DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yabe et al. (2023/0406000) in view of Yokota et al. (2010/0085396).
Regarding claims 1, 11-13, Yabe teaches a circulation unit, liquid ejection head and liquid ejection apparatus comprising:
a liquid ejection head (fig. 5, item 300),
a carriage (fig. 1, item 1) configured to perform scanning of the liquid ejection head in a main scanning direction (fig. 1, X direction),
a conveyance unit (fig. 1, item 57/58) configured to convey a print medium in a sub scanning direction (fig. 1, Y direction);
a circulation unit (fig. 5, item 1);
the circulating pump (fig. 5, item 500) installed in the circulation unit (see fig. 5); and
an ejection module (fig. 5, item 300);
wherein the circulation unit includes
a first pressure adjustment unit (fig. 5, item 120) configured to adjust pressure of liquid, the first pressure adjustment unit including a first valve chamber (fig. 5, item 121), a first pressure control chamber (fig. 5, item 122) having a first pressure control chamber communication port (fig. 5, port of 180 connected to first pressure control chamber 122), a first pressure adjustment unit communication port (fig. 5, item 191A) that allows the first valve chamber and the first pressure control chamber to communicate with each other, a first valve (fig. 5, item 190A) that opens and closes the first communication port, a first flexible member (fig. 7, item 230) that forms a surface of a portion of the first pressure control chamber and that is configured to be displaceable (see fig. 7), and a first pressure plate (fig. 7, item 210) that forms a surface of another portion of the first pressure control chamber and that is configured to be displaceable by moving together with the first flexible member (see fig. 7);
a second pressure adjustment unit (fig. 5, item 150) configured to adjust pressure of the liquid, the second pressure adjustment unit including a second valve chamber (fig. 5, item 151), a second pressure control chamber (fig. 5, item 152), a second pressure control chamber communication port (fig. 5, item 191B) that allows the second valve chamber and the second pressure control chamber to communicate with each other, a second valve (fig. 5, item 190B) that opens and closes the second communication port, a second flexible member (fig. 7, item 230) that forms a surface of a portion of the second pressure control chamber and that is configured to be displaceable, and a second pressure plate (fig. 7, item 210) that forms a surface of another portion of the second pressure control chamber and that is configured to be displaceable by moving together with the second flexible member (see fig. 7);
a first passage (fig. 5, item 130) configured to allow a pressure chamber (fig. 5, item 12) and the first pressure control chamber to communicate with each other (see fig. 5);
a second passage (fig. 5, item 140) configured to allow the pressure chamber and the second pressure control chamber to communicate with each other (see fig. 5);
a third passage (fig. 5, item 170) configured to allow the second pressure control chamber and a circulating pump (fig. 5, item 500) to communicate with each other, the circulating pump used to circulate the liquid ([0045]); and
a fourth passage (fig. 5, item 180) configured to allow the circulating pump and the first pressure control chamber to communicate with each other (see fig. 5). Yabe does not teach wherein the first pressure control chamber conveys liquid directly to the fourth passage. Yokota teaches wherein a pump analogous to the Yabe’s pump 500 can be driven in both forward and reverse directions (Yokota, [0105], see fig. 5, Note that pump 152 can be driven in both directions to reverse flow of the liquid in the circulation path). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow for the pump disclosed by Yabe to be driven in both forward and reverse directions, as disclosed by Yokota, because doing so would allow for switching of the direction of ink circulation, thereby ensuring prevention of solidification of ink in all parts of the circulation path.
Upon combination configuration of Yabe’s pump as a two-way pump, the pump 500 could be driven so as to flow liquid directly from the first pressure control chamber 122 into the fourth passage 180 via the first pressure control chamber communication port.
Further, upon combination the resultant device would meet the limitation: wherein VV<V2 is satisfied, where VV is a volume of fluid passing through the first pressure control chamber communication port into
Furthermore, it should be noted that, according to MPEP 2114, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and the manner of operating a device does not differentiate a claimed apparatus with the prior art. Here, all structural claimed components are disclosed by Yabe. The claims also include functional limitations directed to volumes of fluids circulated, but these limitations do not differentiate the claimed invention on a structural basis. This rationale is applied to all other claims.
