DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tano (JP 2016127066 A; published in 2016; English translation) in view of Kim et al. (US 2009/0233436 A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Tano discloses a circuit module comprising: a substrate (1; Fig.3); a stud electrode (5) on a surface of the substrate (top side of 1); a molding resin (3; 3 is made from an epoxy) on the surface of the substrate and covering a periphery of the stud electrode (3 surrounds the periphery of 5), the molding resin including: a first main surface (bottom surface of 3) adjacent the surface of the substrate; and a second main surface (top surface of 3) opposed to the first main surface, the molding resin including a recess (see 3a;Fig.3B) in the second main surface, the recess being located such that an end surface and a side surface of the stud electrode (see side and top of 5) are exposed in the recess from the molding resin (3) ; and an adhesion layer (8) on the exposed side surface of the stud electrode (see 8 covering the side surfaces of 5).
Tano is silent with respect to the adhesion layer being a plating layer.
Kim discloses a plating layer (108; Fig.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Kim to modify the adhesion layer of Tano in order to reduces inductance and capacitance, and therefore enhancing signal integrity of the circuit device.
Regarding claim 2, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein the plating layer is also on the exposed end surface of the stud electrode.
Kim discloses the plating layer is also on the exposed end surface of the stud electrode. (see 108; Fig.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Kim to modify the adhesion layer of Tano in order to reduces inductance and capacitance, and therefore enhancing signal integrity of the circuit device.
Regarding claim 7, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein a height of the exposed side surface of the stud electrode in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 5% to 30% of a thickness of the molding resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use wherein a height of the exposed side surface of the stud electrode in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 5% to 30% of a thickness of the molding resin in order to accommodate various electronic devices with different under bump mentalization dimensions., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Regarding claim 8, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein a height of the exposed side surface of the stud electrode in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 10% to 25% of a thickness of the molding resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use wherein a height of the exposed side surface of the stud electrode in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 10% to 25% of a thickness of the molding resin in order to accommodate various electronic devices with different under bump mentalization dimensions., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Regarding claim 9, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein a depth of the recess in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 10% to 50% of a thickness of the molding resin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use wherein a depth of the recess in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 10% to 50% of a thickness of the molding resin in order to accommodate various electronic devices with different under bump mentalization dimensions., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Regarding claim 10, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein a depth of the recess in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 20% to 45% of a thickness of the molding resin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use wherein a depth of the recess in a thickness direction of the molding resin is 20% to 45% of a thickness of the molding resin in order to accommodate various electronic devices with different under bump mentalization dimensions., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Claim (s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tano in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1 and claim 2 above, and further in view of Iijima et al. (US 20010008309 A1) hereinafter Iijima.
Regarding claim 3-4, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein the exposed end surface of the stud electrode is located on a same plane as the second main surface of the molding resin.
Iijima discloses wherein the exposed end surface of the stud electrode (see top surface of 208; Fig.4) is located on a same plane as the second main surface of the molding resin (see top surface of 201; Fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Iijima to modify the device of Tano in order to accommodate various electronic devices with different under bump mentalization dimensions.
Regarding claim 5-6, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein the exposed end surface of the stud electrode is located closer to the substrate as compared to the second main surface of the molding resin.
Iijima discloses wherein the exposed end surface of the stud electrode (see 208a; Fig.7A) is located closer to the substrate (see H1in Fig.7A) as compared to the second main surface of the molding resin (see H2 in Fig.7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Iijima to modify the device of Tano in order to accommodate various electronic devices with different under bump mentalization dimensions.
Claim (s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tano in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 20200219652 A1) hereinafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 11 and 14, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein the stud electrode comprises a porous body.
Ishikawa discloses a stud electrode (see 20 in Fig.2 and Fig.9A) with a porous body (see 20;Fig.9A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Ishikawa to modify the stud electrode of Tano in order to enhance the longevity of the electrode by preventing cracking.
Regarding claim 12 and 15, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein the porous body has an internal porosity of 5 vol% to 40 vol%.
However, Ishikawa discloses wherein the porous body (20; Fig.2) has an internal porosity of less than 50% (see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use wherein the porous body has an internal porosity of 5 vol% to 40 vol% to modify the stud electrode of Tano in order to enhance the longevity of the electrode by preventing cracking since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Regarding claim 13 and 16, Tano fails to specifically disclose wherein the porous body has an internal porosity of 10 vol% to 35 vol%.
However, Ishikawa discloses wherein the porous body (20; Fig.2) has an internal porosity of less than 50% (see [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use an internal porosity of 10 vol% to 35 vol%. to modify the stud electrode of Tano in order to enhance the longevity of the electrode by preventing cracking since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848