DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, terms “the two conductors” and claim 6, terms “the cross limb” and “the base limb” have no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hass (U. S. Patent 5,035,657) in view of Esser (U. S. Patent 3,259,874).
Regarding claim 1, Hass, see figure 8, discloses an SPE plug-in connector comprising: a housing 71; a plug-in face 71 arranged on a first side of the housing 71 having two plug-in contacts at 13, 13 and optionally a shielding collar; a contact assembly 15, 15 arranged in the housing 71 and having at least four contacts 17, 17, 17, 17,each of the plug-in contacts 13, 13 having two contacts 17, 17 connected therewith; and a connection side (at figure 8 near line 73) arranged on a second side of the housing 71 for connection of two cable ends of SPE cables to the contacts 17, 17 of the contact assembly 15, 15, wherein two first conductors 53, 55 of the first and the second SPE cables are respectively conductively connectable to one another via the contact assembly 15, 15 and to the first of the two plug-in contacts 13, 13 and two second conductors 57, 51 of the first and second SPE cables are respectively conductively connectable to one another via the contact assembly 15, 15and to the second of the two plug-in contacts 13, 13, a T or Y branch being provided with regard to the two cables. Hass discloses the claimed invention except for the contacts 17 are not disclosed to be IDS type. Esser discloses IDS contacts at 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hass to provide such features as taught by Esser so as to easy assembly to the wires.
Regarding claim 2, Hass discloses the housing 71 has a disc-like configuration.
Regarding claim 3, Hass discloses the connection side (figure 8, at line 73) is arranged on a side of the housing 71 facing away from the plug-in side and two cable (wires) ends are guided into the housing 71 at the connection side (see figure 8 at line 73).
Regarding claim 4, Hass discloses the cable ends are guided into the housing 71 in parallel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
None of the references discloses an SPE plug-in connector comprising: a housing, a plug-in face arranged on a first side of the housing having two plug-in contacts and optionally a shielding collar; a contact assembly arranged in the housing and having at least two IDC contacts, each of the plug-in contacts having one IDC contact connected; and a cable bushing extending through the housing to a region at which at least one stripped region of a continuous SPE cable is guided, the two conductors being contacted in the housing by the IDC contacts of the contact assembly, wherein a first of the two conductors of an SPE cable is connectable to a first of the two
plug-in contacts and a second of the two conductors of the SPE cable is connectable to a second of the two plug-in contacts, a T or Y branch being provided with regard to the SPE cable.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831