DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 12-15 have been added. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 06/28/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0083854 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 and 9-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “data D1 (tD1, CD1). Wherein, n” should be “data D1 (tD1, CD1), wherein n” [Claim 4, Lines 11-12; Claim 5, Lines 15-16; Claim 9, Lines 11-12; Claim 10, Lines 15-16; Claim 12, Lines 15-16; Claim 14, Lines 15-16] and “set. Wherein, n” should be “set, wherein n” [Claim 6, Lines 12-13; Claim 11, Lines 12-13; Claim 13, Lines 12-13; Claim 15, Lines 12-13]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit to predict”, “unit to receive”, “unit to calculate”, “unit to store” “unit to determine” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first sensor unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the second sensor unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first sensor unit" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second sensor unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 10-13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE EUN HO et al. (Hereafter, “Lee”) [KR 20200130670 A] in view of CHUNG DAE WON (Hereafter, “Chung”) [KR 102338516 B1].
In regards to claim 1, Lee discloses a fire-detecting sensor module installed inside of electric switchboard ([Abstract] an electrical facility failure diagnostic system capable of detecting an abnormality inside a switchboard), comprising: the first sensor unit installed on the upper side of the inside of electric switchboard ([Fig. 3 and 0024] the internal olfactory sensor unit 100 can be located at the top of the inside of the switchboard), comprising of a frame body, a methane gas sensor and/or a carbon monoxide sensor ([0026] The internal olfactory sensor unit 100 may include a plurality of olfactory sensors. The olfactory sensor may measure the concentration of any one of the combustible gases, and at the same time measure the concentration of fine dust.), and a connection terminal to detect the concentration of methane gas and/or carbon monoxide ([0025] The internal olfactory sensor unit 100 may be installed inside the housing of the switchboard to measure the concentration by collecting at least one of combustible gases and fine dust inside the housing. The internal olfactory sensor unit 100 includes any of CO, CO2, O3, HCN, NO, NO2, NH2, SO2, H2S, COS, CS2, HCI, HF, HBr, alkanes, alkenes, benzene, phenol, aldehyde, and formaldehyde. [0033] The internal and external olfactory sensor units 100 and 200 transmit information on the concentration of at least one of the above-described gases to the abnormality detecting unit 300. [0056] the internal olfactory sensor 110 may be provided with a wireless communication module to provide the detected concentration information to the abnormality detection unit 300); and a control unit to predict fire outbreaks by receiving gas concentrations data from the first sensor unit ([0035] The abnormality detection unit 300 may generate an alarm signal by comparing internal concentration information measured by the internal olfactory sensor unit 100 with external concentration information measured by the external olfactory sensor unit 200.).
Chung discloses a fire-detecting sensor module installed inside of electric switchboard ([0018] an energy storage device to which a protection device for fire safety of a lithium ion battery), comprising: the first sensor unit installed on the upper side of the inside of electric switchboard, comprising of a frame body, a methane gas sensor and/or a carbon monoxide sensor ([0022] The unit sensing module 110 is installed independently for each battery tray 20 vertically mounted on the rack case 30 provided inside the chamber 50. [0024] The unit sensing module 110 includes a temperature sensor 112, a smoke sensor 114, and first to third gas sensors 121 to 123.), and a connection terminal to detect the concentration of methane gas and/or carbon monoxide at a predetermined interval ([0032] The unit sensing module 110 collects the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 and transmits it to the control unit 186. A unit collection processing unit Of course, it can be built with In this case, the unit collection processing unit includes an analog-to-digital converter that converts the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 into a digital signal, and a digital signal. and a communication interface for transmitting to the converted control unit 186. [0037] The storage unit 183 is controlled by the control unit 186 to record sensing history information and countermeasure information collected for each of the unit sensing modules 110.); and a control unit to predict fire outbreaks by receiving gas concentrations data from the first sensor unit ([0040] The control unit 186 uses the signals output from the temperature sensor 112, the smoke detection sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 of each unit sensing module 110 to which unique identification information is given. to determine which stage of the thermal runaway stage corresponds to, and a unit power switch 131 that is electrically connected to the lithium ion battery 22 according to the determined thermal runaway stage and switches on or off the unit power switch 131; Selectively on/off control the main power switch 135 for integrally switching on or off the unit power switches 131, and supplying the extinguishing agent to the battery tray 20 applied to the housing of the extinguishing agent supply unit 150 control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with the collection timing and storage of data as taught by Chung in order to improve the detection of the stage of the battery/electrical component [See Chuang].
