DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 18/679,416 on May 11, 2026. Please note Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-24 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4, 5, 10, 13, 14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazrouei et al. ( US 2025/0037674 A1 ) in view of Huang et al.
( US 11,929,041 B1 ) and Wu ( US 2019/0206335 A1 ).
Mazrouei teaches in Claim 1:
A display system ( Figure 1, [0024] discloses a display system ) comprising:
a backlight source that defines a full area matrix of a plurality of backlight zones, and operational to generate a background light in response to a background signal ( Figure 1, [0027] discloses a backlight 210 with light source elements arranged two-dimensional matrix. Please note backlight 210 is controlled by a light source driver 240 which can provide background signals to generate light );
a transmissive display with a plurality of pixels, mounted adjacent to the backlight source, and operational to generate a plurality of visible images by modulating the background light in response to an output video signal ( Figures 1 and 4, [0041] show a display panel 220 with a plurality of pixels which can receive image data IMA for the RGB pixels. Figure 1 shows the interaction for the backlight 210 providing light to the display panel 220 ); and
an electronic control unit coupled to the backlight source and the transmissive display, and operational to:
[determine which among the plurality of pixels is in an “on” state based on content in an input video signal; determine a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones; generate the output video signal in response to the input video signal] ( Please note the combination below ); and adjust an on-pixel-ratio function that controls the background signal in response to an ambient light level present at the transmissive display ( Figure 1, [0044] disclose a circuit device 100 and processing device 300 which can provide dimming processing based on ambient light conditions. Figure 6, [0060] discloses weighting/attenuation degrees of pixels based on the ambient light conditions. Figure 9 shows attenuation degrees based on distance and this impacts the luminance of pixels (read as an on-pixel-ratio function) ),
wherein, the on-pixel-ratio function dynamically darkens the background light on an individual background zone basis in response to (i) a decrease in the ambient light level and (ii) the percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to reduce a leakage halo effect; the on-pixel ratio function dynamically brightens the background light on the individual background zone basis in response to (i) an increase in ambient light level and (ii) the percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone ( Figure 6, [0060] discloses a halo reduction mode when the ambient light is detected to be dark. [0062] discloses light leaking from a surrounding dark portion of the high luminance area, resulting in the halo. Figure 12, etc, disclose the attenuation rate is at the highest at the point (read as background zone) of the halo (read high attenuation as low luminance/darkening). As for the reverse, i.e. dynamically brightens, Figure 6 also teaches of a high-luminance mode, essentially for opposite conditions to the ones detailed above ); but
Mazrouei may not explicitly teach to “determine which among the plurality of pixels is in an “on” state based on content in an input video signal; determine a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones; generate the output video signal in response to the input video signal”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, halo adjustments, Huang teaches of halo phenomenon which adversely affects user experiences, ( Huang, Column 6, Lines 20-32 ). Notably, Huang teaches in Figure 5A/5B of analyzing an image area and breaking it down based on the backlight zones, classifying into low and high luminance image areas, ( Huang, Column 7, Lines 52-60 ). Based on where the high gray levels are, i.e. in which zones, compensation (for reducing halo effects) can be more accurately applied (read as a process to determine the plurality of pixels in an “on” state in each given zone. This updated map is output and then compensated for, i.e. output video signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the percentage and specific backlight zone analysis, as taught by Huang, with the motivation that different compensation factors can be applied in different gray areas, resulting in a more efficient halo compensation, ( Huang, Column 7, Lines 52-60 ).
Mazrouei may not explicitly teach of (i) “each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones is spatially aligned with a respective two-dimensional array of at least four of the plurality of pixels of the transmissive display” and (ii) “wherein: the on-pixel-ratio function establishes an approximately linear line from approximately 1 percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to transmit the background light to approximately 100 percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to transmit the background light.”
