DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments:
Applicant's amendments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered. Claim 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claim 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 as unpatentable is maintained.
With regard to the Remarks on page 7 about claim 1, Applicant argues that the references does not disclose element recited in claim 1. Applicant state that the reference Mycek Does Not Disclose the Housing-Defined Pointing Direction or the Claimed Antenna-Gain Alignment.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Mycek does read on limitation in claim 1.
Regard to independent Claim 1 partially recited:
“An apparatus for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising:
a housing defining an enclosed volume and a pointing direction of the apparatus, wherein the pointing direction corresponds to a longitudinal axis of the housing;
one or more directional antennas disposed within the enclosed volume of the housing, wherein the one or more directional antennas are configured to provide directionality for increased gain in the pointing direction of the apparatus along the longitudinal axis;
Regarding claim 1, Mycerk disclose : wherein the apparatus comprising:
a housing defining an enclosed volume and a pointing direction of the apparatus, (i.e., [0046] As shown in FIG. 10, the beacon system 405 can additionally include a housing 410, which functions to mechanically encapsulate, mount, and protect the beacon system components. As described in paragraph [0046])
wherein the pointing direction corresponds to a longitudinal axis of the housing; [0041]The antenna 422 can extend along the beacon system length (e.g., along the longitudinal axis, along the inner or outer perimeter, etc.). As described in paragraph [0041]).
one or more directional antennas disposed within the enclosed volume of the housing, (i.e., [0041] The radio 420 preferably includes a transceiver and an antenna 422, but can additionally or alternatively include any other suitable component. The transceiver can be integrated in to the processing system 450, or be separate. The antenna 422 can extend along the beacon system length (e.g., along the longitudinal axis, along the inner or outer perimeter, etc.), extend along the beacon system width, and/or extend along any other suitable portion of the beacon system 405. As described in paragraph [0041]).
wherein the one or more directional antennas are configured to provide directionality for increased gain in the pointing direction of the apparatus along the longitudinal axis; [0064] In a first example, detecting device motion can include: connecting (e.g., wirelessly) to a device (e.g., supplementary beacon, user device, etc.) with the beacon system; monitoring signal of the connection; determining device motion based on signal parameters (e.g., strength, direction with an directional antenna, etc.). As described in paragraph [0064]).
With regard to the Remarks on page 8 about claim 1, Applicant argues that the references does not disclose element recited in claim 1. Applicant state that, Ryu Does Not Disclose Collection Of AP Packets with Contemporaneous Location and Heading for Each Packet
However, the examiner respectfully disagree. Ryu does read on limitation in claim 1.
Mycerk disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
In similar endeavor, Ryu discloses:
a WiFi chipset module coupled to the one or more directional antennas and configured to collect a plurality of collected packets from one or more access points (APs) in the pointing direction of the apparatus using the one or more directional antennas; (i.e., [0047] The antenna interface 170 may include one or more an omni-directional antenna for transmitting and receiving signals in all directions, and a directional antenna for transmitting and receiving signals In a specific direction.
According to various example embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device can directionally scan the neighboring devices located in a desired direction or in desired direction and distance using a directional antenna, WiFi communication, an mm-wave frequency, and beacon signals. As described in paragraph [0047] and [0090]).
a positioning system configured to determine a location and a heading orientation of the apparatus (i.e., [0121] FIG. 8 illustrates a view showing an example of modeling of an oriented direction according to various example embodiments of the present disclosure.
[0144] For example, the direction to which the directional antenna of the electronic device 1100 (such as a smart phone) is directed may be designed in various methods to be consistent with the opposite direction of a screen 1101 formed on a front surface of the electronic device 1100, or may be designed to be consistent with a direction in which a top of the screen 1101 is oriented when the electronic device 1100 is positioned horizontally.
