DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 7/21/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final necessitated by amendment.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
TAKEDA et al. US 20220109597 hereafter Takeda in view of Lee et al US 20200154412 hereafter Lee.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses an apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] comprising: processing circuitry [Processor-1202] to [Fig. 12, Sections 0119: The UE include a processor-1202]:
generate, for transmission to a base station, an indication of a capability of a user equipment (UE) [Sections 0087, 0124: The number of scheduled cells as shown where R represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report. UE process capability report for outbound transmission to base station (BS)] to support multi-cell scheduling associated with a set of cells having at least two different sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) [Figs. 6-7 (Depicts Schedule cells Different SCSs numerology), Sections 0044, 0046, 0087: In 5G NR, the scheduling cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example Scell have an SCS of 30 kHz, and Pcell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The UE configured to determine number of BDs and monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS. The number of scheduled cells as shown where R may represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report (i.e. indication of capability) of the UE],
wherein the multi-cell scheduling is to use a single downlink control information (DCI) to schedule transmissions on respective cells of the set of cells [Sections 0084, 0089, 0135: The UE monitor for control channel information (e.g., DCI) on the scheduling cells. However, in some aspects such as CA (carrier aggregation) the DCI transmitted on scheduling cells (e.g., PCell and SCell); further, the two or more scheduling cells associated with different SCSs; the BS transmits the DCI (i.e. single DCI) such that it can be decoded by the UE. Thus, monitoring for DCI to schedule data transmissions on a scheduled cell may include multiple scheduling cells and scheduling cells may have different SCS];
determine a numerology [i.e. SCS/subcarrier spacing] with which a first cell [i.e. PCell] of the set of cells is configured [Sections 0038, 0044, 0089: A 5G NR system implemented to use scalable numerology such as subcarrier spacing (SCS). The cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example PCell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The PCell (first cell) have first SCS (first numerology) for determining the number of BDs based on an SCS associated with one of the scheduling cells],
determine a blind decoding (BD)/or control channel element (CCE) (BD/CCE) budget based on the numerology [i.e. SCS/subcarrier spacing]; and perform BD operations on a scheduling cell based on the BD/CCE budget [Figs. 3, 6, 8A, Sections 0041, 0100, 0129, 0159: The search space including control channel element (CCE) arrangements and UE perform blind decoding/detecting (BD). In the scheme, the SCS (numerology) of the PCell (i.e. first cell) is used to determine the number of BDs and in which the UE search within the determined BD/CCE budget. The UE determine a number of BDs and/or CCEs, based on the SCS of one of the cells. Determining a number of blind detections (BDs) based on the first SCS (i.e. numerology)],
and interface circuitry [Transceiver-1210] coupled to the processing circuitry to [Fig. 12, Sections 0119, 0124: The UE include a processor-1202 and a transceiver-1210 in direct communication with each other via one or more buses. The transceiver include Rf unit configured to communicate with other devices, such as the BSs]
Although Takeda discloses the UE process/generate a capability report that includes number of scheduling cells that UE support for transmission to a base station (BS) (see 0087, 0124) it does not explicitly state transmit the indication of the capability of the UE.
However, Lee teaches transmit the indication of the capability of the UE [Sections 0076, 0077, 0078: In general, a UE has a capability/resource budget for blind detection (BD) (i.e. blind decoding) and CCE processing, respectively and across a MCG (master cell group) and SCG (second cell group). A UE transmit, to a first BS capability information indicating the blind decoding/CCE per cell group in carrier aggregation; and capability information provide a first resource budget associated with the first cell group and a second resource budget associated with the second cell group. Allocation/scheduling of resources for first cell group and second cell group is based on capability information of UE and budget includes number of blind decoding (BD) and number of CCEs supported by UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Takeda relating to UE configured to support and have capability for the scheduling of multiple cells having at least two different SCS (i.e. 15KHz, 30KHz), process/generate its capability report to transmit to base station; and UE determine BE/CCE budget based on numerology/SCS with the teaching of Lee relating to UE transmitting to BS capability information indicating BD/CCE and budget associated with first cell group and second cell group including capability information indicating support for cell groups (MCG and SCG) (see also 0091). By combining the methods/systems, the UE can transmit capability indication information to BS without undue experimentation thereby enabling the BS to further communicate and signal information to UE based on capability information as suggested by Lee.
