Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 07/22/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al. (US 20190223140) in view of Cha et al. (US 20220095265).
Regarding claim 1, Grossmann discloses a method comprising:
performing beam sweeping using a plurality of receive beams at a receiver to measure a plurality of reference signals that are beamformed at a transmitter to determine a plurality of signal strengths corresponding to the plurality of reference signals (BS performs a beamforming on multiple PRS sequences. UE receives the signals PRS.sub.i1, and PRS.sub.i3 via the different beam cones 116.sub.1 and 116.sub.3 and performs the TOA/TDOA estimation of the multi-path components for each detected beam cone, more specifically for each PRS sequence carried by the respective beam cone; [0030].
the UE may measure the received signal power or may apply other measurements to determine the reliability of each received beam cone. This measure may be returned to the serving base station or the location server; [0037]);
determining an angle of arrival (AoA) at the receiver of a propagation path having a strongest measured signal (UE may estimate the AoA of each path component by evaluating downlink sounding reference symbols, such as CSI-RS and/or PRS sent out by the base station; [0011].
UE may estimate, in addition to the TOA of each detected specular path component, the angle of arrival (AoA—azimuth and elevation) of the path component; [0035].
Note that the UE is measuring each received beam cone including the one with a strongest signal.); and
transmitting feedback information to the transmitter, the feedback information being a function of the AoA (AoA(s) are fed back to the serving base station; [0011].
UE may report the estimated AoAs, the TOAs and the PRS sequence ID for each detected path component to the base station/location server; [0035]).
Grossman does not expressly disclose determining an angle of arrival (AoA) of a propagation path having a strongest measured signal selected from the plurality of reference signals based on the plurality of signal strengths.
In an analogous art, Cha discloses determining an angle of arrival (AoA) of a propagation path having a strongest measured signal selected from the plurality of reference signals based on the plurality of signal strengths (UE may perform measurement for received signal strength, such as RSRP/RSSI/SINR, and measurement for AoA, with respect to all RS resources included in a configured RS resource set (e.g., a PRS resource set). The UE may report an AoA value for an RS resource having the largest RSRP/RSSI/SINR value to the BS/LMF/location server and the BS/LMF/location server may configure such an operation for the UE; [0298]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cha into the system of Grossmann in order to improve the accuracy in measuring the position of a terminal (Cha; [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Grossman and Cha, particularly Grossmann discloses receiving data that has been beamformed at the transmitter based on the feedback information (the location information obtained by BS may be used to adjust the beamforming weights at the BS with respect to the UE position estimate. After the beamforming weights are adjusted, the UE may report back the now estimated TOA estimates which may be improved, and also the new AoA in case the UE has more than one antenna. This information is retuned together with the PRS sequence IDA/CID to the location server which then calculates the UE location estimate again. This process may be performed iteratively several times so that, sequentially, the position estimate is improved; [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Grossman and Cha, particularly Grossmann discloses wherein the performing the beam sweeping at the receiver to measure the plurality of reference signals further comprises: estimating a beamformed downlink channel between the transmitter and the receiver (UE may measure the received signal power or may apply other measurements to determine the reliability of each received beam cone. This measure may be returned to the serving base station or the location server; [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Grossman and Cha, particularly Grossmann discloses the determining the AoA comprises: projecting the propagation path on a receive beamformer used by the receiver; and the transmitting the feedback information comprises: transmitting an indication of projection of the propagation path having the strongest measured signal on the receive beamformer (UE may estimate, the angle of arrival (AoA—azimuth and elevation) of the path component. The estimation may be performed at the UE, provided that the UE has knowledge about the beam pointing direction and the base station coordinates. UE may report the estimated AoAs, the TOAs to the base station/location server. The positioning algorithm may apply a 3D geometrical description of the multipath channel propagation environment, and each detected path component may be described by the parameters AoA, TOA and AoD; [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, Grossmann discloses a method comprising:
transmitting a plurality of beamformed reference signals for a receiver to determine a plurality of signal strengths corresponding to the plurality of beamformed reference signals (BS performs a beamforming on multiple PRS sequences; [0030].
the UE may measure the received signal power or may apply other measurements to determine the reliability of each received beam cone. This measure may be returned to the serving base station or the location server; [0037]);
receiving feedback information from the receiver, the feedback information being a function of an angle of arrival (AoA) at the receiver of a propagation path having a strongest measured signal, the AoA being determined at the receiver based on the plurality of signal strengths (UE may estimate the AoA of each path component by evaluating downlink sounding reference symbols, such as CSI-RS and/or PRS sent out by the base station; [0011].
