DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 and 06/03/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicants have not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Wuxi Lead (CN 113820333 is related to a battery pole piece anomaly detection method and device, an upper computer and a detection system. The method comprises the following steps: acquiring distance data from each to-be-detected position point of a to-be-detected edge of a battery pole piece to a distance detector; generating a position point-distance data curve graph of the to-be-detected edge according to the distance data; performing clustering analysis according to the plurality of distance data corresponding to the to-be-detected edge, and determining a clustering center; and based on the clustering center, a preset distance value and the position point-distance data curve graph, identifying an abnormal to-be-detected position point in the to-be-detected edge and an abnormality category. By adopting the method and the device, the abnormal type and the corresponding position point can be analyzed, and the detection effect is good.
Hyundai Motor Co. (KR 20220031440) discloses a device and method for inspecting electrode alignment, which can improve accuracy of analysis. The device for inspecting electrode alignment of battery cells, which is assembled by alternately stacking a plurality of positive electrodes, a plurality of negative electrode, and a separator, according to an embodiment of the present invention includes: a laser sensor unit that measures a profile based on a distance by scanning a side portion of the battery cell with laser; a vacuum suction unit that generates a suction force on the side portion of the battery cell to prevent sagging of the separator; an external interface unit that is connected to the laser sensor unit and the vacuum suction unit to transmit and receive data; a control unit that grasps distances between the positive electrodes, the negative electrodes, and the separator stacked on the side portion of the battery cell based on the profile measured by the laser sensor unit, and analyzes the distance to determine good/poor according to a mutual alignment inspection; and a display unit that displays an image of the side portion scanned by the laser sensor unit and a good/poor determination result.
Wuxi Lead (CN 111193072) is related to a technical field of winding machine automation, and discloses a tab checking and correcting method and device. According to the tab checking and correcting method, consistency analysis is carried out on the tab extending distances of the current group of battery cells, and when the consistency of the tab extending distances of the current group of battery cells exceeds preset threshold range, unstable information is output to prompt an operator to check reasons; when the consistency of the extending distances of the tabs of the current group of battery cells conforms to a preset threshold range, the input deviation rectifying value of the current group of battery cell pole pieces is matched with the tab extending distance adjusting value of the current group of battery cells, and the input deviation rectifying value of the next group of battery cell pieces is obtained, so that a more reliable deviation correction value is provided for the next group of pole pieces, and the more accurate input position of the pole pieces is ensured, so that the consistency of the tab extending distance is improved, and the quality of the battery cell is ensured.
Suzhou Govision Semiconductor Tech Co. (CN 113390351 A) is related to a method for detecting the packaging quality of top and side seals of a battery cell. The method comprises the following steps of obtaining a to-be-detected image of a tab film and a top seal indentation image of a to-be-detected battery cell, the to-be-detected image of the tab film comprises the tab film, and the top seal indentation image comprising a top seal indentation; determining the colloid height and the colloid width of the tab glue according to the to-be-detected image of the tab glue; determining the indentation offset of the top seal indentation according to the top seal indentation image; respectively carrying out matching judgment on the colloid height, the colloid width and the indentation offset with corresponding packaging quality standard ranges; and if the colloid height, the colloid width and the indentation offset all reach the standard, determining that the to-be-detected battery cell is a good battery cell. According to the method, packaging quality visual detection can be carried out on the tab glue and the top sealing indentation of the battery cell, the production quality of the battery cell is improved, and safety of the battery cell is improved.
LG Chemical LTD (KR 20170103341 A) is related to a device for measuring a thickness of a battery cell in which an electrode assembly including a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separation membrane is mounted on a receiving part of a battery case, the device comprising: a base unit having a structure extended in a first direction horizontal with respect to the ground; a moving unit reciprocating in the first direction on the base unit; a loading unit having a battery cell loaded on an upper surface thereof, and coupled to an upper portion of the moving unit to reciprocate in the first direction together with the moving unit; a pair of first frames vertically arranged from both side surfaces of the base unit in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction; a second frame for connecting the first frames in a third direction that is perpendicular to the first and second directions respectively while being spaced upwardly from the loading unit; a laser sensor installed on the second frame, and transmitting, to a control unit, a vertical distance from the battery cell measured by irradiating laser light onto the battery cell reciprocating in the first direction while being loaded on the loading unit; and a control unit for controlling operations of the moving unit, the loading unit, and the laser sensor, and calculating the thickness of the battery cell by comparing a vertical distance value received from the laser sensor to a predetermined standard distance value.