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 1, wherein the BD/CCE budget comprises a first number of candidates for BD and a second number of CCEs for channel estimation [Figs. 3, 12, Sections 0045, 0056, 0084, 0100: The number of BDs the UE performs for example the number of PDCCH candidates (CCEs) the UE monitors. For example, channel state information enable a UE to estimate control information include resource assignments. The UE monitor for the control channel information by searching a number of PDCCH candidates/number of blind decodes (BDs); the search parameters indicate a maximum number of PDCCH candidates (CCEs). PDCCH candidates in which the UE may search within the determined BD/CCE budget].
As to Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to [Fig. 12, Sections 0119: The UE include a processor-1202]:
identify the numerology [i.e. Subcarrier Spacing/SCS] based on a determination that the numerology is a lowest configured numerology of the set of cells [Sections 0046, 0147: For example, the UE configured to determine lower SCS (i.e. numerology) of the scheduling cells' SCSs. In one aspect, determining the number of BDs includes selecting a lower SCS between the first SCS and second SCS].
As to Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 3, wherein the BD/CCE budget is a first BD/CCE budget for BD operations to identify multi-cell scheduling downlink control information (DCI) formats and single-cell scheduling DCI formats [Sections 0042, 0044, 0046: The DCI indicates cross-carrier scheduling (i.e. multi-cell scheduling). A CA system utilizes cross-carrier scheduling and a single scheduling cell scheduled by DCI. Monitoring for control channel information by performing a number of BDs, UE monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS, and ensure that the DCI can be successfully decoded or detected within the determined BD/CCE limits],
and the processing circuitry is further to [Fig. 12, Sections 0119: The UE include a processor-1202]: determine a second BD/CCE budget for BD operations to the identify the single-cell scheduling DCI formats [Sections 0083, 0100, 0147, 0148: However, it will be understood that other configurations are also contemplated by the present disclosure, such as a single scheduling cell. PDCCH candidates, UE search within the determined BD/CCE budget of the scheduled cell. The UE determines a number of BDs based on second SCS (i.e. second numerology). The UE monitors, based on the number of BDs, for DCI in the second search space].
As to Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 4, wherein the numerology is a first numerology [i.e. SCS/subcarrier spacing] and the processing circuitry is further to [Fig. 12, Sections 0038, 0044, 0119: A 5G NR system implemented to use scalable numerology such as subcarrier spacing (SCS). The cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example PCell have an SCS of 15 kHz (i.e. first numerology). The UE include a processor-1202]:
identify a second numerology [i.e. second SCS] that is associated with a first cell of the set of cells [Section 0108: For example, a first search space (i.e. having first SCS) and a second search space (i.e. having second SCS) are performed by the UE in the first cell], wherein the first cell is to be scheduled by a single-cell scheduling DCI format; and determine the second BD/CCE budget based on the second numerology [Sections 0044, 0100, 0147: A CA system utilizes cross-carrier scheduling and a single scheduling cell scheduled by DCI. PDCCH candidates, UE search within the determined BD/CCE budget of the scheduled cell. The UE determines a number of BDs based on second SCS (i.e. second numerology)].
As to Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to [Fig. 12, Sections 0119: The UE include a processor-1202]: identify the numerology [i.e. Subcarrier Spacing/SCS] based on a determination that the numerology is a highest configured numerology of the set of cells [Sections 0046, 0092: For example, the UE may be configured to determine the number of BDs based on a higher SCS of the scheduling cells' SCSs. According to aspects of the present disclosure, the UE configured to determine the number of BDs based on the higher SCS].