As for (i): Initially, Mazrouei teaches in [0027] the backlight may be divided into areas which can independently controlled. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, displays with local backlight dimming, Wu teaches of multiple peripheral regions 120, 130 and 140, ( Wu, Figure 6, [0060] ). Notably, Wu teaches in [0048] of a number of pixels which can be controlled in each of these regions and they are also independently controlled to reduce halo issues, [0081]. Respectfully, it is clear that each of these regions/areas have at least four pixels which correspond to backlight regions/areas, as Mazrouei also teaches in Figure 4. Furthermore, display pixels are arranged in a matrix, comprising two dimensions, rows and columns. The exact number of pixels in each area is a design choice issue given Mazrouei and Wu both teach of adjusting the luminance of the regions independently. As for the approximately linear line from 1 percent to 100 percent being on the “on” state, Wu teaches in Figure 6 of different regions which can be sequentially activated. Furthermore, Figure 10, [0051]+ disclose of a gamma curve between the current and the overall brightness, when more pixels are activated. Respectfully, it is clear that depending on the detected ambient light, the number of “on” pixels changes in a ratio proportional to the ambient light, as Wu teaches. Mazrouei also teaches this in Figure 9, [0083] of the proportional relationship between distance and luminance.
As for (ii): Respectfully, both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting the brightness values of the backlight. Please note Wu, Figure 10, [0085] which can ramp from approximately 0 percent to BLmax. Mazrouei also teaches in [0087] of maximum luminance to 100% as well, as part of the high-luminance mode. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting values based on ambient light and both, particularly Mazrouei teaches of bright and dark conditions which result in a wide variety luminance values.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the sizing of the display pixels, as taught by Wu, with the motivation that it is a design choice issue as to the number of pixels. This can be designed in a variety of ways to reach the desired size of the region.
Mazrouei and Wu teach in Claim 4:
The display system according to claim 1, wherein: a slope of the approximately linear line is (i) a function of the percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone, (ii) varies with the ambient light level and (iii) approaches zero as the ambient light level increases. ( As noted above, Wu teaches of BLmax and Mazrouei teaches of 100% maximum luminance. As it reaches maximum/high-luminance, the slope naturally evens out, i.e. approaches zero. As evidenced by the changes in luminance, this clearly indicates a variance )
As per Claim 5:
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach “wherein: the electronic control unit is further operational to stop the dynamic darkening of the background light at approximately 10 percent of a maximum operational daytime luminance or nighttime luminance.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, displays with local backlight dimming, Wu teaches of multiple peripheral regions 120, 130 and 140, ( Wu, Figure 6, [0060] ). Notably, Wu teaches in [0048] of a number of pixels which can be controlled in each of these regions and they are also independently controlled to reduce halo issues, [0081]. Please note Wu, Figure 10, [0085] which can ramp from approximately 0 percent to BLmax. Mazrouei also teaches in [0087] of maximum luminance to 100% as well, as part of the high-luminance mode. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting values based on ambient light and both, particularly Mazrouei teaches of bright and dark conditions which result in a wide variety luminance values. Furthermore, it is clear that darkening should be limited at some point, albeit a low level, such as nighttime or 10 percent of a maximum level. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of being able to render at low luminance and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to be able to optimize the luminance level.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the luminance optimization with the motivation that it will still allow for the proper luminance at night time and in general, at whatever the ambient conditions are.
