DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 12, 14-16, 19, 23, 25, 27, 29 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 2019/0327766, hereinafter Zhang), in view of Liu et al (US 2023/0413264, hereinafter Liu) and in view of Matsumura et al (US 2025/0063604, hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (BS), a random access configuration associated with a plurality of random access occasions, wherein the random access configuration indicates that a first set of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for preamble random access channel (PRACH) message repetitions and a second set of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for single PRACH message transmissions (UE receives PRACH configuration information from the base station that indicates set of PRACH occasions for transmitting RA request via two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0007], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112], first subset of PRACH occasions are for aggregated (i.e. repetitions) random access requests and the second subset of PRACH occasions are available for non-aggregated random access requests, Para [0014]); and transmitting, to the BS based on the random access configuration, at least one random access communication, the at least one random access communication including a plurality of PRACH message repetitions of a random access preamble in two or more of the plurality of random access occasions (UE can transmit a random access request including a preamble over two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0006], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112]); but does not disclose wherein a random access occasion index associated with a first PRACH message repetition of the at least one random access communication indicates that the at least one random access communication includes at least one additional PRACH message repetition. Liu discloses a first RO can be used for PRACH transmission and PRACH repetitions can happen in other ROs associated with the same SSB index as the first RO, Para [0109]. Matsumura discloses different ROs can be configured with different number of repetitions, as an example, PRACH occasions with an even number index can have different number of repetitions than PRACH occasions having an odd number index, Para [0435], presence or absence of repetition may be indicated by an RO for an SSB, Para [0432]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu and Matsumura in the system of Zhang in order to improve coverage of wireless communication with mechanism for repetition transmission applied to RA transmissions and to improve coverage in random access procedures.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Zhang discloses the method of claim 2/13, but not fully wherein the random access occasion index is associated with the first portion of the plurality of random access occasions. Liu discloses the association between the PRACH occasion indices and repetition number of PUSCH scheduled by RAR grants, Para [0107] and a repetition number for the uplink transmission can be equal to the repetition number of PRACH transmission, Para [0109] and Zhang discloses the first subset of PRACH occasions are for aggregated RA requests but not the second subset, Para [0014] over at least two PRACH occasions, Para [0006]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu in the system of Zhang in order to improve coverage of wireless communication with mechanism for repetition transmission applied to RA transmissions and effectively indicate number of repetitions without additional signaling overhead.
Regarding claims 4, 15, 25 and 29, Zhang discloses the method/UE/BS of claim 1/12/23/27, wherein the random access configuration indicates a first plurality of random access preamble indexes configured for PRACH message repetitions and a second plurality of random access preamble indexes not configured for PRACH message repetitions (first subset of preambles may be configured for aggregated RA request and a second subset of preambles may be configured non-aggregated RA requests, Para [0006], it is known in the art that preambles have indexes).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Zhang discloses the method of claim 4/15, wherein the random access preamble of the at least one random access communication is associated with the first plurality of random access preamble indexes (first subset of preambles may be configured for aggregated RA request, Para [0006], the preamble in first subset is thereby associated with RA over at least two Ros, it is known in the art that preambles have indexes).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1/12, wherein at least one of the random access occasion index or the random access preamble implicitly indicates a request for uplink (UL) resources for a plurality of UL shared channel repetitions (it is known in the art, the UE transmitting a preamble is a request for allocating uplink resources and Liu discloses the association between the PRACH occasion indices and repetition number of PUSCH scheduled by RAR grants, Para [0107]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a random access configuration associated with a plurality of random access occasions, wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for preamble random access channel (PRACH) message repetitions and second set of plurality of random access occasions is configured for single PRACH message transmissions (UE receives PRACH configuration information from the base station that indicates set of PRACH occasions for transmitting RA request via two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0007], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112], first subset of PRACH occasions are for aggregated random access requests and the second subset of PRACH occasions are available for non-aggregated random access requests, Para [0014]); and receiving, from the UE based on the random access configuration, at least one random access communication the at least one random access communication including a plurality of PRACH message repetitions of a random access preamble in two or more of the plurality of random access occasions (UE can transmit a random access request including a preamble over two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0006], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112]); but does not disclose wherein a random access occasion index associated with a first PRACH message repetition of the at least one random access communication indicates that the at least one random access communication includes at least one additional PRACH message repetition. Liu discloses a first RO can be used for PRACH transmission and PRACH repetitions can happen in other ROs associated with the same SSB index as the first RO, Para [0109]. Matsumura discloses different ROs can be configured with different number of repetitions, as an example, PRACH occasions with even number index can have different number of repetitions than PRACH occasions having odd number index, Para [0435], presence or absence of repetition may be indicated by an RO for an SSB, Para [0432]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu and Matsumura in the system of Zhang in order to improve coverage of wireless communication with mechanism for repetition transmission applied to RA transmissions and to improve coverage in random access procedures.