As to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 6, wherein the BD/CCE budget is a first BD/CCE budget for BD operations to identify multi-cell scheduling (DCI) formats Sections 0042, 0044, 0046: The DCI indicates cross-carrier scheduling (i.e. multi-cell scheduling). A CA system utilizes cross-carrier scheduling and a single scheduling cell scheduled by DCI. Monitoring for control channel information by performing a number of BDs, UE monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS, and ensure that the DCI can be successfully decoded or detected within the determined BD/CCE limits],
and the processing circuitry is further to [Fig. 12, Sections 0119: The UE include a processor-1202]: determine a second BD/CCE budget for BD operations to identify both the multi-cell scheduling DCI formats and single-cell scheduling DCI formats [Sections 0042, 0100, 0147, 0148: The UE monitor for DCI on a scheduling cell, where the DCI indicates cross-carrier scheduling (i.e. multi-cell scheduling); in addition, DCI on the scheduling cell (i.e. single cell scheduling) on the scheduling cell. PDCCH candidates, UE search within the determined BD/CCE budget of the scheduled cell. The UE determines a number of BDs based on second SCS (i.e. second numerology). The UE monitors, based on the number of BDs, for DCI in the second search space],
and determine a third BD/CCE budget for BD operations to identify the single-cell scheduling DCI formats [Sections 0008, 0083, 0114, 0129: Third configuration indicating a third SCS associated with a number of downlink control information (DCI) blind detections (BDs) in the first search space and the second search space. However, it will be understood that other configurations are also contemplated by the present disclosure, such as a single scheduling cell. A third configuration indicating number of DCI BDs. Monitor for DCI on different cells associated with different SCSs, the UE determine a number of BDs and/or CCEs].
As to Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE] of claim 7, wherein the numerology [i.e. SCS/subcarrier spacing] is a first numerology and the processing circuitry is further to [Fig. 12, Sections 0038, 0044, 0119: A 5G NR system implemented to use scalable numerology such as subcarrier spacing (SCS). The cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example PCell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The UE include a processor-1202]:
identify a second numerology based on a determination that the second numerology is a lowest configured numerology of the set of cells [Sections 0046, 0147: For example, the UE configured to determine the number of BDs based on a lower SCS of the scheduling cells' SCSs. In one aspect, determining the number of BDs includes selecting a lower SCS between the first SCS/the second SCS];
determine the second BD/CCE budget based on the second numerology; and determine the third BD/CCE budget based on a third numerology that is associated with a first cell of the set of cells, wherein the first cell is to be scheduled by a single-cell scheduling DCI format [Sections 0008, 0083, 0129, 0147: Third configuration indicating a third SCS (third numerology) associated with a number of downlink control information (DCI) blind detections (BDs) in the first search space and the second search space. However, it will be understood that other configurations are also contemplated by the present disclosure, such as a single scheduling cell. Monitor for DCI on different cells associated with different SCSs, the UE determine a number of BDs/CCEs. The UE determines a number of BDs based on second SCS (i.e. second numerology)].
As to Claim 9. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the set of cells includes the scheduling cell [Figs. 6-7, Sections 0044, 0046: In 5G NR, the scheduling cell(s) (Scells/PCells) associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs). For example, the UE configured to determine the number of BDs and monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS].
As to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a method comprising [Section 0015: Embodiments of the present invention will become apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art, and exemplary embodiments discussed below as method embodiments]:
generating, for transmission to a base station, an indication of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to support multi-cell scheduling [Sections 0087, 0124: The number of scheduled cells as shown where R represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report. UE process capability report for outbound transmission to base station (BS)] associated with a set of cells having at least two different sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) [Figs. 6-7 (Depicts Schedule cells Different SCSs numerology), Sections 0044, 0046, 0087: In 5G NR, the scheduling cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example Scell have an SCS of 30 kHz, and Pcell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The UE configured to determine number of BDs and monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS. The number of scheduled cells as shown where R may represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report (i.e. indication of capability) of the UE],
wherein the multi-cell scheduling is to use a single downlink control information (DCI) to schedule transmissions on respective cells of the set of cells [Sections 0084, 0089, 0135: The UE monitor for control channel information (e.g., DCI) on the scheduling cells. However, in some aspects such as CA (carrier aggregation) the DCI transmitted on scheduling cells (e.g., PCell and SCell); further, the two or more scheduling cells associated with different SCSs; the BS transmits the DCI (i.e. single DCI) such that it can be decoded by the UE. Thus, monitoring for DCI to schedule data transmissions on a scheduled cell may include multiple scheduling cells and scheduling cells may have different SCS];
determining a reference cell [i.e. one of the cells/selected or serving cell] from the set of cells based on a numerology [i.e. Subcarrier Spacing/SCS] of the reference cell [Sections 0038, 0044, 0089: A 5G NR system implemented to use scalable numerology such as subcarrier spacing (SCS). The cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example PCell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The PCell (reference cell) have first SCS (first numerology) for determining the number of BDs based on an SCS associated with one of the scheduling cells],
determining a blind decoding (BD)/or control channel element (CCE) (BD/CCE) budget based on the numerology [i.e. SCS/subcarrier spacing]; and performing BD operations on a scheduling cell based on the BD/CCE budget [Figs. 3, 6, 8A, Sections 0041, 0100, 0129, 0159: The search space including control channel element (CCE) arrangements and UE perform blind decoding/detecting (BD). In the scheme, the SCS (numerology) of the PCell (i.e. first cell) is used to determine the number of BDs and in which the UE search within the determined BD/CCE budget. The UE determine a number of BDs and/or CCEs, based on the SCS of one of the cells. Determining a number of blind detections (BDs) based on the first SCS (i.e. numerology)],
Although Takeda discloses the UE process/generate a capability report that includes number of scheduling cells that UE support for transmission to a base station (BS) (see 0087, 0124) it does not explicitly state transmit the indication of the capability.