Mazrouei teaches in Claim 10:
A method for dynamic halo reduction comprising:
generating a background light in response to a background signal using a backlight source that defines a full area matrix of a plurality of backlight zones ( Figure 1, [0027] discloses a backlight 210 with light source elements arranged two-dimensional matrix. Please note backlight 210 is controlled by a light source driver 240 which can provide background signals to generate light );
generating a plurality of visible images by modulating the background light in response to an output video signal using a transmissive display with a plurality of pixels and mounted adjacent to the backlight source ( Figures 1 and 4, [0041] show a display panel 220 with a plurality of pixels which can receive image data IMA for the RGB pixels. Figure 1 shows the interaction for the backlight 210 providing light to the display panel 220 ); and
[determining which among the plurality of pixels is in an “on” state based on content in an input video signal; determining a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones; generating the output video signal in response to the input video signal] ( Please note the combination below )
adjusting an on-pixel-ratio function in an electronic control unit that controls the background signal in response to an ambient light level present at the transmissive display ( Figure 1, [0044] disclose a circuit device 100 and processing device 300 which can provide dimming processing based on ambient light conditions. Figure 6, [0060] discloses weighting/attenuation degrees of pixels based on the ambient light conditions. Figure 9 shows attenuation degrees based on distance and this impacts the luminance of pixels (read as an on-pixel-ratio function) ),
wherein: the on-pixel-ratio function dynamically darkens the background light on an individual background zone basis in response to (i) a decrease in the ambient light level and (ii) a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone being on pixels to reduce a leakage halo effect; the on-pixel ratio function dynamically brightens the background light on the individual background zone basis in response to (i) an increase in the ambient light level and (ii) the percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone ( Figure 6, [0060] discloses a halo reduction mode when the ambient light is detected to be dark. [0062] discloses light leaking from a surrounding dark portion of the high luminance area, resulting in the halo. Figure 12, etc, disclose the attenuation rate is at the highest at the point (read as background zone) of the halo (read high attenuation as low luminance/darkening). As for the reverse, i.e. dynamically brightens, Figure 6 also teaches of a high-luminance mode, essentially for opposite conditions to the ones detailed above ); but
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach of “determining which among the plurality of pixels is in an “on” state based on content in an input video signal; determining a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones; generating the output video signal in response to the input video signal”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, halo adjustments, Huang teaches of halo phenomenon which adversely affects user experiences, ( Huang, Column 6, Lines 20-32 ). Notably, Huang teaches in Figure 5A/5B of analyzing an image area and breaking it down based on the backlight zones, classifying into low and high luminance image areas, ( Huang, Column 7, Lines 52-60 ). Based on where the high gray levels are, i.e. in which zones, compensation (for reducing halo effects) can be more accurately applied (read as a process to determine the plurality of pixels in an “on” state in each given zone. This updated map is output and then compensated for, i.e. output video signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the percentage and specific backlight zone analysis, as taught by Huang, with the motivation that different compensation factors can be applied in different gray areas, resulting in a more efficient halo compensation, ( Huang, Column 7, Lines 52-60 ).
Mazrouei may not explicitly teach of (i) “a given zone of the plurality of backlight zones is spatially aligned with a respective two-dimensional array of at least four of the plurality of pixels of the transmissive display” and (ii) “wherein: the on-pixel-ratio function establishes an approximately linear line from approximately 1 percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to transmit the background light to approximately 100 percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to transmit the background light.”
As for (i): Initially, Mazrouei teaches in [0027] the backlight may be divided into areas which can independently controlled. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, displays with local backlight dimming, Wu teaches of multiple peripheral regions 120, 130 and 140, ( Wu, Figure 6, [0060] ). Notably, Wu teaches in [0048] of a number of pixels which can be controlled in each of these regions and they are also independently controlled to reduce halo issues, [0081]. Respectfully, it is clear that each of these regions/areas have at least four pixels which correspond to backlight regions/areas, as Mazrouei also teaches in Figure 4. Furthermore, display pixels are arranged in a matrix, comprising two dimensions, rows and columns. The exact number of pixels in each area is a design choice issue given Mazrouei and Wu both teach of adjusting the luminance of the regions independently. As for the approximately linear line from 1 percent to 100 percent being on the “on” state, Wu teaches in Figure 6 of different regions which can be sequentially activated. Furthermore, Figure 10, [0051]+ disclose of a gamma curve between the current and the overall brightness, when more pixels are activated. Respectfully, it is clear that depending on the detected ambient light, the number of “on” pixels changes in a ratio proportional to the ambient light, as Wu teaches. Mazrouei also teaches this in Figure 9, [0083] of the proportional relationship between distance and luminance.
As for (ii): Respectfully, both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting the brightness values of the backlight. Please note Wu, Figure 10, [0085] which can ramp from approximately 0 percent to BLmax. Mazrouei also teaches in [0087] of maximum luminance to 100% as well, as part of the high-luminance mode. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting values based on ambient light and both, particularly Mazrouei teaches of bright and dark conditions which result in a wide variety luminance values.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the sizing of the display pixels, as taught by Wu, with the motivation that it is a design choice issue as to the number of pixels. This can be designed in a variety of ways to reach the desired size of the region.