[0145] the user may orient the electronic device 1100 towards a specific direction, and then may, for example, select a “neighboring device scan” button displayed on the screen 1101 of the electronic device, or execute a neighboring device scan application, thereby initiating the scan. As described in paragraph [0121], [0144], and [0145])
corresponding to a time of collection for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets; ( [0152] The scan request message 1301 may include a beam sector ID as information indicating a sector number or identifier of beam, and a response schedule as information for designating a channel and time to transmit the scan response message (for example, channel 1 and after 10 ms) in a neighboring device which receives the scan request message. In addition, the scan request message 1301 may include GPS information as information indicating location information when the GPS module in the electronic device is turned on. As described in paragraph [0152]).
With regard to the Remarks on page 9 about claim 1, Applicant argues that the references does not disclose element recited in claim 1. Applicant state that, Gupta Does Not Disclose the Claimed SOM or WiFi Packet/Metadata Data Structure
However, the examiner respectfully disagree. Gupta does read on limitation in claim 1.
Mycerk, and Ryu disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
In similar endeavor, Gupta further discloses:
a system-on-module (SOM) (i.e., [0035] Referring to FIG. 1, in a particular embodiment, a street level intelligence system 100 may comprise two sub-systems, i.e., a Mapper system and a Swarm system. The Swarm system as shown may comprise a Collect module 101, a Fuse module 102, and an Analyze module 103. Similarly, and correspondingly, the Mapper system as shown may comprise a Collect module 104, a Fuse module 105, and an Analyze module 106. Wherein the system 100 is a system on module comprise of many sub-module and other modules, as described in paragraph [0035])
communicatively coupled to the WiFi chipset module and the positioning system, (i.e., [0030] vehicle-mounted smartphones can connect to a WiFi network, which may have higher bandwidth than the cellular data network and/or at which the vehicles may spend a greater amount of time, and transfer locally stored streetscape video to the video-and-map-integration device via the vehicle-mounted smartphone's WiFi radios. As described in paragraph [0030]). Wherein smartphone comprise Wi-Fi chipset and GPS system.
wherein the SOM generates WiFi scan data comprising the plurality of collected packets and a respective geolocation metadata indicative of the location and the heading orientation determined for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets.
(i.e., Automate Novatel Inertial Explorer to process GPS files into GNSS files that have corrected location data using the IMU data, wheel encoder data, and public base station data at block 907; Extract LiDAR data from PCAP and combine with GNSS data to create point cloud slices in CSV files and position/orientation information in POSE files. As described in paragraph [0105] to []0106]).
For the above mentioned reasons, Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Subsequently, the rejections of all dependent claims are also maintained. Please see the Claim Rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770) and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715).
Regarding claim 1, Mycerk disclose : wherein the apparatus comprising:
a housing defining an enclosed volume and a pointing direction of the apparatus, (i.e., [0046] As shown in FIG. 10, the beacon system 405 can additionally include a housing 410, which functions to mechanically encapsulate, mount, and protect the beacon system components. As described in paragraph [0046])
wherein the pointing direction corresponds to a longitudinal axis of the housing; [0041]The antenna 422 can extend along the beacon system length (e.g., along the longitudinal axis, along the inner or outer perimeter, etc.). As described in paragraph [0041]).
one or more directional antennas disposed within the enclosed volume of the housing, (i.e., [0041] The radio 420 preferably includes a transceiver and an antenna 422, but can additionally or alternatively include any other suitable component. The transceiver can be integrated in to the processing system 450, or be separate. The antenna 422 can extend along the beacon system length (e.g., along the longitudinal axis, along the inner or outer perimeter, etc.), extend along the beacon system width, and/or extend along any other suitable portion of the beacon system 405. As described in paragraph [0041]).
wherein the one or more directional antennas are configured to provide directionality for increased gain in the pointing direction of the apparatus along the longitudinal axis; [0064] In a first example, detecting device motion can include: connecting (e.g., wirelessly) to a device (e.g., supplementary beacon, user device, etc.) with the beacon system; monitoring signal of the connection; determining device motion based on signal parameters (e.g., strength, direction with an directional antenna, etc.). As described in paragraph [0064]).
