how the recited features that are not part of claimed reconfigurable tool further limit the claimed reconfigurable tool. Thus, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claims 8 and 12 recite the limitation “an axial direction” which is indefinite. It is unclear if the axial direction of claims 8 and 12 is same or different from the axial direction introduced in claim. The limitation has been examined below as if it read --the axial direction--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer (US 20040159974).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer discloses a reconfigurable tool (100: P0024, 0045, 0065, Fig. 1) suitable for use with a stereolithographic printer for composite manufacturing of a shaped object (due to the transparent materials used for the tool 100, the tool 100 is expected to be suitable for use with a stereolithographic printer: P0034, 0056-0057, MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115; the tool 100 is also suitable for composite manufacturing/molding of a shaped object: P0048, 0057-0058), comprising:
a bundle of a plurality of light transmitting rods (a pin assembly comprising a plurality of pins 20 made of polycarbonate material which is an inherent light transmitting material and having rod-shape reads on the claimed bundle: P0008, 0024-0025, Fig. 1), each rod having a longitudinal axis, a diameter and first and second end surfaces (P0025, Fig. 1), said rods being arranged in parallel (P0025, Fig. 1), and each said rod being independently movable in an axial direction (z-direction) relative to other said rods (P0024, 0032, 0041) when a shaping surface having a shape is pressed against the first end surfaces of the rods to thereby position the second end surfaces of the rods to form a negative relief of the shape of the shaping surface (P0044-0045; the pins being independently movable the z-direction are expected to be capable of operating/functioning in the claimed manner: MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115), and
a releasable locking mechanism for maintaining the rods in the positions that forms the negative relief (means such as a piston for fixing the pins in the z-coordinate positions that forms the negative/shaping relief and for releasing the pins from their fixed position when desired such as after molding: P0045, 0027; thus, the fixing means is functionally and/or structurally with the claimed locking mechanism, and therefore, it reads on the claimed releasable locking mechanism). Thus, Fischer discloses the reconfigurable tool substantially as claimed by applicant.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Fischer further discloses wherein each of the first and second end surfaces of the rods has a diameter of from about 0.5 mm to about 3 mm or from about 1 mm to about 2 mm (the specific example of diameters for the first and second end surfaces of the pins of 3/32 inches which is about 2.4 mm and 1/16 inches which is about 1.6 mm anticipates the first claimed range and overlaps/touches the second claimed range: P0034; the diameter can be the same at the end surfaces and can be 1 mm for the benefits of increasing resolution: P0030, 0010, 0025, 0039; Fischer further discloses that the diameter of the pins is optimizable: P0030, 0067).
Regarding claim 3, Fischer further discloses wherein the rods have a length of from about 10 mm to about 100 mm (the length of the pins is about 17/8 inches which is about 54 mm: P0034; Fischer further discloses that the length of the pins is optimizable: P0029, 0067).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Fischer further implicitly/inherently discloses wherein the rods are transparent (pins 20 made of polycarbonate material which is an inherent transparent material: P0056; the taught polycarbonate material reads on the disclosed transparent material: [0050] of Applicant’s published application), such that when a source of light is applied to the rods the second end surfaces of the rods have a power density of greater than 0.2 mW/cm2 or 0.5 mW/cm2, wherein the power density is measured by an ILT 2400 radiometer (International Light Technologies) with a sensor having a 320-450 nm range (since the taught pins and the claimed rods are patentably indistinct in terms of structure and composition, the second end surfaces of the taught pins are expected to inherently have a power density of greater than 0.2 mW/cm2 or 0.5 mW/cm2 when/if a source of light is applied to the second end surfaces of the rods and the power density is measured by an ILT 2400 radiometer with a sensor having a 320-450 nm range: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I-II, 2114 I-II, and 2115).
Regarding claim 5, Fischer further discloses/suggests wherein the locking mechanism is a pneumatic clamp (P0045).
