DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (PG Pub 20080194053).
Considering claim 1, Huang (Figure 2B) teaches micromachined ultrasonic transducer (MUT) comprising: a diaphragm (210 + paragraph 0082) with substantially free edges; one or more electrodes (225 + 250 + paragraph 0082); and one or more anchors (203 + paragraph 0082) clamping the diaphragm at locations within and/or along a diaphragm periphery to a substrate (201 + paragraph 0082).
Considering claim 2, Huang teaches wherein the MUT is a pMUT comprising a piezoelectric film (paragraph 0028).
Considering claim 3, Huang (Figure 2B) teaches wherein the one or more electrodes (225 + 250 + paragraph 0082) are electrically coupled to the piezoelectric film.
Considering claim 4, Huang (Figure 2B) teaches wherein the piezoelectric film is situated opposite the one or more anchors (paragraph 0028), on a same side as the one or more anchors or between the one or more anchors.
Considering claim 5, Huang (Figure 2A) teaches wherein the diaphragm comprises a groove (215 + paragraph 0087).
Considering claim 6, Huang (Figure 2A) teaches a plurality of anchors (203m + 203 + paragraph 0082), wherein a subset of the plurality of anchors are attached to one or more vertical cantilever shells (200 + paragraph 0073).
Considering claim 7, Huang (Figure 2A) teaches wherein the diaphragm comprises a groove (215 + paragraph 0087).
Considering claim 8, Huang teaches wherein the MUT is a cMUT (paragraph 0073).
Considering claim 9, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches wherein the one or more electrodes (225 + 250 + paragraph 0077) are electrically coupled to the diaphragm between a gap (260 + paragraph 0079).
Considering claim 10, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches wherein the diaphragm comprises a groove (215 + paragraph 0087).
Considering claim 11, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches a plurality of anchors (203m + 203 + paragraph 0082), wherein a subset of the plurality of anchors are attached to one or more vertical cantilever shells (200 + paragraph 0073).
Considering claim 12, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches a plurality of anchors, wherein a subset of the plurality of anchors are attached to one or more vertical cantilever sheets, and wherein the diaphragm comprises a groove (215 + paragraph 0087).
Considering claim 13, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches a micromachined ultrasonic transducer (MUT) comprising a clamped diaphragm comprising a groove (215 + paragraph 0087), wherein one or more anchors (203m + 203 + paragraph 0082) clamped the diaphragm to a substrate (201 + paragraph 0082), at least one of the one or more anchors being attached to a vertical cantilever shell (200 + paragraph 0073), the vertical cantilever shell attached to an edge of the diaphragm (210 + paragraph 0082).
Considering claim 14, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches wherein the vertical cantilever shell (200 + paragraph 0073) forms a virtual pivot substantially preventing out of plane motion but allowing for rotation of the diaphragm edge while imparting a counter-torque (paragraphs 0075-0076).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (PG Pub 20080194053).
Considering claim 15, Huang disclose claimed invention except for the vertical cantilever shell has a thickness between 0.1 microns and 50 microns and wherein the vertical cantilever shell has a height between 1 and 100 times greater than its thickness. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the vertical cantilever shell has a thickness between 0.1 microns and 50 microns and wherein the vertical cantilever shell has a height between 1 and 100 times greater than its thickness, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering claim 16, Huang (Figures 2A-2B) teaches wherein the vertical cantilever shell is not continuous about the diaphragm edge but has areas with no virtual pivot (200 + paragraph 0073).
Considering claim 17, Huang teaches wherein the MUT is multimodal (paragraph 0009).
Considering claim 18, Huang teaches a MUT array configured for ultrasound imaging (paragraph 0010), the array comprising a plurality of the MUTs.
Considering claim 19, Huang teaches wherein each MUT of the plurality of the MUTs is a pMUT or a cMUT (paragraphs 0021 + 0073).
Considering claim 20, Huang teaches wherein each MUT comprises a vertical cantilever shell formed from multiple etches (paragraph 0073).
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837