DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims submitted 05/31/2024 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-15 are pending and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0128607 A1 (“Fukae”).
Regarding claims 1-2, Fukae discloses a cell comprising a wound electrode assembly 20 (“main body”) formed by winding electrodes 22, 24 and a separator 70 (Abstract; Figs. 5, 6). The wound electrode assembly 20 has a flat structure with a longitudinal direction LD (“length direction”) and a wound axis direction WD (“width direction”) (Fig. 6; [0036]).
The wound electrode assembly 20 has a width Q (“length L1”) along the longitudinal direction LD and a height P (“width W1”) along the wound axis direction WD. The ratio Q/P is, for example, equal to or more than 2 and equal to or less than 10 ([0038]). The wound axis direction WD is perpendicular to the plane where a winding direction of the wound electrode assembly 20 is located (Fig. 6), as understood in view of paragraph [0048] of the instant specification as filed.
Regarding claim 3, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 1. Fukae further discloses the wound electrode assembly 20 has a thickness T (“first thickness D1”) along thickness direction X ([0038]-[0039]). The thickness T is equal to or more than 10 mm and equal to or less than 50 mm ([0039]). The height P (“width W1”) is equal to or more than 50 mm and equal to or less than 200 mm ([0038]). This leads to a maximum range of a ratio P/T (“W1/D1”) of 1 to 10.
Regarding claim 4, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 1. Fukae further discloses the electrodes 22, 24 comprise a positive electrode 22 and a negative electrode 24, and the electrode assembly 20 (“main body”) is formed by winding the positive electrode 22, the negative electrode 24 and the separator 70 (Fig. 5; [0036]); the positive electrode 22 is provided with a positive electrode tab 22t, and the negative electrode 24 is provided with a negative electrode tab 24t, wherein both the positive electrode tab 22t and the negative electrode tab 24t are located at one end of the electrode assembly 20 along the wound axis direction WD (“width direction”) (Figs. 5, 6; [0023], [0043], [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 4. As shown in Fig. 6, Fukae discloses the positive electrode tab 22t and the negative electrode tab 24t are located at the same end of the electrode assembly 20 along the wound axis direction WD, and the positive electrode tab 22t and the negative electrode tab 24t are spaced from each other in the longitudinal direction LD (“length direction”) of the electrode assembly 20.
Regarding claim 6, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 4. Fukae discloses the positive electrode 22 is provided with multiple positive electrode tabs 22t that are spaced from each other, the multiple positive electrode tab 22t are located on the same side of the positive electrode 22 along the wound axis direction WD, and the multiple positive tabs are stacked along the thickness direction X of the electrode assembly 20 to form a positive tab group; the negative electrode 24 is provided with multiple negative electrode tabs 24t that are spaced from each other, the multiple negative electrode tabs 24t are located on the same side of the negative electrode 24 along the wound axis direction WD, and the multiple negative electrode tabs 24t are stacked along the thickness direction X of the electrode assembly 20 to form a negative tab group (Figs. 5, 6).
Regarding claim 7, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 6. Fukae discloses the positive tab group and the negative tab group are located at the same end of the electrode assembly 20 along the wound axis direction WD, and the positive tab group and the negative tab group are spaced from each other in the longitudinal direction LD (“length direction”) of the electrode assembly 20.
Regarding claim 9, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 6. Fukae discloses an example wherein the number of winding turns of the positive electrode 22 (“a1) is 6 and the number of winding turns of the negative electrode 24 (“b1”) is 7 (Fig. 8; [0062]-[0064]). In the example, the number of positive electrode tabs 22t (“a2”) is 11 and the number of negative electrode tabs 24t (“b2”) is 11 (Fig. 8; [0062]-[0064]). This leads to a ratio of a2/a1 of 11/6 or about 1.8 and a ratio of b2/b1 of 11/7 or about 1.6.
Regarding claim 12, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 1. Fukae discloses a prismatic battery 100 comprising an outer package 12 (“case”) and the cell (Figs. 1-3; [0024]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Fukae discloses the prismatic battery of claim 12. Fukae further discloses the battery comprises a sealing plate 14 (“cover plate”) and positive and negative electrode collecting parts 50, 60 (“connecting plate”). One end of the outer package 12 is provided with an opening 12h that extends along the longitudinal direction LD (direction Y as shown in Fig. 2) of the electrode assembly 20 ([0024]). The sealing plate 14 is disposed in the opening 12h (Fig. 2; [0024]). The positive and negative electrode collecting parts 50, 60 are disposed inside the outer package 12. The sealing plate 14 is provided with positive and negative electrode terminals 30, 40 (“pole”).
