DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: laser module in claims 2 and 12.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, the term “types” in claim 7 is not defined by the claim nor is it defined in the specification. Therefore, since claims 8-9 depend on claim 7 either directly or indirectly, they are also rejected under 112(b) for the reasons discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McFarland et al. (US2025/0179404 A1-hereafter “McFarland”, has an earlier effective filing date as of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 1, McFarland discloses a system for mimicking cellular microenvironment (cell therapy manufacturing systems can include synthetic surfaces capable of mimicking of the function of dendritic cells, para. [0143]) comprising: a chip (microfluidic device 100, para. [0488], Fig. 1A); a microfluidic device or a nanofluidic device may be referred to herein as a “microfluidic chip” or a “chip”; or “nanofluidic chip” or “chip”, para. [0081]).
“a first carrier having a pore;”: McFarland discloses support structure 104, para. [0489], Fig. 1A, where structure 104 includes an opening, port 107, Fig. 1A; para. [0490], a pass-through hole).
“and a second carrier coupled to the first carrier;”: McFarland discloses cover 110, shown coupled to support structure 104 in Fig. 1A.
“a hydrogel disposed in the pore and comprising an extracellular matrix;”: McFarland discloses a cell matrix protein, which may be included in a coating material, can include, but is not limited to, a collagen, para. [0592]).
“and a cell in contact with the hydrogel.”: McFarland discloses an extracellular matrix (ECM) protein may be provided within the coating material for optimized cell adhesion to foster cell growth (para. [0592]).
Regarding claim 2, McFarland discloses the imaging device 194 can also include a mechanism for directing stimulating radiation and/or light beams into the microfluidic circuit 120 (para. [0497]; where circuit 120 is shown oriented on microfluidic device 100, Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 3, McFarland discloses the cover 110 may comprise PDMS (para. [0495]) and support structure 104 may be transparent to light (para. [0495]).
Regarding claim 5, McFarland discloses various cell types (para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 6, , McFarland discloses various cell types (para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 7, McFarland discloses various cell types (para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 8, McFarland discloses surfaces of tumor cells (para. [0334]).
Regarding claim 9, McFarland discloses tumor cells such as CD19, CD20, CLL-1, TRP-2, LAGE-1, HER2, EphA2, FOLR1, MAGE-A1, mesothelin, SOX2, PSM, CA125, T antigen, etc. (para. 0334]); and McFarland discloses blood cells—non-tumor cells (para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 10, McFarland discloses a method for manufacturing a population of cells suitable for formulation as a cellular therapeutic and the method can include introducing a cell sample from a subject into the inlet port of a cartridge (para. [0005]; McFarland discloses the cell matrix may include growth factors (para. [0592]); the growth factors are stimulatory. Moreover, McFarland discloses analytical devices such as flow cytometers and microscopes can be used to evaluate cell surface markers and cell purity (para. [0173]).
Regarding claim 11, McFarland discloses growth factor stimulation (growth factors, para. [0592]). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Regarding claim 12, McFarland discloses the imaging device 194 can also include a mechanism for directing stimulating radiation and/or light beams into the microfluidic circuit 120 (para. [0497]; where circuit 120 is shown oriented on microfluidic device 100, Fig. 1A); another illumination effect made possible by use of structured light patterns is selective curing, e.g., solidification of hydrogels within the microfluidic device (para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 13, McFarland discloses dye exclusion assays may be performed for cell viability (para. [0173]). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Regarding claim 14, McFarland discloses cartridges for manufacturing a population of cells suitable for formulation as a cellular therapeutic are disclosed herein, along with systems and instruments for operating the cartridges and performing methods to generate the population of cells suitable for formulation as a cellular therapeutic (Abstract) and the system discussed above in claim 1. Moreover, McFarland discloses cell therapy effectiveness depend on having enough cells for administering to the subject (para. [0155]) and aspects of evaluating cell therapy products often include the use of potency assays (para. [0178]).
Regarding claim 15, McFarland discloses the cell matrix may include growth factors (para. [0592]); the growth factors are stimulatory.
Regarding claim 16, McFarland discloses growth factor stimulation (growth factors, para. [0592]). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Regarding claim 17, McFarland discloses cells (e.g., T-cells) can be contacted with growth stimulatory molecules, such as growth factors (para. [0141]).
Regarding claim 18, McFarland discloses aspects of cell therapy effectiveness depend on having enough cells for administering to the subjects (para. [0155]). Also, McFarland discloses dye exclusion assays may be performed for cell viability (para. [0173]). It should be noted that that the term “and/or” in the claim is being interpreted to indicate that one of the clauses needs to be met by the prior art in order to anticipate or render the instant claim obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland et al. (US2025/0179404 A1-hereafter “McFarland”, has an earlier effective filing date as of the provisional application) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koh et al. (US2023/0266209 A1-hereafter “Koh”, has an earlier effective filing date as of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 4, McFarland discloses the invention discussed above in claim 1. However, McFarland does not explicitly disclose wherein the extracellular matrix comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of N-isopropyl acrylamide, gelatin methacrylate, and annealed graphene oxide.
For claim 4, Koh teaches compositions and methods for efficient transfer and analyses of cellular material, tissue samples, such as tissue sections, using carrier substrates (Abstract) and hydrogel polymers which may include N-isopropylacrylamide (para. [0076], which may include one or more crosslinkers).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the device of McFarland and include a hydrogel including a crosslinker such as N-isopropylacrylamide as taught by Koh, since Koh teaches these materials allow for the formation of a three-dimensional network (para. [0076]) which allows for structural stability and strength of the hydrogel.
Conclusion
/LENORA A ABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799