Specification Objections
Paragraph [00104] of the Specification is objected to because of the following informality: On two occasions, the paragraph says, “printed circuit board connectors 1482, 1483, 1483, 1485,” where 1483 is repeated twice. The examiner assumes these should read as “printed circuit board connectors 1482, 1483, 1484, 1485.” Please correct, so the numbered references correctly direct the reader to the appropriate aspects of the Figure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12, 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leung (US-20240191497-A1), hereafter referred to as Leung.
Regarding Claim 1, Leung teaches a battery system (Fig. 2) comprising: a housing (“Modular Interconnectable Housing Structures,” Title; “said structure comprising an enclosure having wall components which define an internal volume within the enclosure separated from an exterior of the enclosure by the wall components,” Abstract); one or more covers (“preferably the wall components include a veneer,” paragraph 116); one or more batteries (“the wall components are structural and contain battery cells,” paragraph 160; Figs. 2, 32, 36, 37); one or more inverters (“each structure includes structures for electrical interconnection to adjacent battery modules. In preferred forms, each structure includes additional electrical functionality. In one form, the additional electrical functionality takes the form of a power point or light switch or light or optional inverter for alternating current or for 3-phase power,” paragraph 354); a transfer power rod (“Tracking Rail Housing Encapsulating the Bus Bar for a larger cell array,” paragraph 321; Figs. 32, 36, 37); and a control module (“the frame components include a processing device to impart intelligence to control of the components of the wall structure,” paragraph 88);
wherein said housing comprises one or more utility bays; wherein said utility bays are configured to receive said one or more batteries and said one or more inverters (“the wall components are structural and contain battery cells,” paragraph 160; “each structure includes additional electrical functionality. In one form, the additional electrical functionality takes the form of a power point or light switch or light or optional inverter,” paragraph 354; Figs. 2, 32, 36, 37); wherein said one or more inverters are configured to convert energy stored in said one or more batteries to alternating current (AC) power (“optional inverter for alternating current,” paragraph 354); wherein said one or more batteries are configured to be charged by an existing power source (“the enclosure including electrically conductive components for communication of electrical signals from the internal volume to the exterior of the wall components of the enclosure,” Abstract; “the electrically conductive components are rails,” paragraph 148; “the rails are charging rails,” paragraph 150); and
wherein each of said one or more batteries are configured to releasably engage with said transfer power rod, such that if one of said one or more batteries is disconnected from said transfer power rod, the other batteries of said one or more batteries that remain connected to the transfer power rod continue providing power to said one or more inverters [“each battery module including an electrical storage component, a mechanical interlock component for mechanical connection to adjacent battery modules,” paragraphs 268-270; “Expander Bar—capabilities through the example of 2×12V Modules to make 24V Interconnected housing structure. The Positive/Negative terminals are uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use such that the user will not require prior knowledge of positive or negative terminals. As the item will either compatibly interconnect or not, for the given designed purpose,” paragraph 320; “This scenario depicts the example of a 48V array (4×12V modules) with the Tracking rail. Where the advantage of determining the power outlet dock into the broad range vertical position assists user convenience for connectivity,” paragraph 884; “The ACS allows the cells to safely added/connected/expanded as part of the uninterrupted power supply source,” paragraph 515; Figs. 31, 36, and 37].
Regarding Claim 2, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein said existing power source is one or more renewable power sources (“Preferably the electrical generation component is a solar cell,” paragraph 172).
Regarding Claim 3, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 2, wherein said one or more renewable power sources are selected from the renewable power sources consisting of wind and solar (“Preferably the electrical generation component is a solar cell,” paragraph 172).
Regarding Claim 4, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein each of said one or more covers have an open position and a closed position, such that when said one or more covers are in said open position, said control module, said one or more inverters, and said one or more batteries are accessible (“the veneer is designed for selective removal in specific locations e.g. at the tracking rails, at the parallel and single charge bus bars for locating the horizontal connection/tracking rail charge outlet,” paragraph 130; Figs. 14 and 15).
