DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/10/2026 and 08/12/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 07/24/2026.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12-13, 15, 18-23 are pending.
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11, 14, 16-17 are canceled.
Claims 21-23 are added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12-13, 15, 18-23, filed on 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument regarding claim 1 that WIGARD does not disclose at least the following features :
a) "receiving indication information indicating a moment at which the first cell stops serving the terminal from the first network device; determining to switch the first network device when the moment arrives; performing downlink synchronization based on a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by a second network device, when determining to switch the first network device", and
b) "wherein the first cell and the second cell have a same cell identifier which corresponds to a geographical location ". (REMARKS, Pages 6 of 10 – 7 of 10)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that the Applicant recognized previously cited WIGARD Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0023-0028, 0038].
For a) WIGARD discloses in Fig. 3, SAT1 coverage ends at time t1, SAT2 coverage begins at t2, and in between dTs is coverage gap between SAT1 and SAT2 coverages which can be used as transition time for beam switching to minimize any impact of the coverage gap, as indicated in [0026].
See also Fig. 4, 401: Cell switch resynchronization message, and 403: Resynchronization after pre-determined time based on configuration message or resynchronization message,
[0025] The RLF may be due to the loss of synchronization experienced by the user since the PCI radio transmitter may be transferred between satellites …
[0026] the coverage gap (dTs) introduced due to satellite/gNB switch, and may avoid the need to reset MAC configurations ….. enable—UE service continuity with reduced initial access signalling required in the new gNB….
[0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410 …. may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0028] In certain embodiments, the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one beam switching duration (dTs) indication, at least one start time (t1), at least one timing advance….
[0038] In step 403, UE 420 may resynchronize with a second NE (not shown), …. after t2 with at least one parameter based upon the at least one resynchronization message, resulting in faster synchronization compared to techniques of UE 420 detecting and reporting at least one RLF.
In the above, by Fig. 3 and [0027, 0028] WIGARD discloses time t1, provided by resynchronization message to UE 420, is the start time of dTs or coverage gap or SAT1/NE 410 or the first cell stops serving the UE 420 or the terminal, and UE 420/terminal starts to count dTs gap time to get to predetermined time t2 based on given t1 and dTs (t2=t1+dTs), at which time UE 420/terminal resynchronizes with SAT2/second NE or cell which also clearly teaches determining to switch the first network device when the moment arrives; performing downlink synchronization based on a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by a second network device, when determining to switch the first network device.
For b), WIGARD Figs. 3, 4, [0023-0025] discloses same physical cel identifier (PCI) for same coverage or geographical area by first and second satellite, PCI being transferred between satellites and both first and second satellite serving or providing coverage for UE 420, teaching wherein the first cell and the second cell have a same cell identifier which corresponds to a geographical location.
Therefore amended claim 1 is rejected.
Amended independent claims 9 and 15 with similar features as in claim 1, are also rejected for the same reason as set for claim 1.
Dependent claims 4-5, 7-8, 12-13, 18-23, being dependent on claims 1, 9 and 15, are also rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-15 and 18-20 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Wigard et al. (US 20210068065 A1, of IDS, hereinafter 'WIGARD').
Regarding claim 1, WIGARD teaches a handover method, performed by a terminal or an apparatus of the terminal (
[0023] A new radio (NR) cell formed by one or more satellite beams may have radio coverage stationary on Earth. Over time, the satellite may become unable to steer the beam to the same location, and a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area ….. this consecutive coverage by multiple satellites on the same orbit requires periodic and frequent satellite beam switching so that continuous service may be provided to the same geographical area. In this way, the satellite beam may be steered and resynchronized since the Doppler frequency and timing advance values may vary.
Fig. 3, [0024] [0024] As illustrated in FIG. 3, mobile cells on earth may generate satellite beams which do not change their pointing direction (max gain) with respect to the orbit of the satellite since their footprint is moving on earth. ……
[0025] Existing techniques may experience radio link failure (RLF) during the gNB switch in a NTN with LEO fixed cell on earth. The RLF may be due to the loss of synchronization experienced by the user since the PCI radio transmitter may be transferred between satellites
[0026] … various embodiments may minimize any impact of the coverage gap (dTs) introduced due to satellite/gNB switch, and may avoid the need to reset MAC configurations ….. enable—UE service continuity with reduced initial access signalling required in the new gNB….
