DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 and 09/20/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered except reference US20132041347A1 by the examiner. Reference US20132041347A1 was not considered as it does not exist. Therefore, it was crossed out in the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US20170190626).
With respect to claim 1, Yoon discloses a dielectric ceramic composition comprising: a first crystal grain that has a perovskite structure expressed by a general formula of BaTiO3 (see paragraph 20, noting BaTiO.sub.3), and has a core portion and a shell portion surrounding the core portion and including dysprosium (see paragraph 77); and a second crystal grain in which an elemental ratio of barium to titanium is 0.70 or less (see paragraph 22, noting BaTi2O5 is the same one of the compound use in instant application) and a main component is barium titanate composite oxide, wherein an elemental ratio of barium to titanium of the dielectric ceramic composition is 0.90 or more and 0.98 or less (see paragraph 41, 51). Reference teaches that having a ratio of 90% BaTiO3 and 10% BaTi2O5 teaches these ratio and that ratio satisfies Ba/Ti ratio. BaTiO3 (0.9*1=0.9), BaTi2O5 (0.1*0.5=0.05), 0.9+0.05= 0.95.
With respect to claim 4, Yoon discloses the second crystal grain is at least one selected from a group of BaTi2O5, BaTi4O9, BaTi5O11, BaTi6O13, Ba4Ti11O26, Ba4Ti12O27, Ba4Ti13O30, Ba4Ti14O27, or Ba6Ti17O40 (see paragraph 22, noting BaTi.sub.2O.sub.5).
With respect to claim 8, Yoon discloses a dielectric ceramic composition comprising: barium titanate as a main component (see paragraph 20, noting BaTiO.sub.3), wherein an elemental ratio of barium to titanium is 0.90 or more and 0.98 or less (see paragraph 41 and 51, reference teaches that having a ratio of 90% BaTiO3 and 10% BaTi2O5 teaches these ratio and that ratio satisfies Ba/Ti ratio. BaTiO3 (0.9*1=0.9), BaTi2O5 (0.1*0.5=0.05), 0.9+0.05= 0.95), and wherein the dielectric ceramic composition contains 0.5 mol or more and 3.0 mol or less of dysprosium per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 77 in combination with paragraph 78, noting 0.25 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), contains 0.05 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less of a donor element per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 57, noting 0.2 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), contains 0.05 mol or more and 3.0 mol or less of an acceptor element per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 57, noting 0.2 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), and contains 0.5 mol or more and 3.0 mol or less of silicon per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 71 in combination with 72, noting 0.2 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder).
With respect to claim 9, Yoon discloses the donor element is at least one of vanadium or molybdenum (see Yoon paragraph 57, noting vanadium (V)).
With respect to claim 10, Yoon discloses the acceptor element is at least one of manganese or magnesium (see Yoon paragraph 57, noting Manganese (Mn)).
With respect to claim 11, Yoon discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic device (see paragraph 6) comprising: a dielectric ceramic composition as claimed in claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Murakami et al. (US20210304966).
With respect to claim 2, Yoon teaches the first crystal grain includes a donor element (see paragraph 57, noting vanadium (V)).
Yoon does not expressly teach that a concentration of the donor element at a grain boundary or a grain boundary triple point of the first crystal grain is larger than that in the first crystal grain.
Murakami, on the other hand, teaches a concentration of the donor element at a grain boundary or a grain boundary triple point of the first crystal grain is larger than that in the first crystal grain (see paragraph 38 and 49, noting V is one of M element).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Yoon and Murakami to form the claimed invention in order to improve the temperature characteristic of the dielectric ceramic composition (see paragraph 82).
With respect to claim 3, Yoon discloses the donor element is at least one of vanadium and molybdenum (see paragraph 57, noting vanadium (V)).
With respect to claim 6, Yoon discloses the first crystal grain includes an acceptor element (see paragraph 57, noting Manganese (Mn)).
With respect to claim 7, Yoon discloses the acceptor element is at least one of manganese or magnesium (see paragraph 57, noting Manganese (Mn)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Kim et al. (US20230147982).
With respect to claim 5, Yoon teaches the dielectric ceramic (see paragraph 20, noting BaTiO.sub.3) composition as claimed in claim 1.
Yoon does not expressly teach that in the first crystal grain, a concentration of dysprosium of the shell portion is higher than that of the core portion.
Kim, on the other hand, teaches in the first crystal grain, a concentration of dysprosium of the shell portion is higher than that of the core portion (see paragraphs 60 and 61).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Yoon and Kim to form the claimed invention in order to prevent leakage current at the grain boundaries of dielectric grains (see paragraph 59).
Conclusion
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2848