Regarding Claim 5, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein each of said one or more batteries comprise a battery connector, such that there are one or more battery connectors (“each battery module including an electrical storage component, a mechanical interlock component for mechanical connection to adjacent battery modules,” paragraphs 268-270); wherein each of said one or more utility bays comprise a bay connector, such that there are one or more bay connectors; wherein said one or more battery connectors are configured to matingly and removeably engage with, respectively, said one or more bay connectors (“conducting clasps for interlinking the battery modules,” paragraph 288; Figs. 6 and 17).
Regarding Claim 12, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 4, wherein at least one of said one or more covers hingedly engages said housing (“Aesthetic tiles have movable flaps/patches/plugs,” paragraph 573; Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 13, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein said control module is configured to control a plurality of operations of said battery system (“Also disclosed is an asset control system for controlling the operation of assets; said system including a plurality of modular housing structures formed into at least one built structure; the modules of the housing structures in communication with each other by means of communication modules housed within said plurality of modular housing structures; at least one of the communication modules housed within the built structure also in communication with a server thereby to communicate status of the modules within the built structure to the server,” Abstract).
Regarding Claim 15, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein said housing further comprises a plurality of mounting holes and electrical wiring conduits (Fig. 16, which shows power outlets for the housing structure); wherein said housing is configured to be mounted to a structure (Fig. 43, which notes that the housing can include “structural fastening points to attach to larger existing structure).
Regarding Claim 19, Leung teaches a battery system comprising: two or more battery system units (Figs. 12-16, among others, show two or more battery system units connected modularly); wherein each of said two or more battery system units each comprises: a housing (“Modular Interconnectable Housing Structures,” Title; “said structure comprising an enclosure having wall components which define an internal volume within the enclosure separated from an exterior of the enclosure by the wall components,” Abstract); one or more covers (“preferably the wall components include a veneer,” paragraph 116); one or more batteries (“the wall components are structural and contain battery cells,” paragraph 160; Figs. 2, 32, 36, 37); one or more inverters (“each structure includes structures for electrical interconnection to adjacent battery modules. In preferred forms, each structure includes additional electrical functionality. In one form, the additional electrical functionality takes the form of a power point or light switch or light or optional inverter for alternating current or for 3-phase power,” paragraph 354); a transfer power rod (“Tracking Rail Housing Encapsulating the Bus Bar for a larger cell array,” paragraph 321; Figs. 32, 36, 37); and a control module (“the frame components include a processing device to impart intelligence to control of the components of the wall structure,” paragraph 88);
wherein said housing comprises one or more utility bays; wherein said one or more utility bays are configured to receive said one or more batteries and said one or more inverters (“the wall components are structural and contain battery cells,” paragraph 160; “each structure includes additional electrical functionality. In one form, the additional electrical functionality takes the form of a power point or light switch or light or optional inverter,” paragraph 354; Figs. 2, 32, 36, 37); wherein said one or more inverters are configured to convert energy stored in said one or more batteries to alternating current (AC) power (“optional inverter for alternating current,” paragraph 354);
wherein said one or more batteries are configured to be charged by an existing power source (“the enclosure including electrically conductive components for communication of electrical signals from the internal volume to the exterior of the wall components of the enclosure,” Abstract; “the electrically conductive components are rails,” paragraph 148; “the rails are charging rails,” paragraph 150);
wherein each of said one or more batteries are configured to releasably engage with said transfer power rod, such that if one of said one or more batteries is disconnected from said transfer power rod, the other batteries of said one or more batteries that remain connected to the transfer power rod continue provide power to said one or more inverters; and wherein each of said two or more battery system units is electrically connected to at least one other of said two or more battery system units [“each battery module including an electrical storage component, a mechanical interlock component for mechanical connection to adjacent battery modules,” paragraphs 268-270; “Expander Bar—capabilities through the example of 2×12V Modules to make 24V Interconnected housing structure. The Positive/Negative terminals are uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use such that the user will not require prior knowledge of positive or negative terminals. As the item will either compatibly interconnect or not, for the given designed purpose,” paragraph 320; “This scenario depicts the example of a 48V array (4×12V modules) with the Tracking rail. Where the advantage of determining the power outlet dock into the broad range vertical position assists user convenience for connectivity,” paragraph 884; “The ACS allows the cells to safely added/connected/expanded as part of the uninterrupted power supply source,” paragraph 515; Figs. 31, 36, and 37].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung in view of Reineccius et al. (US-20160093843-A1), hereafter referred to as Reineccius.
