DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 recites a process for obtaining an extract. However, claim 1 is directed to the tobacco material. Thus, it is unclear if the extract is part of the tobacco material, or an intermediate product when forming the tobacco material, or simply a process that the tobacco material is put through to obtain the extract and the extract is not part of the tobacco material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CANTRELL et al. (US 2013/0263870).
With respect to claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 9, CANTRELL et al. discloses a tobacco pastille (e.g., tobacco material) (Abstract; Title) comprising a binder in an amount of 1 to 5 wt% based on dry weight of the composition (Paragraph [0024]). The binder comprises 40-60 dry weight% starch and 5 to 15 dry weight% protein (Paragraph [0022]).
Thus, the total amount of protein to the entire tobacco composition is between about .005 dry weight% to 0.75 dry weight% (e.g., 0.05x0.01 to 0.15x0.05)x100.
This equates to between 0.005 and 0.75 mg/100 mg of dry weight tobacco material.
The starch is present in an amount of 0.4 to 3 dry weight% of the tobacco composition. Or between 0.4 to 3 mg starch/100 mg dry weight of the composition.
With respect to claims 10 and 11, CANTRELL et al. discloses sorbitol (molecular weight of 182.17 ) in an amount of greater than 30 wt% (Paragraph [0011]). Thus, at least about 30 wt% of the composition has a molecular weight of less than 10,000 or less.
With respect to claim 13, CANTRELL et al. discloses that the tobacco material comprises a raw tobacco content of 25 dry weight percentage (Paragraph [0010]) (e.g., 25 mg raw tobacco/100 mg dry weight of tobacco composition).
With respect to claim 14, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). MPEP 2113.
As seen in the rejection of claim 1, CANTRELL et al. discloses the claimed product. Thus, a manner of operating on the product does not impart patentability to the claims.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, CANTRELL et al. discloses a smokeless tobacco product using the tobacco material of claim 1 (Paragraphs [0012], [0013]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMADA et al. (US 2006/0065279).
With respect to claim 17, YAMADA et al. discloses a method for making a tobacco material (Abstract) comprising an extraction step of performing extraction from a raw material tobacco (Paragraphs [0016]-[0021]); a filtration step of obtaining a filtrate by filtering an extract obtained in the extraction step (Paragraph [0021]-[0023]) to obtain an extraction solution and an extraction residue. The method then comprises a processing step of bringing these two components together to form a body (Paragraphs [0057] and [0024]-[0050]). The filtration membrane having an average pore size of 100 to 1000 Da (Paragraph [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
_________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 4, 7, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CANTRELL et al. (US 2013/0263870).
With respect to claims 4,7 and 8, CANTRELL et al. discloses a tobacco pastille (e.g., tobacco material) (Abstract; Title) comprising a binder in an amount of 1 to 5 wt% based on dry weight of the composition (Paragraph [0024]). The binder comprises 40-60 dry weight% starch and 5 to 15 dry weight% protein (Paragraph [0022]).
Thus, the total amount of protein to the entire tobacco composition is between about .005 dry weight% to 0.75 dry weight% (e.g., 0.05x0.01 to 0.15x0.05)x100.
This equates to between 0.005 and 0.75 mg/100 mg of dry weight tobacco material.
The starch is present in an amount of 0.4 to 3 dry weight% of the tobacco composition. Or between 0.4 to 3 mg starch/100 mg dry weight of the composition. MPEP 2144.05, I.
With respect to claim 12, CANTRELL et al. discloses sorbitol (molecular weight of 182.17 ) in an amount of greater than 30 wt% (Paragraph [0011]). Thus, at least about 30 wt% of the composition has a molecular weight of less than 10,000 or less. Greater than 30% includes values of 40 wt% or more. MPEP 2144.05, I.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745