DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 2024/0137953 A1) in view of Liu ("Positioning Method of Remote Controller and Related Device", CN 115119140 A, pub. date 2022-09-27).
Regarding claim 1, Woo teaches a method comprising:
at a first electronic device (Fig. 6-11) in communication with a display generation component ([0056], “processor 102 may generate a user interface screen which includes a plurality of first UI elements. The processor 102 may display the generated user interface screen on the display”, wherein the display generation component can be a hardware/software component) and one or more input devices (Fig. 6, user interface screen 400):
displaying, via the display generation component, a remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, a display generation component displays a remote control user interface; [0056], “processor 102 may generate a user interface screen which includes a plurality of first UI elements. The processor 102 may display the generated user interface screen on the display, wherein the display generation component can be a hardware/software component),
wherein input directed to the remote-control user interface is configured to control a respective electronic device, different from the first electronic device (Fig. 6, input directed to the remote-control user interface is configured to control a respective electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV)), different from the first electronic device (~mobile device 11)), and
the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, user interface screen 400) includes:
a remote device selection user interface including a representation of a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is controllable from the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, a remote device selection user interface including a representation of a second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV)), different from the first electronic device (mobile device 11), that is controllable from the remote-control user interface ([0088], “a Wi-Fi connection button 413, a mute mode execution button 414, a Bluetooth connection button 415, a power saving mode execution button 416, an authentication button 417, and a key-call button 418”); and
in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are satisfied (Fig. 6, criteria is determination that the second electronic device is findable), a first option associated with a first remote input device that is associated with the second electronic device (Fig. 6, displaying the remote-control user interface includes a first option associated with a first remote input device (Fig. 6-414, a mute mode execution button) that is associated with the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV));
while displaying the remote-control user interface and the remote device selection user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first option (Fig. 6, while displaying the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-413, 414, 415, 416, 417, 418) and the remote device selection user interface (Fig. 6-414a, b, c, d, e)), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first option (Fig. 6-414)).
Woo does not explicitly teach in response to detecting the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the first input is detected, initiating a process to find the first remote input device.
However, Liu teaches in response to detecting a first input (pg. 5, par. 5, “when it is necessary to query remote controller position, by controlling the intelligent terminal”), in accordance with a determination that the first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the first input is detected, initiating a process to find the first remote input device (pg. 5, par. 8, “when the detection signal sent by the transmission source finds the detection tag (~first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the detection signal sent by the first electronic device is able to find the detection tag of the first remote input device), then processing the detection signal so as to obtain the detection tag to the distance of the transmission source, namely obtaining the distance between the intelligent terminal and the remote controller, realizing the location of the remote controller”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Liu with the teaching of Woo in order to establish an instant connection between a system and its remote control while conserving battery life by not constantly scanning for a remote, enabling both the system and the remote to save power; and to prevent accidental activations and optimize how a misplaced device is tracked.
Regarding claim 3. Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein: the remote-control user interface includes a first user interface object indicating a respective electronic device that the remote-control user interface is currently selected to control (Woo Fig. 6, the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-400 user interface screen) includes a first user interface object indicating a respective electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV) that the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-400 user interface screen) is currently selected to control (Fig. 6-441a TV)); and
the remote device selection user interface is displayed in the remote-control user interface in response to detecting a selection of the first user interface object (Woo Fig. 6, the remote device selection user interface (Fig. 6-400 user interface screen) is displayed in the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-400 user interface screen) in response to detecting a selection of the first user interface object (Fig. 6-441a TV).
Regarding claim 4, Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein: the remote-control user interface is currently selected to control the second electronic device; and the representation of the second electronic device is displayed with a visual indication that the remote-control user interface is currently selected to control the second electronic device (Woo Fig. 6, the remote-control user interface is currently selected to control the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV); and the representation of the second electronic device is displayed with a visual indication that the remote-control user interface is currently selected to control the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a when circle on TV).
Regarding claim 5, Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the remote device selection user interface further includes: a representation of a third electronic device, different from the first electronic device and the second electronic device, that is controllable from the remote-control user interface (Woo Fig. 6, remote device selection user interface includes a representation of a third electronic device (air conditioner Fig. 6-441b), different from the first electronic device (mobile device Fig. 6-11) and the second electronic device (TV Fig. 6-441a); and
in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are satisfied (Woo Fig. 6, criteria is determination that the third electronic device is a controllable item), a second option associated with a second remote input device, different from the first remote input device, that is associated with the third electronic device (Woo Fig. 6, displaying the remote-control user interface includes a second option (Fig. 6-417, an authentication button) associated with a second remote input device, that is associated with the third electronic device (Fig. 6-441b air conditioner))).