UE may estimate, in addition to the TOA of each detected specular path component, the angle of arrival (AoA—azimuth and elevation) of the path component. UE may report the estimated AoAs, the TOAs and the PRS sequence ID for each detected path component to the base station/location server; [0035].
Note that the UE is measuring each received beam cone including the one with a strongest signal.); and
determining beamforming to be used at a transmitter, based on the feedback information, for transmitting data to the receiver (the location information obtained by BS may be used to adjust the beamforming weights at the BS with respect to the UE position estimate; [0038]).
Grossman does not expressly disclose the feedback information being a function of an angle of arrival (AoA) of a propagation path having a strongest measured signal selected from the plurality of beamformed reference signals.
In an analogous art, Cha discloses the feedback information being a function of an angle of arrival (AoA) of a propagation path having a strongest measured signal selected from the plurality of beamformed reference signals (UE may perform measurement for received signal strength, such as RSRP/RSSI/SINR, and measurement for AoA, with respect to all RS resources included in a configured RS resource set (e.g., a PRS resource set). The UE may report an AoA value for an RS resource having the largest RSRP/RSSI/SINR value to the BS/LMF/location server and the BS/LMF/location server may configure such an operation for the UE; [0298]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Cha into the system of Grossmann in order to improve the accuracy in measuring the position of a terminal (Cha; [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Grossman and Cha, particularly Grossmann discloses transmitting the data to the receiver using the beamforming (the location information obtained by BS may be used to adjust the beamforming weights at the BS with respect to the UE position estimate. After the beamforming weights are adjusted, the UE may report back the now estimated TOA estimates which may be improved, and also the new AoA in case the UE has more than one antenna. This information is retuned together with the PRS sequence IDA/CID to the location server which then calculates the UE location estimate again. This process may be performed iteratively several times so that, sequentially, the position estimate is improved; [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Grossman and Cha, particularly Grossman discloses transmitting information pertaining to the plurality of beamformed reference signals that are beamformed at the transmitter, wherein the feedback information is based on the information pertaining to the plurality of beamformed reference signals that are beamformed at the transmitter (UE may derive from the beam cone the ID/VCID number of the PRS sequence. In accordance with one example, the estimated TOAs of the detected path components together with the associated ID/VCID number, i.e., the pairs of TOA/TDOA and ID/VCID number are returned to the base station BS serving the UE and/or to the location server 110 to perform the positioning algorithm; [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 15.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossmann et al. (US 20190223140) in view of Cha et al. (US 20220095265), and in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 20210385040).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Grossman and Cha does not expressly disclose wherein the transmitting the indication of the projection of the propagation path comprises: transmitting a quantized version of the indication of the projection of the propagation path.
In an analogous art, Pezeshki discloses wherein the transmitting the indication of the projection of the propagation path comprises: transmitting a quantized version of the indication of the projection of the propagation path (The example process 700 is an example of UE feedback of quantized per-path angle of arrival. As shown in FIG. 7, in some aspects, the process 700 may include receiving, from a base station, multiple reference signals. (block 702). For example, the UE (e.g., using the antenna 252a, DEMOD/MOD 254a, MIMO detector 256, receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may receive the reference signals. The process 700 may include estimating a channel based on the reference signals. Multiple channel paths are included in the channel (block 704). For example, the UE (e.g., using the controller/processor 280, and/or memory 282) may receive the reference signals; [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Pezeshki into the system of Grossmann and Cha in order to improve reliability and robustness for communications technology by allowing the UE to feedback quantized per-path angle of arrival (AoA) values to the base station together with delay and/or power level information for quantized angle of arrival levels (Pezeshki; [0077]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baek et al. (US 20230221397), “METHOD FOR PERFORMING POSITIONING BY USER EQUIPMENT IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM SUPPORTING SIDELINK, AND APPARATUS THEREFOR.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413