However, Lee teaches transmit the indication of the capability [Sections 0076, 0077, 0078: In general, a UE has a capability/resource budget for blind detection (BD) (i.e. blind decoding) and CCE processing, respectively and across a MCG (master cell group) and SCG (second cell group). A UE transmit, to a first BS capability information indicating the blind decoding/CCE per cell group in carrier aggregation; and capability information provide a first resource budget associated with the first cell group and a second resource budget associated with the second cell group. Allocation/scheduling of resources for first cell group and second cell group is based on capability information of UE and budget includes number of blind decoding (BD) and number of CCEs supported by UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Takeda relating to UE configured to support and have capability for the scheduling of multiple cells having at least two different SCS (i.e. 15KHz, 30KHz), process/generate its capability report to transmit to base station; and UE determine BE/CCE budget based on numerology/SCS with the teaching of Lee relating to UE transmitting to BS capability information indicating BD/CCE and budget associated with first cell group and second cell group including capability information indicating support for cell groups (MCG and SCG) (see also 0091). By combining the methods/systems, the UE can transmit capability indication information to BS without undue experimentation thereby enabling the BS to further communicate and signal information to UE based on capability information as suggested by Lee.
As to Claim 11. (Original) Takeda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the BD/CCE budget comprises a first number of candidates for BD and a second number of CCEs for channel estimation [Figs. 3, 12, Sections 0045, 0056, 0084, 0100: The number of BDs the UE performs for example the number of PDCCH candidates (CCEs) the UE monitors. For example, channel state information enable a UE to estimate control information include resource assignments. The UE monitor for the control channel information by searching a number of PDCCH candidates/number of blind decodes (BDs); the search parameters indicate a maximum number of PDCCH candidates (CCEs). PDCCH candidates in which the UE may search within the determined BD/CCE budget].
As to Claim 12. (Original) Takeda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein identifying the reference cell [i.e. one of the cells/selected or serving cell] based on the numerology [i.e. Subcarrier Spacing/SCS] comprises: identifying the reference cell based on a determination that the numerology is a highest configured numerology of the set of cells [Sections 0077, 0089, 0092: In some aspects, a serving cell (i.e. PCell or reference cell) having a higher SCS. The PCell (reference cell) have first SCS (first numerology) for determining the number of BDs based on an SCS associated with one of the scheduling cells. According to aspects of the present disclosure, the UE configured to determine the number of BDs based on the higher SCS].
As to Claim 13. (Original) Takeda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein identifying the reference cell [i.e. one of the cells/selected or serving cell] based on the numerology [i.e. Subcarrier Spacing/SCS] comprises: identifying the reference cell based on a determination that the numerology is a lowest configured numerology of the set of cells
[Sections 0046, 0089, 0092: : For example, the UE configured to determine the number of BDs based on a lower SCS of the scheduling cells' SCSs. The PCell (reference cell) have first SCS (first numerology) for determining the number of BDs based on an SCS associated with one of the scheduling cells. The UE determine the number of BDs for the first cell based on the SCS which is the lower SCS].