Shanghai Sensetime Tech (CN 113376177 A) provides a tab detection method and device, electronic equipment and a storage medium. The method comprises the steps: controlling a moving part to reduce the conveying speed in response to a condition that a battery core placed on the moving part of a carrier is conveyed to a first preset position, and controlling a first image acquisition device to acquire a first image of a group of tabs of the battery core from the side surface of the battery core, wherein the first preset position is a position within the shooting range of the first image acquisition device; and based on the first image, determining whether the tabs have defects or not. According to the embodiment of the invention, the efficiency and accuracy of tab detection can be improved.
Univ Zhengzhou (CN 110068296 A) discloses a cell characteristic parameter detection platform. The cell characteristic parameter detection platform is characterized in that a loading station, a cell size measurement station, a cell voltage measurement station and an unloading station are arranged on a working table, are sequentially arranged and are all positioned on the same axis; a cell size measurement unit is arranged on the cell size measurement station and the cell size measurement unit is connected with an industrial personal computer; a cell parameter measurement unit is arranged on the cell voltage measurement station and the cell parameter measurement unit is connected with the industrial personal computer; a sliding table for linearly reciprocating is arranged on the working table and the sliding table is connected with the industrial personal computer; the sliding table is positioned right below each station; an object stage is arranged on the sliding table; and the object stage linearly reciprocates among all the stations under the action of the sliding table. According to the detection platform provided by the invention, detection efficiency of cell characteristic parameters is improved, automation of enterprise detection is promoted, and the cell characteristic parameter detection platform is helpful for production efficiency and benefits of an enterprise.
LG Energy Solution LTD (EP 3988894 A1) teaches an apparatus for measuring a thickness of a unit cell according to the present invention comprises: a plurality of transfer rollers configured to sequentially transfer unit cells and disposed to be spaced a predetermined distance from each other; and a thickness sensor disposed at a fixed position to irradiate light to a moving path of the unit cells and calculate a time when receiving the reflected light, thereby measuring a thickness of each of the unit cells. A method for measuring a thickness of a unit cell according to the present invention comprises: a unit cell transferring step (S1) of transferring unit cells through a plurality of transfer rollers which are spaced a predetermined distance from each other; a distance measuring step (S2) of irradiating light to a top surface of the unit cell through an upper thickness sensor and irradiating light to a bottom surface of the unit cell through a lower thickness sensor to calculate a time when receiving the reflected light, thereby measuring a distance between the upper thickness sensor and the top surface of the unit cell and a distance between the lower thickness sensor and the bottom surface of the unit cell; and a thickness calculating step (S3) of subtracting a measured value of the distance between the upper thickness sensor and the top surface of the unit cell and a measured value of the distance between the lower thickness sensor and the bottom surface of the unit cell from a distance between the upper thickness sensor and the lower thickness sensor to calculate the thickness of the unit cell.
LG Chemical LTD (KR 102133915 A1) teaches a system that includes a photographing unit that is set for photographing entire image of electrode assembly (10) transferred by transfer device and enlarged image of each corner. The position of each corner of electrode assembly is discriminated by comparing entire image of electrode assembly photographed by photographing unit with enlarged image of each corner. A detector (250) is provided for detecting whether the electrode assembly is defective or not by comparing the size of the electrode assembly derived the and size of input electrode assembly through length between derived corners.
JD (KR 102187988 A) is associated to a battery inspecting technology, and more particularly to an apparatus for measuring the size of a battery in order to improve the yield rate of the battery, and includes: an inspection plate, on which a pouch type battery is seated; an arrangement unit that presses the pouch type battery seated on the inspection plate from at least one of the X axis direction and the Y axis direction to form the pouch type battery to sizes in the X axis direction and the Y axis direction according to the standard of a product and arrange the pouch type batter; a Z axis press that presses the pouch type battery fixed after being arranged by the arrangement unit from the top, and form the pouch type battery to a size in the Z axis direction according to the standard of the product and arrange the pouch type battery; a sensor unit that measures the sizes of the pouch type battery, which are arranged by the arrangement unit and the Z axis press, in the X axis, Y axis, and Z axis directions; and a control unit that controls a degree of pressing for forming or arrangement of the arrangement unit and the Z axis press, and calculates the size of the pouch type battery in a state in which the pouch type battery is arranged by the arrangement unit and the Z axis press.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1 – 20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “A cell detection method, characterized in that the method comprises: obtaining target detection data of a target cell; determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data”.
The claim limitation of “obtaining target detection data of a target cell”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity or mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “processor” (claim 18) or “controller” (claim 19) nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically performed in human activity or mind. For example, but for the “processor”, or “controller” language, “obtain” in the content of this claim encompass the user to receive/collect printed papers containing data of a battery cell.
