DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 2-13-2026. Claims 21-29 new.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin 5,710,820
Regarding claim 10, Martin discloses a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30) configured for being worn at an ear of a user, the hearing device comprising:
an electronic circuit board (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17) comprising a first section (analog part 1) and a second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56);
one or more first electronic components configured to operate at the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20),
the one or more first electronic components being mounted on or in the first section (Fig 1 shows); and
one or more second electronic components configured to operate at a second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
the one or more second electronic components being mounted on or in the second section (Fig 1 shows);
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage (second voltage 2.6V is lower than the first voltage 15V) and
further comprising wherein the hearing device further comprises a battery configured to provide a battery voltage (Fig 1 battery source 35, col 2 line 14-27),
wherein the battery voltage is closer to the first voltage than to the second voltage (Fig 1 shows battery source 35 is closer to the first voltage via the supply stage 12 supplies the programming voltage of 15V than the second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30).
Regarding to applicant’s specification para [75] states that “wherein the battery voltage is closer to the first voltage than to the second voltage. For example, the first voltage may be within 30% of the battery voltage, such as within 20% of the battery voltage or within 10% of the battery voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Paczkowski 6674869
Regarding claim 1, Martin discloses a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30) configured for being worn at an ear of a user, the hearing device comprising:
an electronic circuit board (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17) comprising a first section (analog part 1) associated with a first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20),
and a second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) associated with a second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
one or more first electronic components configured to operate at the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20),
the one or more first electronic components being mounted on or in the first section (Fig 1 shows); and
one or more second electronic components configured to operate at the second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
the one or more second electronic components being mounted on or in the second section (Fig 1 shows);
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage (second voltage 2.6V is lower than the first voltage 15V) and
wherein the first section associated (analog part 1) with the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20), and
the second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) associated with the second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
Martin fail to disclose wherein the first section and second section lie in different respective planes that are non- coplanar with respect to each other.
Paczkowski teaches wherein the first section and second section lie in different respective planes that are non- coplanar with respect to each other (Figs 1-3 shows components 120 are electrically couple to one side of flex circuit 110, col 3, line 17-25 and components 140 and 150 are couple to another side of flexi circuit 110, col 3 line 41-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Regarding claim 3, Martin does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 3.
Paczkowski teaches the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit board comprises a first bend between the first section and the second section (Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Regarding claim 4, Martin does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 4.
Paczkowski teaches the hearing device according to claim 3, wherein the second section comprises a primary region and a secondary region, and wherein the electronic circuit board comprises a second bend between the primary region and the secondary region (Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Regarding claim 5, Martin does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 5.
Paczkowski teaches Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state.
Paczkowski does not explicitly teach the specify the hearing device according to claim 3, wherein the first bend has a bending angle that is anywhere from 130° to 210° .
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to by the manufacturers or one having ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made wherein the first bend has a bending angle that is anywhere from 130° to 210°. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
Regarding claim 7, Martin does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 7.
Paczkowski teaches Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state.
Paczkowski does not explicitly teach the specify the hearing device according to claim 4, wherein the second bend has a bending angle that is anywhere from 130° to 210°.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to by the manufacturers or one having ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made wherein the second bend has a bending angle that is anywhere from 130° to 210°. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
Regarding claim 8, Martin discloses the hearing device according to claim 4, wherein the one or more second electronic components comprise an output transducer (Fig 1 earphone 2, col 2 line 14-20) connector at the primary region, and an input transducer (Fig 1 input via microphone 2 via signal input 13, signal input 14 col 2 line 30-42) at the secondary region.
Regarding claim 9, Martin discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first section comprises an electrical connector pad for connecting a battery (Fig 1. Battery 35, col 2 line 14-27).
Regarding claim 14, Martin discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein a power wiring of the electronic circuit board is in one single layer (Ordinary skill in the art would know that printed circuit board (PCB) has “power wires” the power wire integrated conductive copper traces or planes etched onto the board, acting as fixed pathways for power like VCC and ground (GND). See Martin’s Fig 1, hearing aid circuit 41).
Regarding claim 18, Martin discloses an electronic circuit for a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30), the electronic circuit comprising:
an electronic circuit board Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17) comprising a first section (analog part 1) associated with a first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20), and a second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) associated with a second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
one or more first electronic components configured to operate at the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20),
the one or more first electronic components being mounted on or in the first section (Fig 1 shows); and
one or more second electronic components configured to operate at the second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
the one or more second electronic components being mounted on or in the second section (Fig 1 shows);
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage second voltage 2.6V is lower than the first voltage 15V) and
wherein the first section (analog part 1) associated with the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20), and
the second section (digital part 9) associated with the second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
Martin fail to disclose wherein the first section and second section lie in different respective planes that are non- coplanar with respect to each other.