Regarding claim 13, Woo teaches a first electronic device (Fig. 6-11 mobile device), comprising:
one or more processors ([0018], “A mobile device according to an embodiment comprises a display, one or more memories, one or more transceivers, and one or more processors”);
memory ([0018], “A mobile device according to an embodiment comprises a display, one or more memories, one or more transceivers, and one or more processors”); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for ([0222], “The program executed by the mobile device 11 described herein may be implemented as a hardware component, a software component, and/or a combination thereof. The program may be executed by any system capable of executing computer readable instructions”):
displaying, via a display generation component, a remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, a display generation component displays a remote control user interface; [0056], “processor 102 may generate a user interface screen which includes a plurality of first UI elements. The processor 102 may display the generated user interface screen on the display, wherein the display generation component can be a hardware/software component),
wherein input directed to the remote-control user interface is configured to control a respective electronic device, different from the first electronic device (Fig. 6, input directed to the remote-control user interface is configured to control a respective electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV)), different from the first electronic device (~mobile device 11)), and
the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, user interface screen 400) includes:
a remote device selection user interface including a representation of a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is controllable from the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, a remote device selection user interface including a representation of a second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV), different from the first electronic device (mobile device 11), that is controllable from the remote-control user interface ([0088], “a Wi-Fi connection button 413, a mute mode execution button 414, a Bluetooth connection button 415, a power saving mode execution button 416, an authentication button 417, and a key-call button 418”); and
in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are satisfied (Fig. 6, criteria is determination that the second electronic device is findable), a first option associated with a first remote input device that is associated with the second electronic device (Fig. 6, displaying the remote-control user interface includes a first option associated with a first remote input device (Fig. 6-414, a mute mode execution button) that is associated with the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV));
while displaying the remote-control user interface and the remote device selection user interface, detecting, via one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first option (Fig. 6, while displaying the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-413, 414, 415, 416, 417, 418) and the remote device selection user interface (Fig. 6-414a, b, c, d, e)), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first option (Fig. 6-414)).
Woo does not explicitly teach in response to detecting the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the first input is detected, initiating a process to find the first remote input device.
However, Liu teaches in response to detecting a first input (pg. 5, par. 5, “when it is necessary to query remote controller position, by controlling the intelligent terminal”), in accordance with a determination that the first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the first input is detected, initiating a process to find the first remote input device (pg. 5, par. 8, “when the detection signal sent by the transmission source finds the detection tag (~first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the detection signal sent by the first electronic device is able to find the detection tag of the first remote input device), then processing the detection signal so as to obtain the detection tag to the distance of the transmission source, namely obtaining the distance between the intelligent terminal and the remote controller, realizing the location of the remote controller”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Liu with the teaching of Woo in order to establish an instant connection between a system and its remote control while conserving battery life by not constantly scanning for a remote, enabling both the system and the remote to save power; and to prevent accidental activations and optimize how a misplaced device is tracked.
Regarding claim 14, Woo teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs ([0223], “The software may include computer programs, codes, instructions, or combinations of one or more thereof and may configure the processing device as it is operated as desired or may instruct the processing device independently or collectively. The software may be implemented as a computer program including instructions stored in computer-readable storage media. The computer-readable storage media may include, e.g., magnetic storage media (e.g., read-only memory (ROM), random-access memory (RAM), floppy disk, hard disk, etc.) and an optically readable media (e.g., CD-ROM or digital versatile disc (DVD)”),
the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first electronic device, cause the first electronic device to perform a method ([0222], “The program executed by the mobile device 11 described herein may be implemented as a hardware component, a software component, and/or a combination thereof. The program may be executed by any system capable of executing computer readable instructions”). comprising:
displaying, via a display generation component, a remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, a display generation component displays a remote control user interface; [0056], “processor 102 may generate a user interface screen which includes a plurality of first UI elements. The processor 102 may display the generated user interface screen on the display, wherein the display generation component can be a hardware/software component),
wherein input directed to the remote-control user interface is configured to control a respective electronic device, different from the first electronic device (Fig. 6, input directed to the remote-control user interface is configured to control a respective electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV), different from the first electronic device (~mobile device 11)), and the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, user interface screen 400) includes:
a remote device selection user interface including a representation of a second electronic device, different from the first electronic device, that is controllable from the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6, a remote device selection user interface including a representation of a second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV)), different from the first electronic device (mobile device 11), that is controllable from the remote-control user interface ([0088], “a Wi-Fi connection button 413, a mute mode execution button 414, a Bluetooth connection button 415, a power saving mode execution button 416, an authentication button 417, and a key-call button 418”); and
in accordance with a determination that one or more first criteria are satisfied (Fig. 6, criteria is determination that the second electronic device is findable), a first option associated with a first remote input device that is associated with the second electronic device (Fig. 6, displaying the remote-control user interface includes a first option associated with a first remote input device (Fig. 6-414, a mute mode execution button) that is associated with the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV));
while displaying the remote-control user interface and the remote device selection user interface, detecting, via one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first option (Fig. 6, while displaying the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-413, 414, 415, 416, 417, 418) and the remote device selection user interface (Fig. 6-414a, b, c, d, e)), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first option (Fig. 6-414)).