Regarding claim 23, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE, Fig. 11), comprising: a transceiver and a processor (transceiver and processor, Fig. 11, antenna/memory, Para [0060]/Fig. 11) in communication with the transceiver, wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to: receive, from a base station (BS), a random access configuration associated with a plurality of random access occasions, wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for preamble random access channel (PRACH) message repetitions and second set of plurality of random access occasions is configured for single PRACH message transmissions (UE receives PRACH configuration information from the base station that indicates set of PRACH occasions for transmitting RA request via two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0007], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112], first subset of PRACH occasions are for aggregated random access requests and the second subset of PRACH occasions are available for non-aggregated random access requests, Para [0014]); and transmit, to the BS based on the random access configuration, at least one random access communication, the at least one random access communication including a plurality of PRACH message repetitions of a random access preamble in two or more of the plurality of random access occasions (UE can transmit a random access request including a preamble over two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0006], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112]); but does not disclose wherein a random access occasion index associated with a first PRACH message repetition of the at least one random access communication indicates that the at least one random access communication includes at least one additional PRACH message repetition. Liu discloses a first RO can be used for PRACH transmission and PRACH repetitions can happen in other ROs associated with the same SSB index as the first RO, Para [0109]. Matsumura discloses different ROs can be configured with different number of repetitions, as an example, PRACH occasions with even number index can have different number of repetitions than PRACH occasions having odd number index, Para [0435], presence or absence of repetition may be indicated by an RO for an SSB, Para [0432]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu and Matsumura in the system of Zhang in order to improve coverage of wireless communication with mechanism for repetition transmission applied to RA transmissions and to improve coverage in random access procedures.
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses a base station (BS, Fig. 15), comprising: a transceiver and a processor (transceiver and processor, Fig. 15, antenna/memory, Para [0060]/Fig. 15) in communication with the transceiver, wherein the processor and the transceiver are configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a random access configuration associated with a plurality of random access occasions, wherein at least a first portion of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for preamble random access channel (PRACH) message repetitions and second set of plurality of random access occasions is configured for single PRACH message transmissions (UE receives PRACH configuration information from the base station that indicates set of PRACH occasions for transmitting RA request via two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0007], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112], first subset of PRACH occasions are for aggregated random access requests and the second subset of PRACH occasions are available for non-aggregated random access requests, Para [0014]); and receive, from the UE based on the random access configuration, at least one random access communication including a plurality of PRACH message repetitions of a random access preamble in two or more of the plurality of random access occasions (UE can transmit a random access request including a preamble over two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0006], repeating preamble sequence across symbols in two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0112]); but does not disclose wherein a random access occasion index associated with a first PRACH message repetition of the at least one random access communication indicates that the at least one random access communication includes at least one additional PRACH message repetition. Liu discloses a first RO can be used for PRACH transmission and PRACH repetitions can happen in other ROs associated with the same SSB index as the first RO, Para [0109]. Matsumura discloses different ROs can be configured with different number of repetitions, as an example, PRACH occasions with even number index can have different number of repetitions than PRACH occasions having odd number index, Para [0435], presence or absence of repetition may be indicated by an RO for an SSB, Para [0432]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu and Matsumura in the system of Zhang in order to improve coverage of wireless communication with mechanism for repetition transmission applied to RA transmissions and to improve coverage in random access procedures.
Regarding claims 31 and 33, Zhang discloses the method/UE of claim 1/23, wherein the at least one random access communication is transmitted in the first set of the plurality of random access occasions to indicate that the at least one random access communication includes the plurality of PRACH message repetitions (UE can transmit a random access request including a preamble over two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0006], first subset of PRACH preamble/occasions are for aggregated random access requests and the second subset of PRACH preamble/occasions are available for non-aggregated random access requests, Para [0014], since the BS configured the PRACH occasions/preambles it would know it’s from the set of aggregated RA requests).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, Zhang discloses the method/node of claim 12/27, further comprising: determining that the random access preamble is associated with the plurality of PRACH message repetitions based at least in part on receiving the at least one random access communication in the first set of the plurality of random access occasion (UE can transmit a random access request including a preamble over two or more PRACH occasions, Para [0006], first subset of PRACH preamble/occasions are for aggregated random access requests and the second subset of PRACH preamble/occasions are available for non-aggregated random access requests, Para [0014], since the BS configured the PRACH occasions/preambles it would know it’s from the set of aggregated RA requests).