In regards to claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Lee discloses wherein the sensor module comprises the second sensor unit installed on the bottom side of the inside of electric switchboard ([0027 and Fig. 3 and 4] When a plurality of internal olfactory sensor units 100 are disposed, each may be disposed in a preset area. [Fig. 3] internal olfactory sensor 110 may be located at the bottom of switchboard), comprising of a frame body, a methane gas sensor and/or a carbon monoxide sensor ([0026] The internal olfactory sensor unit 100 may include a plurality of olfactory sensors. The olfactory sensor may measure the concentration of any one of the combustible gases, and at the same time measure the concentration of fine dust.), and a connection terminal to detect the concentration of methane gas and/or carbon monoxide ([0025] The internal olfactory sensor unit 100 may be installed inside the housing of the switchboard to measure the concentration by collecting at least one of combustible gases and fine dust inside the housing. The internal olfactory sensor unit 100 includes any of CO, CO2, O3, HCN, NO, NO2, NH2, SO2, H2S, COS, CS2, HCI, HF, HBr, alkanes, alkenes, benzene, phenol, aldehyde, and formaldehyde. [0033] The internal and external olfactory sensor units 100 and 200 transmit information on the concentration of at least one of the above-described gases to the abnormality detecting unit 300. [0056] the internal olfactory sensor 110 may be provided with a wireless communication module to provide the detected concentration information to the abnormality detection unit 300), wherein the control unit predicts fire outbreaks by receiving gas concentrations data from the first sensor unit and/or the second sensor unit ([0035] The abnormality detection unit 300 may generate an alarm signal by comparing internal concentration information measured by the internal olfactory sensor unit 100 with external concentration information measured by the external olfactory sensor unit 200.).
Chuang discloses wherein the sensor module comprises the second sensor unit installed on the bottom side of the inside of electric switchboard, comprising of a frame body, a methane gas sensor and/or a carbon monoxide sensor ([0022] The unit sensing module 110 is installed independently for each battery tray 20 vertically mounted on the rack case 30 provided inside the chamber 50. [0024] The unit sensing module 110 includes a temperature sensor 112, a smoke sensor 114, and first to third gas sensors 121 to 123.), and a connection terminal to detect the concentration of methane gas and/or carbon monoxide at a predetermined interval ([0032] The unit sensing module 110 collects the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 and transmits it to the control unit 186. A unit collection processing unit Of course, it can be built with In this case, the unit collection processing unit includes an analog-to-digital converter that converts the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 into a digital signal, and a digital signal. and a communication interface for transmitting to the converted control unit 186. [0037] The storage unit 183 is controlled by the control unit 186 to record sensing history information and countermeasure information collected for each of the unit sensing modules 110.), wherein the control unit predicts fire outbreaks by receiving gas concentrations data from the first sensor unit and/or the second sensor unit ([0040] The control unit 186 uses the signals output from the temperature sensor 112, the smoke detection sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 of each unit sensing module 110 to which unique identification information is given. to determine which stage of the thermal runaway stage corresponds to, and a unit power switch 131 that is electrically connected to the lithium ion battery 22 according to the determined thermal runaway stage and switches on or off the unit power switch 131; Selectively on/off control the main power switch 135 for integrally switching on or off the unit power switches 131, and supplying the extinguishing agent to the battery tray 20 applied to the housing of the extinguishing agent supply unit 150 control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with the collection timing and storage of data as taught by Chung in order to improve the detection of the stage of the battery/electrical component [See Chuang].
In regards to claim 3, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Lee discloses wherein the control unit is configured to receive the gas concentration at regular intervals and to store it as data of (time, concentration) and to calculate the change rate of the current gas concentration compared to the previous gas concentration, and to determine the fire outbreaks when the change rate is positive for a certain number of consecutive times.
Chung discloses wherein the control unit is configured to receive the gas concentration at regular intervals and to store it as data of (time, concentration) ([0032] The unit sensing module 110 collects the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 and transmits it to the control unit 186. A unit collection processing unit Of course, it can be built with In this case, the unit collection processing unit includes an analog-to-digital converter that converts the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 into a digital signal, and a digital signal. and a communication interface for transmitting to the converted control unit 186. [0037] The storage unit 183 is controlled by the control unit 186 to record sensing history information and countermeasure information collected for each of the unit sensing modules 110.) and to calculate the change rate of the current gas concentration compared to the previous gas concentration, and to determine the fire outbreaks when the change rate is positive for a certain number of consecutive times ([0044] In addition, when the carbon monoxide received from the first gas sensor 121 reaches the set reference concentration or more, or when the rate of change of the concentration of carbon monoxide according to the unit time is equal to or greater than the reference change rate, it is set to determine that it corresponds to the action condition. In addition, as an action condition, the exponential moving average value for the carbon monoxide detection value is calculated, and a normal gas concentration change range is set using the exponential moving average value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with the collection timing and storage of data as taught by Chung in order to improve the detection of the stage of the battery/electrical component [See Chuang].
