DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Non-Provisional Patent Application filed on May 30, 2024. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Line 3 of the claim recites the limitation of “the tissue depressor form”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “the tissue depressor means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 2018/021469).
Concerning claim 1, the Wilson et al. prior art reference teaches a puncture locator device (Figure 6; 230) comprising: a handle (Figure 6; 235); a tissue depressor form (Figure 6; 233); and a needle channel that passes through at least a portion of the tissue depressor form (Figure 6; lumen of 231).
Concerning claim 2, the Wilson reference teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the tissue depressor form defines an axis, and the needle channel is angled with respect to the axis (defines a 90° angle).
Concerning claim 3, the Wilson reference teaches the device of claim 1, wherein an axis of the handle is parallel with an axis of the tissue depressor form (Figure 6; 235, 233).
Concerning claim 4, the Wilson reference teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the handle is coaxial with the tissue depressor form (Figure 6; 235, 233).
Concerning claim 5, the Wilson reference teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the needle channel passes through at least a portion of the handle (Figure 6; lumen of 231 passes through a distal portion of handle 235).
Concerning claim 6, the Wilson reference teaches the device of claim 6, further comprising a stabilizer structure disposed proximal to the tissue depressor form (Figure 6; outer tube 231 may be defined as stabilizer).
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 12-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 2018/021469).
Concerning claims 1 and 6-8, the Lukoschek et al. prior art reference teaches a puncture locator device (Figure 2; 1) comprising: a handle (Figure 1; 2); a tissue depressor form (Figure 1; cone 6 may depress tissue); and a needle channel that passes through at least a portion of the tissue depressor form (Figure 1; 4), further comprising a stabilizer structure disposed proximal to the tissue depressor form (Figure 1; cylindrical structure of 3 attached to cone 6), wherein: the handle projects proximally from the stabilizer structure, and the tissue depressor form projects distally from a tissue contact surface of the stabilizer structure (distal end of cylindrical structure of 3), wherein the tissue contact surface has a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the tissue depressor form.
Concerning claim 12, the Lukoschek et al. prior art reference teaches a puncture locator device (Figure 2; 1) comprising: a tissue contacting structure (Figure 1; seat 3 may contact tissue) including: a stabilizer means (Figure 1; outer diameter portion of 3); and a tissue depressor means (Figure 1; cone 6 may depress tissue), and a needle channel formed in the tissue-contact structure (Figure 1; 4).
Concerning claim 13, the Lukoschek reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 12, wherein the needle channel has a distal opening on a front surface of the tissue depressor means (Figure 1; 5).
Concerning claim 15, the Lukoschek reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 12, wherein: the stabilizer means comprises a distal tissue-contact surface (Figure 1; distal end of 3 attached to cone 6); and the tissue depressor means emanates from the tissue-contact surface of the stabilizer means (Figure 1; 6).
Concerning claim 16, the Lukoschek reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 12, wherein the tissue depressor means may comprise a bulbous dome that projects from the stabilizer (Figure 4; 3).
Concerning claim 17, the Lukoschek reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 16, wherein a diameter of the tissue depressor means expands gradually from an apex of the tissue depressor means to the stabilizer means (Figure 4; 3).
Claim(s) 1, 9-12, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGhie (US 2012/0265098).
Concerning claim 1, the McGhie reference teaches a puncture locator device (Figure 1; 10) comprising: a handle (Figure 1; 16); a tissue depressor form (Figure 1; frame 12 may depress tissue, therein being a tissue depressor form); and a needle channel that passes through at least a portion of the tissue depressor form (Figure 1; 36).
Concerning claim 9, the McGhie reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 1, further comprising an orientation indicator indicating an orientation of the needle channel (Figure 1; apex defined by arms 24, 26 capable of being used as an orientation indicator to indicate orientation), wherein the orientation indicator is associated with a stabilizer structure of the puncture locator device (Figure 1; arms 24, 26 may be interpreted as a stabilizer structure).
Concerning claim 10, the McGhie reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 9, wherein the orientation indicator comprises a point that is aligned with a plane of the needle channel (Figure 1; plane vertically bisecting needle channel 36 is aligned with corner of frame).
Concerning claim 11, the McGhie reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 10, wherein: the orientation indicator has a heart shaped form (Figure 1; arms 24, 26 together form a heart shaped structure); and the point is formed by an apex of the heart-shaped form.
Concerning claim 12, the McGhie reference teaches a puncture locator device (Figure 1; 10) comprising: a tissue contacting structure (Figure 1; 12) including: a stabilizer means (Figure 1; 24, 26); and a tissue depressor means (Figure 1; bottom surface of arms 24, 26), and a needle channel formed in the tissue-contact structure (Figure 1; 36).
Concerning claim 14, the McGhie reference teaches the puncture locator device of claim 12, wherein the stabilizer may be interpreted as being a heart-shaped form (Figure 1; arms 24, 26 together form a heart shaped structure) including a point feature (Figure 1; corner of frame) that is aligned with a plane of the needle channel (Figure 1; plane vertically bisecting needle channel 36 is aligned with corner of frame).
Concerning claim 18, the McGhie reference teaches a puncture locator device of claim 12, further comprising a manual manipulation means coupled to the stabilizer means (Figure 1; boom 22 may be interpreted as a manual manipulation means given it is a handle).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Sarvazyan et al. reference (US 2004/02674121), the Kisen et al. reference (US 2005/0090741), the Crocker et al. reference (US 2009/0030338), and the Kato et al. reference (US 2018/0228568) all teach puncture locator devices of varying structures.
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 8/18/2026