DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Yamazaki (EP 0 761 450) (hereinafter Yamazaki).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a packaging form (200, Fig. 1) for packaging a liquid ejection head (100, Fig. 1) equipped with a detachably attachable protective member (203, Fig. 1) [Column 2 line 1 -Column 3 line 55], the packaging form (200) comprising: the protective member (203) configured to cover an ejection port surface (4, Fig. 1) of the liquid ejection head (100) [Column 3 lines 37-55]; cushioning material (not shown in Figures) configured to be mounted on both ends of the liquid ejection head (100) in a longitudinal direction [Column 3 lines 24-36]; and a bag member (300, Fig. 3) configured to package the liquid ejection head (100) [Column 4 lines 13-22], wherein the liquid ejection head (100), the protective member (203), and the cushioning material (not shown in Figures) fixed together are contained inside the bag member (300) and sealed in a depressurized state [Column 4 lines 13-47].
Regarding Claim 2, Yamazaki teaches the packaging form for packaging the liquid ejection head (200), wherein the protective member (203) is moved in the longitudinal direction relative to the liquid ejection head (100) to be removed [Column 3 lines 8-23; 37-55].
Regarding Claim 3, Yamazaki teaches the packaging form (200) for packaging the liquid ejection head (100), wherein the cushioning material (not shown in Figures) is arranged in an area that restricts a movable area of the protective member (203) [Column 3 lines 24-36].
Regarding Claim 4, Yamazaki teaches the packaging form (200) for packaging the liquid ejection head (100), wherein the cushioning material (not shown in Figures) includes a through hole (202, Fig. 1) in the longitudinal direction of the liquid ejection head (100) [Column 4 lines 1-12].
Regarding Claim 11, Yamazaki teaches the packaging form (200) for packaging the liquid ejection head (100), wherein the cushioning material (not shown in Figures) presses against an engaging portion (204, Fig. 1) that engages with the liquid ejection head (100) to regulate movement of the protective member (203) in the longitudinal direction [Column 3 lines 37-55].
Regarding Claim 12, Yamazaki teaches the packaging form (200) for packaging the liquid ejection head (100), wherein the bag member (300) includes an opening unit (see Fig. 5) for opening an end portion of the longitudinal direction [Column 4 lines 23-35, see the top of the bag member (300) in Fig. 5].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 5 and 7-8 is the inclusion of the limitation of a packaging form for packaging the liquid ejection head that includes wherein a through hole of a cushioning material includes a contacting surface for making contact with the liquid ejection head. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 6 is the inclusion of the limitation of a packaging form for packaging the liquid ejection head that includes a cushioning material having a protruding portion of a liquid ejection hold in a longitudinal direction inside a through hole. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 9-10 is the inclusion of the limitation of a packaging form for packaging the liquid ejection head that includes forming cushioning material by bonding at least two cushioning material with different opening areas as a through hole. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 11 is the inclusion of the limitation of a packaging form for packaging the liquid ejection head that includes an opening unit installed at an end portion in a direction a protective member is fixed to the liquid ejection head. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853