Regarding Claim 6, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 5, but Leung does not specifically teach that each of said one or more batteries has a lever that is configured to disengage, respectively, said one or more batteries from said one or more utility bays, when actuated, such that said one or more batteries may be removed from said one or more utility bays.
However, Reineccius teaches a modular battery system wherein the batteries are housed in utility bays and can be releasably disengaged. Therein, Reineccius teaches that each of said one or more batteries has a lever that is configured to disengage, respectively, said one or more batteries from said one or more utility bays, when actuated, such that said one or more batteries may be removed from said one or more utility bays (“In one embodiment, each battery cell compartment 102 may have a corresponding mechanical actuator 106 to allow each battery cell compartment 102 to be independently placed in the engaged or disengaged position,” paragraph 32; “the mechanical actuator 106 may include one or more of: a lever; a handle,” paragraph 32; “The mechanical actuator 106 may move the battery cell compartment 102, a battery cell 110 within the battery cell compartment 102,” paragraph 32). Reineccius teaches the benefit, “the battery pack may include cell movers (cell actuators or translators) to allow cell-by-cell handling with minimum force and increased safety by avoiding installer contact with battery cells” (paragraph 21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system taught by Leung and modify its disengagement component between the batteries and their respective utility bays to disengage via the actuating lever design in order allow for handling with minimum force and increased safety, as taught by Reineccius.
Regarding Claim 20, Leung teaches a battery system comprising: a housing (“Modular Interconnectable Housing Structures,” Title; “said structure comprising an enclosure having wall components which define an internal volume within the enclosure separated from an exterior of the enclosure by the wall components,” Abstract); one or more covers (“preferably the wall components include a veneer,” paragraph 116); one or more batteries (“the wall components are structural and contain battery cells,” paragraph 160; Figs. 2, 32, 36, 37); one or more inverters (“each structure includes structures for electrical interconnection to adjacent battery modules. In preferred forms, each structure includes additional electrical functionality. In one form, the additional electrical functionality takes the form of a power point or light switch or light or optional inverter for alternating current or for 3-phase power,” paragraph 354); a transfer power rod (“Tracking Rail Housing Encapsulating the Bus Bar for a larger cell array,” paragraph 321; Figs. 32, 36, 37); and a control module (“the frame components include a processing device to impart intelligence to control of the components of the wall structure,” paragraph 88);
wherein said housing comprises one or more utility bays; wherein said utility bays are configured to receive said one or more batteries and said one or more inverters (“the wall components are structural and contain battery cells,” paragraph 160; “each structure includes additional electrical functionality. In one form, the additional electrical functionality takes the form of a power point or light switch or light or optional inverter,” paragraph 354; Figs. 2, 32, 36, 37); wherein said one or more inverters are configured to convert energy stored in said one or more batteries to alternating current (AC) power (“optional inverter for alternating current,” paragraph 354); wherein said one or more batteries are configured to be charged from a renewable power source (“the enclosure including electrically conductive components for communication of electrical signals from the internal volume to the exterior of the wall components of the enclosure,” Abstract; “the electrically conductive components are rails,” paragraph 148; “the rails are charging rails,” paragraph 150; “Preferably the electrical generation component is a solar cell,” paragraph 172);
wherein each of said one or more batteries are configured to releasably engage with said transfer power rod, such that if one of said one or more batteries is disconnected from said transfer power rod, the other batteries of said one or more batteries that remain connected to the transfer power rod continue provide power to said one or more inverters [“each battery module including an electrical storage component, a mechanical interlock component for mechanical connection to adjacent battery modules,” paragraphs 268-270; “Expander Bar—capabilities through the example of 2×12V Modules to make 24V Interconnected housing structure. The Positive/Negative terminals are uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use such that the user will not require prior knowledge of positive or negative terminals. As the item will either compatibly interconnect or not, for the given designed purpose,” paragraph 320; “This scenario depicts the example of a 48V array (4×12V modules) with the Tracking rail. Where the advantage of determining the power outlet dock into the broad range vertical position assists user convenience for connectivity,” paragraph 884; “The ACS allows the cells to safely added/connected/expanded as part of the uninterrupted power supply source,” paragraph 515; Figs. 31, 36, and 37]; wherein each of said one or more covers have an open position and a closed position, such that when said one or more covers are in said open position, said control module, said one or more inverters, and said one or more batteries are accessible (“the veneer is designed for selective removal in specific locations e.g. at the tracking rails, at the parallel and single charge bus bars for locating the horizontal connection/tracking rail charge outlet,” paragraph 130; Figs. 14 and 15);