Fukae further discloses the electrodes 22, 24 comprise a positive electrode 22 and a negative electrode 24, and the electrode assembly 20 (“main body”) is formed by winding the positive electrode 22, the negative electrode 24 and the separator 70 (Fig. 5; [0036]). The positive electrode 22 is provided with multiple positive electrode tabs 22t, and the negative electrode 24 is provided with multiple negative electrode tabs 24t (Fig. 5; [0043], [0051]). The positive electrode tabs 22t are stacked to form a positive electrode tab group 25 and the negative electrode tabs 24t are stacked to form a negative electrode tab group 27 (Figs. 2, 4; [0030]). The positive electrode tab group 25 is electrically connected to the positive electrode collecting part 50 and negative electrode tab group 27 is electrically connected to the negative electrode collecting part 60 (Figs. 2, 4; [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Fukae discloses the prismatic battery of claim 14. Fukae further discloses plural wound electrode assemblies 20 are accommodated in the outer package 12 and are arranged along the thickness direction X (Figs. 3, 4; [0030]). The positive electrode tab groups 25 are connected to the same positive electrode collecting part 50 and the negative electrode tab groups 27 are connected to the same negative electrode collecting part 60 (Fig. 4; [0031]-[0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0128607 A1 (“Fukae”).
Regarding claim 8, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 6. Fukae discloses along the longitudinal direction LD of the electrode assembly 20, the positive tab group has a length (“second length L2”) of 10 mm to 30 mm, and the negative tab group has a length (“third length L3”) of 10 mm to 30 mm ([0044], [0052]). Fukae further discloses the width Q (“length L1”) is equal to or more than 100 mm and equal to or less than 600 mm ([0038]). This leads to a maximum range of (L2 or L3)/L1 of 1/60 to 3/10. The claimed relationships between L2 and L1, and L3 and L1 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the range disclosed by Fukae overlaps the range as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 10-11, Fukae discloses the cell of claim 6. Fukae discloses the laminate number (layer number) of the positive electrode 22 and the negative electrode 24 of the wound electrode assembly 20 is selected based on the desired capacity ([0061]).
In the first area A1 (Fig. 8), the value of (layer number of the positive electrode 22 on which the positive electrode tab 22t is formed)/(total layer number of the positive electrode 22) is preferably 1; and the value of (layer number of the negative electrode 24 on which the negative electrode tab 24t is formed)/(total layer number of the negative electrode 24) is preferably 1 ([0062]).
In the second area A2, at layers counted until 5th layer from the wound axis WL side, there are plural layers on which the positive electrode tabs 22t are formed, and at layers counted until 5th layer from the wound axis WL side, there are plural layers on which the negative electrode tabs 24t are formed ([0063]-[0064]).
While Fukae does not expressly disclose each winding turn is provided with one positive tab and one negative tab [claim 10] or each winding turn is provided with two positive tabs and two negative tabs, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose an appropriate number of layers of the electrodes, such as five or fewer, depending on the desired capacity and desired thickness of the battery. In this configuration, each winding turn is provided with two (and therefore necessarily one) positive and negative electrode tabs.
Further regarding claim 10, the multiple positive and negative electrode tabs 22t, 24t are disposed on the same side in the thickness direction (shown as direction X in Fig. 8) on either first area A1 or second area A2.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0128607 A1 (“Fukae”) in view of US 2026/0051561 A1 (“Zheng”).
Regarding claim 13, Fukae discloses the prismatic battery of claim 12. Fukae further discloses plural wound electrode assemblies 20 are disposed inside the battery case 10, and the plural wound electrode assemblies 20 are arranged along the thickness direction X (Fig. 3).
Fukae does not expressly disclose the prismatic battery further comprises a heat conduction member, and the heat conduction member is disposed inside the case, the heat conduction member comprises a clamping part and a contact part which are connected to each other, wherein the clamping part is clamped between adjacent cells, and the contact part is in contact with an inner wall of the case.
Zheng discloses a battery 100 comprising a plurality of battery cells 20, which comprise a case 21, a plurality of electrode assemblies 22, and a heat conduction structure 23 (Figs. 2, 3; [0061]). The heat conduction structure 23 includes a second heat conduction and insulation pad 23c, which includes first heat conduction and insulation part c1 (“clamping part”) disposed between electrode assemblies 22 (Figs. 4, 8, 9; [0144]-[0145]) and a second heat conduction and insulation part c2 which contacts an inner wall of the case (Fig. 9; [0145]). The heat exchange structure provides high heat dissipation efficiency, thereby being conducive to improving the reliability of a battery ([0006]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the heat conduction structure of Zheng to improve the reliability of the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0136590 A1 discloses a battery having a plurality of wound electrode assemblies (Figs. 1-4). The electrode assemblies have a width Q and a height P, where the ratio Q/P is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 10 (Fig. 6; [0037]).
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727