Paczkowski teaches wherein the first section and second section lie in different respective planes that are non- coplanar with respect to each other (Figs 1-3 shows components 120 are electrically couple to one side of flex circuit 110, col 3 line 17-25 and components 140 and 150 are couple to another side of flexi circuit 110, col 3 line 41-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Regarding claim 20, Martin discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic circuit for a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30), the method comprising:
providing an electronic circuit board (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17);
mounting one or more first electronic components on or in a first section (analog part 1) of the electronic circuit board (Fig 1 shows); and
mounting one or more second electronic components on or in a second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) of the electronic circuit board;
wherein the one or more first electronic components are configured to operate at a first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20),
wherein the one or more second electronic components are configured to operate at a second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage (second voltage 2.6V is lower than the first voltage 15V) and
wherein the first section (analog part 1) associated with the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20), and the second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) associated with the second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30).
Martin fail to disclose wherein the first section and second section lie in different respective planes that are non- coplanar with respect to each other.
Paczkowski teaches wherein the first section and second section lie in different respective planes that are non- coplanar with respect to each other (Figs 1-3 shows components 120 are electrically couple to one side of flex circuit 110, col 3 17-25 and components 140 and 150 are couple to another side of flexi circuit 110, col 3 line 41-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Paczkowski 6674869 further in view of Lyon 2016/0057546
Regarding claim 6, Martin as modified by Paczkowski does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 6.
Lyon teaches the hearing device according to claim 4, wherein at least a part of the first section is sandwiched between the primary region and the secondary region (Figs 4-5 shows). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lyon in Martin’s invention, time and cost saving in the development and manufacturing of using flexible circuit board for hearing aid. See Lyon’s para [39, 50].
Regarding claim 15, Martin as modified by Paczkowski does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 15.
Lyon teaches the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit board is a 4- layer or 5-layer circuit board (para [31, 36] teaches hearing aid circuit includes motherboard 202 is a four-layer flexible circuit board). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lyon in Martin’s invention, the cost saving is significant particularly with the much more efficient use of space on a flexible circuit panel having three, four or more layer. See Lyon’s para [45].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Paczkowski 6674869 further in view of Lindberg 2022/0377470
Regarding claim 12, Martin as modified by Paczkowski does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 12.
Lindberg teaches the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more first electronic components comprise a voltage converter configured to step-down convert from a battery voltage (para [18, 32] teaches the battery in the hearing aid may be a rechargeable battery, which is configured to be recharged in a charger, e.g. the hearing aid comprising the battery may be inserted in the charger for charging the battery. a switched-mode power supply (SMPS ). The SMPS may be connected to the battery and may be configured for converting a voltage provided by the battery to a lower voltage value or level. In other words, the SMPS may step down the voltage provided from the battery) and/or the first voltage to the second voltage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lindberg in Martin’s invention, using stepping down voltage for noise reduction in hearing aid device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Paczkowski 6674869 further in view of Sommer 2017/0263569
Regarding claim 13, Martin as modified by Paczkowski does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 13.
Sommer teaches the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more first electronic components has a corrosion protection coating (para [22] teaches electronic device 22 such as headphone, earpiece, para [48] teaches anti-corrosion coating layer, para [68-69] teaches layer 150 serve as a corrosion protection layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sommer in Martin’s invention, for protecting electronic component of hearing device.
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Paczkowski 6674869 further in view of Wu 20090285415
Regarding claim 16, Martin as modified by Paczkowski does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 16.
Wu teaches the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first voltage is in anywhere from 3,5 V to 4,5 V (first voltage source ranges between 2V and 10V. See claims 4 and 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wu in Martin’s invention in order to improv the hearing device.
Regarding claim 17, Martin as modified by Paczkowski does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 17.
Wu teaches the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the second voltage is anywhere from 0,5 V to 2,0V (second voltage source ranges between 0.5V and 3.3V). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wu in Martin’s invention in order to improv the hearing device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Bergmann 10575106
Regarding claim 11, Martin discloses the hearing device according to 10, wherein the battery (Fig 1 battery or voltage source 35, col 2 line 14-19) is electrically connected to the electronic circuit board via an electrical connector pad (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17) via an electrical connector pad).
Martin does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery is upstream from the first section, and wherein the second section is downstream from the first section.
