DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu [US 20110159706 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a connector assembly (100, Fig 2) comprising: a male connector (10) comprising a first side wall (rectangular body 101) protecting a plurality of pins (103), the first side wall (101) comprising a first magnetic component (1311) contained in a side surface of the first side wall (101), the side surface of the first side wall (101) being aligned with an engaging direction of the connector assembly (100); and a female connector (11) comprising a second side wall (rectangular body 111) protecting a plurality of sockets (113) configured to receive the plurality of the pins (103), the second side wall (111) comprising a second magnetic component (1313) contained in a side surface of the second side wall (111), the side surface of the second side wall (111) being aligned with the engaging direction of the connector assembly (100), wherein the first magnetic component (1311) and the second magnet component (1313) are configured to be disposed adjacent to each other when the male connector (10) engages with the female connector (11).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) has a first magnetic axis traversing the engaging direction of the connector assembly (100).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 2, Wu further discloses the second magnetic component (1313) has a second magnetic axis configured to be parallel with the first magnetic axis.
Regarding Claim 4, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 3, Wu further discloses the first magnetic axis and the second magnetic axis are reversed relative to each other (see Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) is disposed in proximity to an end surface of the first side wall (of body 101) facing the second side wall (of body 111), and the second magnetic component (1313) is disposed in proximity to an end surface of the second side wall (of body 111) facing the first side wall (of body 101).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses the male connector (10) comprises a third side wall comprising a third magnetic component (1333), and the third magnetic component (1333) has a third magnetic axis aligned with a first magnetic axis of the first magnetic component (1311).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 8, Wu further discloses the female connector (11) comprises a fourth side wall comprising a fourth magnetic components (1331), and the fourth magnetic component (1331) has a fourth magnetic axis reversing that of the third magnetic component (1333).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) has a thickness shorter than that of the first side wall (wall of body 101).
Regarding Claim 11, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses one of the first and second magnetic components (1311, 1313) has a larger size than the other one of the first and second magnetic components (1311, 1313).
Regarding Claim 12, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses the plurality of the pins (103) are coupled with a plurality of cables (not numbered, see Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses a locking mechanism (positioning portion 1316 extending from base portion 1315 is received in the receiving groove 1317, see Figure 2) configured to maintain an engagement position between the male connector (10) and the female connector (11). Wu further discloses latching mechanisms including hooks are commonly used for fixing the connectors to one another [0004].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu [US 20110159706 A1] in view of Besel et al. [US 20180062454 A1].
Regarding Claim 5, Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) is disposed in an outer surface of the first side wall (side wall of body 101). Wu does not explicitly disclose the female connector is configured to enclose the male connector.
However, Besel discloses a female connector (2150, Fig 21) is configured to enclose a male connector (2100).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as suggested by Besel to provide the female connector configured to enclose the male connector. Allowing the male connector to fit inside of the female connector allows for easy alignment/connection and conserves space.
Regarding Claim 6, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 5, Besel further discloses a second magnetic component (2180) is disposed in an inner surface of the second side wall (walls of cavity 2160).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as suggested by Besel to provide the second magnetic component is disposed in an inner surface of the second side wall. When the male connector is enclosed by the female connector as taught by Besel, providing the magnets in the inner surface (in an enclosed engagement) allows for the magnet to attract the magnet of the mating connector more efficiently as they will be adjacent to one another.
Regarding Claim 14, Wu discloses a connector assembly (100, Fig 2) comprising: a male connector (10) comprising a first side wall (rectangular body 101) protecting a plurality of pins (103), the first side wall (101) comprising a first magnetic component (1311) contained in a side surface of the first side wall (101), the side surface of the first side wall (101) being aligned with an engaging direction of the connector assembly (100); and a female connector (11) comprising a second side wall (rectangular body 111) protecting a plurality of sockets (113) configured to receive the plurality of the pins (103), the second side wall (111) comprising a second magnetic component (1313) contained in a side surface of the second side wall (111), the side surface of the second side wall (111) being aligned with the engaging direction of the connector assembly (100), wherein the first magnetic component (1311) and the second magnet component (1313) are configured to be disposed adjacent to each other when the male connector (10) engages with the female connector (11). Wu does not explicitly disclose an integrated circuit package assembly comprising: a plurality of integrated circuit dice; a stiffener coupled with a package substrate and surrounding the plurality of the integrated circuit dice, and the connector assembly coupled with the stiffener.
However, Besel discloses an integrated circuit package assembly (IC package 301) comprising: an integrated circuit dice (302); a stiffener (encapsulating material 308) coupled with a package substrate (303) and surrounding the integrated circuit dice (302), and a connector assembly (see Fig 19C, connector 1900 coupled to device housing 1901, acting as mounting platform/stiffener, to provide alignment and connection to internal CCU’s).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as suggested by Besel to provide an integrated circuit package assembly comprising: a plurality of integrated circuit dice; a stiffener coupled with a package substrate and surrounding the plurality of the integrated circuit dice, and the connector assembly coupled with the stiffener. Besel teaches an IC package requiring precise alignment for contactless communications while Wu provides specific magnetic structural solution for ensuring connectors engage in a specific orientation without visual or manual guidance. The combination would solve the known problem of signal loss due to mechanical misalignment in high-speed data transmission as recognized by Wu and Besel.
Regarding Claim 15, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) has a first magnetic axis traversing the engaging direction of the connector assembly (100).
Regarding Claim 16, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 15, Wu further discloses the second magnetic component (1313) has a second magnetic axis configured to be parallel with the first magnetic axis, and the first magnetic axis and the second magnetic axis are reversed relative to each other (see Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) is disposed in an outer surface of the first side wall (side wall of body 101). Wu does not explicitly disclose the female connector is configured to enclose the male connector, and the second magnetic component is disposed in an inner surface of the second side wall.
However, Besel discloses a female connector (2150, Fig 21) is configured to enclose a male connector (2100), a second magnetic component (2180) is disposed in an inner surface of the second side wall (walls of cavity 2160).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu as suggested by Besel to provide the female connector configured to enclose the male connector, and the second magnetic component is disposed in an inner surface of the second side wall. Allowing the male connector to fit inside of the female connector allows for easy alignment/connection and conserves space. Moreover, when the male connector is enclosed by the female connector as taught by Besel, providing the magnets in the inner surface (in an enclosed engagement) allows for the magnet to attract the magnet of the mating connector more efficiently as they will be adjacent to one another.
Regarding Claim 18, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Wu further discloses the male connector (10) comprises a third side wall comprising a third magnetic component (1333), and the third magnetic component (1333) has a third magnetic axis aligned with a first magnetic axis of the first magnetic component (1311).
Regarding Claim 19, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 18, Wu further discloses the female connector (11) comprises a fourth side wall comprising a fourth magnetic components (1331), and the fourth magnetic component (1331) has a fourth magnetic axis reversing that of the third magnetic component (1333).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu and Besel disclose all the limitations of claim 14, Wu further discloses the first magnetic component (1311) has a thickness shorter than that of the first side wall (wall of body 101).
Conclusion
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834