Woo does not explicitly teach in response to detecting the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the first input is detected, initiating a process to find the first remote input device.
However, Liu teaches in response to detecting a first input (pg. 5, par. 5, “when it is necessary to query remote controller position, by controlling the intelligent terminal”), in accordance with a determination that the first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the first input is detected, initiating a process to find the first remote input device (pg. 5, par. 8, “when the detection signal sent by the transmission source finds the detection tag (~first remote input device is within a threshold distance of the first electronic device when the detection signal sent by the first electronic device is able to find the detection tag of the first remote input device), then processing the detection signal so as to obtain the detection tag to the distance of the transmission source, namely obtaining the distance between the intelligent terminal and the remote controller, realizing the location of the remote controller”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Liu with the teaching of Woo in order to establish an instant connection between a system and its remote control while conserving battery life by not constantly scanning for a remote, enabling both the system and the remote to save power; and to prevent accidental activations and optimize how a misplaced device is tracked.
Claims 2, 6-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Liu, and further in view of Prestacom Services LLC, hereinafter Prestacom ("User Interfaces for Tracking and Finding Items", WO 2020/214864 A1, pub. date 2020-10-22).
Regarding claim 2, Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein satisfaction of the one or more first criteria is based on a determination that a respective remote input device that is associated with a respective electronic device is a findable item.
However, Prestacom teaches wherein satisfaction of one or more first criteria is based on a determination that a respective remote input device that is associated with a respective electronic device is a findable item (Fig. 8B, wherein satisfaction of one or more first criteria is based on a determination that a respective remote device that is associated with a respective electronic device is a findable item).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prestacom with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu in order to allow an electronic device to automatically trigger specific locator features or display a finding interface only when a designated peripheral is recognized as trackable, preventing unnecessary prompts and ensures that finding tools are only activated for accessories capable of being located.
Regarding claim 6, Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein initiating the process to find the first remote input device includes displaying, via the display generation component, a finding user interface.
However, Prestacom teaches wherein initiating a process to find a first remote device includes displaying, via a display generation component, a finding user interface (Fig. 8B, initiating the process to find the first remote input device (John’s keys) includes displaying, via the display generation component, a finding user interface ([00213], “selection of selectable option 819-1 causes display of a user interface to find remote locator object”)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prestacom with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu in order to provide visual guidance and feedback to help locate a lost remote device, wherein by displaying a finding user interface allows a system to present directional cues or actionable instructions that streamline the physical search for a remote device.
Regarding claim 7, Woo in view of Liu, and further in view of Prestacom teaches the method of claim 6.
The combination Woo in view of Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the finding user interface includes a first visual indicator that visually indicates a distance of the first remote input device relative to the first electronic device.
However, Prestacom further teaches wherein finding user interface includes a first visual indicator that visually indicates a distance of a first remote device relative to a first electronic device (Fig. 8C, finding user interface includes a first visual indicator that visually indicates a distance (2 miles) of the first remote input device (John’s keys) relative to the first electronic device (personal electronic device 500)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prestacom with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu and Prestacom in order to provide visual guidance and feedback to help locate a lost remote device, wherein by displaying a finding user interface allows a system to present directional cues or actionable instructions that streamline the physical search for a remote device.
Regarding claim 8, Woo in view of Liu, and further in view of Prestacom teaches the method of claim 6.
The combination of Woo and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the finding user interface includes a textual indication of a distance of the first remote input device relative to the first electronic device.