Bergmann teaches wherein the battery is upstream from the first section (rechargeable battery is upstream, refers to the initial phase of the battery supply chain, which involves the extraction and characterization of raw material; Bergmann teaches in col 20 line 26-33 rechargeable battery), and
wherein the second section is downstream from the first section (non-rechargeable battery is downstream, the term downstream is generally used in a supply chain, referring to the flow of information or material that use the batteries in their final products, Bergmann teaches in col 20 line 20-26 rechargeable battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bergmann in Martin’s invention, using a modular rechargeable hearing instrument that significantly improves audio performance. Bergmann’s col 12 line 27-29.
Claim(s) 2, 21-23, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Zhang 2021/0385570 further in view of Lyon 2016/0057546
Regarding claim 2, Martin discloses an electronic circuit board for a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30), the electronic circuit board (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17) comprising:
a first section (analog part 1) comprising a plurality of first electrical connector pads for mounting one or more first electronic components,
(Fig 1. Battery 35, col 2 line 14-27); and
the first section (analog part 1) being associated with a first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20); and
a second section comprising a plurality of second electrical connector pads for mounting one or more second electronic components,
the second section (digital part 9) being associated with a second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30).
Martin discloses a first section (analog part 1) comprising an electrical connector pad battery (Fig 1. Battery 35, col 2 line 14-27).
Martin discloses a first section (analog part 1) comprising an electrical connector pad battery (Fig 1. Battery 35, col 2 line 14-27).
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage (second voltage 2.6V is lower than the first voltage 15V);
“un-folded state” defined in applicant’s specification that an un-folded state of the electronic circuit board 8 may be seen as an un-mounted stated of the electronic circuit board 8 and/or electronic circuit 6 in the hearing device 2. In other words, an un-folded state may be seen as an un-bended electronic circuit board 8 and/or electronic circuit 6. See para [125].
Martin discloses wherein when the electronic circuit board is in an un-folded state, (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17),
the one or more first electronic components are connected to the first section (analog part 1) of the circuit board on a first side of a plane, and
the one or more second electronic components are connected to the second section (digital part 9) of the circuit board on a second side of the plane.
Martin does not explicitly disclose a plurality of first and second electrical connector pads for mounting one or more first electronic components .
wherein the plurality of first electrical connector pads is configured to be connected to the one or more first electrical components such that the one or more first electrical components are operable at the first voltage, wherein the plurality of second electrical connector pads are configured to be connected to the one or more second electrical components such that the one or more second electrical components are operable at the second voltage,
Zhang teaches plurality of first and second electrical connector pads (Fig 20-21 teaches a plurality of first pads 45 and a plurality of second pads 46 electrically connected through first flexible circuit board 44, para [277-278, 280, 283]) for mounting one or more first electronic components .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhang in Martin’s invention, using plurality pads to connect batteries to circuit boards offers a robust, reliable, and space-efficient connection for soldering, providing excellent electrical contact, heat dissipation.
Martin as modify by Zhang does not explicitly teach the second side being opposite from the first side of the plane wherein the first section and second section are at different respective longitudinal locations along a longitudinal axis of the electronic circuit board, the longitudinal axis corresponding to a largest dimension of the electronic circuit board.
Lyon teaches the second side being opposite from the first side of the plane wherein the first section and second section are at different respective longitudinal locations along a longitudinal axis of the electronic circuit board (Fig 5 shows), the longitudinal axis corresponding to a largest dimension of the electronic circuit board (Fig 5 shows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lyon in Martin’s invention as modified by Zhang, time and cost savings in the development and manufacturing of flexible circuits for hearing aids. See Lyon’s para [50].
Regarding claim 21, Martin discloses a circuit comprising the electronic circuit board of claim 2, the one or more first electronic components (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17 via analog part 1), and the one or more second electronic components (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56).
Regarding claim 22, Martin discloses the circuit according to claim 21, wherein the one or more first electronic components (analog part 1) comprise multiple first electronic components (the supply stage 12, using a clock generator 34, generates clock signals for the analog part 1, as well as for the Class D final amplifier stage 7 thereof. The clock generator 34 also supplies clock signals to the filter stage 5 and/or to the voltage doublers 32 or voltage multiplier 33 of the supply stage 12. Further, the supply part 12 has a reference current unit 36 for the central supply of the analog part 1 with reference currents, col 4 line 31-38) configured to operate at the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20).
Regarding claim 23, Martin discloses a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30) comprising the circuit of claim 22.