Mycerk disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
a WiFi chipset module coupled to the one or more directional antennas and configured to collect a plurality of collected packets from one or more access points (APs) in the pointing direction of the apparatus using the one or more directional antennas
a positioning system configured to determine a location and a heading orientation of the apparatus corresponding to a time of collection for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets. and
a system-on-module (SOM) communicatively coupled to the WiFi chipset module and the positioning system, wherein the SOM generates WiFi scan data comprising the plurality of collected packets and a respective geolocation metadata indicative of the location and the heading orientation determined for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets.
In similarly endeavor, Ryu discloses:
a WiFi chipset module coupled to the one or more directional antennas and configured to collect a plurality of collected packets from one or more access points (APs) in the pointing direction of the apparatus using the one or more directional antennas; (i.e., [0047] The antenna interface 170 may include one or more an omni-directional antenna for transmitting and receiving signals in all directions, and a directional antenna for transmitting and receiving signals In a specific direction.
According to various example embodiments of the present disclosure, the electronic device can directionally scan the neighboring devices located in a desired direction or in desired direction and distance using a directional antenna, WiFi communication, an mm-wave frequency, and beacon signals. As described in paragraph [0047] and [0090]).
a positioning system configured to determine a location and a heading orientation of the apparatus (i.e., [0121] FIG. 8 illustrates a view showing an example of modeling of an oriented direction according to various example embodiments of the present disclosure.
[0144] For example, the direction to which the directional antenna of the electronic device 1100 (such as a smart phone) is directed may be designed in various methods to be consistent with the opposite direction of a screen 1101 formed on a front surface of the electronic device 1100, or may be designed to be consistent with a direction in which a top of the screen 1101 is oriented when the electronic device 1100 is positioned horizontally.
[0145] the user may orient the electronic device 1100 towards a specific direction, and then may, for example, select a “neighboring device scan” button displayed on the screen 1101 of the electronic device, or execute a neighboring device scan application, thereby initiating the scan. As described in paragraph [0121], [0144], and [0145])
corresponding to a time of collection for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets; ( [0152] The scan request message 1301 may include a beam sector ID as information indicating a sector number or identifier of beam, and a response schedule as information for designating a channel and time to transmit the scan response message (for example, channel 1 and after 10 ms) in a neighboring device which receives the scan request message. In addition, the scan request message 1301 may include GPS information as information indicating location information when the GPS module in the electronic device is turned on. As described in paragraph [0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Ryu into the invention of Mycek in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Mycerk, and Ryu disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
a system-on-module (SOM) communicatively coupled to the WiFi chipset module and the positioning system, wherein the SOM generates WiFi scan data comprising the plurality of collected packets and a respective geolocation metadata indicative of the location and the heading orientation determined for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets.
In similar endeavor, Gupta further discloses:
a system-on-module (SOM) (i.e., [0035] Referring to FIG. 1, in a particular embodiment, a street level intelligence system 100 may comprise two sub-systems, i.e., a Mapper system and a Swarm system. The Swarm system as shown may comprise a Collect module 101, a Fuse module 102, and an Analyze module 103. Similarly, and correspondingly, the Mapper system as shown may comprise a Collect module 104, a Fuse module 105, and an Analyze module 106. Wherein the system 100 is a system on module comprise of many sub-module and other modules, as described in paragraph [0035])
communicatively coupled to the WiFi chipset module and the positioning system, (i.e., [0030] vehicle-mounted smartphones can connect to a WiFi network, which may have higher bandwidth than the cellular data network and/or at which the vehicles may spend a greater amount of time, and transfer locally stored streetscape video to the video-and-map-integration device via the vehicle-mounted smartphone's WiFi radios. As described in paragraph [0030]). Wherein smartphone comprise wifi chipset and GPS system.
wherein the SOM generates WiFi scan data comprising the plurality of collected packets and a respective geolocation metadata indicative of the location and the heading orientation determined for each collected packet of the plurality of collected packets.