See also Fig. 4 step 401 Cell switch resynchronization message to User Equipment 420
(Construed that continuation of coverage using multiple satellite and corresponding satellite beam switching, resynchronized, satellite/gNB switch and UE service continuity indicate a handover method for a terminal or user equipment (UE))), wherein the method comprises:
connecting to a first cell via a first network device (
[0023] A new radio (NR) cell formed by one or more satellite beams may have radio coverage stationary on Earth. Over time, the satellite may become unable to steer the beam to the same location, and a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area…
[0025] Existing techniques may experience radio link failure (RLF) during the gNB switch in a NTN with LEO fixed cell on earth. The RLF may be due to the loss of synchronization experienced by the user since the PCI radio transmitter may be transferred between satellites. …
[0026] the coverage gap (dTs) introduced due to satellite/gNB switch, and may avoid the need to reset MAC configurations ….. enable—UE service continuity with reduced initial access signalling required in the new gNB….
Fig. 4, 401: Cell switch resynchronization message,
[0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0028] In certain embodiments, the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one beam switching duration (dTs) indication, at least one start time (t.sub.1), at least one timing advance….
(Construed UE 420 connecting to first cell of first satellite or NE 710 then later received a resynchronization message with parameters for resynchronization for an upcoming beam or satellite switching or handover));
receiving indication information indicating a moment at which the first cell stops serving the terminal from the first network device (
Fig. 3 showing SAT1 coverage ends at time t1, SAT2 coverage begins at t2, and in between dTs is coverage gap between SAT1 and SAT2 coverages which can be used as transition time for beam switching to minimize any impact of the coverage gap, as indicated in [0026].
See Fig. 4, 401: Cell switch resynchronization message, and 403: Resynchronization after pre-determined time based on configuration message or resynchronization message,
[0027] In step 401, NE 410 …. may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0028] …. the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one beam switching duration (dTs) indication, at least one start time (t1), ….
(It is construed that parameters t1 and dTs in resynchronization message explicitly indicates receiving indication information indicating a moment at which the first cell stops serving the terminal from the first network device or the SAT1/first NE 410 as illustrated by Fig. 3));
determining to switch the first network device when the moment arrives (
See Fig. 4, 403: Resynchronization after pre-determined time based on configuration message or resynchronization message);
performing downlink synchronization based on a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by a second network device (
[0023] a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area, which may be with same physical cell identifier (PCI). This may provide the benefit of simplifying the region and management of tracking areas. However, this consecutive coverage by multiple satellites on the same orbit requires periodic and frequent satellite beam switching so that continuous service may be provided to the same geographical area. In this way, the satellite beam may be steered and resynchronized.
[0025] Existing techniques may experience radio link failure (RLF) during the gNB switch in a NTN with LEO fixed cell on earth. The RLF may be due to the loss of synchronization experienced by the user since the PCI radio transmitter may be transferred between satellites. …
See Fig. 4, 403: Resynchronization after pre-determined time based on configuration message or resynchronization message,
[0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0038] In step 403, UE 420 may resynchronize with a second NE (not shown), which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, after t.sub.2 with at least one parameter based upon the at least one resynchronization message, resulting in faster synchronization compared to techniques of UE 420 detecting and reporting at least one RLF.
(Construed UE 420 connecting to first cell of first satellite or NE 410/710/SAT1 and later after receiving a resynchronization message from NE 410/710, UE 420 does downlink/uplink resynchronization with second cell of second satellite/SAT2 for continuation of service as described by Fig. 3, Fig. 4 and [0027, 0038])); and
connecting to the second cell via the second network device, wherein the first cell and the second cell have a same cell identifier which corresponds to a geographical location (
[0023] a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area, which may be with same physical cell identifier (PCI). This may provide the benefit of simplifying the region and management of tracking areas. However, this consecutive coverage by multiple satellites on the same orbit requires periodic and frequent satellite beam switching so that continuous service may be provided to the same geographical area. In this way, the satellite beam may be steered and resynchronized.
[0025] …. the PCI radio transmitter may be transferred between satellites
Fig. 7, [0038] In step 403, UE 420 may resynchronize with a second NE (not shown), which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, after t.sub.2 with at least one parameter based upon the at least one resynchronization message, resulting in faster synchronization compared to techniques of UE 420 detecting and reporting at least one RLF.
(Construed UE 420 connecting to first cell of first satellite or NE 410/710/SAT1 and after receiving a resynchronization message from NE 410/710/SAT1, UE 420 does downlink/uplink resynchronization at t2 (t2=t1+dTs) and connection with second cell of second NE/ satellite/SAT2 due to satellite/beam switching or handover for continuation of service at the same coverage area or geographical location as described by Fig. 3, Fig. 4 and [0023, 0025, 0027, 0038])).