Regarding claim 27, Martin discloses the hearing device according to claim 23, wherein the one or more second electronic components comprise an output transducer (Fig 1 earphone 2, col 2 line 14-20) connector at the primary region, and an input transducer (Fig 1 input via microphone 2 via signal input 13, signal input 14 col 2 line 30-42) at the secondary region.
Regarding claim 28, Martin discloses the hearing device according to claim 23, comprising a battery configured to provide a battery voltage (Fig 1 battery source 35, col 2 line 14-27),
wherein the battery voltage is closer to the first voltage than to the second voltage (Fig 1 shows battery source 35 is closer to the first voltage via the supply stage 12 supplies the programming voltage of 15V than the second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30).
Regarding claim 29, Martin discloses in Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17.
Martin does not explicitly disclose the electronic circuit board according to claim 2, wherein the largest dimension of the electronic circuit board extends along the longitudinal axis.
Lyon teaches disclose the electronic circuit board according to claim 2, wherein the largest dimension of the electronic circuit board extends along the longitudinal axis (Fig 5 shows). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lyon in Martin’s invention as modified by Zhang, time and cost savings in the development and manufacturing of flexible circuits for hearing aids. See Lyon’s para [50].
Claim(s) 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Zhang 2021/0385570 further in view of Lyon 2016/0057546 and further in view of Paczkowski 6674869
Regarding claim 24, Martin as modified by Zhang further as modified by Lyon does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 24.
Paczkowski teaches the electronic circuit board according to claim 2, wherein the electronic circuit board is configured to be bent, and wherein when the electronic circuit board is in a bent state, the electronic circuit board comprises a first bend between the first section and the second section (Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Regarding claim 25, Martin as modified by Zhang further as modified by Lyon does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 25.
Paczkowski teaches the electronic circuit board according to claim 24, wherein the second section comprises a primary region and a secondary region, and wherein when the electronic circuit board is in the bent state, the electronic circuit board comprises a second bend between the primary region and the secondary region (Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Regarding claim 26, Martin as modified by Zhang further as modified by Lyon does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 26.
Paczkowski teaches the electronic circuit board according to claim 25, wherein when the electronic circuit board is in the bent state, at least a part of the first section is sandwiched between the primary region and the secondary region (Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin 5,710,820 in view of Zhang 2021/0385570 further in view of Paczkowski 6674869
Regarding claim 19, Martin discloses an electronic circuit board for a hearing device (Fig 1 hearing aid, col 2 line 14-col 4 line 17-30), the electronic circuit board (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17) comprising:
a first section (analog part 1) comprising a plurality of first electrical connector pads for mounting one or more first electronic components for mounting one or more first electronic components;
(Fig 1. Battery 35, col 2 line 14-27); and
the first section (analog part 1) being associated with a first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20); and
a second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) comprising a plurality of second electrical connector pads for mounting one or more second electronic components,
the second section (digital part 9, memory stage 11, col 3 line 30-56) being associated with a second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage (second voltage 2.6V is lower than the first voltage 15V) and
Martin discloses wherein the electronic circuit board has an unfolded state (Fig 1, integrated hearing circuit 41 col 2 line 14-17); and is configured to be folded and
wherein the first section (analog part 1) associated with the first voltage (first voltage/programming voltage of approximately 15V, col 4 line 17-20), and the second section (digital part 9) associated with the second voltage (second voltage/supply voltage for the analog part 1, which is preferably doubled to about 2.6V, col 4 line 25-30),
Martin does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first and second electrical connector pads is configured to be connected to the one or more first electrical components such that the one or more first electrical components are operable at the first voltage, wherein the plurality of second electrical connector pads are configured to be connected to the one or more second electrical components such that the one or more second electrical components are operable at the second voltage.
Zhang teaches plurality of first and second electrical connector pads (Fig 20-21 teaches a plurality of first pads 45 and a plurality of second pads 46 electrically connected through first flexible circuit board 44, para [277-278, 280, 283]) for mounting one or more first electronic components .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhang in Martin’s invention, using plurality pads to connect batteries to circuit boards offers a robust, reliable, and space-efficient connection for soldering, providing excellent electrical contact, heat dissipation.
Martin as modified by Zhang does not explicitly disclose the electronic circuit board has an unfolded state and is configured to be folded.
Paczkowski teaches the electronic circuit board has an unfolded state and is configured to be folded (Fig 1, folded flexible circuit module 110, col 2 line 30-44 and Fig 1 below shows the first and second bend state, Fig 3 shows unfolded state of flexible circuit board 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Paczkowski in Martin’s invention, hearing aid circuit modules that use folded flexible circuits. The modules save space and reduce the cost of manufacturing hearing aid. See Paczkowski’s abstract.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692