Part III DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application has been examined. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
2. Claim 1-7 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the following limitation(s): “an image capturing module configured to capture” and “an analysis module configured to extract”. These features appear to be depicted and/or described in fig.1 , and the description thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically a computer program per se.
Claim 15 is rejected under §101 because they claim a computer program per se, due to the recitation of “computer readable medium” in the preamble of independent claim 25.
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP § 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009, p. 2.
Claim 15 is directed to computer program that covers signals per se and therefore are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. However, a claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Cf. Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (suggesting that applicants add the limitation “non-human” to a claim covering a multi-cellular organism to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Plevritis et al. (WO 2022/173828 A1)), hereafter referred as Plevritis.
With regard to claim 1, Plevritis teaches a system for analyzing an image of a cell and/or a tissue, configured to carry an organ-on-a-chip having the cell and/or the tissue (see figs. 1-3, cell are analyzed): an image capturing module (see claim 48, the different microscopes can be use to captured the image(s) of the cell or tissue) , configured to capture the image of the cell and/or the tissue from the organ-on-a-chip (reads on figs. 1-8, the images of the detected cell is captured); and an analysis module, coupled to the image capturing module and configured to (reads on claim 45, which describes a computer that can be used to the analyze the image(s) , the computer can be connected to the microscope): extract an image feature from the image of the cell and/or the tissue; and label a classification of the cell and/or the tissue according to the image feature (see claim 36 and p[00174, 00185], and important feature is analyzed, labeled and classified).
With regard to claim 2, Plevritis further teaches wherein: the cell and/or the tissue is a cell and/or a tissue of a respiratory system; and the image of the cell and/or the tissue comprises an image of immersed cell culture, wherein the image of immersed cell culture is a bright-field cell image (reads on p0055 and/or 0215])
With regard to claims 8-9 and 15, the limitations of claims 8-9 and 15 are covered by the limitations of claims 1-2 above.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Loewke et al. (US 2015/0087240 A1) teaches a method and system for characterizing cell population.
Madabhushi et al. (US 2010/0098306 A1) teaches a malignancy diagnosis using content based image retrieval of tissue histopathology
6. Claims 3-7 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (as long as other rejections are overcome) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the features of claims 3-7 and 10-14 in combination with the features of the independent claims.
examiner should be directed to Gabriel I. Garcia whose telephone number is (571)
272-7434. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday from 7:30 AM-6:00 PM.. The fax
phone number for this group is (571) 273-8600.
supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-
273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status
information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you
have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call
800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be
directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Gabriel I Garcia/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682
May 02, 2026