DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 13-14, 17-19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forsblom et al. (AU 2020338696 B2; hereinafter Forsblom).
Regarding claims 1, 17-18, and 21-23, Forsblom discloses a bag comprising an envelope body that includes a first flexible wall (120), and a second flexible wall (130) overlying the first flexible wall and fixed to the first flexible wall about at least a portion of a pocket border (Page 20 lines 3-11), which pocket border encloses a pocket defined between the first and second flexible walls and configured and dimensioned to contain the item, at least one of the first and second flexible walls defining a pocket opening allowing access to the pocket from an exterior of the envelope for loading the item into the pocket; wherein at least one of the first and second flexible walls comprises extensible paper (Page 16 line 26- Page 17 line 13) having a first extensibility in a first direction of the extensible paper (CD; Page 5 lines 1-2), and a second extensibility in a second direction (MD; Page 4 lines 29-30) of the extensible paper angularly offset from the first direction of the extensible paper (Page 17 lines 1-13), the second extensibility being less than the first extensibility (Page 4 line 29-Page 5 line 2); wherein the pocket opening extends between respective first and second sides of the first and second walls in a first direction of the envelope (Examiner considers the first direction of the envelope to be coextensive with the CD); and wherein the extensible paper is oriented so that the first direction of the extensible paper substantially aligns with the first direction of the envelope (Examiner considers the extensible paper orientation to substantially align with the CD).
Regarding claims 2-3, Forsblom discloses a bag wherein the extensible paper is configured to stretch in a first direction of the extensible paper by at least three percent (Page 17 lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 5, Forsblom discloses a bag wherein the first direction of the extensible paper is a machine direction of the paper (Page 30 lines 30-32).
Regarding claims 7-8, Forsblom discloses a bag wherein the extensible paper has a first tensile energy absorption in a first direction of the extensible paper, and a second tensile energy absorption in a second direction of the extensible paper; the second tensile energy absorption is less than the first tensile energy absorption; and the second direction of the extensible paper being angularly offset from the first direction of the extensible paper by about 90 degrees (Col 3 lines 5-25).
Regarding claims 13-14, Forsblom discloses a bag further comprising a closure-sealing element disposed on the first flexible wall and configured to form a closure seal that fixes the first flexible wall to the second flexible wall to close the pocket opening (127a-b).
Regarding claim 19, Forsblom discloses a supply web, comprising a plurality of the envelopes of claim 1 connected in series (Page 12 lines 20-23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-11 and 15-16 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose the claimed extensibility since Forsblom equates the cross direction (which is more extensible than the machine direction) with the longitudinal direction of the bag.
-Examiner is not persuaded by this argument as the claims do not preclude interpreting Forsblom’s “longitudinal” direction as the claimed “first direction”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734