(i.e., Automate Novatel Inertial Explorer to process GPS files into GNSS files that have corrected location data using the IMU data, wheel encoder data, and public base station data at block 907; Extract LiDAR data from PCAP and combine with GNSS data to create point cloud slices in CSV files and position/orientation information in POSE files. As described in paragraph [0105] to []0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Gupta into the invention of Mycek, and Ryu in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Regarding claim 5, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Gupta further discloses: wherein the positioning system comprises:
a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver and a corresponding GNSS antenna, wherein the location of the apparatus corresponding to the time of collection for each collected packet is determined by the GNSS receiver in response to a query from the SOM. (i.e., In some instances, the spherical imaging module 806 can receive a trigger pulse from the GPS/GNSS module 802 and capture location-based visualizations for display in geographical mapping applications. As described in paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 6, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similarly endeavor, Gupta further discloses: The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the GNSS receiver comprises a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, and wherein the corresponding GNSS antenna comprises a GPS antenna. (i.e., [0043] the Collect module 104 of the Mapper system may comprise an advanced GPS/Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), As described in paragraph [0043] ).
Regarding claim 7, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similarly endeavor, Ryu further discloses: wherein the positioning system comprises a magnetic compass configured to determine the heading orientation of the apparatus corresponding to the time of collection for each collected packet, and wherein the heading orientation is determined by the magnetic compass in response to a query from the SOM. (i.e., directional information which is acquired by a gyro compass sensor and a displacement angle (θ) formed with reference to a specific directing point may be exchanged between the electronic device 1500 or 1502, which executes a scanning operation, and the neighboring device 1501 which is a target to be scanned. As described in paragraph [0167] ).
Regarding claim 8, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Gupta further discloses: wherein:
the positioning system includes one or more of a magnetometer or an accelerometer; (i.e., In addition to using the imaging device to capture the images and videos, the Collect module 101 may also comprise one or more sensors, for example, vision sensors, positioning sensors such as Global Position System (GPS) sensors, or inertial sensors such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or gravity detection sensors. As described in paragraph [0040]).
And the respective geolocation metadata determined for each collected packet further includes one or more of a respective magnetic field information determined using the magnetometer at the time of collection for each collected packet, or a respective acceleration information determined using the accelerometer at the time of collection for each collected packet.. (i.e., . Thereby, additional data such as time, frame numbers, locations, speeds, accelerations, light levels and counts nearby of Bluetooth/Wi-Fi devices can be captured or collected. As described in paragraph [0040] ).
Regarding claim 9, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Ryu further discloses: further comprising a Bluetooth chipset module coupled to the one or more directional antennas and configured to collect a plurality of Bluetooth packets from one or more Bluetooth devices in the pointing direction of the apparatus, using the one or more directional antennas. (i.e., Referring to FIG. 9, the electronic device 900 may include a directional antenna 910 (an array antenna for beamforming), a beacon manager 920, a sensor manager 930, an application 940, a baseband module 950, a WiFi module 960, an infrared ray module 970, a Bluetooth module 980, a speaker 990, etc. As described in paragraph [0135] ).
Regarding claim 10, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Ryu further discloses: wherein:
the WiFi chipset is configured by the SOM to perform WiFi scanning operations in the pointing direction, based on using one or more WiFi directional antennas included in the one or more directional antennas. (i.e., Referring to FIG. 9, the electronic device 900 may include a directional antenna 910 (an array antenna for beamforming), a beacon manager 920, a sensor manager 930, an application 940, a baseband module 950, a WiFi module 960, an infrared ray module 970, a Bluetooth module 980, a speaker 990, etc. As described in paragraph [0135] ).
Regarding claim 13, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Ryu further discloses wherein:
the Bluetooth chipset module is configured to perform Bluetooth scanning operations in the pointing direction, based on using one or more Bluetooth directional antennas included in the one or more directional antennas. (i.e., Referring to FIG. 9, the electronic device 900 may include a directional antenna 910 (an array antenna for beamforming), a beacon manager 920, a sensor manager 930, an application 940, a baseband module 950, a WiFi module 960, an infrared ray module 970, a Bluetooth module 980, a speaker 990, etc. As described in paragraph [0135] ).