As to Claim 14. (Original) Takeda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the set of cells includes at least two cells with the numerology and the method further comprises [Figs. 6-7 (Depicts Schedule cells Different SCSs numerology), Sections 0044, 0046: In 5G NR, the scheduling cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example Scell have an SCS of 30 kHz, and Pcell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The UE configured to determine number of BDs and monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS]:
selecting the reference cell from the at least two cells based on network signaling or a predetermined configuration [Sections 0042, 0046, 0092: A BS (i.e. network) may transmit control channel information (i.e. signal) indicating scheduling grant or resource allocations. The UE configured to determine DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS. The number of BDs per monitoring period (e.g., per slot) performed by the UE for DCI is determined for each scheduled cell, but is based on the SCS of the scheduling cell specifically configured by RRC signaling (higher layer signaling form base station)].
As to Claim 15. (Original) Takeda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the numerology is a first numerology, the set of cells includes a first subset of one or more cells having the first numerology and a second subset of one or more cells having a second numerology, the reference cell is a first reference cell selected from the first subset, and the method further comprises: selecting a second reference cell from the second subset [Sections 0048, 0063, 0100, 0102: A BS support one or multiple (e.g., two, three, four, and the like) cells. The network supporting carrier aggregation (CA) of component carriers (CCs) associated with various subcarrier spacings (SCSs) and cross-carrier scheduling between serving cells having different SCSs (i.e. numerologies). In the scheme, the first subset of BDs in the Pcell, and a second subset of BDs in the Scell in which each cell have different SCSs (numerology). The BDs in the subsets associated with the cells].
As to Claim 16. (Original) Takeda discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the BD/CCE budget is a first BD/CCE budget and the method further comprises [Sections 0046, 0100: Monitoring for control channel information (e.g., DCI) by performing a number of BDs, the UE can monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS, and ensure that the DCI can be successfully decoded or detected within the determined BD and/or CCE limits. PDCCH candidates in which the UE may search within the determined BD/CCE budget]:
determining a second BD/CCE budget based on the second numerology; and performing BD operations on the scheduling cell based on the second BD/CCE budget [Sections 0042, 0147-0148: The UE monitor for DCI on a scheduling cell, where the DCI indicates cross-carrier scheduling (i.e. multi-cell scheduling); In addition, the UE monitor for DCI on the scheduling cell for self-scheduling (i.e. single cell scheduling) on the scheduling cell. The UE determines a number of BDs based on second SCS (i.e. second numerology). The UE monitors, based on the number of BDs, for DCI in the second search space].
As to Claim 17. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses an apparatus [i.e. BS-Base Station] comprising: processing circuitry to [Fig. 11, Section 0110: BS include a processor-1102]:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of one or more capabilities of the UE associated with support of scheduling [Sections 0087, 0124: The number of scheduled cells as shown where R represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report. UE process capability report for outbound transmission to base station (BS)] using a same downlink control information (DCI), co-scheduled cells having at least two different sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) [Figs. 6-7 (Depicts Schedule cells Different SCSs numerology), Sections 0044, 0046, 0087, 0135: In 5G NR, the scheduling cells associated with different subcarrier spacings (SCSs); for example Scell have an SCS of 30 kHz, and Pcell have an SCS of 15 kHz. The UE configured to determine number of BDs and monitor for DCI on scheduling cells having different SCS. The number of scheduled cells as shown where R may represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report (i.e. indication of capability) of the UE. Further, the two or more scheduling cells associated with different SCSs; the BS transmits the DCI (i.e. single DCI) such that it can be decoded by the UE];
and generate, based on the indication of the one or more capabilities, control information [i.e. DCI] associated with a set of co-scheduled cells [Sections 0005, 0086: Carrier aggregation (CA) is a capability, in which two or more component carriers (CCs) may be used such as PCell and SCell; in CA communication, cross-carrier scheduling used, whereby the UE monitors for downlink communication information (DCI). The UE monitor for scheduling grants (e.g., DCI) and further based on a total number of scheduled cells, a number of cells scheduled, and a capability of the UE],
wherein the control information [i.e. DCI] includes configuration information to configure the set of co-scheduled cells a first DCI to schedule uplink or downlink transmissions for the UE in at least two cells of the set of co-scheduled cells Sections 0041, 0071, 0135: A BS schedule a UE for UL communications and DL communications by transmitting scheduling grants in the form of downlink control information (DCI). The BS and the UE communicate using a carrier aggregation (CA) scheme such that the UE can receive DL (downlink) data and transmit UL (uplink) data on two different serving cells: the BS schedule the UE via cross-carrier scheduling. Further, the two or more scheduling cells associated with different SCSs; the BS transmits the DCI (i.e. single DCI) such that it can be decoded by the UE],