Mazrouei and Wu teach in Claim 13:
The method according to claim 10, wherein: a slope of the approximately linear line is (i) a function of the percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone, (ii) varies and (iii) approaches zero as the ambient light level increases. ( As noted above, Wu teaches of BLmax and Mazrouei teaches of 100% maximum luminance. As it reaches maximum/high-luminance, the slope naturally evens out, i.e. approaches zero. As evidenced by the changes in luminance, this clearly indicates a variance )
As per Claim 14:
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach of “stopping the dynamic darkening of the background light at approximately 10 percent of a maximum operational daytime luminance or a nighttime luminance.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, displays with local backlight dimming, Wu teaches of multiple peripheral regions 120, 130 and 140, ( Wu, Figure 6, [0060] ). Notably, Wu teaches in [0048] of a number of pixels which can be controlled in each of these regions and they are also independently controlled to reduce halo issues, [0081]. Please note Wu, Figure 10, [0085] which can ramp from approximately 0 percent to BLmax. Mazrouei also teaches in [0087] of maximum luminance to 100% as well, as part of the high-luminance mode. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting values based on ambient light and both, particularly Mazrouei teaches of bright and dark conditions which result in a wide variety luminance values. Furthermore, it is clear that darkening should be limited at some point, albeit a low level, such as nighttime or 10 percent of a maximum level. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of being able to render at low luminance and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to be able to optimize the luminance level.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the luminance optimization with the motivation that it will still allow for the proper luminance at night time and in general, at whatever the ambient conditions are.
Mazrouei teaches in Claim 19:
A non-transitory computer readable medium on which is recorded instructions, executable by a processor, for control of a display ( [0032] discloses details of the microcomputer with a processor. Respectfully, aspects of a memory and instructions are inherent given the processes described by Mazrouei ), wherein execution of the instructions causes the processor to:
generate a background signal that controls a background light in response to a background signal, wherein the background light is generated using a backlight source that defines a full area matrix of a plurality of backlight zones ( Figure 1, [0027] discloses a backlight 210 with light source elements arranged two-dimensional matrix. Please note backlight 210 is controlled by a light source driver 240 which can provide background signals to generate light );
generate an output video signal [in response to an input video signal], wherein the output video signal controls a plurality of visible images by modulating the background light in response to the output video signal, and the plurality of visible images are generated using a transmissive display with a plurality of pixels and mounted adjacent to the backlight source ( Figures 1 and 4, [0041] show a display panel 220 with a plurality of pixels which can receive image data IMA for the RGB pixels. Figure 1 shows the interaction for the backlight 210 providing light to the display panel 220 ); and
[determine which among the plurality of pixels is in an “on” state based on a content in the input video signal; determine a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones] ( Please note the combination below ); and
adjust an on-pixel-ratio function that controls the background signal in response to an ambient light level present at the transmissive display ( Figure 1, [0044] disclose a circuit device 100 and processing device 300 which can provide dimming processing based on ambient light conditions. Figure 6, [0060] discloses weighting/attenuation degrees of pixels based on the ambient light conditions. Figure 9 shows attenuation degrees based on distance and this impacts the luminance of pixels (read as an on-pixel-ratio function) ),
wherein, the on-pixel-ratio function dynamically darkens the background light on an individual background zone in response to (i) a decrease in the ambient light level and (ii) the percentage of the plurality of pixels in an “on” state in each given zone to reduce a leakage halo effect; the on-pixel ratio functional dynamically brightens the background light on the individual background zone basis in response to (i) an increase in the ambient light level and (ii) the percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone ( Figure 6, [0060] discloses a halo reduction mode when the ambient light is detected to be dark. [0062] discloses light leaking from a surrounding dark portion of the high luminance area, resulting in the halo. Figure 12, etc, disclose the attenuation rate is at the highest at the point (read as background zone) of the halo (read high attenuation as low luminance/darkening). As for the reverse, i.e. dynamically brightens, Figure 6 also teaches of a high-luminance mode, essentially for opposite conditions to the ones detailed above ); but
Mazrouei may not explicitly teach to “determine which among the plurality of pixels is in an “on” state based on a content in the input video signal; determine a percentage of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, halo adjustments, Huang teaches of halo phenomenon which adversely affects user experiences, ( Huang, Column 6, Lines 20-32 ). Notably, Huang teaches in Figure 5A/5B of analyzing an image area and breaking it down based on the backlight zones, classifying into low and high luminance image areas, ( Huang, Column 7, Lines 52-60 ). Based on where the high gray levels are, i.e. in which zones, compensation (for reducing halo effects) can be more accurately applied (read as a process to determine the plurality of pixels in an “on” state in each given zone. This updated map is output and then compensated for, i.e. output video signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the percentage and specific backlight zone analysis, as taught by Huang, with the motivation that different compensation factors can be applied in different gray areas, resulting in a more efficient halo compensation, ( Huang, Column 7, Lines 52-60 ).
