DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-9 and 15-16 each require “the graphical indicator” which lacks antecedent basis in these claims. It appears that 8-9 should be dependent on claim 7 and claims 15-16 should be dependent on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-6, 10-12, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quaid (US 2004/0024311).
Claim 1, Quaid discloses a system (Figs. 1-9) having a navigation system (paragraph [0002]) for performing a procedure on a subject (abstract), comprising: an instrument (Fig. 1; 112) configured to interact with the subject (Fig. 1); a tracking device (paragraph [0038]) configured to be tracked and connected to the instrument (paragraph [0038]); a tracking system (paragraph [0038]) configured to track the tracking device (paragraph [0038]); a display device (Fig. 1; 30) configured to display at least an image of the subject (paragraph [0056]); a processor system (36) configured to execute instructions to: recall a working volume within which the working end of the instrument is selected to travel (paragraph [0036]); recall a non-working volume within which the working end of the instrument is not to travel (Fig. 3A-9; paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); determine the position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume by tracking the tracking device with the tracking system (paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); and output to the display device at least one of (i) a first indication to a user of the determined position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume (Figs. 3A-9; paragraphs [0036]-[0059]) or (ii) a second indication to the user of the determined position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); wherein the first indication and the second indication are at a single indication position on the display device and the indication position changes from the first indication to the second indication based on a detected transition of the working end, as tracked by the tracking system, between the working volume and the non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0059] and [0089]).
Claim 2, Quaid discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the single indication position gradually changes from the first indication to the second indication (paragraphs [0036]-[0059\ and [0089]).
Claim 5, Quaid discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first indication is a first color of a portion of the displayed image of the subject and the second indication is a second color of the portion of the subject (paragraphs [0036]-[0059] and ]0124]).
Claim 6, Quaid discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor system is further configured to execute instructions to: change the output for display with the display device from the first indication to the second indication based upon a change in the determined position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume (paragraphs [0038] and [0124]).
Claim 10, Quaid discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the processor system is further configured to execute instructions to provide an audible alert to the user, the audible alert having a first sound when the working end is in the working volume and a second, different sound when the working end is in the non-working volume (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0041], [0059], and [0090]).
Claim 11, Quaid discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the processor system is further configured to execute instructions to provide haptic feedback to the user, the haptic feedback having a first tactile response when the working end is in the working volume and a second, different tactile response when the working end is in the non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0050], [0058], [0130]).
Claim 12, Quaid discloses a system (Figs. 1-9) comprising: an instrument (Fig. 1; 112) configured to interact with a subject (Fig. 1); a tracking device (paragraph [0038]) configured to be tracked and connected to the instrument (paragraph [0038]); a tracking system (paragraph [0038]) configured to track the tracking device (paragraph [0038]); a display device (Fig. 1; 30) configured to display at least an image of the subject (paragraph [0056]); one or more memory circuits (36) configured to store data defining a working volume within which a working end of the instrument is selected to travel (paragraph [0036]) and a non-working volume within which the working end of the instrument is not to travel (Fig. 3A-9; paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); processing circuitry (36) operatively coupled to the one or more memory circuits (36), the processing circuitry configured to: determine the position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume by tracking the tracking device with the tracking system (paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); and output to the display device at a single indication position (30) at least one of (i) a first indication to a user of the determined position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume (Figs. 3A-9; paragraphs [0036]-[0059]) or (ii) a second indication to the user of the determined position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); wherein the first indication and the second indication are at a single indication position on the display device and the indication position changes from the first indication to the second indication based on a detected transition of the working end, as tracked by the tracking system, between the working volume and the non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0059] and [0089]).
Claim 17, Quaid discloses a system (Figs. 1-9) comprising: an instrument (Fig. 1; 112) configured to interact with a subject (Fig. 1); a tracking device (paragraph [0038]) configured to be tracked and connected to the instrument (paragraph [0038]); a tracking system (paragraph [0038]) configured to track the tracking device (paragraph [0038]); a display device (Fig. 1; 30) configured to display at least an image of the subject (paragraph [0056]); one or more memory circuits (36) configured to store data defining a working volume within which a working end of the instrument is selected to travel (paragraph [0036]) and a non-working volume within which the working end of the instrument is not to travel (Fig. 3A-9; paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); processing circuitry (36) operatively coupled to the one or more memory circuits (36), the processing circuitry configured to: determine the position of the working end relative to at least one of the working volume or non-working volume by tracking the tracking device with the tracking system (paragraphs [0036]-[0059]); provide to a user at least one of (i) a visual indication (Fig. 5; 30; paragraphs [0041], [0059], and [0089]-[0091]), (ii) an audible alert (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0041], [0059], and [0090]), or (iii) haptic feedback (paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0050], [0058], [0130]), the at least one indication being based on whether the working end is within the working volume or the non-working volume, and the at least one indication changing in response to a detected transition of the working end, as tracked by the tracking system, between the working volume and the non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0059] and [0089]).
Claim 19, Quaid discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the audible alert comprises a first sound when the working end is in the working volume and a second, different sound when the working end is in the non-working volume (Fig. 5; paragraphs [0041], [0059], and [0090]).
Claim 20, Quaid discloses the system of Claim 17, wherein the haptic feedback comprises a first tactile response when the working end is in the working volume and a second, different tactile response when the working end is in the non-working volume (paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0041], [0050], [0058], [0130]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quaid (US 2004/0024311), in view of Abovitz et al. (US 2013/0053648; “Abovitz”).
Claim 3, Quaid discloses the system of claim 2 as noted above.
However, Quaid does not disclose using different colors or alerts based on the different positions of the tool.
Abovitz teaches a system that tracks a tool and indicates the position using changing colors (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include changing color indications, as taught by Abovitz, in the system of Quaid, in order to help distinguish tool positions relative to the working zone (paragraph [0022]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12004818.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include the same features plus extra.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-9, 13-16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 14 are allowable for similar reasons mentioned in the parent application 15997444.
Claims 7, 13, and 18 are allowable for similar reasons mentioned in the parent application 17338202. Claims 8-9 and 15-16 are believed to be intended to depend off claims 7 and 13 and would be allowable once the dependency is fixed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Quaid teaches the limitations as noted above. The Applicant points to each paragraph individually on how they do not teach the limitations. However, it is the combined understanding of the paragraphs as a whole that teaches the indication being at a single position (e.g. on the display screen) and changes based on the location of the working end being in the proper place or not.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775