the control information to be transmitted to the UE [Fig. 11, Sections 0061, 0135: After establishing a connection, the BS schedule the UE for UL and/or DL communications; the BS transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE transmitted in the form of DL control information (DCI). DCI to schedule data transmissions on a scheduled cell include multiple scheduling cells and scheduling cells],
and interface circuitry [Transceiver-1110] coupled to the processing circuitry to [Fig. 11, Sections 0110: The BS include a processor-1102 and transceiver-1110 that may be in direct communication with each other, for example via one or more buses]:
Although Takeda discloses the UE process/generate a capability report that includes number of scheduling cells that UE support for transmission to a base station (BS) (see 0087, 0124) it does not explicitly state receive the indication;
However, Lee teaches receive the indication [Sections 0076, 0077, 0078: In general, a UE has a capability/resource budget for blind detection (BD) (i.e. blind decoding) and CCE processing, respectively and across a MCG (master cell group) and SCG (second cell group). A UE transmit, to a first BS capability information indicating the blind decoding/CCE per cell group in carrier aggregation; and capability information provide a first resource budget associated with the first cell group and a second resource budget associated with the second cell group. Allocation/scheduling of resources for first cell group and second cell group is based on capability information of UE and budget includes number of blind decoding (BD) and number of CCEs supported by UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Takeda relating to UE configured to support and have capability for the scheduling of multiple cells having at least two different SCS (i.e. 15KHz, 30KHz), process/generate its capability report to transmit to base station; and UE determine BE/CCE budget based on numerology/SCS with the teaching of Lee relating to UE transmitting to BS in which the BS receive capability information indicating BD/CCE and budget associated with first cell group and second cell group including capability information indicating support for cell groups (MCG and SCG) (see also 0091). By combining the methods/systems, the UE can transmit capability indication information to BS without undue experimentation thereby enabling the BS to further communicate and signal information to UE based on capability information as suggested by Lee.
As to Claim 18. (Original) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the indication of the one or more capabilities is to indicate a number of different SCSs the UE is capable of supporting for co-scheduled cells [Figs. 6-7, Fig. 12, Sections 0086, 0087, 0089, 0124: The UE monitor by performing BDs for each scheduled cell based on SCS and capability of the UE. The number of scheduled cells as shown where R may represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report (i.e. indication of capability) of the UE. Further, the two or more scheduling cells for processing PDCCH candidates associated with different SCSs. UE’s communicate with the BSs in which the Rf unit configured to process UE capability report for outbound transmissions].
As to Claim 19. (Original) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the number is a first number of different SCSs the UE is capable of supporting for up to a first maximum number of co-scheduled cells and the indication of the one or more capabilities is to further indicate a second number of different SCSs the UE is capable of supporting for up to a second maximum number of co-scheduled cells [Sections 0086-0089, 0091: The UE monitor by performing BDs for each scheduled cell based on SCS and capability of the UE. The number of scheduled cells as shown where R may represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report. Similarly, each of the second cells associated with SCS and a maximum number of BDs with a SCS. Further, the two or more scheduling cells for processing PDCCH candidates associated with different SCSs. For example, cross-carrier scheme in which one or more of the scheduled cells scheduled associated with different SCSs].
As to Claim 20. (Original) Takeda discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the indication of the one or more capabilities comprises an indication of one or more sets of SCS combinations the UE is capable of supporting for co-scheduled cells with the number of different SCSs [Figs. 6-7, Fig. 12, Sections 0086, 0087, 0089, 0124: The UE monitor by performing BDs for each scheduled cell based on SCS and capability of the UE. The number of scheduled cells as shown where R represent the number of scheduling cells that the UE support based on a capability report. Two or more scheduling cells for processing PDCCH candidates associated with different SCSs. UE’s configured to communicate with the BSs in which the Rf unit configured to process UE capability report for outbound transmissions].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: NIMBALKER et al. US 20230353321.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
September 16, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477