However, Prestacom further teaches wherein finding user interface includes a textual indication of a distance of a first remote device relative to a first electronic device (Fig. 8C, finding user interface includes a textual indication of a distance (“2 mi.”) of a first remote input device (John’s Keys) relative to a first electronic device (electronic device 500)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prestacom with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu and Prestacom in order to provide visual guidance and feedback to help locate a lost remote device, wherein by displaying a finding user interface allows a system to present directional cues or actionable instructions that streamline the physical search for a remote device.
Regarding claim 9, Woo in view of Liu, and further in view of Prestacom teaches the method of claim 6,
further comprising: while displaying the user interface, receiving an indication that the first input device has detected user interaction (Woo [0206], “when detecting a user input TIN4b to the candidate UI element, the processor 102 may receive or sense a control signal from the candidate device for a predefined period of time. Whenever the control state changes, the candidate device may transmit a control signal for indicating the change to the mobile device 11. The mobile device 11 may monitor the change in the state of the candidate device by receiving the control signal”); and
in response to receiving the indication: displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface element that includes a first option that is selectable to cease display of the user interface (Woo [0207], “According to an embodiment, the processor 102 may add a candidate UI element, as a second UI element 451f, to the window when receiving or sensing a control signal (e.g., volume adjustment of the TV device) from the candidate device”, wherein if the candidate UI element is added to the window, the previous user interface is ceased to be displayed (interface without Fig. 12-451f is no longer/ceased to be displayed)) and
a second option that is selectable to maintain display of the user interface (Woo [0207], “According to an embodiment, the processor 102 may add a candidate UI element, as a second UI element 451f, to the window when receiving or sensing a control signal (e.g., volume adjustment of the TV device) from the candidate device”, wherein if the candidate UI element is not added, the display of the user interface without Fig. 12-451f is maintained).
The combination of Woo and Prestacom does not explicitly teach that the first
However, Liu further teaches a first remote input device (pg. 5, par. 6, remote controller).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Liu with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu and Prestacom in order to operate devices from a distance, providing user convenience, and enabling access to an out-of-reach device.
The combination of Woo and Liu does not explicitly teach that the user interface is a finding user interface.
However, Prestacom further teaches a finding user interface ([00213], “selection of selectable option 819-1 causes display of a user interface to find remote locator object”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prestacom with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu and Prestacom in order to bridge the gap between human users and a digital device, featuring navigational components, input controls, and informational displays, making interactions easy and intuitive so people can accomplish tasks with minimal effort.
Regarding claim 12, Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising: while displaying the remote-control user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display a user interface of an item locating application; and
in response of detecting the sequence of one or more inputs: displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface of the item locating application, wherein the user interface includes a plurality of representations of a plurality of findable items that indicates locations of the plurality of findable items, including:
in accordance with the determination that the one or more first criteria are satisfied, a representation of the first remote input device that indicates a location of the first remote input device.
However, Prestacom teaches further comprising: while displaying the remote-control user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display a user interface of an item locating application ([0255], the electronic device receives (934), at the electronic device, a request (e.g., selection of the separation alert, such as a tap gesture on the separation alert or a selectable affordance within the separation alert) to view location information for a plurality of physical objects, such as in Fig. 8D (e.g., one or more remote locator objects, one or more other devices such as watches, phones, computers, tablets, or the like). In some embodiments, in response to detecting the request to view location information for the plurality of physical objects, the electronic device displays (936) a status user interface that includes location information for a plurality of physical objects including the first remote locator object, such as in Fig. 8D (e.g., in response to the user input, display an application for finding and/or locating objects and/or electronic devices)”); and
in response of detecting the sequence of one or more inputs: displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface of the item locating application, wherein the user interface includes a plurality of representations of a plurality of findable items that indicates locations of the plurality of findable items ([0255], the electronic device receives (934), at the electronic device, a request (e.g., selection of the separation alert, such as a tap gesture on the separation alert or a selectable affordance within the separation alert) to view location information for a plurality of physical objects, such as in Fig. 8D (e.g., one or more remote locator objects, one or more other devices such as watches, phones, computers, tablets, or the like). In some embodiments, in response to detecting the request to view location information for the plurality of physical objects, the electronic device displays (936) a status user interface that includes location information for a plurality of physical objects including the first remote locator object, such as in Fig. 8D (e.g., in response to the user input, display an application for finding and/or locating objects and/or electronic devices)”, including:
in accordance with the determination that the one or more first criteria are satisfied (criteria is determination that the findable item is findable), a representation of the first remote input device that indicates a location of the first remote input device ([0255], the electronic device receives (934), at the electronic device, a request (e.g., selection of the separation alert, such as a tap gesture on the separation alert or a selectable affordance within the separation alert) to view location information for a plurality of physical objects, such as in Fig. 8D (e.g., one or more remote locator objects, one or more other devices such as watches, phones, computers, tablets, or the like). In some embodiments, in response to detecting the request to view location information for the plurality of physical objects, the electronic device displays (936) a status user interface that includes location information for a plurality of physical objects including the first remote locator object, such as in Fig. 8D (e.g., in response to the user input, display an application for finding and/or locating objects and/or electronic devices)”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Prestacom with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu in order to provide clear spatial awareness, reduce recovery time, and enable efficient tracking by helping users instantly see where multiple items are located on a single screen without manual searching.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Liu, and further in view of Clemmer ("System and Method for Providing Matched Multimedia Video Content", KR20150098655A, pub. date 2015-08-28).