wherein each of said one or more batteries comprise a battery connector, such that there are one or more battery connectors (“each battery module including an electrical storage component, a mechanical interlock component for mechanical connection to adjacent battery modules,” paragraphs 268-270); wherein each of said one or more utility bays comprise a bay connector, such that there are one or more bay connectors; wherein said one or more battery connectors are configured to matingly and removeably engage with, respectively, said one or more bay connectors (“conducting clasps for interlinking the battery modules,” paragraph 288; Figs. 6 and 17);
wherein said transfer power rod comprises a housing, (“Tracking Rail Housing Encapsulating the Bus Bar for a larger cell array,” paragraph 321; Fig. 32, where the rail housing also houses the bus bars, i.e., the conductive rails), two rails (Figs. 38 and 39 show two rails on either side of the modules), and one or more connectors (“Rail terminal plugs are mechanically designed to be only be compatible with mounts to ensure safe assembly,” paragraph 850); wherein each of said one or more batteries comprises a transfer power rod connector, such that there are one or more transfer power rod connectors; wherein said one or more transfer power rod connectors are configured to matingly engage with, respectively, said one or more connectors of said transfer power rod [“The example demonstrates connecting two standard modules (for example the cell could be 12V/24V/48V) joined to make an array. The expander bars designed for specific voltages, where the electrical conducting bar is electrically insulated from the external bulk material. The Positive/Negative terminals uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use,” paragraph 842; Fig. 31];
wherein said one or more batteries are configured to engage said transfer power rod without requiring that any individual wires to be stripped and manually connected [“The example demonstrates connecting two standard modules (for example the cell could be 12V/24V/48V) joined to make an array. The expander bars designed for specific voltages, where the electrical conducting bar is electrically insulated from the external bulk material. The Positive/Negative terminals uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use,” paragraph 842; Fig. 31]; and wherein said control module is configured to control a plurality of operations of said battery system (“Also disclosed is an asset control system for controlling the operation of assets; said system including a plurality of modular housing structures formed into at least one built structure; the modules of the housing structures in communication with each other by means of communication modules housed within said plurality of modular housing structures; at least one of the communication modules housed within the built structure also in communication with a server thereby to communicate status of the modules within the built structure to the server,” Abstract).
Leung does not specify that each of said one or more batteries has a lever that is configured to disengage, respectively, said one or more batteries from said one or more utility bays, when actuated, such that said one or more batteries may be removed from said one or more utility bays. However, Reineccius teaches a modular battery system wherein the batteries are housed in utility bays and can be releasably disengaged. Therein, Reineccius teaches that each of said one or more batteries has a lever that is configured to disengage, respectively, said one or more batteries from said one or more utility bays, when actuated, such that said one or more batteries may be removed from said one or more utility bays (“In one embodiment, each battery cell compartment 102 may have a corresponding mechanical actuator 106 to allow each battery cell compartment 102 to be independently placed in the engaged or disengaged position,” paragraph 32; “the mechanical actuator 106 may include one or more of: a lever; a handle,” paragraph 32; “The mechanical actuator 106 may move the battery cell compartment 102, a battery cell 110 within the battery cell compartment 102,” paragraph 32). Reineccius teaches the benefit, “the battery pack may include cell movers (cell actuators or translators) to allow cell-by-cell handling with minimum force and increased safety by avoiding installer contact with battery cells” (paragraph 21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system taught by Leung and modify its disengagement component between the batteries and their respective utility bays to disengage via the actuating lever design in order allow for handling with minimum force and increased safety, as taught by Reineccius.
