DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument/amendment with respect to claim 8 filed on 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Yoon (See Applicant’s response, page 7-9, “Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103”), Applicant argues that condition (1) is satisfied only when x is at most between approximately 0.1 and 0.11 (at page 8 of the arguments) and Yoon does not teach the specific molar contents of dysprosium, vanadium or molybdenum, manganese or magnesium, and silicon as recited in claim 8, as amended (at page 8-9 of the arguments). The examiner respectfully disagree.
The rule is the prior art must show each of the element of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). Based on paragraphs 20, 41, 51, 57, 71-72 and 77-78 of Yoon, each of the elements listed ratio satisfied claim 8. Unexpected result is only applicable to an obviousness rejection not anticipation rejection. See MPEP 2112.01(I), citing Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As such, Yoon still anticipated claim 8 even with added limitation.
Accordingly, for the reasons set forth above, the rejection of claim 8 remain rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US20170190626).
With respect to claim 8, Yoon discloses a dielectric ceramic composition comprising: barium titanate as a main component (see paragraph 20, noting BaTiO.sub.3), wherein an elemental ratio of barium to titanium is 0.90 or more and 0.98 or less (see paragraph 41 and 51, reference teaches that having a ratio of 90% BaTiO3 and 10% BaTi2O5 teaches these ratio and that ratio satisfies Ba/Ti ratio. BaTiO3 (0.9*1=0.9), BaTi2O5 (0.1*0.5=0.05), 0.9+0.05= 0.95), and wherein the dielectric ceramic composition contains 0.5 mol or more and 3.0 mol or less of dysprosium per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 77 in combination with paragraph 78, noting 0.25 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), contains 0.05 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less of a donor element per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 57-59, noting and 0.2 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), contains 0.05 mol or more and 3.0 mol or less of an acceptor element per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 57-59, noting and 0.2 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), and contains 0.5 mol or more and 3.0 mol or less of silicon per 100 mol of titanium (see paragraph 71 in combination with 72, noting 0.2 mol to 5.0 mol based on 100 mol of the base material powder), wherein the donor element is at least one of vanadium or molybdenum (see paragraph 57-59, noting vanadium), and wherein the acceptor element is at least one of manganese and magnesium (see paragraph 57-59, noting manganese).
With respect to claim 12, Yoon discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic device (see paragraph 6) comprising: a dielectric ceramic composition as claimed in claim 8 (see the above rejection of claim 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 11 are allowed.
With respect to independent claim 1, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly
suggest, the second crystal grain including at least Ba₄Ti₁₁O₂₆, when taken in conjunction with the remaining limitations of claim 1. Claims 2-7 and 11 are
allowed by virtue of their dependency from claim 1.
than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably
accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on
Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847