Mazrouei may not explicitly teach of (i) “each given zone of the plurality of backlight zones is spatially aligned with a respective two-dimensional array of at least four of the plurality of pixels of the transmissive display” and (ii) “wherein: the on-pixel-ratio function establishes an approximately linear line from approximately 1 percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to transmit the background light to approximately 100 percent of the plurality of pixels in the “on” state in the given zone to transmit the background light.”
As for (i): Initially, Mazrouei teaches in [0027] the backlight may be divided into areas which can independently controlled. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, displays with local backlight dimming, Wu teaches of multiple peripheral regions 120, 130 and 140, ( Wu, Figure 6, [0060] ). Notably, Wu teaches in [0048] of a number of pixels which can be controlled in each of these regions and they are also independently controlled to reduce halo issues, [0081]. Respectfully, it is clear that each of these regions/areas have at least four pixels which correspond to backlight regions/areas, as Mazrouei also teaches in Figure 4. The exact number of pixels in each area is a design choice issue given Mazrouei and Wu both teach of adjusting the luminance of the regions independently. As for the approximately linear line from 1 percent to 100 percent being on the “on” state, Wu teaches in Figure 6 of different regions which can be sequentially activated. Furthermore, Figure 10, [0051]+ disclose of a gamma curve between the current and the overall brightness, when more pixels are activated. Respectfully, it is clear that depending on the detected ambient light, the number of “on” pixels changes in a ratio proportional to the ambient light, as Wu teaches. Mazrouei also teaches this in Figure 9, [0083] of the proportional relationship between distance and luminance.
As for (ii): Respectfully, both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting the brightness values of the backlight. Please note Wu, Figure 10, [0085] which can ramp from approximately 0 percent to BLmax. Mazrouei also teaches in [0087] of maximum luminance to 100% as well, as part of the high-luminance mode. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting values based on ambient light and both, particularly Mazrouei teaches of bright and dark conditions which result in a wide variety luminance values.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the sizing of the display pixels, as taught by Wu, with the motivation that it is a design choice issue as to the number of pixels. This can be designed in a variety of ways to reach the desired size of the region.
As per Claim 20:
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach “wherein the processor is further operational to: stop the dynamic darkening of the background light at approximately 10 percent of a maximum operational daylight luminance or a nighttime luminance.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, displays with local backlight dimming, Wu teaches of multiple peripheral regions 120, 130 and 140, ( Wu, Figure 6, [0060] ). Notably, Wu teaches in [0048] of a number of pixels which can be controlled in each of these regions and they are also independently controlled to reduce halo issues, [0081]. Please note Wu, Figure 10, [0085] which can ramp from approximately 0 percent to BLmax. Mazrouei also teaches in [0087] of maximum luminance to 100% as well, as part of the high-luminance mode. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of adjusting values based on ambient light and both, particularly Mazrouei teaches of bright and dark conditions which result in a wide variety luminance values. Furthermore, it is clear that darkening should be limited at some point, albeit a low level, such as nighttime or 10 percent of a maximum level. Both Mazrouei and Wu teach of being able to render at low luminance and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to be able to optimize the luminance level.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the luminance optimization with the motivation that it will still allow for the proper luminance at night time and in general, at whatever the ambient conditions are.