Regarding claim 14, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Ryu further discloses: wherein the one or more directional antennas includes at least a first Bluetooth directional antenna configured to collect Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) packets transmitted from Bluetooth devices in the pointing direction of the apparatus. (i.e., An aspect of the present disclosure provides a method for scanning neighboring devices in an electronic device, which can efficiently scan neighboring devices by directing the electronic device to the neighboring devices located in a desired direction or in desired direction and distance, when scanning or sweeping the neighboring devices through wireless communication such as Bluetooth (BT), WiFi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Long Term Evolution (LTE), etc., and an electronic device thereof. As described in paragraph [011] ).
Regarding claim 20, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Mycek further discloses: wherein:
the housing comprises a handheld enclosure formed from radio frequency (RF) transparent materials; (i.e., The housing 410 can be made of plastic, metal, ceramic, rubber, and/or from any other suitable material. As described in paragraph [0046] ).
And the apparatus further includes a rechargeable battery disposed within the enclosed volume of the housing and configured to power the apparatus during WiFi or Bluetooth scanning and packet collection operations.. (i.e., The beacon system 405 can include one or more power sources 430 of the same or different type. In a first variation, the power source 430 is a battery housed within the beacon system 405. The battery is preferably a secondary battery (e.g., rechargeable battery), but can alternatively be a primary battery or be any other suitable battery. As described in paragraph [0042] ).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770) and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715) and Safavi (Hereinafter “Safavi”, US 20160050589).
Regarding claim 2, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
wherein the respective geolocation metadata for each collected packet comprises Per Packet Information (PPI) data.
In similar endeavor, Safavi discloses: wherein the respective geolocation metadata for each collected packet comprises Per Packet Information (PPI) data. (i.e., Kismet may also capture PPI headers and may support logging of geographical location of a network if APIs for GPS transceivers or other location mechanisms are available. As described paragraph [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Safavi, into the invention of Mycek, Ryu and Gupta in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Regarding claim 3, Mycek, Ryu, Gupta, and Safavi disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Safavi further discloses: wherein the WiFi scan data comprises packet capture (PCAP) data, and wherein the respective geolocation metadata for each collected packet comprises Per Packet Information (PPI) data embedded within the PCAP data (i.e., Kismet may also capture PPI headers and may support logging of geographical location of a network if APIs for GPS transceivers or other location mechanisms are available. As described paragraph [0081]).
Claims 4, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770) and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715) and Zhao et al. (Hereinafter “Zhao”, US11830149.)
Regarding claim 4, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
wherein the respective geolocation metadata for each collected packet further includes one or more of:
an altitude of the apparatus corresponding to the time of collection of each collected packet; or
an angle of attack associated with the apparatus receiving the collected packet using the one or more directional antennas.
In similar endeavor, Zhao discloses: wherein the respective geolocation metadata for each collected packet further includes one or more of:
an altitude of the apparatus corresponding to the time of collection of each collected packet; or
an angle of attack associated with the apparatus receiving the collected packet using the one or more directional antennas. (i.e., As another example of other processing, the latitude, longitude, and altitude fields may be used to confirm that the selected record accurately matches the geo-location metadata that was hashed to query geo-location database 7714.. As described in paragraph (592)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhao, into the invention of Mycek, Ryu and Gupta in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Regarding claim 15, Mycek, Ryu, Gupta, and Zhao disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similarly endeavor, Zhao further discloses: wherein the SOM is a Linux-based SOM and provides a user interface for implementing one or more user configuration inputs corresponding to WiFi scanning or packet collection operations of the apparatus. (i.e., The Lumin OS 604 may include a Linux-based kernel with custom drivers compatible with an XR device. As described paragraph (161) ).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770) and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715) and Fellows (Hereinafter “Fellows”, US 20220225101.)
Regarding claim 11, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
wherein the one or more directional antennas includes at least a first WiFi directional antenna configured to perform WiFi scanning operations for collecting WiFi packets associated with a first WiFi band, and a second WiFi directional antenna configured to perform WiFi scanning operations for collecting WiFi packets associated with a second WiFi band.