Leung also does not specify that the rails in the power transfer rod be made of copper. However, Leung does specify that another conductive component of the housing be made of copper (“Choice of interlinking all battery bricks through use of conduction claps. The clasps are of varying copper diameter relative to the voltage demand and conductivity of material nominated e.g copper, aluminium or equivalent,” paragraph 557).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system taught by Leung and modify the rails to be made of copper like the other conductive component taught by Leung. Please see MPEP § 2144.07: “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp.”
Claim 7, 8, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Leung.
Regarding Claim 7, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein said transfer power rod comprises a housing (“Tracking Rail Housing Encapsulating the Bus Bar for a larger cell array,” paragraph 321; Fig. 32, where the rail housing also houses the bus bars, i.e., the conductive rails), two rails (Figs. 38 and 39 show two rails on either side of the modules), and one or more connectors (“Rail terminal plugs are mechanically designed to be only be compatible with mounts to ensure safe assembly,” paragraph 850).
Leung does not specify that the rails be made of copper. However, Leung does specify that another conductive component of the housing be made of copper (“Choice of interlinking all battery bricks through use of conduction claps. The clasps are of varying copper diameter relative to the voltage demand and conductivity of material nominated e.g copper, aluminium or equivalent,” paragraph 557).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system taught by Leung and modify the rails to be made of copper like the other conductive component taught by Leung. Please see MPEP § 2144.07: “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp.”
Regarding Claim 8, modified Leung teaches the battery system of claim 7, wherein each of said one or more batteries comprises a transfer power rod connector, such that there are one or more transfer power rod connectors; wherein said one or more transfer power rod connectors are configured to matingly engage with, respectively, said one or more connectors of said transfer power rod [“The example demonstrates connecting two standard modules (for example the cell could be 12V/24V/48V) joined to make an array. The expander bars designed for specific voltages, where the electrical conducting bar is electrically insulated from the external bulk material. The Positive/Negative terminals uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use,” paragraph 842; Fig. 31].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Leung teaches the battery system of claim 8, wherein said one or more batteries are configured to engage said transfer power rod without requiring that any individual wires to be stripped and manually connected [“The example demonstrates connecting two standard modules (for example the cell could be 12V/24V/48V) joined to make an array. The expander bars designed for specific voltages, where the electrical conducting bar is electrically insulated from the external bulk material. The Positive/Negative terminals uniquely shaped as a means to provide varied mechanical interlocks for the designation configuration and use,” paragraph 842; Fig. 31].
Regarding Claim 18, Leung the battery system of claim 15, wherein said one or more covers are configured to be aesthetically pleasing (“Preferably the outer veneer is an aesthetic veneer,” paragraph 119; Figs. 8, 13, 14, 15, and 16). Though Leung does not explicitly teach that what makes their disclosed cover ‘aesthetic’ is that the cover visually matches a surface of said structure, this would be an obvious design choice under the scope of aesthetics. Please MPEP § 2144.04(I) and In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431: “The court found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.”
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung in view of Reineccius.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Leung teaches the battery system of claim 8, but Leung does not explicitly teach that said one or more connectors of said transfer power rod are printed circuit board connectors that are configured to allow power transfer within said battery system, though Leung does incorporate a circuit board generally as part of the power transfer within the battery system (“Rail terminal plugs are mechanically designed to be only be compatible with mounts to ensure safe assembly,” paragraph 850; Figs. 8, 9, and 44A, which collectively show that the electrical connectors ultimately connect to a built-in circuit board, which can control the power transfer within the battery system).