Claims 6, 17, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Liu, in view of Matsumura and in view of Khan Beigi et al (US 2024/0349346, hereinafter Khan, claiming priority date of both provisional applications).
Regarding claims 6, 17, 26 and 30, Zhang discloses the method/UE/BS of claim 1/12/23/27, but not wherein the random access configuration indicates that: the first portion of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for PRACH message repetitions using a same spatial filter; and a second portion of the plurality of random access occasions is configured for PRACH message repetitions using a plurality of spatial filters such that a first spatial filter associated with a first occasion of the second portion of the plurality of random access occasions is different from a second spatial filter associated with a second occasion of the second portion of the plurality of random access occasions. Khan discloses the WTRU can transmit PRACH on one or more ROs, where the ROs are associated with a single SSB, associated with the same beam and the WTRU can transmit PRACH on one or more ROs, where the ROs are associated with a set of SSBs associated with a set of beams, Para [0180]. Also see Para [0176] from provisional application 63/253,934. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Khan in the system of Zhang in view of Liu and Matsumura in order to improve and enhance PRACH procedures in the shared spectrum.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Liu, in view of Matsumura, in view of Hu et al (US 2022/0231806, hereinafter Hu) and in view of Sadiq et al (US 2019/0230529, hereinafter Sadiq).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1/12, but not wherein the random access configuration indicates: a first plurality of random access preamble indexes configured for PRACH message repetitions using a same spatial filter. Hu discloses a set of preambles among a plurality of preambles, where the preambles in the set are associated with a same beam, Para [0005]; and a second plurality of random access preamble indexes configured for PRACH message repetitions using a plurality of spatial filters, such that a first spatial filter associated with a first preamble of the second plurality of random access preamble indexes is different from a second spatial filter associated with a second preamble of the second plurality of random access preamble indexes. Sadiq discloses a set of preambles, where each preamble in the set is mapped to different beams, Para [0060]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Hu and Sadiq in the system of Zhang in view of Liu and Matsumura in order to prevent loss of communication when beam changes and improve beam recovery operations.
Claims 9-11 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Liu, in view of Matsumura and in view of Xiong et al (US 2024/0292464, hereinafter Xiong).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1/12, but not wherein the random access configuration indicates the plurality of random access occasions are associated with a type-1 random access channel (RACH) procedure. Xiong discloses RA occasions can be associated with the 4-step RA procedure, claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Xiong in the system of Zhang in view of Liu and Matsumura in order to avoid conflicts between uplink resources and achieve valid transmission of random access resources for two-step RA procedures.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1/12, but not wherein the random access configuration indicates the plurality of random access occasions are associated with a type-2 random access channel (RACH) procedure. Xiong discloses RA occasions can be associated with the 2-step RA procedure, claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Xiong in the system of Zhang in view of Liu and Matsumura in order to avoid conflicts between uplink resources and achieve valid transmission of random access resources for two-step RA procedures.
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1/12, but not wherein the random access configuration indicates the plurality of random access occasions are associated with both type-1 and type-2 random access channel (RACH) procedures. Xiong discloses RA occasions can be shared/associated with the 4-step RA and the 2-step procedure, claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Xiong in the system of Zhang in view of Liu and Matsumura in order to avoid conflicts between uplink resources and achieve valid transmission of random access resources for two-step RA procedures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Para [0014] in Zhang discloses a first subset in the set of random access preambles are available for aggregated RA requests and a second subset in the set of RA preambles are available for non-aggregated RA requests. Applicant argues RA preambles are not the same as the claimed RA occasions. Applicant also argues aggregated RA requests are not the same as RA repetitions. In response, the first half of Para [0014] does talk about the RA preambles, however the second half of Para [0014] states a first subset of a set of PRACH occasions are available for aggregated RA requests and a second subset of a set of PRACH occasions are available for non-aggregated RA requests. Examiner never equated RA preamble to RA occasions, but the PRACH occasions are the RA occasions, Applicant does not argue against the second half of the paragraph. Further Applicant argues aggregated RA requests are not RA repetitions. Para [0040] of Zhang states firsts RA request is transmitted at a first power and second RA request is transmitted at higher power and refers to this as “such repetitions”, therefore the aggregated RA requests are RA request repetitions. Further Para [0112] states the RA request can be aggregated by repeating the RA preamble sequence across two or more PRACH occasions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461