Regarding claim 9, WIGARD teaches a communication apparatus (Fig. 4 UE 420, Fig. 7 UE 720,
[0027] UE 420, which may be similar to UE 720 in FIG. 7,
[0065] [0065] User equipment 720 may include one or more of a mobile device, such as a mobile phone, smart phone) comprising:
at least one processor, and one or more memories including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations (
[0065] User equipment 720 may include one or more of a mobile device, such as a mobile phone, smart phone….
[0067] At least one memory may be provided in one or more of devices indicated at 712 and 722. The memory may be fixed or removable. The memory may include computer program instructions or computer code contained therein.
[0068] Processors 711 and 721 and memories 712 and 722 or a subset thereof, may be configured to provide means corresponding to the various blocks of FIGS. 3-6.).
Further, claim 9 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, WIGARD teaches a first access network device (Fig. 4 Network Entity 410, Fig. 7 Network Entity 710,
[0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420, which may be similar to UE 720 in FIG. 7.), comprising:
at least one processor, and one or more memories including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first access network device to perform operations (
Fig. 7, [0063] Network entity 710 may be one or more of a base station, such as an evolved node B (eNB) or 5G or New Radio node B (gNB), a satellite….
[0067] At least one memory may be provided in one or more of devices indicated at 712 and 722. The memory may be fixed or removable. The memory may include computer program instructions or computer code contained therein.
[0068] Processors 711 and 721 and memories 712 and 722 or a subset thereof, may be configured to provide means corresponding to the various blocks of FIGS. 3-6.).
Further, claim 15 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information indicates a configuration of the downlink synchronization signal (
Fig. 4, [0027] In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420, which may be similar to UE 720 in FIG. 7.
[0028] …. the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one beam switching duration (dTs) indication, at least one start time (t.sub.1), at least one timing advance …
[0029] ….. the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one common TA value, at least one differential TA value, and at least one absolute TA value, any of which may be associated with t.sub.2 of NE 410.).
Regarding claim 5, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a length of a measurement window of the downlink synchronization signal, periodicity information of the measurement window of the downlink synchronization signal, or a first offset, and at least one of the periodicity information or the first offset is for determining a starting location of the measurement window (
[0023] A new radio (NR) cell formed by one or more satellite beams may have radio coverage stationary on Earth. Over time, the satellite may become unable to steer the beam to the same location, and a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area, which may be with same physical cell identifier (PCI). This may provide the benefit of simplifying the region and management of tracking areas. However, this consecutive coverage by multiple satellites on the same orbit requires periodic and frequent satellite beam switching so that continuous service may be provided to the same geographical area.
See also [0027-0029] cited for claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
when it is determined that remaining service time of the first network device is 0, determining to switch a connected network device (
[0023] A new radio (NR) cell formed by one or more satellite beams may have radio coverage stationary on Earth. Over time, the satellite may become unable to steer the beam to the same location, and a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area ……so that continuous service may be provided to the same geographical area. In this way, the satellite beam may be steered and resynchronized.
[0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0038] In step 403, UE 420 may resynchronize with a second NE (not shown), which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, after t.sub.2 with at least one parameter based upon the at least one resynchronization message.
(Construed a countdown to 0 t.sub.2 for handover connection to second satellite for continuous service)).
Regarding claim 7, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing downlink synchronization with a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by the second network device comprises:
obtaining a time domain location of the downlink synchronization signal based on location information of the first network device, location information of the second network device, and location information of the terminal (
Fig. 4, [0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0028] the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one beam switching duration (dTs) indication, at least one start time (t.sub.1), at least one timing advance … Additionally …. the at least one resynchronization message may be UE-specific to provide an optimal time distribution of reconnections of UE 420….
[0029] the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one common TA value, at least one differential TA value, and at least one absolute TA value, any of which may be associated with t.sub.2 of NE 410. For example, at least one TA value may be based upon UE 420 location information, for example, GNSS-based and/or network-based; at least one current TA value associated with NE 410; and …. any current or subsequent satellite ephemeris (trajectory) data.).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein
the first access network device is a first satellite (
[0023] A new radio (NR) cell formed by one or more satellite beams may have radio coverage stationary on Earth. Over time, the satellite may become unable to steer the beam to the same location, and a second satellite may assume transmission by providing the same cell for the same coverage area…
[0025] Existing techniques may experience radio link failure (RLF) during the gNB switch in a NTN with LEO fixed cell on earth. The RLF may be due to the loss of synchronization experienced by the user since the PCI radio transmitter may be transferred between satellites. …
[0026] the coverage gap (dTs) introduced due to satellite/gNB switch, and may avoid the need to reset MAC configurations ….. enable—UE service continuity with reduced initial access signalling required in the new gNB….