Regarding claim 2, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 1, wherein VT<V2 is satisfied where VT is a volume of fluid flowing from the first pressure control chamber into the second pressure control chamber in the period from the time when operation of the circulating pump is stopped to the time when pressure in the first pressure control chamber and pressure in the second pressure control chamber become equal to each other, and V2 is a volume of the fourth passage (Yabe, see fig. 5, Note that if the pump is stopped for a long period of time so that VV=0 and pressures in the two pressure control chambers will equalize so that the expression is satisfied).
Regarding claim 3, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 1, wherein Vc-Va<V2 is satisfied
where Va is a volume of the second pressure control chamber in a period in which the circulating pump is operating, and Vc is a volume of the second pressure control chamber when the pressure in the first pressure control chamber and the pressure in the second pressure control chamber become equal to each other after the time when operation of the circulating pump is stopped (Yabe, see fig. 5, Note that if the pump is stopped for a long period of time so that VV=0 and pressures in the two pressure control chambers will equalize so that the expression is satisfied. Note that the volume of the second pressure chamber when the circulating pump is operating changes, and thus a range of volumes Va can be chosen from to meet the limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 1, further comprising a bypass (Yabe, fig. 28A, item 160) passage configured to allow the first pressure control chamber and the second valve chamber to communicate with each other, wherein the bypass passage is opened and closed depending on opening and closing of the second communication port by the second valve (Yabe, fig. 28A, Note opening and closing valve 2301).
Regarding claim 5, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 4, wherein VT<V2 is satisfied where VT is a volume of fluid flowing from the first pressure control chamber into the second pressure control chamber in the period from the time when operation of the circulating pump is stopped to the time when pressure in the first pressure control chamber and pressure in the second pressure control chamber become equal to each other, and V2 is a volume of the fourth passage (Yabe, see fig. 5, Note that if the pump is stopped for a long period of time so that VV=0 and pressures in the two pressure control chambers will equalize so that the expression is satisfied).
Regarding claim 6, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 4, wherein Vc-Va<V2 is satisfied
where Va is a volume of the second pressure control chamber in a period in which the circulating pump is operating, and Vc is a volume of the second pressure control chamber when the pressure in the first pressure control chamber and the pressure in the second pressure control chamber become equal to each other after the time when operation of the circulating pump is stopped (Yabe, see fig. 5, Note that if the pump is stopped for a long period of time so that VV=0 and pressures in the two pressure control chambers will equalize so that the expression is satisfied. Note that the volume of the second pressure chamber when the circulating pump is operating changes, and thus a range of volumes Va can be chosen from to meet the limitation).
Regarding claim 7, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 4, wherein Vc-Vb<V2 is satisfied
where Vb is a volume of the second pressure chamber when the bypass passage is closed after the time when the operation of the circulating pump is stopped, and Vc is a volume of the second pressure control chamber when the pressure in the first pressure control chamber and the second pressure control chamber become equal to each other after the time when the operation of the circulating pump is stopped (Yabe, see fig. 5, Note that if the pump is stopped for a long period of time so that VV=0 and pressures in the two pressure control chambers will equalize so that the expression is satisfied. Note that the volume of the second pressure chamber when the circulating pump is operating changes, and thus a range of volumes Vb can be chosen from to meet the limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 4, wherein the bypass passage communicates with the first pressure control chamber in a lower-most portion of the first pressure control chamber (Yabe, see fig. 28A).
Regarding claim 9, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 1, wherein the third passage communicates with the second pressure control chamber in a lower portion of the second pressure control chamber (Yabe, see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Yabe in view of Yokota teaches the circulation unit according to claim 1, wherein the fourth passage communicates with the first pressure control chamber in an upper portion of the first pressure control chamber (Yabe, see fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 13 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853