However, Reineccius teaches that the one or more connectors of transfer power rod of their battery system are printed circuit board connectors that are configured to allow power transfer within said battery system [“a battery pack may include solid state (e.g., printed on a printed circuit board) cell interconnection,” paragraph 21].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system taught by modified Leung and further modify the system’s transfer power rod’s connectors to specifically be printed circuit board (PCB) connectors, as taught by Reineccius, to establish a robust and stable electrical connection.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Leung further modified by Reineccius teaches the battery system of claim 9, wherein Leung further teaches said battery system is electrically connected to at least one additional battery system, such that said battery system and said at least one additional battery system allow power transfer between said battery system and said at least one additional battery system (“the electrical interconnection may facilitate communication of electrical power between housing structures,” paragraph 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung in view of Fees, et al. (US-20180123100-A1), hereafter referred to as Fees.
Regarding Claim 14, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, but Leung does not teach that said one or more utility bays hingedly engage said housing. However, Fees teaches a battery storage system where the utility bays for the batteries hingedly engage with the housing [“while not expressly illustrated, other battery module mounting area configurations are possible, such as vertically-inserted battery module mounting area configurations (e.g., battery modules are inserted into a battery module mounting area from the top or bottom sides of an electric vehicle), hinged-inserted battery module mounting area configurations (e.g., battery module compartments are attached to hinges so that the battery module compartments rotate upwards and downwards via the hinges for battery module insertion),” paragraph 40]. As noted in the excerpt, Fees teaches that the purpose is to more easily allow for insertion and removal of the batteries.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system taught by Leung and modify the utility bays such that they are hingedly engaged with the housing to make battery insertion/removal easier, as taught by Fees.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung in view of Uchishiba (US-20220181736-A1), hereafter referred to as Uchishiba.
Regarding Claim 16, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, wherein said one or more covers are made from bamboo or composite materials (“the modular housing structure includes materials and composition which resisting-use natural wear and tear,” paragraph 133; “The systems proposed of “masonry” battery housings includes the use of composite materials,” paragraph 390; “housing structure; said structure comprising: An enclosure having wall components,” paragraphs 91-92; “the wall components include a veneer,” paragraph 116, showing that the composite materials described apply to the whole housing structure, which include the veneer, i.e., cover). Leung does not teach that said one or more covers are curved.
However, Uchishiba teaches a case for a storage battery device (“an electric apparatus device, such as a storage battery device, that accommodates an electric apparatus, such as a storage battery, in a case,” paragraph 3), where the cover is curved (“a cover body including a rectangular flat cover portion and a curved cover portion that is continuous with one side of the flat cover portion, the cover body covering the opening by being mounted on the case body,” paragraph 6). The cover is curved, in part, to accommodate and surround a waterproof frame on the inside of the cover (Fig. 5), thus contributing to its waterproof design. Note that Leung already teaches that their cover is preferably watertight (“Preferably the veneer is a water resistant or water tight veneer,” paragraph 120).
It would have obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system and watertight cover taught by Leung, and specifically design the cover to be curved with a waterproof frame inside as the means to achieve that watertightness, as taught by Uchishiba.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung in view of Satake et al. (US-20100310915-A1), hereafter referred to as Satake.
Regarding Claim 17, Leung teaches the battery system of claim 1, but Leung does not teach that said one or more covers comprise a LED screen. However, Satake teaches a battery pack wherein the cover comprises an LED screen (“An LED display section 23 for displaying a remaining level or the like and a push button 24 for performing operation of displaying and checking a remaining level are provided on a surface 22, of the top cover 2,” paragraph 75; 23 in Fig. 1). Satake teaches that the benefit of the LED screen is to display basic information about the battery system, e.g., the remaining level of the system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the battery system and cover taught by Leung and modify the cover to include an LED screen in order to conveniently display basic information about the battery system, as taught by Satake.
Correspondence
/JORDAN P WILKERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783