In regards to claim 4, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is configured to receive the gas concentrations at regular intervals, and store them as a data of (time, gas concentration), to calculate the change rate of the current gas concentration compared to the previous gas concentration, when the change rate is positive the control unit selects the (time, concentration) data as reference data D1 (tD1, CD 1), to store (time, concentration) data sequentially received after the reference data D1 (tD1, CD1) as D2 (tD2, CD2) to Dn(tDn, CDn), and to determine the time at Dn(tDn, CDn) as time of the fire outbreaks, when Dn(tDn, CDn) has a gas concentration value that increases beyond a predetermined range compared to the gas concentration of the reference data D1 (tD1, CD 1). Wherein, n is an integer of 2 or more.
Chuang discloses wherein the control unit is configured to receive the gas concentrations at regular intervals, and store them as a data of (time, gas concentration) ([0032] The unit sensing module 110 collects the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 and transmits it to the control unit 186. A unit collection processing unit Of course, it can be built with In this case, the unit collection processing unit includes an analog-to-digital converter that converts the information detected by the temperature sensor 112, the smoke sensor 114, and the first to third gas sensors 121 to 123 into a digital signal, and a digital signal. and a communication interface for transmitting to the converted control unit 186. [0037] The storage unit 183 is controlled by the control unit 186 to record sensing history information and countermeasure information collected for each of the unit sensing modules 110.), to calculate the change rate of the current gas concentration compared to the previous gas concentration ([0044] he rate of change of the concentration of carbon monoxide), when the change rate is positive the control unit selects the (time, concentration) data as reference data D1 (tD1, CD 1), to store (time, concentration) data sequentially received after the reference data D1 (tD1, CD1) as D2 (tD2, CD2) to Dn(tDn, CDn), and to determine the time at Dn(tDn, CDn) as time of the fire outbreaks, when Dn(tDn, CDn) has a gas concentration value that increases beyond a predetermined range compared to the gas concentration of the reference data D1 (tD1, CD 1). Wherein, n is an integer of 2 or more ([0044] In addition, when the carbon monoxide received from the first gas sensor 121 reaches the set reference concentration or more, or when the rate of change of the concentration of carbon monoxide according to the unit time is equal to or greater than the reference change rate, it is set to determine that it corresponds to the action condition. In addition, as an action condition, the exponential moving average value for the carbon monoxide detection value is calculated, and a normal gas concentration change range is set using the exponential moving average value. Of course, it can be built.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Chung in order to improve the detection of the stage of the battery/electrical component [See Chuang].
Claim(s) 7-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Chung in further view of PARK KI JU et al. (Hereafter, “Park”) [KR20150078393 A].
Claim 7 is substantially the same as claim 1 and is thus rejected for reasons similar to those in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore regarding claim 7, Lee discloses an electric switchboard capable of detecting fire outbreaks ([Abstract] an electrical facility failure diagnostic system capable of detecting an abnormality inside a switchboard), comprising: ([0054-0055 and Fig. 3 and 4] electrical devices such as wiring, circuit breakers, switches, and transformers are located inside the switchboard).
Park discloses an electric switchboard capable of detecting fire outbreaks ([0001] determining whether a fire occurs in a solar panel connection panel), comprising: a housing ([0082] the housing unit 210) with an air inlet port at the bottom side and an air outlet port at the top side ([0088] The air inlet 213 is provided in the lower portion of both sides 211 of the housing portion 210. The air inlet 213 is a portion where external air flows into the housing 210. [0089] The air outlet 215 is provided in the upper portion of the both side surfaces 211 of the housing portion 210, the air is discharged to the inside of the housing portion 210 to the outside.); a forced ventilation fan installed in the air inlet port or the air outlet port ([0090] The blower 290 may be provided in the housing 210, and may be provided in the vicinity of the air outlet 215. The blower 290 forcibly circulates the air in the housing 210 from the air inlet 213 toward the air outlet 215.); an electrical component installed inside the housing ([0087 and Fig. 5] the electrical components provided in the connection panel 200 for the photovoltaic device); the first sensor unit installed on the upper side of the inside of the housing, comprising of a frame body, a ([0084] The sensing unit 270 includes a smoke sensor 271 and a heat sensor 273 for detecting a temperature or heat inside the connection panel 200 for the photovoltaic device. [0086] The smoke detection sensor 271 is preferably provided at an upper portion inside the housing portion 210. [0085] As described below, the controller 280 is connected to the photovoltaic device detected by the sensing unit 270 (that is, at least one sensor of the smoke sensor 271 and the heat sensor 273).) ([0094] The controller 280 may determine whether a fire occurs in the connection panel 200 for the photovoltaic device by using both the smoke sensor 271 and the heat sensor 273, but will be described below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lee and Chuang with specific components as taught by Park in order to improve the fire management efficiency of the connection panel [See Park].
Claim 8 is substantially the same as claim 2 and is thus rejected for reasons similar to those in rejecting claim 2.
Claim 9 is substantially the same as claim 4 and is thus rejected for reasons similar to those in rejecting claim 4.
Claim 14 is substantially the same as claim 4 and is thus rejected for reasons similar to those in rejecting claim 4.
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482