DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “A battery electrode material application device” and “a conductive base material”. The inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein a plurality of inclined plates”. Claim 1 recites “an inclined plate”. Therefore, it is unclear if a plurality of inclined plates includes “an inclined plate” recited in claim 1 or additional inclined plates. Appropriate correction or clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted to be “wherein the inclined plate is one of a plurality of inclined plates provided along a conveyance direction of the base material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibatani (JP-2020001247A, citations from IDS submission) in view of Hoshina (JP-2007029860A, citations from IDS submission) and further in view of Miller et al. (US 5,279,221, hereinafter Miller).
Per independent claim 1:
Shibatani discloses an electrostatic printing application device (see annotated Fig. 1 and [0015]-[0019]) comprising:
a hopper configured to be able to accommodate powder;
a conductive screen disposed between the conveyance unit and the hopper;
a voltage application unit capable of applying a voltage between the conveyance unit and the screen;
Shibatani does not teach a conveyance unit and an inclined plate that extends obliquely downward from the screen.
Hoshina discloses a powder scattering apparatus (see abstract) comprising a powder diffusing means 8 located below a powder ejection nozzle 6 wherein the powder diffusing means 8 contains an inclined plate 9 ([0019] and Fig. 1-4). The inclined plate 9 allows for arranging the powder in to any desired design pattern ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have added an inclined plate, such as one taught by Hoshina, under the conductive screen of Shibatani in order to receive the powder and scatter it in a desired design pattern. Note that Shibatani discloses the desirability to form designed patterns in an electrostatic screen printing method ([0002]). With regards to the placement of the inclined plate below the conductive screen (as opposed to above it), this is to ensure that the inclined plate allows for the scattering of the powder prior to it landing on the substrate, similar to Hoshina (the inclined plate 9 is the last structure prior to the powder reaching the substrate).
Shibatani/Hoshina do not teach a conveyance unit. Shibatani does disclose that there is a base material holder.
Miller discloses a screen printing apparatus and method (see title and abstract) comprising a conveyor means 350 beneath a screen apparatus 300 (see col. 12, lines 19-25 and Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have substituted the base material holder of Shibatani/Hoshina with a conveyor which holds the base material, as taught by Miller. One would have been motivated to do so because Miller discloses that conveyors are known substrate holders in the field of screen printing and this would allow the conveyance of a plurality of substrates, thereby increasing the efficiency of the printing process (i.e. assembly line).
Per claim 2, the inclined plate extends to a vicinity of the base material conveyed by the conveyance unit (see Fig. 1-3 of Hoshina which shows the plate 9 extending to a vicinity of base material 1).
Per claim 3, Hoshina discloses that there can be a plurality of powder nozzles and a plurality of inclined plates (see Fig. 1). It would have been further obvious to have included a plurality of the inclined plates of Hoshina in the apparatus of Shibatani. One would have been motivated to do so in order to accommodate the entire length of the conductive screen. Further, a plurality of inclined plates allows for more customization on the scattering of the powder, thereby increasing the complexity of the pattern design.
Per claim 4, Fig. 2-3 of Hoshina shows that the inclined plate is set to be approximately 45 degrees.
Per claim 5, Shibatani discloses a frame body that holds the screen is provided below the hopper and an ultrasonic transducer is connected to a side wall of the frame body (see annotated Fig. 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/655,480 (hereinafter US ‘480) in view of Shibatani (JP-2020001247A, citations from IDS submission) in view of Hoshina (JP-2007029860A, citations from IDS submission).
Per instant claim 1, claims 1-2 of US ‘480 discloses a battery electrode material coating device comprising a conveying unit, a hopper, an electrically conductive screen which is installed in a discharge port of the hopper, a voltage applying unit configured to apply a voltage between the conveying unit and the hopper.
However, claims 1-2 of US’ 480 fails to teach a voltage applying unit configured to apply a voltage between the conveying unit and the screen and inclined plate that extends obliquely downward from the screen.
Shibatani discloses an electrostatic printing application device (see annotated Fig. 1 and [0015]-[0019]) comprising:
a hopper configured to be able to accommodate powder;
a conductive screen disposed between the conveyance unit and the hopper;
a voltage application unit capable of applying a voltage between the conveyance unit and the screen;
. It would have been obvious to have modified US ‘480 such that a voltage application unit is applied between the screen and the conveying unit in the manner taught by Shibatani. One would have been motivated to do so because Shibatani recognizes that when using a conductive screen below a hopper, it also known in the art to apply the voltage between the screen and the material holder.
US ‘480/Shibatani do not teach an inclined plate that extends obliquely downward from the screen.
Hoshina discloses a powder scattering apparatus (see abstract) comprising a powder diffusing means 8 located below a powder ejection nozzle 6 wherein the powder diffusing means 8 contains an inclined plate 9 ([0019] and Fig. 1-4). The inclined plate 9 allows for arranging the powder in to any desired design pattern ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have added an inclined plate, such as one taught by Hoshina, under the conductive screen of US ‘480/Shibatani in order to receive the powder and scatter it in a desired design pattern.
Per instant claim 2, the inclined plate extends to a vicinity of the base material conveyed by the conveyance unit (see Fig. 1-3 of Hoshina which shows the plate 9 extending to a vicinity of base material 1).
Per instant claim 3, Hoshina discloses that there can be a plurality of powder nozzles and a plurality of inclined plates (see Fig. 1). It would have been further obvious to have included a plurality of the inclined plates of Hoshina in the apparatus of US ‘480/Shibatani. One would have been motivated to do so in order to accommodate the entire length of the conductive screen. Further, a plurality of inclined plates allows for more customization on the scattering of the powder, thereby increasing the complexity of the pattern design.
Per instant claim 4, Fig. 2-3 of Hoshina shows that the inclined plate is set to be approximately 45 degrees.
Per instant claim 5, claim 1 of US’ 480 recites that the ultrasonic transducer is connected to a side wall of the hopper but fails to teach a frame body that holds the screen is provided below the hopper and an ultrasonic transducer is connected to a side wall of the frame body.
Shibatani discloses a frame body that holds the screen is provided below the hopper and an ultrasonic transducer is connected to a side wall of the frame body (see annotated Fig. 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above).
It would have been further obvious to have modified US ‘480 to include a frame body which holds the conductive screen and an ultrasonic transducer connected to a side wall of the body in the manner taught by Shibatani. One would have been motivated to do so because Shibatani recognizes an alternative way of applying ultrasonic forces to a conductive screen for powder coating, thus establishing predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744