Regarding claim 10, Woo in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein: the remote-control user interface is currently selected to control the second electronic device (Woo Fig. 6, the remote-control user interface (Fig. 6-400 user interface screen) is currently selected to control the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV));
the second electronic device is displaying, via a second display generation component of the second electronic device, a respective content item within an interface (Woo Fig. 6, the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV) is displaying, via a second display generation component of the second electronic device (Fig. 6-441a TV), a respective content item); and
the remote-control user interface further includes: in accordance with a determination that the respective content item is a live content item (Woo Fig. 6-441a, TV broadcast is a live content), one or more selectable options for controlling of the live content item within the interface, including a first selectable option (Woo Fig. 6-414 a mute mode execution button 414, wherein the mute mode execution button controls the live content item).
The combination of Woo in view of Liu does not explicitly teach that the interface is a playback user interface; controlling of the live content item is controlling playback of the live content item; and the remote-control user interface further includes: in accordance with a determination that the respective content item is an on-demand content item, a subset of the one or more selectable options, which does not include the first selectable option.
However, Clemmer teaches a playback user interface (pg. 7, par. 2, “broadcast ("B1") may include a series of updates sent to clients 68 and 70. The update indicates whether the video content is to be played. If the update indicates that the video content is to be played, the update includes the video content”); controlling playback of the live content item (pg. 7, par. 2, “broadcast ("B1") may include a series of updates sent to clients 68 and 70. The update indicates whether the video content is to be played. If the update indicates that the video content is to be played, the update includes the video content”); and
a user interface further includes: in accordance with a determination that a respective content item is an on-demand content item, a subset of one or more selectable options, which does not include a first selectable option (pg. 8, par. 8 - pg. 9, par. 1, “the music video (~on-demand content item) for the song currently being played in the audio feed 62 ... one or more selection buttons 116 disposed in a client user interface portion 118 that identifies recently played songs and / or the following songs. In one embodiment, the select buttons 116 enable the listener / viewer to purchase recently played songs. For example, one of the select buttons 116 may direct the listener / viewer to an external content source or provider (e.g., iTunes) to purchase the song. In another embodiment, clicking one of the select buttons 116 may play associated video in the media player portion 114 (~a subset of one or more selectable options, which does not include a first selectable option)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Clemmer with the teaching of Woo as modified by Liu in order to give users the ability to pause, rewind, and skip, providing personal convenience and flexibility without missing any action; and dynamically customize displayed choices based on the media type, providing a cleaner layout by adapting controls, preventing user confusion, and improving navigation.
Regarding claim 11, Woo in view of Liu, and further in view of Clemmer teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: while displaying the one or more selectable options, including the first selectable option, in the remote-control user interface in accordance with the determination that the respective content item is a live content item (Fig. 6, Woo while displaying the one or more selectable options (Fig. 6 414, 417, and etc.), including the first selectable option, in the remote-control user interface in accordance with the determination that the respective content item is a live content item (Fig. 6-441a, when TV is selected))),
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the first selectable option (Woo Fig. 6, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the first selectable option (Fig. 6-414 a mute mode execution button), wherein clicking again Fig. 6-414 unmutes); and
in response to detecting the second input: updating display, via the display generation component, of the first selectable option to concurrently display a first respective option and a second respective option (Woo with Fig. 6-414 being off, Fig. 6-421 is enabled and Fig. 6-421 concurrently display a first respective option (low volume) and a second respective option (high volume)).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER YI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643