Mazrouei and Wu teach in Claim 21:
The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 19, wherein: a slope of the approximately linear line is (i) a function of the percent of the on pixels, (ii) varies with the ambient light level and (iii) approaches zero as the ambient light level increases. ( As noted above, Wu teaches of BLmax and Mazrouei teaches of 100% maximum luminance. As it reaches maximum/high-luminance, the slope naturally evens out, i.e. approaches zero. As evidenced by the changes in luminance, this clearly indicates a variance )
As per Claim 22:
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach wherein “the processor: receives the ambient light level from one or more ambient light sensors sensed along a first direction substantially toward a driver-facing side of the transmissive display, wherein the transmissive display presents the plurality of visible images in a second direction away from the transmissive display.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, vehicle displays, Huang teaches of a virtual visor system 10, ( Huang, Figure 1, [0013] ). Notably, a screen 14 and environmental sensor 34 are included, as detailed in [0013], [0025]. The environmental sensors can detect the amount of daylight, i.e. an ambient light sensor. As Figure 1 shows, the sensor 34 can detect bright light form the sun, [0013], i.e. towards the transmissive display in the sense that this bright light impacts the visibility of the screen. Furthermore, the screen 14 outputs image in another direction, towards the user, as shown. Please note Mazrouei teaches of an ambient light sensor and display, though does not detail the locations of these elements in the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the light sensor and display locations, as taught by Huang, with the motivation that by using the light sensor at that particular location will result in darkening the screen appropriately, blocking out direct sunlight form the driver’s eyes, ( Huang, [0002] ).
6. Claims 6-9, 15-18 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazrouei et al. ( US 2025/0037674 A1 ) and Huang et al. ( US 11,929,041 B1 ) and Wu ( US 2019/0206335 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Huang et al. ( US 2022/0269892 A1 ), hereinafter referred to as Huang2.
As per Claim 6:
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach “one or more ambient light sensors operational to sense the ambient light level received along a first direction substantially toward a driver-facing side of the transmissive display, wherein, the transmissive display presents the plurality of visible images in a second direction away from the transmissive display.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, vehicle displays, Huang2 teaches of a virtual visor system 10, ( Huang2, Figure 1, [0013] ). Notably, a screen 14 and environmental sensor 34 are included, as detailed in [0013], [0025]. The environmental sensors can detect the amount of daylight, i.e. an ambient light sensor. As Figure 1 shows, the sensor 34 can detect bright light form the sun, [0013], i.e. towards the transmissive display in the sense that this bright light impacts the visibility of the screen. Furthermore, the screen 14 outputs image in another direction, towards the user, as shown. Please note Mazrouei teaches of an ambient light sensor and display, though does not detail the locations of these elements in the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the light sensor and display locations, as taught by Huang2, with the motivation that by using the light sensor at that particular location will result in darkening the screen appropriately, blocking out direct sunlight form the driver’s eyes, ( Huang2, [0002] ).