Regarding claim 6, Fischer discloses wherein the rods have a square cross-section (P0010, 0025, 0039).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Fischer further implicitly/inherently discloses wherein the rods have a mechanical strength in the axial direction of from about 50 MPa to about 150 MPa or about 100 MPa to about 130 MPa (since the taught pins and the claimed rods are patentably indistinct in terms of structure and composition as discussed in claim 4 above, the taught pins are expected to inherently have the claimed mechanical strength: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I-II, 2114 I-II, and 2115). Additionally, since Fischer further discloses to select the dimensions and composition of the pins to optimize the strength of the pins to withstand the load exerted upon the pins without deforming during the molding process (P0030, 0056), the load exerted on the pins in the axial direction is expected to be highest/greatest, and the axial pressure for molding composites is expected/preferably high, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool of Fischer in view of ordinarily knowledge by providing to the rods a mechanical strength in the axial direction within the claimed range(s) for the benefit(s) preventing deformation/breakage of the rods during the molding process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer as applied to claim 1 above, alone or further in view of Legum (US 20220371244) and/or Scheurer (EP 0733454 A2 with English machine translation - attached).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, Fischer further discloses/suggests wherein the locking mechanism is configured to maintain the rods in place when a pressure of from about 0.01 to less than 120 MPa or from about 0.02 to less than 50 MPa is exerted in the axial direction on the second ends of the rods (the taught fixing means is configured for maintaining the fixed positions of the pins in place during molding: P0008, 0027, 0045; wherein the molding pressure is expected to be at least 0.02 MPa which is within the claimed range for enabling injection molding or molding of composite material: P0047-0048, 0050, 0056, 0061).
Alternatively, in the same field of endeavor, reconfigurable tools with reconfigurable rods, Legum discloses a locking mechanism consisting of mechanical clamps (116 and 118) configured to maintain the rods in place when injection tonnage and resin pressure is exerted in the axial direction on second ends of the rods for the benefit(s) of maintaining the shape of the reconfigurable tool during molding (P0069-0070, 0080, Fig. 14). Legum also discloses that reconfigurable tools with reconfigurable rods are suitable for use in additive manufacturing machines (P0114). Since the taught and claimed/disclosed locking mechanisms are patentably indistinct in terms of structure, the taught locking mechanism is expected to be capable of achieving the claimed function/operation. See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I-II, 2114 I-II, and 2115.
In the same field of endeavor, reconfigurable tools with reconfigurable rods, Scheurer discloses a locking mechanism consisting of mechanical or pneumatic clamps (12 and 13) configured to maintain the rods (10) in place when pressure is exerted in the axial direction on first and second ends of the rods for the benefit(s) of maintaining the shape of reconfigurable tool during molding (Abstract, pp. 2- 3, Fig. 1). Since the taught and claimed/disclosed locking mechanisms are patentably indistinct in terms of structure, the taught locking mechanism is expected to be capable of achieving the claimed function/operation. See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I-II, 2114 I-II, and 2115.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool of Fischer in view of Legum and/or Scheurer by using mechanical or pneumatic clamps as the locking mechanism and configuring the locking mechanism to maintain the rods in place when a pressure within the claimed ranges such as 1 MPa is exerted in the axial direction on the second ends of the rods for the benefit(s) of maintaining the shape of the reconfigurable tool during molding as suggested by Legum and/or Scheurer. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I D, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure.
Neill (US 20220219402) discloses the use/incorporation of reconfigurable tools/surfaces in additive manufacturing machines such as in a stereolithographic printer (P0002, 0107, 0205). Neill (US 20220219402) discloses the desire to monitor and control optical properties such as optical energy distribution (i.e., W/cm2) applied to second/bottom surfaces of reconfigurable light transmitting elements by proving a source of light, a sensor, and a controller for the benefit(s) of delivering a desired optical energy distribution to the reconfigurable light transmitting elements and the molding material (P0224, 0237-0238, Fig. 37C).
Siagam (US 20150084237) discloses the use of reconfigurable tools/surfaces for curved composite manufacturing (P0007-0013, Figures).
Aitken (US 20200307130) discloses the technique of using radiometer model ILT2400 equipped with an XRD340A sensor to detect and/or set light intensities of molding surfaces (P0172, 0182).
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743