[0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a signaling diagram according to some embodiments. In step 401, NE 410, which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, may transmit at least one resynchronization message to UE 420…
[0028] In certain embodiments, the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one beam switching duration (dTs) indication, at least one start time (t.sub.1), at least one timing advance….
[0029] In various embodiments, the at least one resynchronization message may comprise one or more of at least one common TA value, at least one differential TA value, and at least one absolute TA value, any of which may be associated with t.sub.2 of NE 410. For example, at least one TA value may be based upon UE 420 location information, for example, GNSS-based and/or network-based; at least one current TA value associated with NE 410; and/or any current or subsequent satellite ephemeris (trajectory) data.
[0038] In step 403, UE 420 may resynchronize with a second NE (not shown))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigard et al. (US 20210068065 A1, of IDS, hereinafter 'WIGARD') in view of Diamond et al. (US 20200259250 A1, of record, hereinafter 'DIAMOND').
Regarding claim 8, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 1, the performing downlink synchronization with a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by the second network device (
See Fig. 4, [0038] [0038] In step 403, UE 420 may resynchronize with a second NE (not shown), which may be similar to NE 710 in FIG. 7, after t.sub.2 with at least one parameter based upon the at least one resynchronization message).
WIGARD does not explicitly disclose wherein the performing downlink synchronization with a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by the second network device comprises:
when an absolute value of a difference between a first distance and a second distance is greater than or equal to a first threshold, performing downlink synchronization with the downlink synchronization signal, wherein the first distance is a distance between the terminal and the first network device, and the second distance is a distance between the terminal and the second network device.
In an analogous art, DIAMOND teaches wherein the performing downlink synchronization with a downlink synchronization signal of a second cell sent by the second network device comprises:
when an absolute value of a difference between a first distance and a second distance is greater than or equal to a first threshold, performing downlink synchronization with the downlink synchronization signal, wherein the first distance is a distance between the terminal and the first network device, and the second distance is a distance between the terminal and the second network device (
[0044] In another example, the antenna selection system may switch to the secondary antenna after determining that a distance from the primary antenna to the target satellite, due to a trajectory and velocity of the target satellite and/or aircraft, reaches a threshold. In such cases, the secondary antenna may be pointed at another target satellite that is within a distance threshold from the secondary antenna. In doing so, the antenna system described herein can provide for seamless handover procedures between target satellites—e.g., handovers that are performed without interrupting a data connection.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using distance based handover between satellites of DIAMOND to the system for signaling for optimized cell switch in earth fixed cells NTN configuration of WIGARD in order to take the advantage of providing a method for seamless handover procedures between target satellites performed without interrupting a data connection (DIAMOND: [0044]).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigard et al. (US 20210068065 A1, of IDS, hereinafter 'WIGARD') in view of Roy et al. (US 20210136641 A1, hereinafter 'ROY').
Regarding claim 21, WIGARD teaches the method according to claim 1.
WIGARD does not explicitly disclose wherein the connecting to the second cell via the second network device comprises:
sending a random access signal to the second network device; or
sending uplink data to the second network device without sending a random access signal to the second network device.
In an analogous art, ROY teaches wherein the connecting to the second cell via the second network device comprises:
sending a random access signal to the second network device; or
sending uplink data to the second network device without sending a random access signal to the second network device (
Fig. 4, illustrating after handover command 416 from Source gNB 402, UE does Cell switch and Sync with Target gNB and sends RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message 431 followed by UL data 432, skipping Random Access process, applicable for NR LEO-NTN.
See [0028] FIG. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403 without explicit Random-Access procedure in NR LEO-NTN to reduce signaling overhead).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using synchronized handover without random access in New-Radio NR-based, LEO-NTN of ROY to the system for signaling for optimized cell switch in earth fixed cells NTN configuration of WIGARD in order to take the advantage of providing a method for reducing signaling overhead (ROY: [0028]).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tao et al. (US 20220345961 A1), describing USER EQUIPMENT AND BASE STATION INVOLVED IN A HANDOVER
Wang et al. (US 20210377832 A1), describing MOBILITY ENHANCEMENT IN A CONNECTED STATE
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413