In similar endeavor, Fellows discloses: wherein the one or more directional antennas includes at least a first WiFi directional antenna configured to perform WiFi scanning operations for collecting WiFi packets associated with a first WiFi band, and a second WiFi directional antenna configured to perform WiFi scanning operations for collecting WiFi packets associated with a second WiFi band. (i.e., The portable hunter device 104 can use multiple directional antennae to give the direction of signal arrival. As described in paragraph [0105] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fellows, into the invention of Mycek, Ryu and Gupta in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Regarding claim 12, Mycek, Ryu, Gupta, and Fellows disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similarly endeavor, Fellows further discloses: wherein the first WiFi directional antenna is associated with collecting WiFi packets on a 2.4 gigahertz (GHz) WiFi band, and the second WiFi directional antenna is associated with collecting WiFi packets on a 5 GHz WiFi band. (i.e., For example, the Radio Frequency protocol transmission type detected in wireless sensor 102 may be a WiFi protocol transmitted at 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequency channels, which could be identified via a WiFi Radio Frequency protocol adapter in Monitor mode. As described in paragraph [0108] ).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770) and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715), and Miley et al. (Hereinafter “Miley, US20090210935).
Regarding claim 16, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
wherein the apparatus is configured to perform WiFi scanning or WiFi sniffing based on one or more of enabling a monitor mode of the WiFi chipset module, or performing packet injection using the WiFi chipset module.
In similar endeavor, Miley discloses: wherein the apparatus is configured to perform WiFi scanning or WiFi sniffing based on one or more of enabling a monitor mode of the WiFi chipset module, or performing packet injection using the WiFi chipset module.. (i.e., In Step 440, the scanning software interfaces with the network adapter and places it in monitor mode (promiscuous mode), which allows it to capture all available 802.11 (or other protocol) frames in detectable range. As described in paragraph [0078] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Miley, into the invention of Mycek, Ryu and Gupta in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Claims 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770) and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715), and Unger et al. (Hereinafter “Unger”, US20200124946.)
Regarding claim 17, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an external optic coupled to an outer surface of the housing, wherein an optical viewing axis of the external optic is aligned with the pointing direction of the apparatus and the longitudinal axis of the housing.
In similar endeavor, Unger discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an external optic coupled to an outer surface of the housing, wherein an optical viewing axis of the external optic is aligned with the pointing direction of the apparatus and the longitudinal axis of the housing. (i.e., As can be seen, a housing 120 may be a rigid structure at a back end of a viewing device 104. One or more input devices 132, output devices 128, or other components may be externally accessible at a housing 120. As described in paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Unger, into the invention of Mycek, Ryu and Gupta in order to provide an optimal techniques for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Regarding claim 18, Mycek, Ryu, Gupta, and Unger disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above.
In similar endeavor, Unger further discloses: wherein the external optic comprises a monocular or a spotting scope detachably coupled to the outer surface of the housing. (i.e., Additional details regarding the self-aligning mount 124 are illustrated in the front perspective view of FIG. 2. A self-aligning mount 124 allows a viewing device 104 to be attached to a variety of spotting scopes. As described in paragraph [0040]).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mycek et al. (Hereinafter “Mycek”, US20170164159), in view of RYU et al. (Hereinafter “Ryu”, US20160119770), and further in view of GUPTA et al. (Hereinafter “Gupta”, US 20180349715), and Murakami et al. (Hereinafter “Murakami”, US20150062335.)
Regarding claim 19, Mycek, Ryu and Gupta disclose all limitations recited within claims described above. But it does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein a field of view of the external optic corresponds to an area of maximum gain of the one or more directional antennas in the pointing direction of the apparatus.
In similar endeavor, Murakami discloses: wherein a field of view of the external optic corresponds to an area of maximum gain of the one or more directional antennas in the pointing direction of the apparatus.. (i.e., Further, the imaging unit 150 may include an optical lens capable of capturing images within only a predetermined range of the viewing angle of about 0.5 to 5 degrees in which the radio wave direction of the directional antenna of the radio transmitting/receiving unit 120 coincides with the optical axis of the camera, a zoom lens, and a cover provided to prevent intrusion of rainwater, dust and the like. As described in paragraph [0064] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Murakami, into the invention of Mycek, Ryu and Gupta in order to provide an optimal technique for WiFi scanning using a handheld device to perform packet collection with positioning information.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric M. Vo/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644