DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plasma generator" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 1 to recite “a plasma generator”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the transfer line" in 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 1 to recite “a transfer line”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Shalom et al., US 2018/0141838 (Shalom) in view of Connolly et al., US 2022/0316190 (Connolly).
Regarding claim 1, Shalom discloses a sterilization purification system of contaminated water (abstract, figs. 1, 3) comprising:
A contaminated water tank (REF E, see “water supply”, fig. 1) capable of storing contaminated water;
A pump (REF 1, ¶ 0083) capable of transferring contaminated water to a plasma generator (REF 20, 54, fig. 1, ¶ 0095) through a transfer line (conduit between REF E and REF 54, fig. 1);
A filter (REF 4, ¶ 0094) located between the pump (REF 1) and the plasma generator (REF 20, 54) capable of filtering contaminated water;
A plasma generator (REF 20, 54, fig. 1, ¶ 0095) capable of generating plasma in low-temperature water to sterilize and purify contaminated water (¶ 0119);
A power supply device (REF 218, fig. 3) that supplies power to the plasma generator;
A purified water tank (see “vessel”, ¶ 0092) capable of storing purified water treated in the plasma generator;
A first oxidant measuring unit (REF 56A, fig. 1, ¶ 0086) located between the plasma generator (REF 20, 54) and the purified water tank (downstream from “DISPENSE”, fig. 1) capable of measuring concentration of the oxidant contained in the purified water discharged from the plasma generator (¶ 0086);
A display unit capable of displaying an output of the system (REF 204, fig. 3, ¶ 0125); and
A control unit (REF 202, fig. 3) that controls operation of the pump, the plasma generator, the power supply, and the first oxidant measuring unit (fig. 4, ¶ 0139-0146).
Shalom does not disclose a system comprising a water quality detection sensor that measures water quality in the contaminated water tank and purified water tank, a display capable of displaying a water quality state provided by the water quality detection sensor, or a manager terminal that receives the water quality state of the contaminated water and purified water and controls operation of the sterilization purification system.
However, Connolly discloses a cold-plasma water purification system (abstract, fig. 7, ¶ 0073) comprising a water quality detection sensor that measures water quality of contaminated water (via REF 336, fig. 7, ¶ 0054) contained in a contaminated water tank (REF 320, fig. 7) and in a purified water tank (via REF 326, fig. 7, ¶ 0054), a display unit (see “display screen”, ¶ 0040) capable of displaying the water quality state provided by the water quality detection sensor (¶ 0040, 0048), and a manager terminal (REF 206, fig. 3, ¶ 0040) that receives a water quality state of the contaminated and purified water measured via the water quality detection sensor and controls operation of the sterilization purification system (¶ 0040-0041, 0048).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Shalom to include the water quality detection sensor, display capability, and manager terminal as described in Connolly, since it has been shown that broadly providing sensors, display capabilities, and control means for water purification systems is common and effective for managing and controlling said water purification systems by control architecture and/or a user.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Shalom in view of Connolly as relied upon in the rejection of claim 1 set forth above, and in further view of Han, US 2019/0127242 (Han).
Regarding claim 2, Shalom (in view of Connolly) does not disclose the particular configuration of the plasma generator recited in claim 2. However, Han discloses a plasma generator for water purification (abstract, figs. 1-5) comprising a tubular housing (REF 200, fig. 1), a first electrode (REF 210, figs. 3, 5, ¶ 0064) located inside the housing, and a second electrode (REF 220, figs. 3, 5, ¶ 0064) located inside the housing and between the first electrode and the inner wall of the housing.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the plasma generator of Shalom (in view of Connolly) to have the configuration described in Han in order to increase the efficiency and durability of water treatment systems via plasma (Han, ¶ 0001, 0015).
Regarding claim 3, Han further discloses the first electrode (REF 210, fig. 5) has a spiral structure.
Regarding claim 4, Han further discloses the first electrode is coated with an insulating layer on a surface adjacent to the second electrode (¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 5, Han further discloses the second electrode (REF 220) has a mesh shape (¶ 0067) with an empty interior and is positioned adjacent to the inner wall of the housing at a certain distance (figs. 3-5).
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779