DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 05/30/2024 and 04/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/30/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 05/30/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-10, 13-15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belharouak et al. (US 2020/0235390 A1; hereinafter “Belharouak”).
Regarding claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 13-15, 18, and 20, Belharouak discloses a rechargeable lithium battery and related method of manufacturing said battery (Abstract; [0055-0057]) comprising:
preparing a positive electrode (cathode) comprising a cobalt-free ([0019]) positive electrode active material having a layered structure ([0023]);
preparing a negative electrode (anode);
a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode ([0007; 0051]); and
preparing an electrolyte ([0007]) comprising:
a non aqueous organic solvent, specifically a carbonate based solvent (e.g. EC and EMC, [0046-0047]);
a lithium salt (0047]); and
an additive of glutaric anhydride (GA, [0047]), which reads on the recited Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 1-5 where X is O, R1 and R2 are hydrogen, and n is 1.
Belharouak further discloses preparing an electrode assembly comprising the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and a separator (as noted above), and injecting the electrolyte into the electrode assembly (not explicitly disclosed, but as necessarily required in order to produce a functioning battery with a non aqueous electrolyte solution, as noted above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belharouak et al. (US 2020/0235390 A1; hereinafter “Belharouak”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0226203 A1; hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Belharouak discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Belharouak discloses the cobalt-free positive electrode active material having a layered structure (as noted above), but does not disclose the lithium composite oxide being represented by the recited Chemical Formula 2 or Chemical Formula 2-1.
Liu teaches cathode active materials for secondary batteries (Title). Liu teaches that the cathode active materials are cobalt free in order to disengage from cobalt reliance ([0002-0003]). Liu teaches the preparation of LiNi0.76Mn0.19Al0.04Ti0.005Mg0.005O2 (NMATM) to explain the advantage of the combination of Al, Ti, and Mg for layered oxide cathodes ([0067]; note that the subscript on Mn being 19 is a typographical error, as indicated by the correct usage in e.g. NMA5).
Belharouak and Liu are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cobalt free layered lithium composite oxides.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the NMATM material of Liu as the positive electrode active material of Belharouak with the reasonable expectation that such a material has certain advantages, as suggested by Liu.
Accordingly, the skilled artisan would find it obvious that the cobalt free positive electrode active material is represented by the recited Chemical Formula 2 and Chemical Formula 2-1, where a = 1, b = 0, c = 0, w/w1 = 0.01, x/x1 = 0.76, y/y1 = 0.19, z/z1 = 0.04, 0.76+0.19+0.04+0.01 = 1, M1 = Al, and M2 = Ti and Mg.
Claim(s) 8, 11-12, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belharouak et al. (US 2020/0235390 A1; hereinafter “Belharouak”), as applied to claims 9 or 18 above, in view of Sawa et al. (US 2022/0149435 A1; hereinafter “Sawa”).
Regarding claims 8, 11-12, 16-17, and 19, Belharouak discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Belharouak discloses the non aqueous electrolyte comprising EC, EMC, and/or DMC ([0047-0048]), but does not explicitly disclose the use of all three being used in a single embodiment, nor a volume ratio of EC:EMC:DMC being 2:4:4. Belharouak further discloses the recited additive (as noted above), but does not appear to be particularly concerned with an appropriate amount of said additive, and therefore does not disclose an amount of 0.05 to about 3.0 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the electrolyte.
Sawa teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte solution (Title). Sawa teaches that the nonaqueous electrolyte solution reduces initial discharge resistance and inhibits gas generation during storage (Abstract). Sawa teaches that the electrolyte comprises a lithium salt dissolved in a mixed solvent of EC, EMC, and DMC in a volume ratio of 2:4:4 ([0249]). Sawa further teaches that the electrolyte may comprise various auxiliary agents, e.g. carboxylic acid anhydrides, in an amount of less than 3% by mass ([0105-0107]).
Belharouak and Sawa are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely nonaqueous electrolytes for rechargeable lithium batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the solvents of Belharouak must necessarily be included in certain amounts, and would thus find it obvious to routinely utilize EC, EMC, and DMC in a volume ratio of 2:4:4, as suggested by Sawa, and with the reasonable expectation that doing so would provide for a nonaqueous electrolyte solution that reduces initial discharge resistance and inhibits gas generation during storage, as suggested by Sawa.
It would have been further obvious to the skilled artisan that the glutaric anhydride, a carboxylic acid anhydride, of Belharouak must necessarily be included in certain amounts, and would thus find it obvious to routinely utilize the additive in an amount of less than 3% by weight, which significantly overlaps the recited range of 0.05 to 3.0 wt% (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yoshida (US 2023/0130295 A1) discloses a negative electrode and battery; and
Miyachi et al. (US 2023/0109573 A1) discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery.
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/20/2026