Similarly, the limitation of “determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity or mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “processor” (claim 18) and/or “controller” (claim 19) nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically performed in human activity or mind. For example, but for the “processor” or “controller” language, “determine” in the content of this claim encompass the user to calculate/estimate/measure a distance/thickness and annotate, as corrective action, another data.
If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform the obtaining and determining steps.
The processor in first step is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a controller to perform determining and providing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
With respect to claim 20, the claim defines a computer-readable storage medium embodying functional descriptive material (i.e., instructions). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable storage medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
In ¶0249 of the Filed Applicant’s Specification says that the computer-readable storage medium can be nonvolatile (e.g., an USB flash disk), but this is only given as an example, and therefore the specification doesn’t preclude transitory recording medium.
The claims, as defined in the specification, cover both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. A claim drawn to such a recording medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Therefore, the examiner suggests amending the claims to recite a "Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" in order to overcome the rejection.
The examiner directs Applicant's attention to the OFFICIAL GAZETTE of the U.S Patent and Trademark Office, 1351 OG 212.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 7 & 12 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2023/0155159 A1, hereinafter ‘Park’) in view of Wuxi Lead Intelligent Equipment Co (CN 111193072 A, cited in an IDS dated 05/30/2024, hereinafter ‘Wuxi’).
With respect to claim 1, Park teaches a cell detection method (i.e., a cell detection process, abstract), characterized in that the method comprises: obtaining target detection data of a target cell (e.g., in order to calculate a difference between distances, inherently acquires defective data from an inspected battery cell, abstract, ¶0031, ¶0066, claim 9); obtaining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data (e.g., based on the defective data and calculated difference; as a consequence/decision, “determine” by adsorbing the defective electrode cell assembly and remove the defective electrode cell assembly from a conveyor line for the normal electrode cell assembly. Or a pusher (not shown) configured to push the defective electrode cell assembly to the branched conveyor line may be used as the discharge member 90 that discharges the defective electrode cell assembly according to the control signal of the control part 400, ¶0061, ¶0076 - ¶0083); but fails to teach visually determine said detection result.
However, in the same field of inspecting cell(s) using vision inspection device, the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Wuxi. In particular, Wuxi teaches determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data (e.g., when threshold range exceed, then prompt the operator to check reason or perform further action(s), abstract, pages 1, 6, 8 of 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the detection method of Park as taught by Wuxi since Wuxi suggested within pages 1, 6, 8 of 10 that such modification would improve production efficiency and consistency of distance in order to ensure battery cell quality.
With respect to claim 2, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the standard data comprises a first distance, and the first distance is a distance between a sensor configured to detect the target detection data and a carrier device of the target cell (e.g., data includes distance y, and distance y is a distance between a sensor configured to detect/inspect and an assembly to convey the battery cell, ¶0066).
With respect to claim 3, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 2, characterized in that the target detection data comprises a target distance (e.g., distance x, ¶0066), and the determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data comprises: calculating a difference between the target distance and the first distance; and determining the detection result of the target cell based on the difference (e.g., calculating a difference between distances; and based on the difference, absorb and remove the defective electrode cell, ¶0061, ¶0066, ¶0072 along with prompting to check reason(s) of Wuxi, pages 1, 6, 8 of 10).
With respect to claim 4, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein Wuxi teaches characterized in that the standard data comprises a standard distance, the standard distance is determined based on a first distance and a type parameter of the target cell, and the first distance is a distance between a sensor configured to detect the target detection data and a carrier device of the target cell (e.g., data includes a parameter or type of the electrode cell that is included in difference to determine if meets requirements, pages 2, 3, 6 and 7 of 10).
With respect to claim 5, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 4, characterized in that the target detection data comprises a target distance, and the determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data comprises: comparing the target distance with the standard distance to determine the detection result of the target cell (e.g. distances are compared to identifies if the electrode cell is defective (abnormal), ¶0066).
With respect to claim 6, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the target detection data comprises a target distance, and the determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data comprises: determining whether the target distance falls within a threshold range defined by the standard data; and determining, when the target distance is not within the threshold range, that the detection result of the target cell is occurrence of abnormality of the target cell (e.g., determining whether distance is within threshold range; if not, then provide a response/feedback in order to carry out corrective or adjustment action, pages 2, 3, 6 and 7 of 10).