Mazrouei and Huang2 teach in Claim 7:
The display system according to claim 6, wherein: the one or more ambient light sensors are one or more instrument panel daylight sensors of a vehicle. ( [0032] discloses details on the ambient light sensor and [0024] discloses the apparatus may be an in-vehicle display apparatus in particular. Huang2, Figure 1 also teaches of an environmental sensor for a vehicle as well )
Mazrouei and Huang2 teach in Claim 8:
The display system according to claim 6, further comprising:
a forward looking light sensor operational to sense a forward light level received substantially along the second direction, wherein: the electronic control unit is further operational to adjust the on-pixel-ratio function and a video brightness function in response to the forward light level. ( [0032] discloses the information detected by the ambient light sensor and the dimming processing, i.e. the adjusting of the pixel data/video brightness, is done based on this. Respectfully, being in a vehicle, it is clear that it is “forward looking” so as to detect environmental conditions. To clarify on this, Huang2 teaches of a “forward looking” sensor to detect bright light from the sun, i.e. forward from the vehicle )
Huang2 teaches in Claim 9:
The display system according to claim 8, wherein: the forward looking light sensor directly measures the forward light level entering through a front windshield of a vehicle. ( Figure 1, [0014] shows the environmental sensor 34 is on the windshield of the vehicle and/or measures bright light from the sun impacting on the windshield )
As per Claim 15:
Mazrouei does not explicitly teach of “sensing the ambient light level received along a first direction substantially toward the driver-facing side of the transmissive display with one or more ambient light sensors, wherein, the transmissive display presents the plurality of visible images in a second direction away from the transmissive display.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, vehicle displays, Huang2 teaches of a virtual visor system 10, ( Huang2, Figure 1, [0013] ). Notably, a screen 14 and environmental sensor 34 are included, as detailed in [0013], [0025]. The environmental sensors can detect the amount of daylight, i.e. an ambient light sensor. As Figure 1 shows, the sensor 34 can detect bright light form the sun, [0013], i.e. towards the transmissive display in the sense that this bright light impacts the visibility of the screen. Furthermore, the screen 14 outputs image in another direction, towards the user, as shown. Please note Mazrouei teaches of an ambient light sensor and display, though does not detail the locations of these elements in the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the light sensor and display locations, as taught by Huang2, with the motivation that by using the light sensor at that particular location will result in darkening the screen appropriately, blocking out direct sunlight form the driver’s eyes, ( Huang2, [0002] ).
Mazrouei and Huang2 teach in Claim 16:
The method according to claim 15, wherein: the one or more ambient light sensors are one or more instrument panel daylight sensors of a vehicle. ( [0032] discloses details on the ambient light sensor and [0024] discloses the apparatus may be an in-vehicle display apparatus in particular. Huang2, Figure 1 also teaches of an environmental sensor for a vehicle as well )
Mazrouei and Huang2 teach in Claim 17:
The method according to claim 15, further comprising: sensing a forward light level received substantially along the second direction with a forward looking light sensor; and the adjusting of the on-pixel-ratio function and a video brightness function are in further response to the forward light level. ( [0032] discloses the information detected by the ambient light sensor and the dimming processing, i.e. the adjusting of the pixel data/video brightness, is done based on this. Respectfully, being in a vehicle, it is clear that it is “forward looking” so as to detect environmental conditions. To clarify on this, Huang2 teaches of a “forward looking” sensor to detect bright light from the sun, i.e. forward from the vehicle )
Huang2 teaches in Claim 18:
The method according to claim 17, further comprising: directly measuring the forward light level entering through a front windshield of a vehicle with the forward looking light sensor. ( Figure 1, [0014] shows the environmental sensor 34 is on the windshield of the vehicle and/or measures bright light from the sun impacting on the windshield )
Mazrouei and Huang2 teach in Claim 23:
The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 22, wherein: the one or more ambient light sensors are one or more instrument panel daylight sensors of a vehicle. ( [0032] discloses details on the ambient light sensor and [0024] discloses the apparatus may be an in-vehicle display apparatus in particular. Huang2, Figure 1 also teaches of an environmental sensor for a vehicle as well )
Mazrouei and Huang2 teach in Claim 24:
The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 23, wherein the processor: receives a forward light level from a forward looking light sensor sensed substantially along the second direction; and adjusts the on-pixel-ratio function and a video brightness function in response to the forward light level. ( [0032] discloses the information detected by the ambient light sensor and the dimming processing, i.e. the adjusting of the pixel data/video brightness, is done based on this. Respectfully, being in a vehicle, it is clear that it is “forward looking” so as to detect environmental conditions. To clarify on this, Huang2 teaches of a “forward looking” sensor to detect bright light from the sun, i.e. forward from the vehicle )
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments, namely a focus on Huang. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are moot at this time.
Applicant is advised to better define how the “on” state percentages affect the dynamically brightening or darkening of the image content. While Huang focuses on compensation based on image aspects such as high and low gray levels, better claiming the differences in how this is done will overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621