With respect to claim 7, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 6, characterized in that the target detection data comprises a plurality of target distances and an acquisition time of each target distance, and the determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data further comprises: determining a first duration of abnormality of the target cell based on the acquisition time of each target distance when the target cell is abnormal (e.g., this corresponds to time point(s), in which are calculated at which the defective electrode cell assembly reaches the discharge part on the basis of distance data between a point at which the defective electrode cell assembly is detected, abstract, ¶0015); determining, when the first duration is greater than a first time threshold, that an abnormality type of the target cell is a separator abnormality; or determining, when the first duration is not greater than a first time threshold, that an abnormality type of the target cell is a spike abnormality.
With respect to claim 12, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein Wuxi teaches characterized in that the method further comprises: outputting a prompt message based on the detection result (e.g., a current group tab extending distance coincidence degree exceeds the predetermined threshold range, unstable output information prompting the operator to check reason, abstract).
With respect to claim 13, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein Wuxi teaches characterized in that the detection result comprises one or more of an abnormality type, an abnormality time, an abnormality count, or a model of an abnormal cell; and the outputting a prompt message based on the detection result comprises: displaying, through a display interface, at least one of the abnormality type, the abnormality time, the abnormality count, or the model of an abnormal cell (e.g. the detection/inspection consequence are the abnormal condition found, wherein an unstable information can be further displayed in order to carry out corrective or adjustment action, pages 2, 3, 6 and 7 of 10).
With respect to claim 14, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein Wuxi teaches characterized in that the method further comprises: acquiring cell image data in a detection range of a sensor when all detection results of target cells detected within a specified duration are identical, wherein the sensor is configured to acquire the target detection data of the target cells; determining offset data between the cell and the sensor based on the cell image data; and adjusting a location of the sensor based on the offset data (e.g., detecting characteristic image of the current battery cell at specific time; and calculating offset value between the cell and the sensor based on characteristic image; and further be compensation/position adjusted, pages 2, 3 and 5 - 7 of 10).
With respect to claim 15, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the method further comprises: obtaining a type parameter of the target cell; determining a target location of a sensor based on the type parameter; and adjusting a location of the sensor based on the target location (e.g., a battery cell battery cell types it can be understood that, the preset standard battery cell is completely meets the technical requirement of the current production, which is corresponding to the current type battery cell of the standard samples. the battery cell correction of the current battery cell characteristic image to the direction extending the feature image of consistent with a preset standard battery cell is in order according to preset standard electrode core ear opposite battery cell left edge or right edge of position to generally judge the current battery cell tab position range, i.e., convenient execution of the step S103, pages 2, 3 and 5 - 8 of 10 ).
With respect to claim 16, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the obtaining target detection data of a target cell comprises: obtaining the target detection data of a sensor in a process of moving the target cell into a detection range of the sensor (e.g., data should be obtained to determine threshold range while moving the battery cell on an assembly, Figs. 1 - 5).
With respect to claim 17, Park in view of Wuxi teaches the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the obtaining target detection data of a target cell comprises: obtaining detection data of a first side or a second side of the target cell detected by a sensor, wherein the first side is a tab-free side of the target cell, and the second side is a tab-containing side of the target cell (design choice: either of the sides or surfaces may have at least a tab or lamination in order to be checked or inspected, ¶0009).
With respect to claim 18, Park in view of Wuxi teaches a processor (e.g., a process means, ¶0006, ¶0016), characterized in that the processor is configured to run a computer program; and, when executed, the computer program performs steps of the method according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 19, Park in view of Wuxi teaches a controller (e.g., a control part 400, Fig. 3), characterized in that the controller comprises a processor and a memory; the memory stores a machine-readable instruction executable by the processor; and, when executed by the processor during operation of an electronic device (Fig. 3), the machine-readable instruction performs steps of the method according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 20, Park in view of Wuxi teaches a computer-readable storage medium, characterized in that the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and, when executed by a processor, the computer program performs steps of the method according to claim 1 (e.g., in order to obtain, calculate and provide result, a software should be inherently installed in a memory or storage to execute the steps of obtaining, calculating and providing result(s), ¶0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 - 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 8, none of the cited reference teaches the method according to claim 1, characterized in that the target detection data comprises a plurality of target distances and an acquisition time of each target distance, and the determining a detection result of the target cell based on the target detection data and standard data comprises: determining, based on the plurality of target distances and a threshold range of the standard data, whether each target distance in the plurality of target distances exceeds the threshold range; and determining the detection result of the target cell based on the acquisition time of each target distance exceeding the threshold range.
Claims 9 – 11 are also objected because these depend on claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang et al. (U.S PG Publication No. 2011/0130983 A1)1
1This reference teaches a method that inspect at least any side of a detailed battery cell; and if any parameter is above a threshold, then an alarm is triggered and provide a least a result by prompting a user to carry out a warning action.
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682